(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

<font color="119911">daphne, alfafa,
sorry cant join u ladies at vivo tmr coz my #1 gg playgrd n i totalli forgotten abt it till hb reminded me, so paiseh. looking forward to the next gatherin to meet u mummies.</font>

Would like to join your thread. Had given birth to my second child- girl this March but was too tied up to post any thread.

hi all..
been lazy to post.. glad that you gals enjoyed the meeting and the photos in facebook seems great!! tomorrow is another meet up at vivo? wow.. tt's very cool, really hope to join but doubt i can handle my boy alone outside with all the barang barang.. so guess will have to miss it again..

Jamine, aiyz, maid suppose to come last wk.. but guess wat? she failed her medical test.. apparently she has some lung infection and was on anti biotics for 10 days.. but it seems to get worse instead of better during the 2nd x ray.. so agent quickly send her back.. so ended up i got to reselect another maid and wait for another 2 more wks for new maid to come.. hope this time round smooth smooth..

Car rides
I thought all bbies like car rides cos it's bumpy and comfy.. but my boy don't seem to enjoy at all.. he will fuss no matter whether i carry him or put him in car seat.. headache.. anyone got such prob??

Sleeping through night
my boy is getting used to sleep throughout the night.. last feed at abt 12am and usually last all the way till 6am..wake up for his feed and go back to sleep... jus nice timing for me esp when i m going to start work soon..

feeding
Seems like my boy is decreasing his feed.. from original 100ml to 90ml now.. 2 hrly.. he can't seems to finish his 100ml.. but his weight growth in on right track.. currently 10 wks plus, weight abt 6.2kg.. so jasmine, your boy is so much bigger than mine.. kekeke..

Weight loss
still have stubbborn 7kgs to go.. haven been exercising much..doubt i can squeeze into all my bottoms liao.. so sad

irene, dont give up! imagine i kena fever 4 times already since 28th march, got mdm rokiah 2x and went to lactation consultant once...i am still hanging on..the worst thing is, my ms is not fantastic..only around 80ml every 4 hours..you have good supply..do continue..try hand massaging if ameda is failing you at this point of time..another suggestion that i discovered today, take a hot shower, express all the milk you can...waste it...its ok, you will feel better...after you have emptied it, after 4 hrs, pump again, fever will subside...

try it out first, if it doesnt work, then get mdm rokiah again...

NUK Microwave Steriliser,
hey, any mummies using this by any chance? i need to get another sterliser cos i'll leaving my boy with my inlaws on some days. Its much cheaper than the steam steriliser but just wondering if its as good?

Hi Ann,

There's this Lindam brand of steriliser costing about 80dollars after discount at Taka. Comes with a free toy as well.... not a bad buy.

Hey Ann : )
well, the NUK one only costs $39 so i'm pretty tempted, but just want to make sure its a good, safe product ... will check out the lindam as well. thanks!

Wintertime,
Yeah better to get a healty maid as she need to take care of your baby. Wow your boy so good can sleep all through the night ah... I wish my boy can be like yours too... Now my hubby is helping out alot on feeding him in the night. Ethan weight have increase again, now think his weight should be 7.5kg liao growing growing... still drinking 100ml every 2hrs.
Weight loss:
Do give yourself sometime to loss... Did you notice that BF we do get hungry easily? I do leh... but my weight is like bouncing up &amp; down 2-3kg... but I did loss all my weight before preggy, lost 10kg after giving birth, confinement period put on 2kg, after that loss 5kg, so now wish my weight will be stable and stay at it is. But dont think I can as I do eat a lot after pumping milk. When I have #1 I put on weight a lot after stopping BF, so hope this time I can stay at my weight now.

