(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

oso...areas where wind can enter into his body...

a. reheated milk
b. exposed body parts e.g. hands/feet/abdomen
c. cries
d. how he drinks his milk

decide to set aside ebm for a while n just rely on fm/bm...

bm good as it contains substances tat calm e bb n aids him in passing motion...

SG, my bb boy n impatient n fierce one like urs...muz work on burping n e carrying position i mentioned earlier...

oh ya...do get urself a copy of this mths Mothers n Babies...touched on 1 article of bfing...very helpful!

i saw ur second gathering.. are u mummies concern about the viral outbreak? my brianne had not taken her second jab so i am quite conscious.. now i only bring her downstairs to open space.

About the white dog cafe, i was there last week with my hubby and i managed to breast feed there.. they are quite friendy.. jut have to let them know in advance,.. food is quite good. they have good offers for lunch sets .. reasonable price and wide selection. when we were there, we managed to have the teatime offer.. think 1 slice of cake from est. 10 selection plus tea or coffee for $6.00..

i ordered the mango chicken, its yummy. i forgot what hubby ordered but he likes it too..

when is your bb able to lift his own head without support?
my bb has lifted his own head since wk 4 and seems quite strong to hold it by his own. actually he's been trying to lift his head since week 3 but i notice that on wk 4 he's alot stronger...i wonder if all babies are like this..coz my mom said supposedly bb should be about 2 months old when he can lift his own head

<font color="119911">lenny,
the teatime offer sounds gd, but by the time we thr, daphne would had finsihed lunch liaoz. keke.

miss83,
my bb is nw wk 4 n yest i put her on tummy, she managed to turn from left to rite on her own, can lift her head up for a while oso.</font>

I tried out the Beco carrier yesterday and I must say I am so pleased with the purchase. The carrier is rather easy to use and baby was so comfortable in the carrier that before long she was off to dreamland while I did my shopping haha. It was really liberating to have my hands free while I shopped. Husband and I even went to sit down for kopi while she continued sleeping. Husband was commenting to me that the money was well spent.

queenie
wow happen to read ur post today..e BABY &amp; CHILD @ Tamp BLK 828 one isit? I went there once ( for ist HepB jab) to see DR HO..Heard from my other frens tat she is good but LONG waiting time.

2nd visit to PD is @ KIDSLINK bedok for my BB rashes / ear infection ( dunno DR's Name) she seems ok ok and after few days she is back to norm again. e rashes was there for more than 1week and we did not see DR cos rashes known to be a NORM lo then ear start to ve pus!!so faster send BB to PD.

How could ur hubby say tat? BB belongs to two of u, wat shouldn't ask for help? angry sia

So u decided to see which one liao?

My gal missed her 2nd HepB @ month 1 cos infection cant inject so i decided to take e 6in1 so ll go inject when she is 2months old.

Any gathering in EAST side?? haha anyway no confidence to bring BB out without hubby..mayb till she is at least 3mth old? so scare to handle her outside if she cry non stop- I DIE..

Anyone went thru C sect and still feel abit of some pain @ wound area? I think its e internal, i m not sure also..juz got a feeling there when i need to use my 'tummy strenth'. its already 6wks liao.

<font color="119911">pigpig,
i had csect abt 4wks ago n my wound still hurts a bit especially the edge. its the internal oso but the pain is on n off. dunno normal anot, im visiting my gynae on 25/5.</font>

Kris

ya mine also on/off.. i tried to wear my panties but seems tight and it touches the wound so uncomfy then change back to disposable ones till now.my appt ll be after mid may also.

mim, balboa, pupslik(duno hw to spell) r slings...

beco, ergo, pikolo, etc r carriers...

my pov - intend to sling only for initial 3 mths or til bb neck more firm n stable then switch to carrier. need to even out the weight of bb. its no joke to sling 5kg+/- for few hrs leh. imagine slinging bag of rice be it 5 or 10kg for few hrs. buay tahan! i peifu those who sling kids 1yr above...

sling - im currently using balboa. good - almost hands free. designated pouch to plc bb in so not much fiddling. strap not as long as mim so no worries abt it dipping into the toilet bowl. hee =p cushioned strap so feels quite comfy. bad - if dont plc bb properly, she wil fidget n fuss. if she gets heavier n heavier, will feel strain on shoulder carrying the bulk of the wgt. can get quite warm for bb but i think she gets warm easily... not as warm as the mim though.

carrier - i bought ergo. have yet to use it. looks wise. nothin fancy. shoulder pads appear bulky looking. straps look intimidating. when put on look like going for welfare war =p with all the buckles.. lol... also seems to have good waist support. one minus point. if you cant reach behind ur shoulder blades, you might have issues trying to buckle n unbuckle the strap =p

okie need to bathe bb. she puked some milk out. haiiiiii

<font color="119911">Asura79</font>,
hmm when u done with hot stone on boobs, won't u feel hot?

hai..my tummy is getting rounder and rounder....dunno when will it flaten (already 3mth+ since I delivered).think i needed to start doing some sit up (cannot do last few mth before done with d n c only).

