(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

pinksorbet - maybe try to burp him? sometimes Kirsten will burp after crying n crying n fussing... i guess wind in tummy... so i will try to burp her but sometimes is really dont knw what she wants... i always ask her.. hubby too... what you want??? i wait for the day she can tell me lo.. hhahahahaha

missycandy - oh ya i forgot to mention we tried burping him oso..he will burp out loud so we thought its comfortable for him liao...he stopped crying for a while then the next min, u see his face changed to those pek chek face than the sound come out again lor....started to cry again...

i oso asked my hb wat exactly does bb want lo...he said he has no idea oso...haha...

i'm oso thinking next time go back to work how ah like that...i can become "shen2 sian1" liao lor...can still work without sleep...

like queenie's bb, kyan oso will make happy coo-coo sounds sometimes so thought he happy happy play...but in my heart i'm thinking he will eventually cry one la...i'm always proven right...haaaa

<font color="119911">daphne,
so much wanna to join ur gatherin but i got to pump at 12pm, by the time i reach vivo will b abt 1pm, dunno if its too late to join u all?

misscandy,
mayb u can try to keep bb awake from 6-8pm so dat bb can slp better at nite after feed? yest was our 1st nite wif bb after CL left n we did dat, bb woke up for milk every 3-4hr in the nite.</font>

hmm... seems lik some mummies are struggling with babies at nite. i dun really have a solution to make them sleep but i've read something that will help calm them down if they r fussing. it's the 5S method by dr. harvey karp from his book "happiest baby on the block"

Swaddling - has to be really tight, with bb arms straight down on the sides.i lik to use miracle blanket, (http://miracleblanket.com.au/instructions.htm) used to get them fr mothercare

Side/Stomach - lay bb on side or stomach, in your arms.

Shhh - make a loud shhhhh sound in bb's ear, it should be as loud as baby's crying

Swing - with small quick movements, lik shivering/jiggling. support bb head and neck with your hands, wiggle her head with fast, tiny movements

Sucking - after bb has calmed down, offer bb yr breast, pacifier or finger.

i find that my bb quiets down within 2 minutes with the swaddling and swinging, and sometimes i have to add in the shushing as well.

missycandy
hais. slowly lor. hope when bb reach 3mths old wont be like tt.. ur hb still good leh.. stroke u. my hb off day oso slp like a log.. sighs. sometimes so upset with him until feel like D him man.
i tell myself 1 kid is enuff.. since he is so unhelpful.

pinksorbet
^5.. we all sama sama..pandas. my bro say i nua at home donwan go out for lunch or gaigai. sometimes i really stress man..
me too miss the old days esp singlehood.. the way my hb say like demeaning SAHM like tt.. i so pek chek feel like throwing baby tristan to infant care and i go back to wrk and stop BF him. but i oso bu she de.
hais..
no la.. kyan not taking revenge.. baby only have us to rely on. wad to do. bite our teeth and hold on there bah..

emmum
tempted to get the miracle blanket or the kiddo something.. but we muz swaddle them till how many mths?

queenie - ya i wish to go gai gai oso but like hard to lor...sighz...the revenge part was meant to be a joke to my mum one la...she laugh it off...haha

i jus hope our bbs will stop their fussy patterns once they reach 3 months like u say...

queenie,
the general advice is to swaddle till 3 mths coz tats when fussy period ends . since every bb's development differs, u can try if he's ready by keeping one arm out of the swaddle first. if he doesn't fuss n sleeps well, then he's probly ready. some mummies continue to swaddle during sleep times only.

the miracle blanket looks tempting! hw much is it ah?

pinksorbet - is he constipated? tryin to PS but stuck at the piguhole. sometimes kirsten also like that... i can see the piguhole trying to push out but cnt come out...

emmum - ive tried all before... works for few mins only... hahahah...

queenie - i really hope she will stop soon lo... or as long as before i go back to work... oh my hubby also sleeps like a log on his off days... or in front of his comp playing games... -_-" only when i ask him to help then he will help... or if bb really screaming blardy murder then he will come and see whats wrong... but he is slowly trying to help out... maybe becos i look very sleepy and haggard all the time... haaaaaaaaaa... sometimes feeding her halfway i also want to doze off...