<font color="119911">pups,
yes, im staying at compassvale st, near prime supermkt, keke. dunno if thr is any other mummies staying at sk n punggol anot?

jasmine,
BF reli gets hungry easily, i snack at every pump, even midnite, keke.

ann,
90-100ml every 3hr for a 6wk old is not alot, my ger is 4wk+ n she is drinkin 120ml every 2-3hr.</font>

Hi Ann ,

my boy was drinking 90ml at 6 weeks every 3 hrs so i think its ok. As for the sterliser, u may also consider the pigeon compact steriliser from Robinson's. Its $55 &amp; w 20% off +5% members, works out to be about $43+/-. ~> good for use when travelling w baby next time too

Which nipple cream do u mummies use? is everyone using the medela purelan?

kris - ur bb drinks a lot leh... my bb is going 8wks... and she drinks 70-90mls every 2-3hrs leh... i think its fine because she is putting on weight, peeing n pooing a lot!!! hahahaha...

jasmine - hw the new maid? fast to learn?

doubt il meet up tmr you lovely mummies go ahead have fun!!! quite tired past few days. tryin to catch some more sleep. last night having migraine. hai. difficultly sleeping. luckily my dad &amp; mum looking after bb last night. my dad thinks its really easy. but i guess last night was an eye opener for him. LOL. she was awake from 12-6am... terrorizing my dad! damn jialat. even though i didnt have her with me, i cldnt sleep as well... haiii.. my parents have decided to try again tonight. hopefully i can get my sleep!!!

next gathering @ sassy's - is it confirmed? any dates? can make the list? heh. looks like more mummies will be joining in for this one? heh heh heh

Hi mummies, jus wondering how's ur baby's sleeping pattern? My baby girl can start fussing from 11pm till 6am throughout the night!!!! It's driving me crazy...I'm so tired that my pumping is not regular and supply dropped. My baby is about 6 weeks old.

My girl drink 100ml every 2 hourly unless she overslept. If breast milk, 1 hour later i feed her with formulae.

Yo pups,
cool! have texted you my no.

Re: swimming diapers.

Oh I was referring to mainstream disposable diapers when I said huggies is the only one available in singers. Actually pampers for example have swimming ones too but they just don't have it available in Singers due to the small market. Speaking of which, hey if enough mommies are interested in sharing I might just order one whole carton at staff price. But that will take some time to arrive (probably one mth). I didn't get them either cos I don't need one whole carton for myself. Have been using my friend's stash. Was about to just buy a pack off the shelf actually. Let me know if anyone is keen to share. Will find out the exact price, but usually it's between 30% to 50% of retail price only.

Kris,
okie no problem. Catch you next time.

Hey AnnMelody,
welcome! now we have two anns. At 6 weeks my bb girl was drinking 100ml. Within the normal range I think.

Clio,
I didn't follow any website because it is essentially a big piece of squarish or rectangular (depends on preference) cloth with neck-strap and a hem to insert the curved boning. heeee in fact I think the instructions made it look more complicated than it really is. I too have been wanting to add a pocket in but have had no time to set up my sewing station since bb came into my life. Hey if we have a gathering at my place again you are welcome to borrow. Should take long to sew this. Extremely useful, this nursing cover. I nurse everywhere. Truly on-the-go, whether I am sitting down or walking, this cover is a must have.

Wintertime,
waa quite suay when it comes to maids. Hahha hopefully the new helper will be worth the wait then.

Pumpkinseed,
same here. We are totally unconventional. Hubby and I have been bringing bb out since 2nd week. Went to botanical garden, pubs and cafes for drinks, shopping malls ... basically life went on as per normal for us in a way. *lols* if I can get $10 for every aunty who exclaimed over her young age I can probably buy a free pikkolo by now.

Tuskywoolli,
actually if you get a baby neck float ($12 from BP I think) you don't need to wait for their necks to be strong. The idea of the float is to hold the head up while bb floats in the water

Meebaby,
envious! wish my bb can sleep through the night too. She can sleep a bit longer now, 4 to 5 hours at a stretch at night so I'm not complaining lah.

Starflower,
I'm using medela. Very good. If you wan I'll try and find a a tiny plastic pocket and squeeze some in for you to try. Tip: just buy the small vial, not the whole tube lah. I used a teensy bit of th tube only cos it really healed my nipples v quickly. So wasteful.

Misscandy,
oh dear! awake from 12might night to 6am? Your baby sleeps during the day and stays awake at night issit?