<font color="119911">bluebell</font>,
I bought pigeon breatpad too but did not use bec b not leaking so much leh. if let down, it will leak only so I just let it leak cos I'm at hm mah.

if got some fair then pigeon breastpad sells only $8. some forum mummies is also sellign that price.

re:tummy.
wow, so fast, 2mth flaten? yr no#1 u delivered naturally??

is yr wound on yr tummy still pain?

<font color="119911">pups\Asura79</font>,
hmm so it is normal (mw not odd one out) to have 1 b produce more than the other b.

<font color="119911">tuskywoolie</font>,
u tbf?? if so, it is ok for tbf bb not to poo often. not pooing mean nothing to digest and sysatem absorb well. one of the LC told me that her granddaughter only poo after 15 days.

re:stroller via carrier.
hmm...but if take bus, stroller is very inconventient. I only use stroller when I am on my way taking mrt or gg to supermarket to buy something. if not hubby carry kids or I carry using sling.

yeah, bb really helps us to improve our patient.

Kris
C-sect wound, do observe. Mine was still hurting at 5 weeks but bearable. Thot was normal healing process until one day it was painful even when I walk so I checked the wound and realised is a bit swollen. Went to gynae and alas is an infection. Dun wan to scare you, just to share.

SG
hee...just read an article on weaning off bfg so can share with you. You can latch on first and when bb partially fed, offer bottle. Also can try asking someone else to bottlefeed bb as bb can recognise your smell and will wan to latch on. Hope this helps.

tuskywoollie, my mil keeps saying heated ebm will pass wind to bb...ask me to latch him..sigh..but i gt no choice coz bb very fussy..impatience n angry when the flow is fast...then hw to give bm? anyway, will try yr methods..thks!!

bluebell...thks..yah i also tink he smells milk tats y wanna latch but impatience. sigh...headache ah. =p hope he won;t cry for latching when i decided to stop bf.

A. Fireangel, thks for the link..hmmm...then in tat case better stick to cow's milk..my mil has been asking me if i wanna change to goat's milk coz she said bb will have no phlegm..less allergies etc. hiaz...shall let her noe nt recommended under age of 1.

re: heated ebm...mummies if bb takes too long to finish his milk, ok to con't feeding if it turns to room temperature?

<font color="119911">bluebell,
gosh, anyway to noe if its infection anot?

SG,
no problem wif ebm at room temp, as long as its consumed within 1hr after heating.</font>

I am ON for Monday at Vivo. Was planning to go there anyway to have a look at my favourite shop - Mothercare!

Think I have Starflowers number from the previous meeting. But can Daphne and alfafa PM me their numbers please?

Brought Baby A to the pool for the first time yesterday. Hilarious. She can float on her own as long as there is one hand supporting her head. Will bring my cam on Monday and show you. Decided to get some swim diapers for her today since the swimming expedition was a success. So cute!

Sportyger, yay! Glad it's fits well on you. We brought her out today with the carrier too. She woke up just in time to say hi to my gynae then promptly went back to sleep while we had lunch.

Realise that with carriers, must really try before buying because the length of the carrier must suit your body. For me, the Beco is a nice fit. But I wonder if it might be a little uncomfortable for someone who is a lot taller or shorter. Baby A's papa said he feels comfy using the Beco but that she seems to have her head against the middle on his chest, whereas he would prefer that she rests higher up. I think she will do so when she gets bigger and taller. For reference, I am 1.64m and he is 1.83m tall.

the one called balboa is frm dr shears that type of sling.. i dunnt know whato call mine but i saw one at www.infantblogspot.com that one mummy posted and saw similar like mine .. and that's called a balboa... coz i bot mine 9 years ago.. kekeke

BTW MUMMIES... FORGET TO INFORM NY FREN'S SIL GAVE BORTH TO A HEALTHY 4.4KG BB GERL VIA NATURAL AT KK... HER CHILDREN ALL HAVE PAU CHEEKS ONE

emmum
thanks.. i went to mothercare to browse liao.. $37.. but hor my mom n hb were beside me.. say no nid etc.. so i end up didnt buy. so nw, i juz use mrs wong's swaddle cloth n swaddle tristan..

p3pp3r
good deal hor? can save more $ oso.. kekes. but i donno wan buy or not. coz got 1 obuba liao.. somemore most of the time i use MIM sling tristan out.. and MIM sling can act as a mini nursing cover too.. but wad i like abt the pretty maris is it shd be light weight. obuba abit more thick thus bulky..

