(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

reverie:

ya din take deposit for me because I was intending to try one term. And his daddy is actually against sending him to school at such a young age. Old folks thinking.
Fortunately this boy came home & told him he like school. So his daddy is begin to believe about education starts fr young.Anyway now hubby is asking me to see bibinogs since he had RT near there every sat so if the timing fits, might go there for a try.

I think Alyssa looks very obedient to me. I think any babies compare to mine is consider angels. Ha. But still have to take care during 1st trim. I also had a lot of problem during my first & second trim last time so must be careful since u had history. Maybe let the teachers know & they might make concession to let ur helper goes to class with u. This way she can keep an eye on her & u can still be there with her.

pinkdemoness:

my boy also had a fever spike last round for a week and I gave paracet for a week , the fever just kept coming back. Hence decided to give brufen eventually and after two doses his temp was under control. U can try if his fever still spikes up. Hope he gets well soon. Hugs.

Hi pinkdemoness,

I haven't posted for a long time. Read about elixir's condition. Maybe you should bring him to KKH? You should really try nurofen. It's more effective on bringing down the fever. You can stop giving it to him once the fever reaches 37 or less i.e. a low grade fever as nurofen has side effects on toddlers if given too much.
But it's definitely more effective than paracetomal esp high grade fever. The other thing tt I tried which was v effective was Luo Han Guo. Boil the fruit n feed baby the water. The fever subsided very fast. You must rest well too.. coz' baby needs you a lot now.

mummybean - u havent met kirs & andrea... both samsengs... wahahah! but so far kirs quite well behaved as in she doesnt hit other kids... if she doesnt get her way with the toys, she will just swipe it all over the place... -_-"

her bad habit is during class, she will walk all over the place... she doesnt like me to hold her hand.. so she wil shake free.. then just follow whatever is happening or walk ard... i went for kindermusik trial.. it was soooo funnie!!! she was acting like the monitress... everytime we changed instruments, she wld keep it and follow the teacher ard to make sure all the other kids returned the instruments as well!!!

then for the bibinogs trial... she basically stood in the centre when we walked round... then she also wanted to play with the tap... then peel off the posters on the wall.. but on and off she wld join in with the others too... some of the other kids also all ovr the plc... whahahax!

i try to leave her be when its during class.. becos like some of them have said... the more i try to make her sit n learn, the more she struggles... so i leave it... i just sing along and she will come back to look at me singing n sit on my lap.. lolx

my only worrie is adhd but still too early to be diagnosed la... so i guess just leave it be... take it she is a super active kid... heh heh heh

pinkdemoness
Hope your boy's fever has subsided or under control. As for kkh bathing baby with icy water, I am not too sure on that cos when I sent my boy there last mth, they did not bath him in icy water. So I guess it really depends. They just check his ears and throat and found out out its throat infection.

missycandy:

haha. I was laughing when reading ur post sounds like Favian but he is opp of Kirs as in he is the terror in class & not behaving like monitor. He refuse to return toys to teachers, lie down on the mat & cry. There was once I need to bring him out of class to tame him down & after that he refuse to go into class. Somehow he hates sharing, snatches others toys or stuffs so it really drains me out when I go class w him to prevent him being a nuisance to others. His buttock is 'sharp' also , never manage to sit down on the mat & would go to the back dig for toys or climb tables or chairs. * shakes head* But have to admit its really funny seeing their lil actions in class as guess this will be the only time I am allow to be in school with him. So I do treasure the lessons although I m literally drained out after the lessons. ha. Good exercise for me.

I also suspect him of Adhd leh. Especially after he went for lessons as all other tods r so well behaved !! Sigh. So Kirs going for bibinogs or kindermusik ?

mummybean - im stil considering bibinogs becos of the small class. but might sign up for gymboree instead. WAHAHAHAHAx! havent decided yet! but will sign up for zoophonics when she turns 18mths. heh.. plus ive already registered for her to start playgrp 7am-7pm in sept... heh...

anyway now is Kirs turn to have fever. hahahax! daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaang! jus this morning. but it looks like its teething again... can see 2 more canines coming out at the lower row... siansation... sponging n bathing is a drag becos she's so warm.. she hates the sudden coolness... fever patch also dont want... boo...

dear mummies, since last night 11+ till now, Elixir's fever considered under control cos no hot le...hope it doesnt come back..i only gave progesic...was waiting for the 3rd hour to give brufen but temp went down le...heng ar...feel slightly relieved now...tks all...

missycandy:

Oh dear...hugs Kirs. Hope she is better now already. very heartache to see them having fever and looking so lethargic. This teething period is really torturing for mummies. My boy been rejecting all sorts of solids and lately he wans me to feed him yogurt with porridge. Faints. So I can understand your siansation. Big headache.