CHECK OUT THE COMPARISION TAB:E
Oooohhh excellent comparison table. Just what I was looking for. Compares factor by factor in an objective manner for Beco, BBBjorn, Pikkolo, Ergo and Patapum. Damn where's the connecta bit
http://www.theportablebaby.com/carrierfeatures.html

annmelody,
to be more specific, at 6 weeks she drank 100ml every 3 hrs

Ling,
I'm quite lucky. BB sleeps during the night but is awake mostly fduring the daytime. I find that associating the night with black out aircon rooms (vie versa day with bright room tempo) really helps

alfafa.. thanks for the congrats

yeah.. kris me also sk mah.. so both of us chat in march and april thread only u came in much later to join us here.. i stay in rivervale drive

pups.. ok.. c how... if nothing we can go togteher,,, if not one of these days .. we sk mummies can meet up at compasspoint for some time out??

alfafa.. i mite want one or two pieces of swimming diaper... can get in M also or not... i wanna share.. wont need so much as wont have time to go swimming so often

<font color="119911">starflower,
im using avent nipple cream. i find medela too thick.

misscandy,
wow so is my bb a big drinker or ur bb a small drinker?? wuld love to join the gathering at sassy's.

ida,
cp sounds easi, can try to bring bb to a nearby mall b4 gg further.</font>

Kris,
There are a couple of mummies staying in Sengkang. Offhand I can only remember Grace, Idaarshad, will wait for the rest of the mummies to identify themselves

Idaarshad,
CP, anytime

meebaby,
so envious tat your bb is sleeping through the night! so what time does she go to bed and wake up? does she sleep in the cot?

pups,
like yurs, my gal is coming to 3 yrs old and still wake up in the nite too. been worse since bb came coz she wana look for me and doesn't wan to sleep with daddy. hoping she will get use to it soon.

wintertime,
another mummy to envy! did you follow any routine or something to make him sleep through? on travelling in a car - i find it better if i put my bb in the carseat and sit at the back with him so he can see me. does yours take pacifiers? if so, giving him one in the car may help. when she was little, my girl would always cry in the carseat when the car stops, and calm down when it starts moving. so hopefully yur boy will get used to it soon.

gd morng gals xD

monster still sleeping.. slept at 11pm plus until nw.. although in the middle of the nite she "talked" to herself made some noise and slept again..
i'm going to prepare milk soon.. think she going to wake up soon..
yea she is sleeping in the cot and the cot is placed beside our bed..
be sure to sleep also so to "tell" the baby to sleep and its night time..she knows de..

Cheerios

Morning Mummies..

Had a weekend getaway with my colleagues at Batam. Had lots of fun and I think we do need some short getaway like this although I really miss my little boy alot and called like 3 phonecalls to make sure he is ok when I am just away for 2 days 1 night. But I missed out his first immunisation at NUH and hubby says now its so strict my MIL was asked to wait outside NUH and he went in alone and complain to me so difficult taking care of BB alone without another person. Ha. Now he knows how good we mummies are. Carry BB on one side and carry his barang barang at the other.
Anyway my little boy had slight fever on sat night after his immunisation. And I had such a hard time feeding him the panadol syrup. I thought it was sweet but hubby say he din even cry so much even when taking the jab. Any mummies have any other ideas of feeding babies with the medicine ? I think it would be a night mare if he cry like this everytime and I cannot imagine next time if he is sick *touch wood* how am I going to get him to drink the medicine ?

miyomee, wintertime:: SO nice. So good of your darlings. sigh. different bb different, so i guess it's my luck haha.

Sigh so sad mommies, i tried my working pants and CANNOT FIT!! can wear up cannot button due to that ugly tummy. Sighs. Gg to do dig out my uzap to use. hope it will help. SObsob.

mummy bean:

Wah, giving medicine to an infant is like an art so don't fret if it's not successful the first few times. I've been giving med to bb for the last 4-5 weeks and I still can't perfect the skill. Not sure how ur medicine tastes - if its for bbs the syrups tend to be quite sickly sweet so it shdn't be a huge problem with taste. Just need to make sure it is a smooth syrupy consistency too and doesn't have powdery bits in it. The way I do it is i draw it up in a syringe (which shd have been given with the medicine if not try and get one from a pharmacy)- the trick is to use a syringe of a suitable thickness for bb's mouth cos he is going to suck on it like a teat - I use a 2 ml syringe. Then, using bb's rooting reflex (put syringe just at the corner of his mouth and he will automatically turn towards it with mouth open), stick it inside his mouth a little bit less deep than a teat (maybe like 1.5-2cm like that), making sure that i do NOT scrape the roof of his mouth, and aim for the middle/back part of his tongue. As he makes sucking movements around the syringe, inject the syrup in at a reasonable speed so he machiam like sucking from a bottle. Quite fool proof unless bb is cranky. Sometimes if he doesn't automatically make sucking movements I squirt a small amt of the med in and he will start doing it liao. Try and see if it works for u.