PIGpiG
i saw ur reply too late le.. haha. this morning bring tristan to the Baby and Child @ tamp 828.. wow. the waiting time....... from 10 plus until 1plus.. wan my life man. end up BF him in the clinic.. with the parents ard.. abit shy lor. kekes. i didnt see Dr ho, i see Dr Loke..
sad is that clinic don accept CDA Nets PAyment.. but kidslink does.. so next round i probably bring Tristan to either Kidslink @ bedok or normal GP which can utilize CDA Nets Payment..
i also take 6 in 1.. he juz nice 2 mths.. reasons for 6 in 1.. 3 jabs oni.. save the trouble to go clinic and plus waiting time and he got lesser pokes. haha..
so u gg where for jabs?

my hb ah.. suan le.. ren loh.. =)

re:East gathering
now, i moved back to tamp to stay with my mom.. so i can meet up with the east mommies.. can come tamp 1 gai gai?

now thunder storm.. crazy weather.. i let tristan lie on his tummy to slp first..

Queenie. Hope tristan get well soon! Hehe. Yea crazy weather man... Haha. And my girl just poo! Sian. Now super wide awake. Gah. Don't know how much longer do I have to wait before I can zzz again. Wasted cause now so nice to zzz in!

Alfafa: went to relish! The ambience is super nice but spoiled by #1 Hah. He is just too noisy!

*Yawnz* good morning mummies, how was this morning's feed? its raining outside &amp; yeap Cindy, how nice to crawl back into bed...snuggle up to hubby, no baby to cry, change diaper, etc...sigh...waiting for my bali holiday...endless massages, sun, sea, sand &amp; total peace of mind...

pumpkin seed,

which month is good for bb to hang out 2 pool?

any extra precautions u take?

wat swimming gear is needed? where to get them?

hope to bring bb out for some fresh air rather than stay @ home all e time...he now 1+ mth...some exercising will make him sleep better too!

thks!

Misscandy,

i read about your post. Brianne is the same.. i had to carry her even she will throw an angry fit.

i tried feeding her, change diapers then carry her when she is asleep before going downstairs to buy dinner. it takes me around 40 mins to get back per trip.

my mum told me she cried the minutes i went out of the house. her cries got fiercer, no matter how much my mum pacifies her.. she screams her head off.. till her whole face gone red, chocked and cough.. her tears flow till her eyelashes sticked..

tried to do this twice, when i came back. my mum is very stressed and told me not to go out.. anything ask her or my dad to buy.

as for the night.. she wonlt sleep in her cot, she has to sleep in my arms throughout of next to me. i hope this kinda days ends soon

Haha zzz like a dead pig last nite, didnt even know Hubby entertain BB from 2-3am+ and didnt know about e thunder &amp; lightings too!

queenie
I think ll bring BB to kidslink for jab cos very near my place and like u say can use e CDA acc.
It cost $145 per jab plus consult. Hubby say nearer and faster compared to poly so ll go there but did not make any appt yet.
So when is ur BB Tristan taking his jab?

I m going to view flats near Tamp1 later!! I wana go there walk walk also!

Pumpkin Seed
How old is ur BB? I also tot of bring BB to swim one day, BB loves water ya.But which pool allows adult to wear Tees &amp; shorts in BB pool? My tummy still looks FATTY.

pumpkin, I was inspired to buy the beco when I saw baby A sleeping so sweetly snuggled against you, thanks
I am also keen to bring baby to swim cos she got 2 cute swimsuits which I want her to wear haha.

It rained so heavily last nite, but marissa ann manages to sleep through it hee.

I had a horrible night! Baby was up at 12+ for milk, after which she stayed awake until 6.30am! She kept asking for milk intermittently and I just latched her on as and when and she will also just vomit milk as and when! ARGH. Want to scold her also cannot cos she will flash very sweet smile when she looks at me.

Passed her over to hubby at 5.30am but woke up to her non-stop crying at 6.30am. Hubby insisted it was colic but I think she just wanted to drink. I latched her own again at 6.30am, she took a good feed and went to sleep. Sigh. Is this really colic?