I also intending to send him to zoophonics when turn 18 months.But need the approval of my finance minister at home. Sigh. And he hasn't really start talking yet. Still blabberings. Kirs going for playgroup liao ar. I wished I can throw my Favian in playgroup too. He is driving me nuts at home. haha. And I can't wait to go back to work. ha

mummybean - contemplating if shld start at 18mths or wait til next yr. but we have registered her at the sch olredi. =P

do consider zoophonics. im opting for bilingual class. once a week. 1.5hrs. but il see how when the time comes as well. heh. not sure if kirs is keen.

Missy..

actually you can consider Letterland for phonics as well..

I kinda like their method of teaching our toddlers on alphabets. am considering of learning it so i can teach Bree.

well, that depends if Bree lets me go for the course then.. hahaha

i realised a difference in an alphabet between JG and GUG.

Eg will be letter L. Gug pronounce as L... JG pronounce as Le...

so confusing... i also realise eg the following word, cypress, phonic does not apply... eng is so chim... there is a certain where words are read and certain word eng should be written...

thanks lenny

at least u still remember me, not like missycandy who asked who i am (mei liang xin)

also, thank you for your compliment for my mischievous boy... he's a cutie, he's also a terror.... hahahah

reverie island ...

There are rules in phonics ... like when 2 vowels are put togther only need to sound 1 of them etc so at their age now ... just focus on the individual alpha dun go into forming the words yet. Will confuse them and yourself only heehee

Only when they are 3yr or 4yr then send them to those schools which teaches phonics =) thats what I am doing for my #1 so I am now learning from him oso

missycandy:

ha..ya I think so too..my gf told me its quite reasonable.. ha.. I think I am aiming for it and it is just two mrt stops away from my place. But now Favian stopped his GUG. So wondering what to do with him for the next three months before he can go zoophonics.

reverie_island:
after u told me about letterland , I went to check it out at a shop selling their edu materials. It is cheaper then zoophonics but the person told me if children learning zoophonics and u give them letterland too, they will get confuse. But she said letterland is now used in many schools. So she said if use letterland edu materials to guide them, they will feel easier to catch up in school. Ha..different people tell me different things. Now I become very confuse.

mummybean - bibinogs? =P or gymboree.
gymboree at tanglin the rates are $450 for 12wks of play&learn and $320 for music class. then pay $50 to become member. membership is valid for 1yr. then can bring him for free play at $12/hr. i find it quite reasonable

sigh. kirs is teething again(my suspicion) cn see 2 white buds of the 2 canines at the bottom... but cld also be another molar becos she keeps putting her finger inside... excessive drooling... fever
the GP suspects something else but i dont trust him =P he says according to textbooks, teething shldnt have such a high fever ... her temp was 39.3 at the clinic ... ya the last time round the molar came out he gave abx... so now i told him i dont wan abx and he was like ya... i dont give that now... anyway i only wanted the voltaren supp... which i got.. hurhurhur...

then me n my suayyy mouth/hand ... sigh.. mentioned that she stil taking solids n milk well.. end up today everything dont want... few spoons n milk ard 40mls then dont want liao... zzz then cry n cry n cry n cry... cry til vomit and body get hot again... hai...

last night was horrible... she kept whining every other hr... omg... almost went mad!!! then made her milk this am but she refused... so ended up giving her yogurt but few spoons then mai liao... haiii... super duper sian...

missycandy,

yep, in reality teething CAN have such high fever in some kiddos, as some of us have experienced

but the point is that if he does suspect something else, he needs to state WHAT - did he see something in her ears/throat? did he do a urine dip and thinks she got a urine infection? does he think it's just another flu virus? etc etc etc.

he didnt state what. he didnt check the throat. but frm what he said i think he suspects viral infection. sigh. sucky gp. but can be seen fast. lolx. the one i like is usually super duper crowded... haiii... he jus asked me to look out for rashes if any. but frm the looks of it... its like last mth when her molar cut thru... same symptoms...

Riverie Island..

JG has Zoo Phonics.. but will only touch on that when our toddlers go to PlayClub.. which is after they are 18mths old.

I am planning to get Bree introduced to Letterland when the time comes

JG and GUG different way of teaching phonic. one is uk one is us? which is more appropriate for sing context?

alyssa like the phonic. she learns thru matching and she can some how imitate. i am actually quite happy with her performance. she got herself settled after a term. i actually thought of buying the zoo phonic set for her. i have the jg phonic set.

i am confused on what is good. letterland, zoo phonic or JG phonic?

