(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

morning MTBs, anyone gt strectmark cream to recommend?

my tummy skin is very dry after preggie n now think is sensitive cos last night after work gng hm bath n skin is very itchy

how? hiaz...gt to but some cream or gel that is coolin type to ease the itch liao or stretchmark cream can help?

Hi luvagape,
yup, but siao siao one, only sometimes.... haha! well it's still better den nothing cus milk is good.

Hi Mangogal,
you can buy those cream for preggy use, think Suntec level 3 (i think) they have lots of shop that sell baby stuff and for mommy too, you might wanna go there and look around.
If not you can try Baby Johnson lotion it's not too oily and it really smooth the skin. (blue colour bottle cap NTUC and find, sorry can't remember the name)
hope it helps. . .

Old Navy \ Gap Spree
Trying to do a last minute spree...
ON having 20% off plus free domestic shipping till Monday noon (Singapore time).
Gap 10% off.
Anyone interested? PM me at queen's email ASAP!

thks indulgence queen, but i just bought olive oil for my itchy dry skin...hope it helps

Ilimoo,
wat are the odds of having a trisomy baby?
I thot cell error division or chromosome prob happen in very early weeks of pregnancy and will cause m/c?
Cos that's wat happen to me for last preg ended m/c..my m.c ended week 6 due to abnormal heartbeat n fade off..

Anyway this pregnancy is precious to me and i wont abort. Seeing my baby moving so active at week 11 scan just cant bear it... To me it's God's gift and i hv been praying for my bb's health everyday.

Jo, think you shld go for a scan and make sure your baby is fine and pls hv 1 or 2 weeks of mc to rest at hm, baby is the top priority now!
I was away frm work since I gt spotting frm week 6 to week 10, imagine one mth but it's all worth it. Suffer the horrible ms and taking daily injection are all worth it.

went for my checkup today, bb is 9 weeks liao. MS is slightly better, but still come on off. Still trying hard to up my water and milk intake

Mangogal, I use Jergens all over and now the Clarins Tonic Oil on my tummy. Itchiness is caused by dryness and the stretching. Must keep it moisturised all the time.

Hi Reiner,

I noticed your OB is Dr Tony Tan from Raffles. How is he like? Nice? Gentle?

My OB is Dr Lee I Wuen from Raffles. I m supposed to do my OSCAR during my 12th week ard 18Oct but my hubby is travelling for work. So i am doing it on 22OCt (when hubby is back) but my OB will be away, so she told me Dr Tony Tan will help me for our OSCAR. I am alittle scared and abit uncomfortable with male OB.

M praying that all will be fine with the bb cos i m almost 35, my hubby laughs at me and say i m "lao goh" liao. so mean hor?

Jo, please take a rest at home and not worry about your work. Remember the bb and your health should be your top priority now. The baby is a God's gift. Take care, God bless

MTBs, anyone of you have funny ache in your butt? I told my OB last Wed that i hv a funny ache/pain in one of my butt cheeks, sometimes when i sit or lay down. She told me it could be some nerve been pressed on. My sis told me she used to get that in her 8th or 9th month but i m only 8weeks!!!

Saw my bb's heartbeat for the 1st time last wed. So cute. BB so small (1.36cm) but heartbeat so rapid... just put a smile on my face when i saw it.

I am expecting my bb no.2 in 8Apr09. EDD kept changing each time I visit my gynae kekeke.

This pregnancy is so much different when I am expecting my son few years back. I'm experiencing pain and ache at waist to buttock area, giddy, body itchy during day and nite, cramps and pain at abdomen etc.....

Yesterday went for gynae check, my bb is 48mm and saw my bb hands clapping and praying.....so cute. My appetite was so poor that my weight was decreasing each time I went for gynae check. I find it very torture during meal time.

Hi Mummies, just went to see Dr Lawrence Ang on Friday. Baby was moving and it is now 6.07cm, 12 weeks 4 days. My EDD was moved to 30th March 2009. He said will be able to see the gender when the baby is 4 months old, which is my next visit. So excited.

Am still having some nauseous. Haiz.. Hope it will go away soon. Mummies whom are still having nauseousness, jia you.. Hope it will go away soon. Mine subsides liaoz..

Anyone having spider webs on their thighs? What can we apply to get rid of them? Think coz keep on carrying my girl. She sticks to me like super glue now.

