(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

hello mummies...

guess ugin will be excited to see so many friends..hehee ( more like it;s the mummy)...okie will try to go out alone with ugin..was initially intended to bring the nanny along...so guess it's cab time ....

although alfafa's place is quite nearby too...dun wan to take the risk of not arriving (coz has to stop every cry he makes to coax him...byt the time it;s 4pm) with baby and me driving..hahaa

see you there on tues ladies.....and babies..

re:gripe water and sleeping
mummies..sorry to bring up about gripe water makes bb sleep longer..I tried again last night but didn't give him gripe water..he still slept through around 3.5 hours..So i don't think it is because of the gripe water..i really hope this is a phase when he grows up and sleep longer.
but i read a book by tracy hogg...she said we can train bb to sleep longer by setting up a feeding and sleep routine. feed ur bb around 6pm and 8pm (2 hour difference) and then give him a dream feed around 10-11PM. a dream feed is to feed your baby before he wakes up..he will drink with closed eyes. after feeding him, put him back to sleep..no need to change diaper or burp him. (advisable to put nappy cream alot at the last feed-8pm). this way can make bb sleep 5-6 hours.
SO far i've been doing this too...

miss83
Re: 4-6 weeks peak crankiness
This is what the nurse here told us.
I'm also hoping she is right! I'd say babies will be quite fussy during 4th trimester.

alfafa
Yea, which is why my hubby wants our bb to have dual citizenship as a back up!!
Our bb smiles and talks gibberish quite a bit. They really get cuter by the day.

tuskywoollie
No worries. Just wondered if the burping methods I mentioned worked for you?

missycandy
Only be back 30 Apr-11 May. Remember to post pix on FB on your gathering.

Babe,
The 4-6 weeks crankiness applies to pre-term or normal/full term bbies??? My bb was born 1 mth early so today is considered full-term (altho actually born 2mths ago liao).....But these few nites, bb cant sleep for straight 3-4hrs as compared to his 1st mth.....=(

so bloody fed up with my 1st gal - already never finish homework on time.. now she herself frustrated and threw an exercise book to my 2nd gerl.. she has a blood mark inside her eye now.. n like usual my 1st one is nt remorseful at all...her reason.. my 3rd boy wants to write n she has to give my 2nd gerls'school book which was still in use !! aarrghhhh .. really breakdown for a while

Babe,

My gal is 7 wks old today. Suddenly very cranky tonite...

And she used to have a 5 hr stretch each day since wk 4 but i dont get the 5 hr stretch anymore for a number of days already. I need my sleep!!! Wonder how i am going to be able to drive properly tomorrow. Haiz..

those who engaged mdm rokiah before, the massage is not painful right? she is coming over later to help me clear my blocked ducts and engorgement. my breasts are so painful now

My girl gave me a hard time last night. Only went to sleep at 12.45am but woke up at close to 2+am and refused to go to sleep. I tried all sorts of things... fed her, burped her, apply telon oil to her tummy and she did pass out air, change her diaper, cuddle her, walk and swing her, sing to her, latch her somemore to let her comfort suck a bit, even resorted to stuffing the pacifier in her mouth. No use. By 5.20am, I was way too tired, plus coupled with all the accumulated lack of sleep, I went to wake hubby up and ask him to take over while I catch a short nap. The moment I fell asleep, my older boy woke up to fuss and I had to tend to him first. *faint*

Pump
I am only pumping 2 times a day now
The rest of the time, I just latch on. I used to pump a lot more regularly during #1's time, but now I feel very difficult to co-ordinate pumping. If I keep to the clock, there may be times I pump and then baby wants to drink. Such scenario happens very often when I pump actually. End up I can't latch baby on cos breasts too empty and have to resort to giving ebm. I can't pump after I have latched cos I need to tend to baby. By the time I settle her, it may be too near the next feeding time again. So, I end up pumping when I wake up and before I go to sleep. Really cringe at the thought of not having sufficient supply eventually but I guess no choice considering my current situation.

pups,

Me also no time to pump now. Sometimes i dont even pump in the day. At most i can only pump once. If i go out and get someone to feed EBM then i can pump more often. Guess what we can do is to be more hardworking when we get back to work.

alfafa
sure sure.. hope my little model give me some face n dun start his crankiness while swaddling him.. hahahhaa.. a few times not successful on him becoz itz simply too hot but gotta hold on a little while before he got use n quiet down..

