(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Hi missycandy,

May I check with you the date to collect the cutter pls...

missycandy... i also go kopitiam haha. will share teochew mueh or chai peng with my boy. so far he is not keen with noodles but i think those can try also.

don - hee hee hee! noodles can try but i think must cut... ive tried given her the wanton mee noodles... shes ok with it... hee hee...

yesterday i cooked fried rice for myself n mum... then i added luncheon meat... french beans... garlic... egg... chilli padi... then this greedy Kirs wanted also... so i gave her lor... wasnt that spicy... then she kept coming back for more ... -_-"

piggy, ya at first baby Jo also dunno how to eat, sorry i forgot to tell u to cook the pasta/macaroni until very very very soft.

next time, before feeding Ryker, u show him how u eat and chew the food. see if he will follow u..

jtho u bring oli go to yu guo liao...good hor

now my SIL also decided to bring her son to Yu Guo after knowing from us that it is good hehe

prosper
i oso love the biscuit... whahaha
bryan n me shared a pack but i ate most of them... greedy mummy... lolx

jtho
so u bring him on a regular basis like monthly?
i m quite keen on tat too but isit really crowded on wkends? need to call for booking b4 u go?

playgroup:
tot of enrolling her ard 18-24 months but think MIL not keen cos scare BB tends to fall sick easily ..but seems like not easy to get a place unless we enroll early hor?
hmmm

Yum yum after reading all the steamed eggs and stuff, I made for her yesterday too but instead of soy sauce I add a little bit, just really tiny bit of marmite it taste great.. still the steamed egg is too much for her, so I ate too haha..
now bb is sleeping now, for mummies who are clueless abt the proper preparation of chawanmushi, I quickly share this recipe here for your family to try..

Stock
------
150g chicken bones
2 bowls water
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp light soy sauce
2 tsp mirin (sweet cooking wine)

Ingredients
------------
4 eggs
5 fancy fish cakes
10 gingko nuts
5 fresh shiitake mushrooms
60g cooked chicken meat (cut into cubes)

Method
-------
1.To prepare stock : Cook chicken bones in water over low heat, strain for soup then add salt, light soy sauce and mirin
2.Beat eggs and add into the soup to mix well.
3.Strain the egg mixture into a steaming bowl, place into the steamer and steam over medium-low heat for 10 minutes.
4.Add fish cakes, gingko nuts, mushrooms and chicken. Continue to steam for 5 minutes then turn off the heat.

Have fun cooking!

thanks for the recipe meebaby :p so keen to try out for baby
hehee but gotto wait till next week, coz leaving for HK tmr wahahaa shopping trip w my sis! woohoo cant wait

Btw, today i tried cooking lotus root soup, oh man, the whole thing turned out purple...wonder what i did...oh crap, CMI SAHM :p

oh i tried giving him rice & salmon from the jap rest at vivo, he took AGES to finish his dinner, so give up, i conclude i still have to give him porridge....

oh yeah, any babies with 10 teeth yet? Kee's 2 tiger teeth is showing, left and right, so now it's a total 10...scary...

starflower,

Wow! k is really fast in the teeth development area! C has only 6 teeth, 3 weeks no teething liao.. nice break for me to catch up with my beauty sleep.. hee hee

If I'm nt wrong Jenni ong is blurjen...

Kirs still has 8. But I think 2 more at the bottom coming out... Can see the white white base appearing,..

tebbybaby, i also receive email for this ipad review but not from her. It's from one of the bp seller. Think this is the forward message

starflower
bryan got 8... but he's teething somemore coz his gum is swollen n saliva dripping... not yet see the pearly appearing...

i oso wanna go hk... to shop shop shop!!
enjoy yr trip!!!

btw, wat's CMI huh?

ANy of you starting to brush your todd's teeth? My mum advise me not to as they are still teething and afraid we will hurt the gums and made it even more painful. She said just clean the teeth with a hanky will do.

CMI - Cannot Make It =P

i use the finger brush to rub ard.. lolx scared she bites me though... freaking painful! she did it once becos she thought i was giving her food -_-"

Jo,
Tks, will follow your instruction, I'll to feed Ryker pasta this week again.

Jtho,
Thanks for the Yu Guo details. Will drop by one of the day.

Starflower,

Our lotus root soup should be brown colour. What you put into the soup ? Usually, we'll put lotus root soup, pork rib & red dates, if possible put dry 'ba jiao yu'(think dry octobus). The soup will be very tasty.

Ryker likes this soup & ABC soup
Yesterday let him try another new soup... raddish soup. I think he will be soup person like us.

Teddy.. if that email ask you to go to a website to key in your email address and password; don't do it. A friend of mine told me it is a phishing website.