At 6.30am her loud cries woke her brother up and he INSISTED that he needs his milk and a story telling then when we asked him to go back to sleep!!!! So, I had to latch one on and read a book to another one at 6.30am!!!!! How crazy can the day end/start.

zre: bb swimming

brought my bb to my friend's condo jacyzzi pool (warm) at 5 weeks. That what they did with their bb too. Very small and rarely used pool, well maintained so pretty clean. Anyway the water is warm and by baby loves loves loves swimming. Rem to bring camera along. I believe most babies are natural swimmers, as long as you don't wait too long before bringing them in. Once they start to know "fear" it will be a tussle to get them to try.

I used the baby beck float on grace. looked tight at first but she didn't squirm at all, just kick kick here kick kich there. waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa so cute I buay tahan

by the way, in singapore, only huggies have swimming diapers. I think that's the main thing to have other than a baby neck float. Will be a disaster plus embarrassment for hubby n I if bb poos poos inside the pool! sure kanna glared at.

good to have neck float so bb will learn to kick n swing the arms freely, without mommy holding on to them thus restricting their instinct to move.

pups,
you need a break! how to tahan like that. bring your baby n join us next time at sassybaby's place

sportyger,
that is such a liberating experience right? at least hubby and you can still go out jalan jalan. I totally believe that a good carrier is an excellent investment. Unless you are the type who doesn't like to go out or bring bb out, then of course no point buying. Yours is the sand coloured one right? smart choice. neutral colour so your hubby has no excuse not to use.

btw, was it you or mango gal who left the camera behind? still w me.

pigpig,

hmmm adult public pool might be too cold leh. Strong possibility that bb will not like it unless youe bb is used to bathing in room tempo water. A warm pool is better. Either that or buy a 2nd hand bb swimming tub?

tuskywoollie,
rem not to let bb swim for too long, at their young age i think 15min enough liao. i'm sure your bb will love it!

you need swimming diaper, towel, bb neck float preferably (for unrestricted movements), camera, ... usual jazz.

Go at a time when the sun is more bb friendly, e.g. 9am sun is less damaging than afternoon sun.

starflower,
ya manz. aiiiiiiii your post just reminded me of my lazy sunday mornings in the past. I could see it in my head as i type

aiiiiiiiiii

EXPO SALE

oh yes b4 i forget, might be too late to say this but the mtero sale at expo is not bad for basis.

i bought several basic nursing bras from $5 onwards. also bought a lot of normal ones but nursing friendly tube bras for $10. MUCH cheaper than the bps here. Also bought 6 pieces of sundresses in chiffon or lightweight cotton with elastic bands across the bust area ... like baby doll types, all $10 each. pretty plus allowws me to nurse on the go. The avene bb thermal water u.p. was $26+ per big bottle, at the sale was $29.90 for two so i grabbed that too.

harvey norman sale was good too. bought philips dvd player for $65 n the cornell stand fan with remote control at $40+ only.

the bb fair was a waste of time for me though.

the whole place was not crowded yesterday. metro sale not for the fashionables lah, only if you wan cheap bnursing bras

cindy, ambience ok i thought. but i love the burgers n their wed foc desserts!

yah next time we go on wed ok? can ask pumpkinseed as well cos she stays around there

pumpkinseed, ok i msg you. actually my no is ini the excel sheet i sent to you for our previous gathering :p

idaarshad,
forgot to congratulate you! hope you n your hubby is adjusting well to his new job. i think he prefers to work than stay home to help you. hahah my hubby is like that. i also say, i thinking even my previous job is many times easier than what i'm doing now!

miracle bb,
oh yes, at the metro fair i bought the lucky bb snuggly wrap around that you spoke about for $9.90 only. v happy. much easier to swaddle her w that cos she's getting stromnger n stronger

tuskywoollie Um, I actually am not sure when it's recommended to bring baby to pool. Her Papa is a bit mad, she is only 10 weeks and she has already been to Macritchie, Henderson Ridges, swim in the condo pool, went to a bar for friends birthday drinks haha. It was outdoor in quiet area and no smoking allowed so it was fine. But I think you would agree this is not the norm in Singapore.

We bought the iplay swim diapers from Bumwear at United Square. And we know our condo pool is cleaned regularly. I rinse her right after getting out from the pool. Make sure to put lots of sunblock on baby half hour before going out.

pigpig I am not sure which pool... anyway, I just stand at the side with towel. It's the Papa who brought her in. Smart huh :p

sportyger I have swimsuits for her too! But never wore them because although they look so cute, I am worried she will pee or poo, so ended up with just swim diaper, nothing on top. Poor girl went topless for her first time in the pool!

alfafa ok thanks. Sorry, I am not doing a good job keeping up with e-mails... And yes, let's go Relish or Holland V sometime. I had the free dessert the other day too. My mum and I were there by chance.