Re: carriers/ slings
Mummies, any good recommendation? Easy to use type. I've a MIM sling but dun find that it's comfortable. Heard Ergo carrier is good. Where can I get that? Or bjorn carrier?

morning ladies ...

hmmm a gathering ... how nice but too bad my bb having his hep B jab that morning ... so wont be able to join u ladies ... have fun!!

v happy that bb jaundice level has dropped and he cleared his liver test on sat =)

Miss 83
Ur tips on feeding/sleeping routine is worth a try...esp e dream feed.
Does it mean this is onli pertaining to nite? Morn still as usual? (3 hr feed)

Babe...i try to burp him in between...notice he hiccups less n less cranky...aniway do ani moms noe what causes hiccups?

H'r new problems arise
I observe tat when i latch bb on my breasts...they r engorged but invariably e nipples get smaller...my bb has problems sucking n get pek over latching on n off..ani1 has suggestions to overcome this problem? is it e way i position my nipples? Nowadays if he screams aloud b4 or after a feed, itz cos he pees/poos a lot.

Last but not least, is it true tat when bb awakes, he needs to hear sounds in e envt? My bb gets cranky too when i jus focus on feeding him.

Overwhelming when he wanz his needs to be met instantly! E list of needs lengthens...
He cries when he wants to...
a. sleep
b. be fed
c. be entertained
d. cuddled
e. pee/poo
f. feel cool (air con/bath)

~Faintz~

Enjoy ur post delivery gathering @ alfafa's place...like a hands on session...mayb next time cos my bb still 1 month 1 day old...Hav a wonderful time of learning n bonding...

Wahahah Miss Crankypants, this is so funny. I call mine Miss Saliva Queen co she plays with bubbles and drools alot. :p

Hey ho mommies who can't make it. Hope to catch you guys the next time. Plenty of opportunities to come.

Confirmed mommies
Prosper
Cindy
Pepper
MissCandy
Alfafa77
Starflower
Mangogal
Daphne Crosailo Kang
Annt
Sportyger
PumpkinSeed

Paging for Idaarshad and Sassybaby, how how? coming? Pls pm me directly as I'll be cleaning up instead of surfing the net. hehe

p/s pumpkin yes food will be provided. MissCandy has kindly taken care of it. We'll split the bill after

pp/s thanks Pepper. I'm sure your boy will be a natural talent. And there are plenty of hands on standby!

ppp/s will demo the pupsik pouch cos my MIMs type sling is still in the laundry basket. :p lazy mama. BTW I'm not a smooth operator yet hor, so pls be prepared to see lotsa adjustments. I have a bb bjorn air too for those who want to try. Note to self, remove the carrier from hubby's car.

byeee

Oh, good, I always wanted to see the pupsik pouch. If no one bringing MIM sling, I can bring mine. Will def be bringing my Beco carrier.

By the way any one have Nepia size S?
I just want to try one piece. Have Mamy Poko and Goon for those who want to try. Have Bumwear too if you want to have a look.

pumpkin - i jus used the last pc of nepia yesterday! paiseh =P fitti u wan to try? anyone wants to try pet pet? i bought M.. cn bring a few to let u all try... =)

hai~~ kayle has not poo for 3 days, if today still not poo will be the fourth day.
How? my mum ask me to bring her to doctor. any babies here not poo for more than 3 days before?

prosper, my girl longest is 5 days!! haha.. somemore tbf wor. worrying what will happen when i intro fm heee. yoour girl first time like this? I read online after 4 - 6wks, may not poo for 7 to 10days.. so maybe u wanna wait n see? if she still play, zzz, feed well, should be ok. and now she also don't poo everyday, think once every 2 to 3 days wo.
but poo is poo A LOT A LOT A LOT.

missycandy, can I try 1 pc of Petpet? Tried Fitti before. Oh, I also have Pampers if anyone wants to try.