anyway better not complain lah - as infants they won't protest as much as when they are older and toddling!!!

missycandy,
Like your baby, mine has been awake from 12midnight to 6.30am for the past few days already. Very very taxing
I don't really get to rest during the day as well cos that is the time I have to get some housework done or indulge in a little me-time. I seriously need me-time to keep me sane, even if it just means surfing a bit of net.

emmum,
My #1 has turned into quite a terror these 2 weeks. Over the past 3 days, he has been whacked by his daddy and myself (using bare hands only). Testing limits, whining, screaming, crying, disobedient, behaving like a spoilt brat. He is really driving me crazy, more so than a baby who refuse to sleep.

Mummy Bean,
It may be the brand of paracetamol used. If you are using the proprietary Panadol Syrup, I believe there is a bitter taste to it. My older boy hates it but he is ok with paracetamol suspension... the pink one produced by DHA (I think). This is given by his PD. But you need to check the dose first before administering. This pink suspension is double strength type.

Alternatively, if your baby totally refuse oral medication, there is paracetamol suppositories for insertion into the rectum.

Oh, and give the medicine before feeding time so that they protest less when they are hungry, and the milk will also wash the medicine in the mouth down.

I am currently looking for a thermometer online for my coming newborn baby, coz thermometers are out of stocks in outside shops and pharmacies. Recently, there are a few mothers selling their brand new thermometers to me, but I am not sure which one to buy. I would prefer a forehead and ear thermometer for newborn baby, but also heard that Braun ear thermometer is quite good. Can give some comments on the thermometers below if can?

1)Brand new Petit Terraillon 3 in 1 thermometer selling at $50
http://www.weegschaalboer.nl/petit-terraillon-multithermo-p-172.html?language=En

2)Brand new EXERGEN TemporalScanner Model TAT-2000C selling at $88
http://www.exergen.com/medical/TAT/tatconsumerpage.htm

3)Overseas spree selling Braun ThermoScan Compact Ear Thermometer
@US$38.99 (Model : IRT 3020 CO)
Should cost less than SG$70 after international shipping cost.
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=166207&amp;catid=109001

4)brand New CADI thermometer selling at $86 with 1 year warranty &amp; normal
postage
http://www.cadi.com.sg/products03.htm

1) and 4) are forehead and ear thermometers
2) is forehead thermometer
3) is ear thermometer

To A.Fireangel:

Thanks for the advice ! oh they have to suck on the syringe ? I din go with hubby so think he din ask. I tried to squirt it in so he screamed like hell and I tasted the medicine. Its quite sweet. Hopefully the next time when he go for immunisation I can try ur method. ya I agree. I think when he is in the toddler stage he will run away from me , at least now he just lay there but scream at the top of his lungs. ha

To pups:
Mine is the DHA one leh. U mean there is still bitter kind ? oh fortunately was given the DHA paracetamol or else think he will make more noise. But thought suppositories are for older babies ? ya think next time I shall take some from the PD to standby just in case.

Hi Bliss,

I got the Braun ear thermometer. Its very good and user friendly. And its very cheap for SGD 70 as I bought mine at $110 at a warehouse sell...exactly like yours. SO u can consider since its quite a good deal.