Letterland if i am not wrong, are used by alot of Pre N sch. like some churches preschool...

morning mummies

wanna check do any of u babies cry in their sleep? kyan will suddenly jus scream and cry out loud in the middle of the night lo. So scary... and so i thought whether its realli normal for babies to do that. But think he will still be closing his eyes when he did that.

mummies are so wei da...no matter how tired we may be, we will still put their child first...our patience may be weaning but our spirit hasn't.

kyan is gg to take his MMR jab tmr, so worried he will have fever. The major one he had when he was teething weeks ago really put all of us at a drain.

Tks all mummies for the advices and tips on looking after a high fever baby...its his first time so i was so lost plus the seizure and crankiness, discomfort etc...finally Elixir has recovered and back to his mischief self liao...hugs evryone!!

Pinksorbet,

Baby cries in Sleep: vera also cries in her sleep at night. She also cries with her eyes close. For me, it's easy to know the reason, she wants her pacifier. She drops it someway on the bed when sleeping so I gotta help her look for it. Once I put it back into her mouth, she'll stop crying and continue with her sleep. This happens every night. You try to observe little kyan? I believe you'll sure be able to find the cause for him crying in his sleep. Mummy knows her child best!

pinkdemoness, good to hear that Elixir has recovered!
You're great too! You've helped your little boy fight and won the battle.

To all mummies, we're all wei da mummies! If not because I'm a mother myself, I'll never understand why a mother would do anything for her child. After I had Vera, I realised that my life will never complete without her. Vera completes me! That's why I'm willing to do anything for her. That's why she's always my 1st priority! I'm sure you feel the way too that Your child completes you!

ya loh. i more angry than sad. totally wasted so many people's time. no respect for others and poor management of the event. gonna think twice before joining their future events

missycandy:
thanks for the info.. I actually thought of kindermusik but tanglin mall in terms of transportation quite inconvenient for me then weekend his daddy attending RT cannot send us for lessons. Xian++ . Btw hugs to Kirs.. hope she is better today. Jiayou. After these molars are out, I think won't have anymore fever saga.

Reverie:
oh I never check that out.. I think I will stick to zoo phonics since they will be exposed to letterland in nursery. By the way can share with me how much is Shicida's course fee?

mummybean - u r welcome. and thanks. i managed to feel her gums today.. its another molar...
the 2nd one... still have another 2 more... plus her canines not out yet...
btw, gug finish for favian already? and yes agree tanglin is quite out of the way for me too! zoo phonics at thomson is the best!!! lolx.

Pinksorbet
my bb does cry in her zzz. think they are dreaming...i just pat pat her a few sec...

Agnes
We will be at forum 1pm class. after that she will move up to playclub. then we should be going to evan or forum 1130 biligual class. hubby will attend with her. cos i will be 3 mths preg then...
Evan seems better. pls share. cos they have better outdoor activities than forum.

mummy bean
alyssa attended kindermusik when she was abt 6 mths old. she enjoyed too. but hubby thought the class gettin bored so stoppted after 2 months. with the same amt of time and $, i prefer to send gug or jg.
regarding phonic, different preschools use different phonic material.
annual reg fee S$50
term fee S$780 for wkends and S$545 (if i din rem wrongly)
we are attending the class at springleaf. admin staff is f**k up. same attitude over the years...
No make up class, no credit refund etc for MC . profit driven. but what to do, they course is good. so they set high fee and can afford to act arrogant lor...

i thought of buying zoo phonic material. i saw a zoo phonic border at the franchisor website. thought of buying to decor alyssa's room... we are moving house in sep. so happy! no need to stay with in laws. but it also means lesser help.

Hi mommies..

Logging in to say a quick hi.. am packing up for our 8 days trip to Cavite & Manila on Sunday morning..

me and hubby will occupy one luggage and Bree one luggage on her own..

Still coughing now due to sore throat.. can only blame my greedy self for eating so many durian puffs.

Riverie Island..

Re: Phonics..

I am not that particular about what phonics for Bree to learn as long as Bree is able to pronounce and read well.

The main reason why i like Letterland is because.. it will teach our todds how to write the alphabet with a short rhyme which is kinda interesting to me.

Re: Zoophonics..
There is a learning centre just across the road from my place that teaches ZooPhonics.. but they only take in Toddler at 18mths old.

initially i thought of sending Bree there... but i liked Letterland after viewing the materials..

Pat's School house at Jubilee is using Letterland to teach the pre-schoolers.. That's how i got to know about Letterland and i saw the materials.. but i won't be sending Bree to Pat's Schoolhouse. Now am keeping an open mind about the choice of Pre-school although i have pretty much set my mind on one.. and need to decide which branch to go for..