Prosper, my girl is also on day 3 without poo. It's apparently normal if on breastmilk. Hope she doesn't do massive poo at alfafa's place tomorrow! She did it once in my mum's car while I was driving alone. OMG...horrifying. Had to clean up 2 days worth of poo in a squashy parking lot with passersby peeking in all the time. There was so much, it leaked out onto her clothing.

pumpkin seed,
me want to try goon!
anyone wants to try huggies ultra small?

btw, i have a brand new obuba wrap/shawl thing to sell - will bring along to see if anyone int in it ...

c u all tmr .. i hope my Grumpy Bear doesn't act up tmr as well; i already have my husband on standby to "evacuate" us if so ...

Ok Ann, I will bring for you. Don't mind having a look at your Obuba shawl too. The other day, this whole busload of people stared as I b-fed in my mum's car. Mortifying.

If anyone's girl is on the smaller side, I have new girls clothing and PJs to sell. Just PM me and I can bring tomorrow. A's body and feet are on the long side, can't fit

Think I better list down everything I have so you won't be confused. Just PM me what you want me to bring:
- Pampers S
- Goon S
- Mamy Poko S
- Bumwear
- MIM sling
- Girls clothing, PJs, hat, bib 0-3months, new (s)
- Winnie the Pooh plate, new (s)
- Mickey and Minnie Mouse plate, fork and spoon, bowl set, new (s)
- Maxi Cosi cabrio carseat in navy (s)
- Canetons high chair/toddler seat and table (s)
- Peg Perego Prima Pappa high chair (s)
- Ikea changing table (s)
- Beige playgym, new (s)

(s) means for sale

ann, i do have Goon, if pumpkin no more goon, i can pass to you!

Oh yes, my real name is Cindy mommies. hehe don't call me elita tmr ha!!

really no need see doctor? cos everytime she farted very smeely like her poo smell so tot she poo liao but went to check dun have. i think she is heaty. so i shall wait till tml is it

Cindy, ya this is the first time not pooing for so long

I'm looking confinement lady urgently. some of u may just finished ur confinement. If your confinement lady is good can you recommend me.

pls PM me. Thanks

tuskywollie, hiccups means baby is full and the full belly is pressing on his/her diaphragm. When i breastfeed and Keenan hiccups after, i know he's had enough :p

starflower, if no hiccup does it mean not full then? Cannot possibly have hiccup after each feed eh? Heee.

Prosper, see a pd if it will put u at ease. But I'm pretty sure its ok. When it happened to my girl, I told myself, more than 10days then will see doc. She was pooing fine everyday till she turned 6wks, then become irregular. hee. Now, every 2 to 3days one big poo. Definitely different from my #1 who poo everyday. So was initially worried too. But now as long as I see she no discomfort, I m ok.

So excited about tmr!

Grace, Asura
Re: Bb crankiness peaks at 4-6weeks
Nurse never mentioned preterm or full term babies. Asura, 5 hr stretch? That's really good. I never get to 5hrs, 4.5hrs max. Today is an exception already. She's still sound asleep from 2pm (MEL Time). Usually my bb only takes naps during daytime unless I bring her out. Maybe Charlene had a growth spurt and drank alot during those days and thus slept longer. Now she's back to her normal feed?

<font color="119911">mummies,
ask u regards to latching on bb....

when u latch on bb, will u let bb empty one breast (usually they dun empty...) first then switch to next b.....or switch alernately so that the other b won't so engorge (since when bb suck one b, it will stimulate the let down and bm will drip the other b).