the miracle blanket they say up to 4mths but some pple do up to 12mths wor... cool... i must try to swaddle her every night.. but she will struggle and cry.. haiii... i pop tutu into the mouth and she wil spit it out... oh well.. must train her liao.. hee =P

missycandy - he will gek his face la, then i thinking he trying to gek sai....then next moment u hear one loud fart come out lor...then know he mayb poo-ed liao, sometimes after that check his diapers realli got alot of poo...so don't think he's constipated...hee...my bb burps loud and farts loud la...haha...so unglam.... :p but i guess thats the way babies are...

pinksorbet, i do hope can go back to couplehood times without bb too at times... my hubby also the same, he will say that he is in charge of making more money for the family whereas i should take care of the house and bb (since i m on maternity leave now). Sometimes so mad with him too, but what to do?

Gathering, maybe i will join in the gathering at sassybaby's place, no confidence in bringing the baby out alone, esp at public places.

BB sleeping at night, so far i got no cue how to make my gal sleep except to latch her till both of us KO. Hubby normally saw us KO and put bb to cot and "adjusted" me to my sleeping area... if wanna to pat and rock her to sleep, i tink i no need to sleep anymore...

keron - your hubby is so sensitive! think most of our hubbies will be the first to knock out..and we secretly hope their snoring wont wake the bb out after we walk them all over the house trying to make them sleep ;p

kris...
it seems like not many mummies will join this mall gathering on monday..it's just a thought since starflower and i will be meeting for lunch at vivo...would like to ask any mummies to join us..
we agreed to the timing so that we can escape from the lunch crowd and have more time to shop. as i need to be home by 5pm..coz i have a routine for ugin...shower him at 5pm and then paly for awhile then he will need to sleep by 7pm..but anyhow.....if at 1pm..if you dun mind the shopping part ofcoz we'll be delighted to have you joining us.

emmum,
damn! I wish I knew of the miracle blanket earlier! my bb is so long that normal swaddle cloth just cannot wrap up her legs too. She's now 2 months and a bit so I guess not much to buy now. Thanks for sharing nonetheless. excellent find.

keron,
yes do join the one at sassybaby's place. there is always a first time for everything and subsequent attempts can only get easier. I look forward to seeing you. your hubby is so sweet, will still wake up to check and put you to bed. i think i married a dead log!

pinksorbet,
has it only been a recent occurrence? perhapd kyan is going through a growth spurt as that can trigger fussiness in most babies. If it is indeed then take heart that growth spurts usually do not last more than a week.

missycandy,
actually my boy is outgrowing the miracle blanket already, his legs can't really fit and his legs are outside most times. but the arms are still held tight to his sides so it still works

alfafa,
well, if u r planning on another baby, then no harm buying coz can re-use later :p

queenie,
same for me, as a sahm for nearly 3 yrs now, really feel tat hsbd does not respect me too. whenever i ask him to help with something round the house, he will say ask the part-time helper to do it coz he PAYS for it. but she's not around mah, so he should help out, if not i will be the one doing it. oh well, m telling myself must ren3 coz of the kids...

missy candy:

maybe bb doesn't like to lie down cos will regurg anyway? maybe the regurg causing pain? i noticed you taking measures to keep her upright after feed machiam she got reflux like that. IF that is the case when stomach contents go back up oesophagus can be painful one, lie down even worse so maybe tts why she cry when u put her in cot after falling asleep on ur shoulder. My boy is on ranitidine and domperidone for reflux - really helps with the acidity and with gastric emptying and therefore the pain and regurg. DEfinitely more comfy for him. What did your PD say?

queenie - according to the website, kyan's poo poo seems ok...sometimes quite funny, see him gek his face than next moment one loud farting noise and when my hand is at his diapers there can feel practically a slush coming out....

keron - the guys think that women are born to be xiao nui ren? can be quite frustrating hor...sometimes they oso jus say onli nia...unless they can support the whole family with their income lor...otherwise how can women take care of house and bb without having to work?

moomooland - kyan oso like to stretch and make alot of noises! i can't sleep at night hearing those noises....mus wake up to check if he's all right...talk abt being able to sleep if he sleeps...sigh...even if he sleeps i oso can't sleep la....have to check on him

alfafa - thats wat i'm thinking also....that kyan is undergoing a growth spurt....i tink it has last more than a week already....sighz...hope this terrible period will be over soon...