Anyone knows of any nice maternity dinner dress? Am looking for one to attend a wedding dinner coming sat.

hi bahbah,

tony tan is gentle... feel comfortable with him lor...

did the oscar scan on lst fri, the ratio for me is great, 1:8565... at my age, the odd is 1:431.... baby is 11weeks 6 days, 56mm.... gynae asked me whether wanna know the gender of baby, me immed said NO. then he's okie, he shall not tell me @ all....

reiner,
congrats on ur good OSCAR results! must be so relieved. mine on wed...nervous. check with u, do we need to hv a full bladder for OSCAR? how fast is the scan?

ya ya... has to be full bladder. me had 2 big glasses of plain water before leaving hse... already had the urge to pee pee... but gotta "ren". but when me reached there, dr tony tan said its not full enough to do the scan. so me had to go out n drink more more water... waited another 15min, then went in to check. this time okie. phew..... tot me already drank so much water eh but still not FULL enough lor.... the scan is very quick, 15-20min, then tony tan will explain the result and give the print out to me.

and me was given the fish oil capulse.... yucks!!!! although me have not taken any yet.... it makes me wanna puke leh... hee!!!

me was pushed on the mrt Escalators on thurs... then tony tan said me gotta wear a tag "I'm pregnant!!"

reiner, so fast can know the gender already? Why u don't wish to know? Most gynae will probably not tell this early till confirm at wk 16-20wks. Still so long to go before i can know lor.

dunno whether can see or not, gynae asked... so me ans NO lor... sigh!!! stress mah, wanna give a surprise to myself... but my sil who was in the room when me done the scan, she quickly said "I want to know" but tony tan respect my reply.... anyway dont think can see the gender @ this stage mah... still too too early... my sil said this tony tan is accuracate one... ghee!!!!

now my taste bud is funny lor... whatever food taste bitter or blant to me.... me always gotta check with hubby or who ever me was eating with and with same food one...

Hi Ladies...
I had bleeding/staining on Sat (not sure if it was bleeding or staining - was like red/brownish discharge u get at the end of period). Went to TMC ard midnight but realised they had no gynae on standby. Nurse asked me to consider going to KK for scan to make sure BB is ok. Cos if I were to see the doc at TMC, they will admit me and wait for a gynae to see me the next morning.

Went KK and was so relieved that BB is fine. But I'm getting a bit worried abt TMC... if in emergency case, TMC won't be able to help me?

Well... today, called my gynae and spoke to her nurse to get some advice. Nurse came back to me saying that if KK doc adviced me 1 week MC to bedrest (which KK doc actually asked me how many days I need at first, when I said I dunno how to decide, then they opened 5days), I should follow. I told her I really would like my own gynae's advice... and she say... ask me go down today.

Anyone with experience to share? Am I getting over anxious?

Re. maternity wear
anyone knows where I can get nice and affordable babydoll tops? I find maternity wear quite dowdy. Worse still the price tag is insane! Back in 2005 for my #1, I don't ever remember maternity pants costing a whopping $90! Siao.

Re. baby gender
If I'm not wrong by 4 months can see liao, especially if it's a boy. I remember for my #1, Dr. Ang told me at about 3+ to 4 months that I had a 70% chance of expecting a boy but he's not 100% sure cos my boy's legs weren't opened wide enough to see at that time. Subsequently during the detailed scan at TMC at 20 weeks, the sex is confirmed.

Reiner,
Paisei... I will mail out your Gap baby top today.
Actually, why don't you want to know the gender? Even though your FIL may outright prefer a boy, ultimately the gender is not something you can control. It's just delaying the inevitable not knowing isn't it?
Congrats on your good OSCAR results!

Jas J.
How far along are you? IS there a lot of bleeding? Actually, aren't you able to get your gynae on handphone? My OB will direct his office no. to his personal hp and tell his patients to call him anytime if unwell. I have ever called him at 11plus at night and he will still answer his hp.
Anyway, if you are given MC, just have a good rest and see your gynae ASAP.

bahbah,
me same as u!!
I got this aching and pain feeling at buttock. I only encounter this during the last tri of my 1st delivery. But this time round it is so early! Go for bed rest, it will be ok after abt 4 days. Dr Adrian even give me panadol for it. He say it is actually ok to feel it.

Hi Queen...
I'm 8 weeks into 9 now. On sat, after urination, it just passed out the discharge/bleeding altogether. I don't get it running the whole time, only passed out when I contract my muscles when passing urine.

It ended yesterday evening and now its cleared. No... I heard a lot of people get their gynae on HP. But mine... no.

But gynae's advice to me now is... since scan shows ok in KK, and if bleeding stopped already, she will see me in my next appt (mid-Oct) only, unless I insist.

My mum says I'm over worried.

Hi queen, sorry I replied your email so late. you can get pretty nice maternity wear from ON or GAP hehe. Otherwise, my SIL recommded these maxi dresses - http://beautifulclothes2.blogspot.com/ or you can get from dorothy perkins...