<font color="119911">SG</font>,
re:burping
my boy sometimes also diff to burp if not, had to burp for a long time. even can burp a few times within hrs. he will struggle and cry. so when one cry him up, there will be burping.

if my boy did not burp, he will sure er ni. dunno will yr bb felt uincomfortable nopt to burp after sometimes when bb just woke up.

<font color="119911">mangogal</font>,
hmm..can add grip water into ebm meh? not directly add on with water and give?? so that, I have not given the gripe water to my bb yet. he fart a lot so dun think need to give loh since he let out gas easily....but burping still a big project. evem burp once still not enu one....

<font color="119911">misscandy</font>,
yup, sometimes will free even fr spotting 1-2 days but sometimes spotting came bck. like few days ago, I got some spotting but these 2 days, I dun have liao.

re;pee wee thing
hmm kind of ex....sometimes, we do get 'tea' fr my boy. but usually, we will cover the p area first.

<font color="119911">prosper</font>,
is yr bb tbf? tbf bb usually dun poo so much cos bm is easily digested. last time, my gar only poo after 7 days. now my boy poos 2-3 days.

<font color="119911">Cindy</font>,
re:poo
yup, after 2-3 days did not poo, bb will do BIG business man....so scary...

outing is tomorrow i cant make it. got to send ger to school from 2 to 3.30pm..

i tout is wednesday... we catch up other day lor... maybe can come to my place at serangoon gdn... got a baby pump up pool... playmat etc etc...

enjoy ya ladies n babies...

sassybaby,
hey, I don't mind. Sounds cool. Catch you next time.

Mommies coming tomorrow. Actually I have heaps of branded BN bb clothes to off load. Rem some time ago I was hot on the idea of an ebay business? Well it lasted all of 1.5mths, of which one whole month was taken up by waiting for the clothes to arrive. Listed like 20% of the clothes on ebay for 2 weeks, sold half but already lost interest by the end of it. I moved on to sewing next. :p

Since you ladies are selling stuff tomorrow, hope you guys don't mind that I display them out as well yah? don't worry, will be cheap!

see ya tomorrow!

Re: pooing
hmmm. my boy still poo alot le.. issit becoz my bm not easily digested then? i m on tbf le.. +.+

Re: burping
my boy definitely needs to be burp lor.. arbo he will go merlion lo.. so sacry one.. the er ni not little one le.. sometime even like fountain lor.. kaoz.. so bo bian die die gotta burp him before putting him flat down lor..

Re:pooing
Yup....my bb oso poos very regularly and quite alot at times.....

Re:burping
When bb was in NICU, I was taught how to feed him and oso how to burp him. So...it takes abt 5mins to burp him. But if he's too asleep, I will jus let him sleep.....bcos it'll be a waste of time!!!

p3pp3r - ur boy same as my girl.. if i dont burp her... merlion! and really fountain! see her so poor thing.. i hope this stupid merlion act goes away soon... im nt bothered abt the dirty clothes, bedsheet, sofa, floor, clothes... im not worried abt her...becos after merlion she look like very ke lian lo... so poor thing...

today thread a bit quiet.. i think alfafa busy preparing the home for tmr.. hee hee =x

jtho(jean) might join us.. ive smsed her... she said she has no internet access as moving home.. tmr the starhub person wil be goin to her plc btwn 9-1... i told her to join us after that... shall see how bah... =)

ive ordered the food but if not nice pls dont blame me hor... i nvr try b4.. hahahahah! =P i ordered mini buffet and those food that hopefully dont need to use fingers to eat... since our hands will be full!!!

missycandy
ya lor.. so heartache lo.. sometime can come out from his nose one lor.. so horrible n scary.. ya indeed he will be like very xin ku.. aiyo.. dunnoe y like tat le.. think he got poor digestive system like me ba.. '^'