Wow so many of u giving bb outside food already, dun tink my boy can take cos he seems a tad lazy to chew...sometimes give him food abit scared cos he will choke since he's lazy to chew his food =X

the other day i fry french toasts for him, he took really long to finish jus half a bread =__=

he still hasn't walked handsfree yet...seems like he's abit slow in this area but not rushing it....ultimately he will walk la i know =P

missycandy - i know what u mean...kyan bite on my finger so many times when i was brushing his teeth...damn pain can...i screamed out lor...don't bite mummy! =P

those who ordered the Gino cutter pls note that the Bp seller stated clearly in her bp takes few weeks to arrive. So don't ask me how come not here yet. When item arrives I will MSG u all individuAlly to arrange collection... Don't worry!!!! Thank you!!!!

hi mommies..

finally got my haircut after 7 mths.. haha.. Hubby offered to look after Bree so i can spend an hour at the salon.

i itchy backside.. opted for a treatment plus haircut..

before the whole process finish.. Bree was screaming her had off for me.. Hubby brought her in and out to see me then go off to shop around.

he finally gave up when Bree's eyes swell, runny nose, started to choke and cough till face red.. he quickly came into the salon.. at this time.. they were blow drying my hair.. before a final check by my stylist..

the ladies had to stop blow drying my hair cos i had to calm Bree down. Bree was almost going to vomit.. and she swallowed those yucky stuff down her throat, when i carried her over.. she was shaking..

the cleaning lady got so scared that she will puke and prepared a plastic bag.

haiz.. its only 1hr 15 mins.. and she is going through such trauma. i am really worried about how she will cope without me for longer periods of time.

after i took over.. she calmed down and start to grab on to me when i put her head on my chest. after that.. she smiled and chuckled.. before her tears dried up.

i am really worried about how she cope with me being away for longer periods of time. actually i was hoping to go for driving lessons.. now got to shelf it for the time being..

wow lenny, looks like Bree can't be without you for long.. guess coz you're with her 24/7 so she's used to you and not anyone else..

are you intending to start her on playgroup when she's 18mths?

scrumpee, same here, i haven't started any form of brushing except for using the spiffies toothwipes..

my boy will put the facecloth into his mouth so i just let him.. in a way let him clean his own teeth haha..

apologies for late reply, can't come online during the day and unless i specially stay up, is usually asleep by the time my boy sleep n i finished my chores ard 11pm. haha pardon my ultra long posting too! :p

<font color="ff0000">asura, sunshinebaby, cindy and other mummies</font>
thanks for your sharing on your tots' milk intake and shampooing of hair

<font color="ff0000">cindy,</font>
do you know how to initiate self-weaning? i heard before can apply something nasty tasting to nipple so bb wun want to latch but dun want to try that. so not sure any other ways?

haha yup def similar btw trishelle n my boy's behaviour. unless he's playing, else he only wants me! good thing is at least playing, he dun mind any other playmate :p

<font color="ff0000">teddybaby, queenie</font>
how u initiate weaning off bm / latching? mine only latching at night now so dun know how to wean him off, dun give him, will cry until all awake and refused to sleep thereafter...

<font color="ff0000">blurjen, minnie24</font>
not sure if you like to try my method hee it's def not recommended by parenting sites lor :p my boy used to drink/eat very little until ard 11mths+. previously since he was abt 6mths, he only took abt 300-400ml milk during the day and at most 2 tbsp of semi-solids per meal. was really worried he wasn't getting enough. then realised recently that he was just too distracted and wanted to play so didn't wanted to sit down long to eat.

now during milk feed, i'll let him play with my hp while popping him on my lap with cushions and i hold the bottle for him so he usually will finish 1 bottle of 200ml per feed while playing with hp. then mealtime is he play all around the house, usually at his playmat area while i chase/call after him to eat. eating takes relatively a longer time compared to eating on the high chair but he eats alot more now, can finish the whole thermos flask of food per meal, that's abt 300ml. he's much happier eating this way, no more puking or gagging look after a few spoonfuls. more work for me, but well my main concern is for him to eat well so i'm ok too as long as he eats and is happy. hee hee not recommended way but can try out if you want to?

<font color="ff0000">jasminebc,</font>
yucks! read your encounter i freak out all over again! u very brave dared to use cushion to press down, i just sit there and scream! haha really so terrified of roaches. till now still wake up sometimes at nite to check. stupid roach! frighten me till i got phobia liao...

<font color="ff0000">northvirgo,</font>
my boy also dun like meat (pork/chicken). will gag and keep in his mouth without swallowing till i take it out for him. i realise must mash till really finely, then he will take if cannot see/smell/taste it much. he takes threadfin fish though but dun like salmon...

<font color="ff0000">re. sticky tot / sahm
minnie24, lenny</font>
thanks for sharing. yup basically i'm doing my chores with my boy around me too, if he can't see, he will come crying.

lenny, you very super, love your schedule, very organised! am taking your suggestion to let my boy participate in more activities, he does love switching on/off the lights for me
my boy never want to sit in stroller/carseat/or now high chair. just want to be free to roam around...

but then, my main problem now is how to go toilet without him. he always rush to get into toilet with me and if i managed to close door first, he will stand outside, cry really loudly and bang the doors. cry until all tears, face red and muscus all over. i dun like him coming into toilet with me coz he's very curious and always want to touch the toilet bowl (tink he wants to play with the water in the bowl, yucks!) and also sometimes like when "auntie" comes, dun want to see too...tried distracting with toys or open a cabinet for him to play before going into toilet but 80% of time dun work, so is at my wits' end....

