(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

hi...

update on today's lunch!!!
took nasi goreng w milo dinosaur --> more than half went reverse...

maybe can try just plain tuna flakes w thousand island sauce (mix on own), lemon and pepper...
but must wake up slightly earlier to mix the stuff...

wat abt rest of the mummies??

re oscar, tot its for high-age preg mum??
cos my gyane din ask me to do.....
my tots same as reiner....

hi devil... my boy is also abt 16months plus.. he also dun quite understand tat there's a lil bb inside mama's tummy..
tat day even knocked his head on my tummy...
nearly fainted!!! wahaha...

me had wanton mee but with losta of chilli... and plain water ha!!! finished all, really everything. now feel bloated, cant get the "gas" out... need coca cola again.... sigh!!!!

so now diff to sit down to work....

I just went for gynae appointment last Fri. It should be 9w1d for my baby but in the end, it turned out to be 8w6d. So my edd shifted to 2 days later. Heard from my frens that it quite normal for edd to keep shifting +-2days so I think it should be okie.

Re appetite:
Compared to week6-7, I feel slightly better during the week 8-9. I tried also not to eat too full or else I will feel like puking. Have puked twice already.
As for milk, I really couldn't tahan it, so I have switched to soya milk. Sometimes I will drink honey water also as I couldn't stomach water.

wow reiner... ur appetite solid!!!!
me...... sigh.... just got my colleague to buy bubble tea!! hee... later abt 5plus, den take my tuna bread..... guess by then, i'll be hungry le.

ya today bit "siao siao" leh, can finished the mee. surprised!!!! bubble tea.... whao!!! me long time have not taken it liao. but me'd my usu lipton tea in the am. can take tea again?

me eating my tuna bread now... munching muching...

Hey all, right now I am seeing Dr Tham from Gleneagles. He is a very nice and humble doc. Very patient and soft. But I really cannot stand the waiting time. I've seen him 2x and the minimum is like 2 hrs before I get to see him. And my last visit I felt myself getting very tensed and stressed from waiting. My concern is in the later stages when I am more heavier I don't know if I can handle it.

I have already found another one, but because the last visit I was fixed to do the OSCAR, so not sure if the results will be given to doc or me. If given to me I can just show it to my new doc and carry on from there...

Hey reiner, my gynae advised me not to take 4 types of fish leh, and tuna is one of it. He said it contains mecury, not sure about canned ones though. So I have stayed away from tuna.

for my #1, my SIL recommended her gynae @ mt e. same as you, me gotta wait n wait even thou me was the 1st patient in the am. me reached there before 0830, earlier than the clinic staff. not becoz waiting for the gynae, me was pushed to q behind coz the staff overlook my appt. and somemore me was not scanned by the gynae, the scanning was done by his assistance who was not a "qualified" one. his clinci was always packed, made me so "pek cheq" that was my 1st and last time me saw him. ya his fee was much cheaper than others, and lots of things he will waive off ones. These were the comments from my SIL. But no way, me gotta waste my leave for waiting n suffering lor.

this time @ raffles, was good coz my SIL is working there. hee... priority given lor... ha!!!

wahaha..... reiner, u best!!
think my gynae still quite ok... q is always managable... and probably its the clinic nurse who is always good at managing the crowd.
so waiting time is not too long everytime, though the clinic can be quite packed. :D

my bubble tea taste funny today!!!
sharks.... 1 item down from my list!

tuna cant take... wat abt salmon????

The other three if I remember correctly is shark, mackeral and i think he said swordfish.
Salmon shld be fine but not raw. I mean logically thinking all seafood you don't know what they are exposed to in the water. They may contain some chemicals so its best not to consume raw food.

But if he told me I have to forgo prawns, I think I will cry........my favourite..... : )

Salmon is actually very good when taken well cooked.
Wondering if is okie to eat a bowl of shark fin soup or not? Heard from some it is okie. Going to attend a wedding dnr soon..and crave for it.

know wat?
my bubble tea + tuna bread = all went reverse lo!!!

sianz.................

hmm... maybe can buy those tin salmon w bread..
think shd be fine. :D
if not, will be ham & cheese lo...

makeral is the other type instead of sardine right??

think sharks fin shd be quite, since its cooked. and traditional speaking, its all good stuff. guess shd have no harm. and, most imptly, dun think there'll be lots of sharksfin in tat bowl anyways. most of it will be crabmeat, which i think preg mum cant take cos of some kind of myth..

hi mummies, went for my first gynae appointment today...seeing Dr Paul Tseng. happy to hear that i can try for VBAC with a high chance of success...but i'm actually further along than I previously thought, am already 9 weeks...so EDD is now 20 April.

re: what to eat...i realised i've been eating more soupy stuff lately...this bb's tastebuds very different from my boy!