Hi reiner, congrats on your good OSCAR test results!! =) I'm sure the doc will respect your wishes la... don't be too stressed about the gender ok, as long as bb is healthy =)

I'm seeing my gynae this weekend..I dunno y these few days I'm so paranoid. I kept reading forums where mummies can see bb at 5th or 6th wks & during my last visit, doc said 5th or 6th wk but cldnt see embryo at all. I'm so paranoid & scared at the next visit he'll tell me there's no baby at all. I've read it still possible in such cases to have MS n all. Even tho by my own calculations it was only 4 wk so then its normal but I cant help feeling paranoid & scared. I cant wait for this Sat to come...=((

luv, thanks...i think i'll go for the tour and see how it goes
so far, what i've gathered from the oct 07 mummies is that Mt A nurses are more helpful than TMC nurses with regards to breastfeeding. sometimes TMC nurses can be quite impatient i heard...so will see how lah.

re: maternity wear
i find Spring has a rather nice selection at rather reasonable prices. actually i have quite a lot of non-maternity clothes which double as preggy clothes. just get dresses/tops/skirts in stretchy material and baby doll dresses loh. dorothy perkins, the project shop are quite good, some shops in Far East Plaza have cheap n good stuff too.

eunice,
Dun get too stress up. Sometimes we O late so might not be accurate with the weeks we are in. Relax and eat more so baby will grow faster.

Queen,
I bought some cheap ones with the Taiwan Spree leh. But mine is shorts and T-shirts.

eunice, I understand how u felt when gynae told me have not seen the heartbeat. I think worrying is normal but try to keep yrself busy so that you won't think too much.

Jas J, I tot TMC has some emergency no to call? Check the back of yr card, it shld have the no. If not, speak to yr gynae and she / he will advise accordingly.

I was having spotting also, pink discharge, so gynae put me on daily injection last week, so for now, so far so good . So I am crossing my fingers. I am going to be 9 weeks this week as well. And going for my appt this Fri also at TMC

hi mummies!!!
hows everyone???

re:milk
me not drinking tat yet.. but think will start soon cos my hubby already bot the milk powder leh!
me on enfamama vanilla, same as my 1st preggie. :D

re:gender
yes.. think by 4months, shd be able to tell the gender... if there's a tiny lil thing sticking out inbetween the legs.. hee..

re: appt..
today me gg for my 3rd visit leh!! quite excited.
prayfully bb is growing well..

Hi May & Rachel
Thanks =) Yah I know I'm worrying too much & probably unnecessarily.... Hope I'll have good news on Sat =)

Ciarie, wah your hubby so nice, buy milk powder for u?? my hubby won't even let me have the easy chair at home...i must ask him one...

JasJ and Rachel C, do rest well...and hopefully the spotting dun come back yah?

my colleague had heavy bleeding early on in her pregnancy but doc ordered her to go on bedrest for about 1 mth and after that everything was ok...she's about to deliver soon...so i think rest is really important for preggy mummies!

hi reiner,
i am going for my oscars this thursday, am wondering if u get back ur result immediately??
what is the test like? just scanning or includes bloodtest??

I only do blood test for HIV HB as gynae says is compulsory. Now waiting to do another F.A scan test. Heard is not for down syndrome test.

But think can also identify down syndrome by scanning kidney and brain.

Very confusing with so many different tests.

Karrie,
eh... my hubby really cannot hiam already la...
i still rem, during my 1st preggie.. he would make milk for me every night, else I will never make a cup of milk to drink.. as I will never drink.
hence its his responsibility...
hee...

Sorry, but what's OSCARS? BTW oppsgal, when is it the time to do the HIV HB and Down Syndrome test?

My EDD is 1st May but GP told me it's only 1-2% of babies to see the world on actual day. Hence im posting here. Hee...Im also into my wk 9. Still contemplating which gyne to go to. Lazy to travel and MT A and TMC are so far. So many nice gyne practising there. Hmm...

Any recom from MTBs here? Seen the GP at polyclinic for the first time to confirm my preg then I got a referral letter. Waiting for KH to call me.

eunice,
hope u see ur lil one's heartbeat this sat.

SK,
Welcome..Where u living? It is better to choose a gynae u are comfortable with and of cos convenient. Cos when tummy gets bigger, u will be more tired and lazy to travel already.

hi lovesphagetti,

ya will get the result immed... gynae will do the measurement on the screen (mean the scan) and will "transmiiter the measurement to the computer, then the software will do the calculation. even with graph.

hi queen,
its okie.... no problem. want this #2 to be a "surprise" for everyone.... boy or girl doesnt matter wah, @ least to my hubby & myself....

ooh... my MS is back.... it has been subside for the whole last week. puke my bread once stepped in office. so now very very hungry.... but dunno what to eat.... and find myself has bad breath, how to curb this eh?

gd morning, may
how are u getting on? ur MS getting better?

my nausea seem to hv subsided, only comes once in a while. shld be 12wks plus now. going for my OSCAR scan tomorrow. really nervous, hope everything is ok and bb is cooperative so the scan can be done quickly.

hi reiner
thanks for the info.. but i am not doing it with my gynea.. doing at the featal until at TMC... hopefully i can get the results back immediately too.

hi SK
i am also doing a lot of tests.. and very confused also. hahaha OSCARS is to test for down syndrome.. i m doing the OSCARS and the blood test at week 12

hi elina
good luck for the OSCARS.. im going on thursday.. nervous too!!