So cute, Baby A is playing with the FP Piano. Giggling and squealing all the way. Thank goodness. She was so cranky last night and peed on me. Glad she can entertain herself today while we finish up her room. Have been doing a bit of decorating and it's almost done. It's mainly Humphrey's Corner. Her cot and changing station are the Mothercare Playbead series. Does anyone know where I can get a nice pastel coloured diaper stacker to match??

irene don't give up!!! Can you imagine, I went through 6 weeks of her not being able to latch on, cracked and bleeding nipples, blocked ducts etc. But with eveyrone's encouragement, perservered ad now it's not too bad. You've already gone through weeks of this, it can only get better!

yo yo gals.. xD

been reading all of your posts abit lazy to post.. hmm pups dont think its colic if u give her bm leh.. drinking fm cause more colic bah.. for my monster, she's on mainly fm liao..
wah the experience sounds very scary leh..
my monster slept throughout the night aldy since she was 6 weeks old..
however she will fuss alot at night before she sleeps.. maybe too tired liao she sleeps all the way haha..
wat i did was..
every after bath in the morning, drink gripe water on empty stomach..
listen to classical songs (preferably piano) very soothing to ease the crankiness..
cuddle her in arms but not on the immediate demand.. i let her cry for some time then carry her..i pacify her by putting her on rocker..and rock her to sleep if she fuss.. or distract her by switching on the cot mobile to look at..
every nappy change, i applied ru yi oil.. do some massage too?

however, all these takes time to train her sleep throughout the nite.. and thank goodness i have good sleep now..she wwakes up at 8am plus for milk, sleep again and i gotta wake her up for bath hehe..

Cheerios

lenny
hope u are copin well with brianne

pigpig
kidslink not very near me, by cab may takes abt 15mins but is the 2nd PD in the EASt lo.. cant imagine. haha. $145 per jab using CDA still ok mah.. we only pay $72.50 on our side haha.
probably will go there too. Polyclinic in the east only have 5 in 1..
Tristan 2nd jab will be in Early July.. hehe go tamp 1 walk walk.. quite many things..

pups
could it be growth spurt?

my friend is looking for a confinement lady for this coming may. can someone recommend your CL to me? I remember there are few mummies commented their CL is good. Thanks

alfafa, the camera is mine. Got to get it from you either the next gathering or I drop by your place.
Used the carrier again these 2 days. Went vivo yesterday for sushi tei and I just strapped her on in the carrier while I ate. Find that its really important to have a good carrier cos it makes life really easier when I go out. ya the sand colour one is neutral so hubby can use it hee.

pumpkin, oh ya I only got swimsuits for her, must go get the swim diapers before can bring her for a swim.

alfafa,
thks for e tips for swimming...will try onli when his neck more steady...

meebaby
thks for e gd nite sleep's tips...worth a try...
is it a routine for ur bb oredi?

i oso give bb a ru yi oil rub everytime i feel his tummy bloated...

Alfafa,
Ya, I do need some time out to maintain my sanity! Thinking of joining you all at vivo tomorrow ;) Can I exchange contact number with you? I pm you.

Pumpkin Seed,
When you apply sunblock on your baby, how do you ensure the sunblock is properly removed thereafter? I put it on my #1 last time but realised it is quite difficult to remove it thoroughly esp those on the face. And yes, I did use baby sunblock but it has still got to be waterproof for it to work right?

meebaby,
I bf her most of the time but she does take 1 or 2 bottles of ebm a day depending on timing. If I am putting #1 to sleep and she needs milk, hubby will use ebm. If I am out and my parents babysit her, she will take ebm that day too.

I am so envious that your baby can sleep through the night! I am prepared to be slave to her night awakenings. Her brother, at a ripe old age of 2.5 years old is not sleeping through the night too. Though he doesn't wake up for milk, he does wake up for some form of comforting.

Queenie,
I did suspect growth spurt too. But then again, she drinks and she will vomit and she will drink and she will vomit. I really don't knoW!!!! I certainly hope it is a once off crankiness.

Daphane,
I hope to be able to join you ladies in Vivo tomorrow. I will pm you my contact number. Will appreciate if you can do likewise? Thanks.

Idaarshad,
If you are also going shall we go together? We liaise through sms, ya?