(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Hi Miss83,

I share ur fear too...
Jus when we thot we noe our bbs better, they wil surprise us...

My bb has given me many surprises...
He shaved his hair yesterday n seemed very obedient...drank w/o wriggling...pee/poo cooperatively...feed w/o making much noise...even played w him qite a bit...then today he back w his crying...but getting more predictable, hopefully...

Tink as moms, we need to see our bbs as little beings capable of expressing themselves...i guess when they cry harder, it means they hav more pressing needs for us to meet?

My hb used to b a collicky bb...so i paying close attention to our bb...i for 1 a very easy to manage bb so i hope our bb takes after me...heee...u all notice any mannerism resembling u or hb? I notice my bb likes to yawn / stretch like me but he looks qite like my hb's dad...

U mentioned bb is fussy...over sleep/feeding or others? Care to share?

fairymoss.. u have a maid rite.... dun worry u will get thru it and u are a good mummy... my day is never ending but seriusly if u wanna think too much abt it.. then u will be down.... my gerls are practically shouting always at each other - i must learn to ignore at times - cannot be tarzan all the time - they need help with school work and b2 who is 8 years old seems to get bullied at school and hv been sick - b1 has attitude problem and has got a love letter frm a school mate declaring love for her *faint* this is her 2nd letter - her 1st when she was in P1.. she has extra classes at school... and B3 constantly needs attention where i divide with b4 - since b4 dun really understand now... i bathe with him sometimes now... a routine since b4 was born to enjoy some me time with him... my day ends usually after midnite -earliest 2am and latest 5am - with pumping and latching... faint i dun want to imagine how i go thru it.. ut somehow we mummies can do it.. dun worrry u can !!!

tuskywoolie
mostly about sleeping...sometimes at night..sometimes at naps..he doesnt like it if we put him down..but we want to train him to sleep on his cot, not all the time being carried...so we do the pat2 on his back everytime he cries..it works..but once we stop, he cry again..we try to wait for 30 mins before we leave him..but again he still notice once we leave him..sigh..
but just now managed to leave him..now is 1 hour pass already..thank God..
I think today because he doesnt have enough sleep in the afternoon..so start from evening becomes cranky..
I really hope this will not become a routine..(though this kind of day sometimes happen..like once a week but today is the toughest coz he's been cranky since 1pm today)

miss83 - dun say tat lah .. where got super... managed it somehow or rather lah.... some more now b3 is at a stage where he wants to help in everything frm opening drawers to cleaning table.. *faint* .. so he needs more attention but i told his sisters that they need to look after him as well.. they do but being young - u cannot expect much frm them...as they expect attention frm me too.... if i can.. i m sure all mummies can.. i told myself and hubby this... i may not be the best mum compared to rest... financial terms - dun afford to give them the most branded goods and toys BUT I WILL BE THE BEST MUM THAT I CAN BE TOWARDS MY KIDS.... I M SURE OF THAT

Idaarshad
again...WOW...speechless!
that's just the spirit I need

when u all say u can pump xxxml per pump session, u mean for both breasts or single breast?

last week, i was getting abt >150ml for both breasts but after i took the antibotics for urinal tract infection, my MS drops to abt 100ml for both breasts only.

after reading the thread, sometimes i just feel like giving up giving BM as it usually took me slightly > 1hr to express both sides. and like <font color="ff0000">kome</font>, after confinement i also concerned abt my nutrient intake. sigh what to do now???

miss83 - mine case is opposite from u. only my hb support me on bfing but cos he thinks that will help me lose weight. my mum keep telling me i pump so long only got 100ml can don waste time

irene - thanks.

teddyBB

I went to Kidslink @ blk 136..i think u better bring BB before he really kana infection or wat.after e med and ear drop i think my BB seems abit better liao.

oh i wanna ask - do we have to bring bb for development check when they turn 1 mth? then if i going to GP for 6 in 1 jabs, will they also perform the development check?

press on with giving bm mommies. U can do it. Day by day pass very fast de. Treasure the bonding time with bb via latching or his satisfaction via drinking your ebm. Afterall its just this short period we can give our bm and its truly beneficial to them. It definitely really help make them stronger. So if we can, just press on for their sake. Soon soon, sooner than we know, they will be moving on to solids n sprout teeth and may not want our breast le.... Heee.

Missycandy n alfalfa, Okie, will do the same torub on bb tummy after bath Heee.