Kayle had her 6-in-1 jab on saturday and came back fever at night. Luckily she had recovered. I would love to join in fun at vivo but these few days weather quite cold and she just recovered fever.
Definately joinin gathering at sassybaby place.

mummybean,
wah, so nice to hv a holiday, you must feel so rejuvenated now
on giving medicine, we can't help that the bb cries, as long as they take it. i will hold bb in one arm, lie his head back a bit, theb squirt the medicine at one side of the back of the mouth so he wun choke on it. actually, i think it's pretty normal for slight fevers after vaccination, so i never gv my first one any medication. when she had it, unless she's really cranky. so if u find it too upsetting, maybe hold off on the panadol first?

pups,
i know wat u mean by #1 acting up. mine was worse when my parents were ard, tantrums for everything: eating, showering, sleeping etc. she's now better. i use the super nanny method. 3 counts n if she doesn't stop, put her at notti corner.

cindy..
no lah i dont think its luck.. i have cranky baby too also dont want to sleep at nite and keeps crying..furthermore she is more or less full on fm so quite colicky for her, i guess must develop and train loh.. i think there's a mummy here (forgot the name of the mummy) of doing baby massage and it really starts the day better.. when i did that, my baby smile and happie and her mood better.. it goes all the way to bed time and before she sleeps, massage again with lotion or oil..
i just bathe her and switch on soothing music from piano and dont turn it off even when she sleeps..everyday i've been doing that.. well also my neighbouring blocks are going through upgrading so quite noisy too.. however during weekends no upgrading work i also switch on the music and make the environment soothing to sleep.. so when she wakes up less cranky too..

i think rocking helps..?? i put her on the rocking chair when she wakes up she will cry for cuddling.. so cuddle again and rocks her she sleeps haha..
put her on the breasts often too..of course in between during day time she will also gets cranky and wants to be cuddle.. but its alot better than before aldy..

all these take time and gambatte! perserve and it will be better!

Alfafa ...

You can reuse the swimming diaper if the bb didnt poo on it =) and since they are only swimming for 15mins ... must be v 'lucky' to kanna the poo. Usually i just buy 2 pc from the WTS section or share with mummies from the same thread ... I dun mind buying 2 pcs from you if you are buying a pack =p

bliss ...

I still prefer 'Overseas spree selling Braun ThermoScan Compact Ear Thermometer' cos Braun is more reputable

re: gathering

let me know when is the next gathering ... will try to join you gals heehee

jasmine, alfafa, ya.. got to be patient and wait for the next maid to come..anyway i had extended another wk leave. suppose to go back to office next wed, but now extend one more wk due to this..

emmum, nothing routine.. i will put him to sleep after sponge bath at 8.30pm.. he will usually sleep from 9pm all the way to 12am, wakes up for his last feed and then sleep all the way till 6am for his next feed.. i black out all lights and have this bedtime musical toy(lalluby song) besides him.. we only play this toy at night, telling him that it's night time.. guess he gets our hint whenever we play it and sleep throughout.. ohhh also, we swaddle him real tight.

i don't give pacifier, hope not to introduce any for time being.. i sit behind with him as well in his car seat, but he will start fussing 5 mins later.. but once the car stop and we bring him out of the car, he will stop crying..

moomooland, thanks for the encouragement.
fever subside already, but breasts still a bit reddish. will try out your method. hope it will work. I don't want to rely too much on mdm rokiah, if not every week has to ask her come, it will be more expensive then letting Zac take FM.

Hi emmum,

ya I feel so refreshed now. But I have a pile of laundry waiting for me to clear too ha cos Baby went to stay with in laws. I holiday he also having a holiday so end up with so many bags to unpack.
But nevertheless I think its good for us mummies to take a breather. I thought no need to feed too. But hubby is so paranoid over his temperature he measure his temp every hr. And insist on me feeding. But he not just fuss over the medication he spit out everything I feed him. Ha. Faints. so in the end I think he din get much too since he spit out everything I gave him. SO its normal to have slight fever is it ? I guess we r overly kan cheong since its his first immunisation.

Idaarshad &amp; Kris
Yes I'm Pups' neighbour... =P

Alfafa,
Thanks for sharing the website on the comparison of the different carriers. I've shortlisted Beco &amp; Pikkolo. Is the oni mode of purchase via online (overseas)? Are there any shops in Singapore which carries them????

Drinking
Ryan @ 9 weeks is drinking 120ml every 3hrly. Has been taking this amount since 5th week.

Irene
Pls take care.