I have brand new Avent iQ24 Electronic Steam Steriliser for sale. To let go at $140 (Department store selling at $200+). Kindly note, this is iQ24 which can sterile contents day and night.

Interested please PM me. Thanks!

me done the OSCAR @ RH, raffles hopstial as my gynae is there lor...

hmmmmm.... not many mummies are in here today eh??

So it was your gynae who it for you huh?
My gynae in gleneagles, but ask me to go NUH since it is cheaper. So wondering if any mummy is doing it this way..

so i'm not alone, thought my MS subsided but the merlioning very siong last few days, day and night plus no appetite. ha! and i thought the worst was over, more like yet to come. And so teary over the discomfort, my hb said i'm like a baby tsk tsk

I'm also very confused with the many tests even though this is no.2 hahah. Is such a joy to learn that all the tests went well with the mummies!

maya, which gynae are u seeing at gleneagles? mine is there too, Dr KW Lee

hi mummies... anyone delivering at east shore? my hubby n i r discussing which hospital to deliver at - raffles or east shore. any suggestions or comments?

hi elina,
My MS seems to be better this wk. Hope it will decrease more as the week goes by.

RE: Duphaston
Anyone taking this An Tai Yao? I find that after taking this, my MS is worse. Although gynae ask me to take 1 tablet 3 times daily, I only took 1 after lunch. Anyone having the same feeling?

juxta,
I also cry after some siong MS. Esp at night.

RE: NT scan
Can I check with those that already went for this scan? Will they attempt to scan for the gender at this stage? I am scanning on Wk14. Detailed scan will be Wk22. Feel like knowing the gender fast so that I can start buying baby's clothing online.

hi may
my gynea did said that the Duphaston will make the MS worse... i took it for awhile and had really bad MS at abt week 8/9...

but after my checkup at week 10 she said i no need eat the Duphaston.. dunno why also. now the MS is less jialat but still have.

ya, its done by my gynae, tony tan.... paid 360 bucks for the blood test, urine test and this oscar one.... err... how much will NUH charge eh? done the urine test twice as the 1st one has infection. so gotta do 1 more time to cfm, and the 2nd time no charge leh... and blood test is clear too...

juxta: I am seeing Dr Tham KF, but thinking to change.

NUH charges about $190 for the OSCAR. Not sure if other test involved. When checked with Glen H, they quoted abouted $280 for the test, so cheaper to go at NUH. Am going on the 8/10, so will post more details after it. They said the results will be given to me.

Just went for my 2nd checkup last sat. Pretty short visit. Baby's fine, din get to hear the length, etc. Hmmm.. mayb gynae bad mood??

Arranged for my antenatal scan and GTT to be done... Having thoughts of changing my gynae, costs bit siong. Thinking of the one just below my office, heard pretty good comments about him...

I will be going for the OSCAR next sat at TMC. Total cost is $298+GST. Gynae says they need 2 tubes of blood!! I hope I won't be bruised after all the blood test! *scared*

Hi Mummies, looks like everyone talking ablout OSCAR test now. This time round, I did not do my OSCAR test. I asked Dr Ang and he said it is not necessary to do it. So he just did the normal blood test for me.

Hi karrie, spring maternity have nice dresses?

My stomach is still very bloated. So much air inside. Haiz.. And my gal is becoming more and more gluey to me. I have to ask my hubby to being her downstairs or until she sleeps then I can do something of my own.

Hi Clarie, your hubby is so good. First baby he also very good. Forced me to drink milk every night and he will drink with me.. But this 2nd baby, he bo chap liaoz.. Sleep with my girl first. Haiz...

I've finished all my MCs. How I wish I can have hospital leave to stay at home to rest. Haha.. Feels so tired.

Hi mummies, anyone went swimming as at now? Is it advisable to go now? Thought of bringing my daughter for swimming.

I am also going on a short trip to KL and genting beginning of next month. Hopes everything turns out fine.

Hi Devil,

Just visited Dr Ang yesterday for my 3rd checkup. Already in my 12w2d. N EDD has moved forward to 4/4/09. I opted for Oscar test and the charge is S$200.