emmum - i think hb should respect SAHM...i guess its jus the way guys think...since this school of thought jus passes down the generations...frustrating la...mayb one day should jus disappear and leave the hbs with kids alone and see if they can handle...haha

<font color="119911">daphne, alfafa,
i tink kopi n snacks at 1pm is gd, onz? wuld love to c u ladies since im pretty new to the thread, keke.

pinksorbet,
u've got a evil tot but it sounds interesting.</font>

pinksorbet.. ur idea is good hor. juz like the channel 8 - pa pa tang jia variety show. really when mom nt ard, the whole world like upside down. hahaha. ya tristan oso will gek but oni fart. lol..

emmum
HUGS. i only sahm for a few mths i already ranting liao. can imagine how much rants u might have for 3 yrs. ya is really becoz of kids.
tink i shd get the swaddle thingy..i saw ebay selling the kiddo something (another brand of swaddle) ..

Irene, alfafa, kris......
Brunch ,shopping or tea at Vivo on monday...please email me your contact numbers numbers so I can let u know where we are then.. My email [email protected]... Yes we are bringing baby along.

Oh cool. I'm in. Daphne, I've PM-ed you. I'll most likely be meeting my ex colleagues for lunch first then pop over at round about 1.30 to 2pm. Will sms you to find out where you ladies are.

Irene, Kris, Starflower, Daphne see ya!

Irene,
You won't be alone. You will have at least another 5 pairs of hands there to help ;)

The first time is always daunting but it really does get easier.

fireangel - the PD didnt say anything leh! she jus suggested feeding her friso comfort...

emmum - alamak.. like that i think nt much use of me getting it... if her legs outgrow then a bit... hmmm.... she likes to kick kick kick... haii.. was actually going to order it online and get it shipped to my sis in aust... guess no need le.. haa

u all have fun wor! im quite tired from going out past few days.. need to rest.. hahahaha! plus at night she still drama mama la... haiyo... im thinking if cn leave her to cry... but leave her to cry will end up with her screaming away... haiii... also heart pain la...

queenie
thks! got ur PM.. good deal indeed..
u r not alone, i oso one woman show when coming to take care of bb.. hubby will just do his things with very little help one lor.. i kan kai on this liao.. suan le..

fireangel
think my boy is having reflux, as with wat my pd say the last visit, he told me if getting worse gotta go back see him liao.. i guess i gotta bring him back liao.. i think his reflux is getting worse lo.. even when holding him upright he will just regurg, so poor thing lor..

Yah can't leave baby to cry... I feel like so cruel.. But I do let ugin whin abit while I do his milk at his 4 am feed ( his timing has been quite accurate of late.)

MissCandy
If you change your mind do let us know...

daphne - yes mam! im actually tryin to control not going out too much la... been spending too much lately... but then again.. at home also a lot of internet spending... WAHAHAHHA!!!

pups... thanks for the well wishes.. i hope so too

vivo quite far for me leh.. if serangoon will be ok... but who knows if i wanna join on monday will sms alfafa since i have her no..
enjy mummies

Pink.... Dun have to worry abt the doing when you arrive Vivo.. Coz alfafa is good with all the sling kinda carrier types hahaha... Like the pupsik and balboa she swifted the baby like a wind hahaha...... But the thing is you have to worry abt from home to Vivo wout the sling... Infact I am not good at all w the MIM sling... Gave up doing it even though watch the video &amp; follow thru... Felt so stupid &amp; not friendly to me... Hahaha
Nevertheless.... Of u change your mind call alfafa....

Pink or you can PM me your no.. I will give you mine.. Text me when u feel like coming along...

Idaarshad... Yup call alfafa if you change your mind.

pepper &amp; missycandy :

Agree better go back and consult PD again. Friso comfort is to help with digestion, but doesn't stop stomach acid going back up loh - acidity still there. What u want is to prevent acidity causing problems - mainly pain - cos if it becomes painful and if it progresses, bb will start associating feeding with pain and discomfort. ALso, altho bb's do tend to regurgitate, but if regurg more than what is considered normal - ie pretty much vomitting esp after feeds then have to worry about aspiration also.

Good lord I sound like a hypochondriac!!