Wintertime &amp; meebaby
Wow...your bbies can sleep thru the nite....*envy*

Cindy,
I've not tried my office pants yet...dun dare to!! I'll be gg back to work on 2 jun...think have to "mian dui xian shi"...hee~~

hi wintertime n meebb,

jus asking e last feed b4 midnight, wat qty of milk do u give? My bb is 5+ wk n drinking bet 90-120 ml; every 2-3 hr...there r times i give him quickie treats on my breasts to quench his thirst...

oso training my hb to make milk @ nite...n soothe bb to sleep but a bit difficult leh...hez those who does not move much w e bb when carrying him...end up i hav to do e carrying abt 80% or if bb refuses to be pacified, my mil steps in...

so far observe my bb's crankiness lasts ard 2+ hr @ nite...did e ru yi oil n gripe water...but muz b more mindful to set a routine.

my hb suggests visiting another pd to find ways to get ride of e wind...but i suspect they all say e same thing...tink he gets paranoid to noe tat this wind problem will b there for next few mths...

haiz...really envy those w >1 kid...guess we need to press on...

oh ya btw...does sleepg in air con make e bb feel thirstier more often? Any linkage to getting wind too? i suspect e change of envt causes my bb to hav wind...my parents place air con less but when back here, e windows r closed w fan/air con/ purifier...ani1 can share ur experience?

thks!

grace..

i had a hell of a time too after my confinement lady left.. my confinement lady maybe too "good" liao in her job every time baby cries she will attend to her and pacify haha..
i knew that my monster heavily dependent on the confinement lady cos i ever tried all methods to pacify her, but put her in the CL's arms she immediately stopped crying..

so it kinda raise alarm bells ringing liao.. and the transition period after my CL left gave me a very scary memory..i cant sleep well. .so i was quite determined to end all that craziness..

nw very much better than before

Cheerios

meebaby, Zac too.. when he cries and I carry him, he will continue to cry, hand over to my mom, he will stop immediately. *faint*

tusky..

i gave her 100ml last feed before she sleeps at 11pm.. sometimes she can finish all or cant finish all depending how much she takes before the last feed.. she is in the 7th week liao.. when she wakes up at 8am in the morning, its long hours so i feed her 120ml she finish everything in one shot..
btw i gave her fm..

hmmm so far i find carrying baby most of the time to soothe not a really good idea.. cos they very smart know that they get their way by crying in order to be carried..
or make it a routine by singing before she sleeps at night?

u have to be a bit "hen xin"? let her cry for some time before carrying?? u see until very jialat then u carry.. how jialat u have to gauge yourself.. hmm dont let the old folks step in..
although cry alot more wind into her tummy, but i guess the amt of time i let her cry ok leh well i got let her cry half an hour straight? since she can sleep through the nite without much problems..

gripe water i only let her drink after bath.. ru yi oil is every nappy change for every 5 hours or something..

trial and error loh. .see which way works bah.

Cheerios

Mummies..

these few days BB has been crying after feeding/ chg diapers/ carrying..aiyo sometimes latch her on then she ll stop crying.

is this considered as 'suck for comfort'? my MIL not really keen to do that ( keep saying after i start work how??)

@ times really let her cry but not for long ( less than 5mins) usually ll try ways to make her zzz on our arms then put to cot/bouncer. she wont zzz by herself one! But @ nite she can doze off after feeding and easier to zzz also

she is drinking 120 almost every 2hrs-2.5hrs..so scare her little stomach over fed.

MummyBean
I ve added u @ FB.

Dear all mommies..pls add me also
My FB email is [email protected]

Maid,
Looking after baby, think she did hands on quick fast, as now I let her do it without me around but my MIL is around. Washing she is bad lor... not clear at all, I have to ping point her soooo many times and she just forgot... sigh... like soak the clothes the amount of powder she put like never put like that even wash also not clean. Guess I will just have to give her time to improve on cleaning and washing. I dont think she have experience in working as a maid before leh??? Lets see how it goes... keeping my finger XX as I need to start work on the 19 May liao.

re:baby sleeping n feeding

My boy fusses a lot in the evening and he likes to be cuddle and rock. I tried letting him cry it out but cant bear to see him cry for too long.. too softhearted :p I try to get him drink 150 ml at 10 pm and he will sleep till 3 or 4 am only. To me, that's quite good enough.. he's abt 6 wks now..

jo

wow ur boy can finish 150ml? than wat is the normal feeding?

last nite my gal drank 120ml @ 830pm and zz ard 10pm till 430am..so nice, how i wish everynite like tat. she is 6weeks old too