I crave for bubble tea but dare not drink it. Cos i heard tea is no good. It takes away the iron in the body.

And yes the 4 types of fishes cannot take.

HI MTBs,
I am back from Dr Adrian again. I felt pelvic bones pain for the last few days and today is worse. Walk like penguin. He say might be due to my past c-sect which caused the ligament to stretch.

Scanned baby again.. change in EDD again.
3 wks ago - 1.12cm - EDD 13 Apr
last wk (10wk) - 2.5cm - EDD 16 Apr
Today (11wk) - 3.45cm - EDD 12 Apr
Wonder why it fluctuate so much.

Sorry to intrude. I'm also a MTB from the Dec 08 thread. I have 2 BNIB items for sale
- Pigeon wide neck bottles with peristaltic nipple, twin pack pic
- Pigeon Newborn Starter Kit, comprising of *1 x Silicon Pacifier with Hood *2 x Wide Neck Feeding Bottles 200ml *1 x Wide Neck Feeding Bottles 300ml *1 x Bottle and Nipple Brush *1 x Milk Powder Container (Revolving) pic

Price is $40 if you are getting both. Please PM me if you are interested. Thanks!

hi mummies, finally i got time to login and read these posts. lately got really swamped with work...

my appetite is improving, thank God. nausea easing up too. my mum told me can't drink lime juice since it's harmful. too much msg not v gd for bb.

if possible, try cooking soup. it's easy & taste nice, gd for MTBs and bbs.

i've been wearing maternity clothes for more than a wk cos everyone's saying my tummy is really big.

will update again after oscar 2moro. gynae told me to go for oscar tho i'm 28yo. so opinions do differ.

Hi ladies, congrats to all! I'm also due in apr 2009, may I join in this thread.

This one is not as easy as the 1st one, feel unwell and tired all the time. Nausea and no appetite, even water is down to the minimal. Had a spotting scare 2 weeks ago too, made me a little worried considering how the 1st one was really a walk in the park!

hi luv, lime juice is harmful?? how come? issit cos its acidic? how abt orange juice?? issit ur first child? how many wks r u now?

hi juxta, congrats & welcome =) how old is ur 1st child?

thanks eunice, my 1st one will be 4 in dec. how about urself? i'm still trying to read thru the old posts.

i was going to ask that too, lime juice is no good? my current fav is that and iced lemon tea, which i cannot resist when i see it. I also need my morning cuppa tea.

The 1st one i was real good, dropped all my caffeine, drank 2-3 cups of milk a day and ate plenty of fish. This one, very jialat can hardly stomach half a glass of milk and not eating very healthily also!

hi juxta,
hmmmmm... so you are a "tea" pax too eh? me cant live w/o it in the am. same as you, my #1 was real good, man. flew to US before end of my 1st tri. enjoyed the trip there too. then from US, we went ot taipei to visit frenz then back to Sin. whao!!!!! great, man. No MS @ all, eat as normal. but this #2 is totally different. sigh!!!! so sianz!!!!!

lime juice not good eh? me drank it once and it really upset my tummy. "lau sai" 3 times after that. iced lemon tea is a muz when eat carl's jr meal set leh.

didnt take proper breakfast today. got put off the fried mee hoon so drank soya bean drink only. so was hungry hungry when @ 9am. searching for food from colleagues... ha!!!! " gei wo yi dian chi de ba"

hi juxta, i'm expecting my 1st child =) is ur 1st a boy or a girl??

i think tea is not v good leh cos of the caffeine? im avoiding coffee at the moment but v tempted to just buy the decaf so i can have my coffee!! i havent heard abt lime juice leh but i take a lot of orange juice, so quite concerned now hehe

haha perhaps that is y the pregnancy was a walk in the park??? yah seems like milk is something which a lot of us r unable to stomach. im just forcing myself to drink when i can.

hey reiner, u travelled b4 the end of ur 1st tri?? heard from some its not safe to travel cos baby's organs developing yadda yadda yadda... haha so it's not true!!! yeah! i can travel! n wow US!! such a long flight! thinking of going to japan but sian cos cannot eat sashimi...cannot take the rides in disneyland...

Hi reiner, i'm a "teh bao". I need 2 teabags in a cup 1st thing in e morning. Now i cut down to 1 and dilute it :p . Yeah! sounds like my 1st pregnancy too, so easy and fuss free except for tiredness in 1st tri but no MS. This one is a fusspot!!! how old is ur 1st?