<font color="ff0000">re. toothbrush</font>
only using toothbrush but no paste yet. my boy has bitten/chew until 2x pigeon stage 2 toothbrush is broken, now just changed to stage 3 with bristles to better clean his teeth but cannot let him use by himself else sure chew until spoilt too. i also bot a teether toothbrush that he's chewing/biting on now (uses it himself) and he likes it very much. can't rem the brand, bot at KP. coz was designed as a teether too so ok to chew/bite this one. jts.

<font color="ff0000">areya,</font>
you blend first then cook or cook the ingredients then blend for the pasta sauce? sounds yummy! btw, the ingredients cook together or separately? always looking for new recipes, my cooking sucks! i seriously hope my boy dun want to take rice anytime soon, will have serious headache on how and what to cook for him...

<font color="ff0000">queenie,</font>
my boy also only wants to be carried in upright position to rock to sleep. been doing that for him since he's abt 10mths and he only wants me to do it. is very straining for back, not a good posture. i always wear my abdominal binder before doing that, some supports help. put him down in cradle style he will wake unless sleep soundly liao and that means abt 15-20 mins of upright style...

<font color="ff0000">pinkdemoness, pigpig</font>
hope your tots are well now! must take care!

<font color="ff0000">lenny, </font>
oh wow, just read your most recent post. oh dear me, can empathise with you, tink you will hv heartbreaking and tough time to teach bree to be without you for pre-school time. gambatte! poor bree too, she must have felt really lost and frightened without you to cry till that extend. sayang you both!

oh yeah, hee some more qns :p

1) mummies can share approximate how much solids are you feeding your little ones per meal now? - chinese rice bowl quantity, 1 bowl per meal?

2) playgroup. we must start registering now? just realised quite a few mummies have already registered? is it really that "hot"? i hven't started looking yet... any mummies, know any good ones in sengkang?

3) lastly, any good recommendations for part-time cleaner (weekly type)? current one no good, want to change.

thanks mummies!

going sleep now, nite everyone!

sung, self wean meaning when bb wants to feed, u distract him or you feed him through bottle. it will be tough and will be a struggle but if you maintain your stand, i'm sure u will succeed.

Parttime cleaner:: i also need recommendation!! any one? hehehe!! thanks sung for raising this!

sung - my boy can take 1 bowl of porridge for each meal...he's not a milk boy since he was 2 months...so had to feed him more solids than milk...now he's on pediasure at night and mamil gold in the day, will use mamil gold to mix with cereals for him.

re: playgroup, i suggest u look for it now if u wan to register your bb when he turns 18mths, reason being good ones have long waiting lists. I know there are a lot of preschools in SK, so i bet there are a few good ones lying around like Modern Montessori (MMI)...too bad i actually moved out of that area and searching for one near my new place now, but its so hard!

Re: Feeding problems
My boy is like this too...we need to distract him throughout the feeding cos he will make noises and fidget in his high chair, so had to entertain him with toys and stuffs like that, i even had to sing and dance to him while daddy feeds him.

lenny - bree is so sticky to U! I think she really needs u to be around her. Seperation anxiety i bet. Its so different from my case cos my boy can live without me being around, which i have to admit i'm a lil sad though cos he always waves happily when i leave for work or even when i'm around, he seldom really looks for me too. Mayb cos i'm not the primary caregiver.

I guess there's always pros and cons on sticky tots.

Sung &amp; Cindy..

i have tried my friend's part time cleaner.. she is not bad.. but i don;t have her no now.. i sent my handphone for repair yesterday.. Sony Ericsson service centre told me that it will be aminimum of 7 days.. i will ask my gf for her no..

my current one.. she old lady liao.. actually i want to change her.. but i feel bad cos she is very nice to us.. haiz..

Sung..

as for that schedule.. i read Gina ford's books and use the schedule that she recommended..

book title..
The Contented Toddler Years by Gina Ford

Hey Lenny, read the post about Bree's Seperation anxiety condition. Quite serious leh. Must be hard on you as well as for little Bree - Constantly feeling insecure whenever she can't see you around certainly not a good feeling for her either.. I totally understand your worries... abt how she's going to sch, without mummy ard etc. Hmm.. I'm wondering if you ever try these.. Do you play hide and seek with her? e.g. I use blanket to cover myself (or Vera's favourite toys), and ask Vera to look for me/toy. She would look for me and when she found me, I would say: "now you see mummy" then I'll give her a hug. Then try something more adventurous, you go out of the room while she's in the room. For a start, try just 1 second. e.g. Now you see mummy, now you don't. When I play with Vera, I will pretend like I'm playing catching with her when I appear. Then extend the time when you're not in the room then appear again. Sometime, we play in the living room. I hide behind the sofa and have Vera look for me or vice versa. Oh.. sometime her Papa joins in too.

oh I forgot to say why play hide and seek. I read somewhere that hide and seek helps a baby understands that when he/she can't see an object, it doesn't necessary mean that that object is gone forever. At this stage, the best way to explain to our little ones is through play. And it's good to involve her papa as well whenever it's possible.