<font color="119911">daphne,
bring along ur MIM sling if u need help, i got it for my #1, hopefuli i still can rmbr hw to use.

fireangel,
does changing to soy based or goat milk formula helps?</font>

WRT carriers/slings, I've also received the MIM ring sling and the pupsik pouch a few days ago (brought to UK by my aunt). Struggling to use them esp the MIM one. I need one on one teaching!!!! Some more bb's legs have suddenly grown longer the last few days, so not only is he cranky from spurting, he starting to stretch his legs and attempts to kick/stand on my lap when I am holding him up! He really not too happy to be squashed and manhandled into both sling and pouch. How to practice and how to carry him like that man....

pinksorbet,
hee, u r rite abt leaving the kids w daddy si he will appreciate sahm more, i tried shutting myself in the room but my girl will cry n cry coz daddy get frustrated n shout at her. feel so bad tat i m using my children as pawns in an arguement soi dun do it anymore. nowadays i just ignore him when upset. either i cook inedible food so he suffers, or i treat him even better so he feels guilty. :p

queenie,
my wraps r passed to me fr a friend, so not sure how much they cost. i've got that kiddoXXX one, but it doesn't work as well, the one w velcro makes a loud ZZZZ sound when removed n wakes him up, n it's too small so bb kicks it off easily.

Wah, so fast another gathering? Daphne and starflower, u girls sure having loads of fun after the first meet! haha.

Unfortunately, like missycandy, i will be so dead after this long wkend. Yesterday went chalet and back only ard midnight. Today and tmr also out the whole day i guess. Haha. Okay, daphne, if i suddenly decide to go, will sms u or alfafa okay? still owe alfafa money lo.

mummies, i'm having this problem lately...my bb refused bottle feeds at times, wanna latch instead and so coincidentally esp. when i feed him EBM...argghh!!! ended up i have to pour away coz he refused to drink...struggled n cry...feed till 1hr n i decided to pour away the remaining. =( so sad... my bb used to reject my nipples coz impatience lately dunno why wanna latch...sigh...btw, hw do we wean them off later? i tot he's fine with bottle feeding...sikali nw wans to latch. headache ah!! but at times when the flow is too fast, he's angry too...like prince like tat dunno hw to please him. =p

reflux/colic...after reading the link posted by A. Fireangel, i suspect my bb at times gt colic...or reflux..he on BM + FM (cow's milk). he's always happy after poo (poo once every 2/3 days)..but 1 day later he will fuss.. maybe i shld try goat's milk see if he's better...btw, can we mix cow's + goats' milk for trial first? if ok, will slowly introduce goat's milk...

Read ur posts...very similar to wat im experiencing...

gek face @ nite cry cry cry so loud n ci zham...
lots of poot sounds coming frm anus
mouth very fussy...refuse to suckle

my relatives passed me 2 simple tips...
a. Burping position...sit him on ur lap/one hand holding his cheeks in a an upward position/ e other hand burps his back...do this for 5-10 min either seeing him relax like jelly or burps...continue ur feed after tat...this could b due to fussy eating...or refusal to latch on

b. collicky bbs...hold him like e carrier sling position or use e carrier sling...
rite hand support his front diagonally; palm rests on his left abdomen; do some gentle press on his left abdomen/ taz e location of e wind
left hand supports his buttocks
gently rock / sway side to side

c. Use light/tv/dvd images e.g. baby praise songs/ cartoon to distract him...keep saying soft assuring words to him

When he ywans n looks sleepy; switch him back to e tummy to mummy position (horizontal)

***if bb in great pain, apply some ru yi oil on e area surrounding navel + tail bone near his anus...taz where he passes wind...

U need 1-1.5 hr to calm collicky bbs...as long as they don cry...itz a matter of time they stay awake...

Reason for this position ~ very similar to how they rest in our womb...jus keep simulating positions where they r comfy inside our wombs...

I tried this 2 positions yesterday...manage to reduce his crankiness considerably...

Last but not least, always check if his abdomen is bloated, esp @ e sides. Taz where he feels uncomfortable...

How u noe u do e rite thing? I saw more smiles on my bb whenever i do this repeatedly...

Btw, taking care of collicky bbs never easy...

make sure u rest well sufficiently in e day; itz like working nite shift...

oso train ur hbs to do e burping n carrying positions; w stronger arms they can help u after e feed...

oh yes, to reduce his cries, i oso use pacifier n water to calm him down...

hbs muz support wives if bbs collicky... if u scared hbs no energy 4 work, pls get help!

u r going to do this for mths...so itz impossible to dong for so long; bear in mind we need to be back to work after ml...