Eunice, my first is a boy. yalor excessive caffeine is no good wor but cannot drop it leh, is also no good for the absorption of calcium. Or perhaps the MS this round that i think i need my shot? :p I also did some travelling 1st one. This one my gynae been reminding me everytime he sees me cos of the spotting. My fren also went to japan in her 2nd tri. I'm contemplating of a trip in nov also.hmmmmm......

I'm struggling with milk, most time is down the drain, doing my best with cheese toast in the morning. so far havent got sick of it yet. Now i take soya bean milk instead, ok right? oh and for both pregnancies, i crave mee siam! yummy! And i cannot manage a state of equilibrium, i get this bloatedness and a sudden hunger pang, feel so exasperated!!

Hi Karrie, so r u suspecting it's a girl this time round? I heard from a fren that different sysptoms could mean a different gender.

Lately, I also prefer to go for soupy stuff. keke.

Can I check with u mummies..esp those who ahve given birth before....is your tummy bigger? During my 1st pregnancy, the tummy only shows when bb was 5 mths but now bb less than 3 mth and i look like im 5 mth pregnant! alamak!

btw, my upper abdominal is bigger than my lower abdominal..from my understand, bb shld be in lower abdominal now. So am I bloated with wind?!!!

Pls share. thank you.

hi juxta, i think if u only take 1 cup its ok la...somemore diluted haha. my doc says everything in moderation is ok. he even says i can take sashimi if its really fresh & i take in "moderation". yeah, proof tt its really ok to travel! but japan is really cold in nov/dec already...maybe go bangkok cos i heard the bb stuff there v cheap!!
i think soya milk is good. my grandma ask me to take it..but my hubby says its not good to take soya in the nite/when the weather is cold. apparently the protein might casuse gout or something like tt. haha i craved for mee siam too. for like 1 day. after eating it then no more aleady haha... oh im so glad to hear tt (sorry, not tt glad u r experiencing this) so im normal!!! i was just complaining to my hubby tt i either feel very full (wanna puke) or v hungry (also wanna puke).

hi ling, haha i certainly hope it's a girl!!

Yupp tummy is definitely bigger. my tummy was quite flat in the first trimester with the first one, now I look like i'm 3-4mth preggers oredi. but i heard from my mil that it's normal with subsequent pregnancies.

I think it could be because of wind. coz i fart a lot recently too...plus constipation...

ya ya.... its safe to do so leh before end of 1st tri to travel leh. actually @ tat time, was 2 more weeks then wld be end of 1st tri. but me already booked the trip so cldnt no go leh. somemore gynae gave green light and told me to enjoyed. the only thing me didnt do was to go to California adv park & universal studio to play those rides.

ya lor eunice, no sashimi @ japan. but if no eat sashimi, then seem you dont go there @ all... ha!!! how abt the local MTBs eh? do they really dont take sashimi eh? me may be going japan end oct/ early nov to attend my hubby's jap frenz's wedding.

hi ling, my abdominal pattern is same as yours leh....

hi juxta, my gal is apr'06. so she is coming to 2-1/2yr old....

actually me is bit stress for my #2 gender.... still can rem my FIL told my huby he prefers to have 1 granddaughter & 2 grandsons when my hubby asked him when my #1 was borned.

so thinking to tell gynae not to tell me the gender of #2 @ all.... not even to my SIL. is this a okie request eh?

hi mummies....

just back from outside...

so.. reiner din have good bfast.. wat abt lunch?

just like mummies here, i'm also a tea addict!
sometimes 1 moni, i can drink 2 cups of tea-o, but now, all drinks taste awful to me!

this moni took ham and bread --> total put off!
so, thinking wat else can i take.

lunch, porridge with vege, egg and meat --> total put off as well!
now feel like reversing everything out!

very sleepy in the cab and doze off, until the uncle asked if im turning into my ofc building.. wahaha....

re soya milk, i heard if its a bb boy, better not take too much, else will affect his fertility.. but for bb gal, its ok.. the complexion will be very nice! :D

reiner... how to not to tell the gender?
or u pak gat with your bb to close the legs and not to let your gynae see anything lo!! hee...

btw, 1 gd-daughter & 2 gd-sons, your #1 is a boy or gal?

hi reiner, exactly la!! japan = fresh sashimi manz!! wow!! so lucky!!! yah hor, i wonder what they eat...hahaha.. of cos its an okie request la!!! its YOUR child wat. y shd the doc feel obliged to tell ur SIL?? try not to feel stress la. u're already giving him a grandchild leh!! anw, my stand is its the man who determines the gender lor, not us. if ILs have a problem, go ask their sons!

hmmm so glad to have ppl to share here, for awhile i've been feeling so down. Why is everything not appealing to me and the sight of food makes me want to run to the puke bin! The fatigue, nauseous and inability to sleep well at night. Every meal i've to go and think and stare so hard. I've also given up on cooking for now cos i cant stand the sight and smell of raw food.

ling, ya prolly is wind and bloat. i feel big too this round and very clumsy.

reiner, ur fil would like to have a grandson? he actually told you so ah? tell him gender is decided by the father, so tell his son that! hehehe

Hey i saw the word bubble tea and i drove out just now to buy... As i cant really drink water now, tea and soup are nice replacements.

