(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

cindy,
hehe today public holiday eve so going out jalan jalan cos tml hubby not working so i can come home real late. haha...
then how got to throw away the milk liao... hai

prosper, so nice to go jalan jalan hor. So u bring baby along or u got someone to help u look after her?

sportyger, am keen on e beco. do PM me n let me noe how u find it after tis wkend.

pumpkinseed, does ur bb keep turning her head to look arnd? cos beco is not front facing, wld it limit view of bb?

prosper

therez a new pdt called thinsulate by philips avent tat helps to warm pre-prepared milk.

if expressed, can get e cooler bag...u hav?

for angelina s n afcai, ur suggestions r appreciated! My bb had a good nite sleep yesterday...no longer crying his lungs out...never noe having wind in his stomach can b so jia lat...so hearing his burping / poot poot sounds r reassuring for me...now jus waiting for him to poo big time...

He poos a little bit n there 4 last 2 days...normal? Does it mean hez constipated or nutrients readily absorbed into his sys?

Carrier...personally, i tink stroller is best...if not for his colic, i wont consider...itz tiring holding him this position for e next few mths, esp when hez gaining wt n dexterity too!

Looking back, seeing him so unwell actually bonds me closer to him...i oso learn to b more empathizing towards his condition...poor bb... *heartpain

Will persevere till he looks relaxed n all smiles...he smiled more yesterday...really thank my hb n mil 4 their patience...

alfafa,

i did tat, but mainly to quicken e feed...cso 2 times he can fall asleep or look distracted...

btw, do u hav e exp where u bf e bb, he likes to use his mouth to 'pull/tug' ur nipple? Why? Not enuf...not a good position or teething??!!

weird hor?! i see my bb doing tat..dun tell me hez playing w e nipple?!

Hi prosper...
in tat case, i tink itz better to go natural...u never noe wat happens to e milk after a 4 hr lapse...they say quality of bfm deteriorates e minute itz out of ur nipples...worse still...may cause wind in stomach...

now i oso try to avoid ebm unless bo bian...no matter how much u sterilize e set, u never noe wat micro-org r attached to them...better to b more safe than sorry...

Hey mummy,

I have a brand new MIM sling. Anyone interested let me know ya. Going off cheap since is MArch mummy.

Is balboa good to use? Any recommendation? I am thinking to sell my Beco and get Connecta or pikkolo...Hehehe...

Think HB will kill me... sssshhhhhh.... ;p

heeeeeee my baby entertaining herself with the fish price kick and play piano right now. She loves that toy.

Pumpkin seed,
so that is yours! I found one FM container on my kitchen top.
Will keep it for ya till our next gathering ok? Or when we next meet, whichever come first.

Asura,
actually you can check out Mei Tai Baby. Think that is a more well known brand than the Carry Me Mama. There is this very well known baby wearer website which conducted public reviews of various types of carriers/slings/ etc and this Mei Tai Baby received an astonishing perfect score out of almost 50 baby wearers. I love how you can simply velcro the top fabric on which means you can change the look to suit your mood at anytime! Cheaper too! But hubby doesn't like leh, cos you have to tie straps. Have told one of the BP organisers to check it out. For all you know she might bring it in.
RE: Carrier - Pikkolo
Hubby and I have sorta decided on Pikkolo. There is a BP for it now. Got inspired by Pumpkinseed in her beco. heee but I want something that is designed for hip carry too (beco is not really for hip lah), as well as have the option for front facing front carry, so Pikkolo is my preference. Similar price anyway. Only thing is .. their prints are soooo limited, not like beco, so pretty. :p

In any case, we will make a trip down to baby slings and carriers to try out the products first. Apparently there is this shop at Thomson plaza that specialises in baby wearing products, which you are welcome to try for fit. They have pikkolo, MIMs type of slings, Pupsik resembles and Mei Tais as well. Good idea to try out first.

Prosper,
I think the best solution would be to direct latch her. That way you won't waste your precious fresh BM, no need to bring out your cooler bag either. You just bought a balboa right? can practise at home. Try the front carry you can actually nurse her on the go .. sitting standing walking ... works for all. You just need a nursing cover or any piece of big cloth to cover up lah

Hi sassy bb, @ 1st my hb tink hez doing 'disco'...we laughed @ his remark. But after seeing bb oso in very pek face w loud cries...we went to see e pd n confirm tat itz due to e wind in his stomach...

his mouth in constant motion as hez longing frm relief of e wind...so suckling frm e nipples releases endorphins to relax him...h'r e wind in his stomach makes his body squirm, so hez unsuccessful in latching on...i finally saw him suckle w/o shaking this morn...even w/o swaddling him! Check his tummy...if bloated or rock hard...feed him w ridwind/gripe water...but beware! This can cause constipation...we feed him w small doses of water whenever possible...

We oso cut down on ridwind dosage...frm 6 hr feed to 12 hr feed...* twice a day then...cos constipation is oso a murder for him...

tuskywoollie,
yah man. She does that once in a while. Often I realised it is because she was trying to extract herself from my nipple cos she is full or she needs to burp. But I think sometimes she changes her mind halfway and settle back to feed. Once she did it soooo roughly that a piece of skin came off. Sob sob was really in pain for 2 days.

Prosper,

Geisha is nice too. I'm KIV-ing now, esp if we get the Pikkolo. Cost $190 leh. Very exp. Will use my trusty pupsik + my mother's self-made MIMs type of sling for now. Need to sell away my bb bjorn liao. Damn buy for two weeks only, hubby only used once somemore. Just a a quick 20min supermarket trip for fun since I need the pouch to nurse her. Wasted my time lah.

tuskywoollie, really? Oh now i understand liao. Kind of suspect as can hear his stomach like a drum.

I dun think gripe water cause constipation. More of ridwind and infacol cause constipation. Experiment from past experience... ;p

sassybaby!

Same here was thinking between connecta or pikkolo. Connect has such pretty pretty prints! But then Connecta again does not have the added option of front facing front cvarry leh. Apparently, Pikkolo is the only one I found which has proven that their front facing front carry is ergonomically designed to be baby spine friendly. But their prints are so boring wor

I have been missing from this thread for a well. As need to train my new maid before starting work soon in 3 weeks time. Time really flies, so fast need to go back to work liao...
Update on my boy weight 7.5kg at 11 weeks baby is it overweight? Have find time to update his photo with his jie jie Nichole as well in my facebook. BTW my facebook account [email protected]
Wintertime,
Have your maid arrive? Do give them time to pick up. My maid who is a single and dont have experience in taking care of new born have learn how to bath my baby in 2nd week after I teach her how to go about... Now I let her handle baby shower in the morning and evening already. But doing house work she still need to improve as not really clean each time she do it and also they are forgetful also. Must give and take I guess, slowing they will improve.

tuskwoolie/sassybb,
besides pulling on nipple, does ur bb kick alot at e same time. Mine kickbox me at e other breast n arm will box me. not sure if u gals faces tis. i fnd e answer for my case.

http://www.llli.org/FAQ/oversupply.html

everyday, i kena bashed a couple of times left & right. Somemore he will whined so sadly at times. heartache to hear..

tuskwoolie/sassybb,
besides pulling on nipple, does ur bb kick alot at e same time. Mine uses leg to kickbox me at e other breast n arm will box me. not sure if u gals faces tis. i fnd e answer for my case. it dun happen e whole duration of e feeding though.

http://www.llli.org/FAQ/oversupply.html

everyday, i kena bashed a couple of times left & right. Somemore he will whined so sadly at times. heartache to hear..

Agnes, nope so far no... But my boy is very timid. When i nurse him and i suddenly tok to someone he will get startle and whine till very sad... trying to say y u scare me mummy? Ya heartache...

wow pumpkin seed,

nice diaper cake! really pretty. maybe you should side line in that i.e. just take orders from friends buying first month presents. The more you practise the better you will get. and it's just so fun to get your creative juices going isn't it? that why i like doing craft work too

cindy going to kill me liao ... still owe her my account details. haha some kind of seller i am. too lazy even when recieving payment. \wait wait .. my stuvk upstairs latching her on my left now.
later i go down stairs n search. paiseh paiseh

oh yes, the tugging pulling is quite often due to the need to burp. I burp her when she does that and it's usually quite easy then. e.g. just got a loud n wet burp from her again when i saw her squirming away.

queenie,
since you already have the MIMs type of sling you might want to consider pupsik because that doesn't come with rings.

personally i like the snug fit of pupsik more. v snug w the slightly stretchable material. love the fact that it has no rings.