Juxta,

Same as you, i cut down on cooking to perhaps twice a week. Previously is almost everyday. BTW is there anything on earth that can increase our appetite? I used to be on 2 bowls on rice everyday for dinner plus supper. Now 1 bowl also difficult to finish... Help!

Hi, me too have a very big tummy. And this is my 3rd, tot it shld be the norm. I didn't bother abt it til ppl keep asking how many months I am, I get so frustrated. I am into my 2nd month now and I actually looked like 4-5 months.

I think it must be the gas and wind, cos now I feel like my tummy is slightly smaller than before.

hi irene... don't think anything can help leh. wait for the stupid sickness to pass lor... just try to eat as much as u can, & keeping it down. im having a gd day tdy, managed a gd BK breakfast & chicken salad lunch just now. so far so good...can control the nausea....

i only feel very bloated and clumsy, but nobody knows i'm preg yet. maybe i'm big built lah. my 1st one even at 6-7 months, my fren thought i put on weight only. Only towards 8 months, the tummy like inflated overnight!

eunice, nice to have a good day ya? lucky i dun throw up much, but the nausea makes me not want to eat. i'm just waiting for the hunger pang to shoot up and there comes the want to puke feeling hahahah

maya, thanks for sharing. this babycenter website very informative, i read it diligently when i was having bb 1.

my #1 is a gal, so fil told to hubby to have 2 sons, i.e 3 kids.... this will be nice, to him only lor...

hmmmm.... coz sil said this #2 gotta be boy eh... wonder will the gynae tell my sil of the gender if me request gynae not to tell anyone eh even sil ask? and everyone @ home wants #2 to be BOY too.... err... only hubby's side. even his gugu, ah yi.... so me stress....

rem my frenz case. her #1 is a gal. and #2 is a gal too. so her mil told her to go for #3. then she ans her mil, if mil gonna take care of #3 (no matter girl or boy) thru out till 21, esp. monies then she'll try for #3. her mil kept quiet.

understand older generation wants to have boy to carry down the family name, but in this era starting a family is not easy. old times, 1cts can get food, now ppl do not ve this at all.

hi eunice, so good lor, can control nausea... me just ate a kueh and feeling wanna puke. and bit feverish leh....

eunice

Having good breakfast is extremely impt. I believe that its the most impt meal of the day. Some even told me that to stay young looking always... no need facials and tonic. Just eat good healthy breakfast everyday.

reiner, can imagine ur stress. My mil is very traditional but she never stress me on gender although i know she's very "zhong nan qing nu" haha! and she's already got a granddaughter.

Only after i've my boy and everyone started commenting, wah so good blah blah then i realised maybe it does matter afterall. Anyways it really is for carrying on the family name. I always tell my hb, u dun even remember ur mother's birthday!! tsk tsk tsk. Girls are more sweet and thoughtful

hi juzta, totally manz!!! 1st good day in dunno how long, feels like mths!!! the best day will b when i dun even feel like throwing up anymore...

hi reiner, u're feeling feverish?? better take care leh... eh dun stress la, the gender is not determined by u n u only wat. personally, i wld prefer my 1st child to b boy cos i've always wanted an older bro but my hubby wans girl. but most imptly, is tt the bb is healthy & grows up to be a gd person lor.

Hi irene, thanks for the advice. yah hopefully i can stomach breakfast everyday la!

hi juxta...

i guess most of the mummies are on the same boat...
my only problem is my bland taste bud tat is givin me too much terrible feeling!!!

hang on there.... hopefully, after the first trimester, everything will be fine.

i think is getting better as it progresses along. when I first realised I could be expecting, i cant get out of bed and slept almost all day long. Worst was my boy came back with HFMD! prayed so hard i wont get it and have to struggle to take care of him. hehe like ciarie says, it'll only get better!

Ciarie
I also have the same prob as you. Bland taste bud is really a terrible feeling. It is even worse after a tasty meal.
One of my frens said that her bland taste bud lasted throughout her two pregnacies. I really keep my fingers crossed that it will be better after the first tri.