But if i am not getting the pikkolo i will probably buy one pupsik n one balboa. The latter is really easy to use if one is not so skilled yet. just that i wish it doesn't come w rings :p

pups,
hahaha good for ya. Let us know how it went. I'm planning to bring my girl to LA in sep so any feedback from you regarding your slings will be great.

grrrrrrrrrr my acct is just 4300+ more krisflyer miles short of redeemin a free tix to LA for me n my hubby. arrrggggghhh so near yet so far. damnit

I would like to visit the carrier and slings store at Thomson. Who else wants to go?

Don't think any one carrier will suit everyone. Best to try and see what fits you and your baby best!

btw,

can someone invite me to join the FB mar09 group? *thick skin*

have finally decided to link up w everyone here afterall. Was a bit shy at first *lols

HOT TIP FOR FOODIES

or anyone who likes their burgers done properly

check out Wild Rocket's little sister - Relish
http://www.wildrocket.com.sg/relish.htm

Every wed they run a promo called ladies night (day too), where any main course order during lunch or dinner entitles the lady to one free dessert. An those are nice desserts mind you =... like Lava Chocolate cake with a big slap of ice cream, Strawberry Cheesecake (this one a bit small but nice too), black sesame paste with ice cream (yummo!!!). Would have cost between $8+ to $12+ a plate but on wed, FOC for ladies! How good is that?! Just make your male companions don't touch or they will surely charge. Wild Rocket's owner is the Lawyer turned restaurant owner guy so don't play play.

The burgers, esp the signature Wild Rocket burger and their Blue cheese burger is goooooooood considering it only cost $15. Damn cheap. Super thick, juicy and absolutely yummo with either salad or fries on the side. Plus a free dessert to boot.

You guys must try!

alfafa ...

hahaha the shop tt u talking abt is opened by my ex-classmate heehee she is v nice gal u gals can just pop by to check it out =)

seabreeze ...

can have discount or not? *lols*

kidding lah, will probably buy mine from the BP once it re-opens cos buy at the shop is much more expensive. :p

Mangogal,
I read several reviews which say Beco is better than Ergo. Personal preference I guess. These two are the closest in similarity.

sorry to disturb.. me just browsing ard...cant help but comment on the carrier.

re : Ergo vs others.
I am using a ergo and knows many mummies that use beco ,ergo,baby bjorn and also pikkolo. So far many of them has switch to ergo. Pikkolo and beco is prettier but hor , some mummie compare and say they have backache using them.
Also ergo can last till baby is 3-4 yrs old, so relatively more cost effective.
1 mummie i know sold her ergo when her 1st one is 2. Then when her 2nd one come, she had to buy another ergo because the 1st one refused to walk on her own.
Aniway.. ergo.. dun buy from spree.. i think metro or OG selling quite cheap sgd165 i think.

oh no.

think the best is to borrow from friends and test it out first, if possible. Or at least try it out at the thomson shop. think i'll go this weekend

hey Jgal,
thanks for sharing. These things are so exp it's worth spending some time to do research

alfafa... thanks to you, I am going to Relish for lunch. It's within walking distance from my place, next time join me if you can. Going to take the Beco cos there is this silly part of the walk out where it's 7 or 8 steps. Silly because the rest of the walk is all slopes!

For those looking for carrier, I'd advise that you try on first if possible. Also, find one that suits you because everyone will have different preferences and needs.

afcai
ya will be abit engorged...but still can tahan..but if u're worried for the engorgement..then let ur bb suckle the A breast for 5 mins (or pump) and switch to breast B for 40 mins (latch) or 35 mins (latch).

haa alfafa, thks dear
yeah really gt to more research b4 buying for good investment n that is a gd link for review!

Jgalm thks for ur sharing abt ergo

Sportygal, so u gt ur Beco carrier?

anyone using avent bottles?
may i know when we need to change to the bigger bottle? now my bb using 125ml bottle..wonder when need to switch..
2month old bb drinks how many ml?

tuskywoolie,

I think the tugging/pulling could also be because bb wanna burp or not enough milk. Cos sometimes it happens to me, i burp bb and she start to suckle happily. Sometimes, she dont want to burp, i intro the other side to her and she suckle happily. Got to trial and error at the expense of our nipples.

U finally solved my puzzle! I was thinking that my bb like gek sai.. so it's ridwind.. I never give bb any ridwind yesterday and she never fuss at all.. so i shall stop ridwind for the time being.

miss83,
u try to increse by 10ml,if bb can finish then tat's the intake she/he is taking.
i didnt know how also until she cried for more when she finished 110ml. so i gave 120ml from there on. she is going 2 months in few days soon.