Alfafa , Haha Okie, no gathering ah.. Thought might be fun Heee. We can have pot luck at someones place Heee. Ohh , go out, can too. Me jurong area, Heee. We can share a cab to go out for sure. Me be back at work june29, so can Jio me also. Just that I have to make plans for #1. Haha. Will definitely try my best.

re: baby gg out.
I also guilty of bringing bb out. She has been out every wkend almost whole day after 1st month Heee. Today brought her back to workplace see colleagues n they all commented she look like brother and daddy! Upset man... Both don't look like me still stick me like glue.. Boring. Haha.

miss 83 - of coz ... no worries - we are here to support each other.. i get sad aso when mums can just purchase things at ex price.. where i canot afford to do so now.. feel at times i disappoint my kids.. but i tink back to lift my spirits up.. by saying not all ppl are destined to be the same / afford the same things rite - than rather letting this get me down - i think of the caption i typed above.. it helps me feel better

mummies - about giving up BM - remember this - you are doing this coz u want the best for ur child at a fraction of the price - FM is so ex now... but also remember - if u give in to FM - does not mean u are a bad mommy... u can enjoy ur bb more also w/out the tiredness of pumping and latching - either way - i know we mummies just WANT THE BEST FOR THEM RIGHT?

Keron&amp;Jeris,
i gave pacifier &amp; swaddle him...he will suck on the pacifier...eyes still big big...we just left him in the room (air-con) on my bed (baby co-sleep with me) &amp; after an hour usually he will fell asleep on his own. BUT must make sure he drink enuff milk before last feed for bedtime else sure he will be cranky de. Now almost 5hrs since his last feed at 7pm...gg to wake him up so that i dun have to wake up 2 or 3am to latch him...i can sleep longer

Idaarshad,

when I read your earlier message, where you wrote what you told your hubby, I actually teared. I also related your case and what you wrote to my hubby, he says he really admire you too. Good job, mommy!

Ivy,
thanks for the info!

Cindy,
Jurong where? Jurong East? Maybe we can go Jurong East jalan jalan? Wonder if they have good nursing room. Think it is more difficult for you schedule wise. So let me know when you wan to meet up. Next week will be good.

Keron,
My baby doesn't sleep much during the day. We deliberately bring her out to the living room which is bright and has no aircon. She sleeps better in an aircon room actually. As such day time she is quite a handful, but come 10plus pm she usually goes to sleep easily. She's swaddled tightly, 'cept for legs cos she is too tall for the diaper cloth that I use to swaddle her. The bedroom is also completely blacked out; I even go to the extent of covering the aircon indicator light with post-in notes.

vernice,
re developmental check. I don;t think GP knows how to do a proper check wor. My bb did hers at 5 weeks at the polyclinic, mainly because I brought her there for hep B so figured might as well kill two birds with one stone. The nurses were nice, they were the ones to take the weight/height etc. The rest of the check were done by a PD who took not more than 2 mins. Frankly I thought his check was really shoddy. Won't advise consultations at polyclinics. :p

keron,

not for the 12 hours. She will sleep at say 10plus pm, then wake up for feeds only. After she is fed and burped, I simply swaddle her back and she goes straight back to sleep. This goes on until 12hrs (e.g. 10plus am the next day) after she first goes to sleep inside the room. Afterwhich we bring her out to the living room liao. She gets cranky during the day though. :p

i read somewhere that its fine to give babies pacifiers up to 4mths... nth wrong with it.. some jus like to suckle... but of cos after that must wean them off la... cant have few yr old kid with pacifier in the mouth not very nice... i try to give my bb pacifier but she spits it out... oh well..

sleeping pattern - hai.. if she sleeps thru from 12plus til 3, it means when she wakes up for the feed after 3, she wun go back to sleep liao... if she is awake frm midnight til ard 3, then she will probably sleep til 6/7am... dunno hw to break the habit... very torturous... sian...

very hard to make sure she goes to sleep on a full tummy leh... sometimes she will finish her 90mls... sometimes only take 60-70mls.. after that refuse to take anymore.. and i dont wish to force her as well.. if not she will merlion...

burping is still a problem at times... most of the times still can... but occasionally no matter how also just wont burp and im so worried she wil puke lor... last night 1hr after her feed, she puked out her milk... and best part she was lying on her back.. so the milk all flowed to her eyes... -_-" diao i faster pick her up n washed her up... haiii... and she burped after that feed lor!!!

<font color="119911">mummies,
any one bath bb with room temp water? cos my boy scared of heat one...dunno if anything do with my ebm....he can ta han cold water and luv it...will be shiok shiok after bath...

do yr bb need on the fans almost 24hrs?

<font color="119911">PigPig-aka oxgal</font>,
yup, my polyclinic is under NHG.
bb bonus is the one which gov give instalment - 4 times..
have not tried CDA a.c. got the ATM ard but I know it can be used for education purpose.

re:yellow pus.
my boy also has that on his forehead and eyebow. we just leave it.

<font color="119911">misscandy</font>,
by knowing if bb drink enu, one can see the diaper vol. sunce, yr gar's diaper full easily, so that mean yr gar is drinking enu. dun worry, bb will ask for milk if not enu...some bb dun like to be force feed when the adult think they do not have enu milk. hence, the bb cries for milk will tell u he need feed.

re:diaper.
oic u bought the 3 for $34.xx one...u shd get sample mah....

<font color="119911">alfafa77</font>,
agree with u that bb who go out more often will be well socialised. like my no#1 case, she had been confine for 5mth at hm (apart fr gg for jab and in laws plc). so when she went to in laws plc, she will cry like murder. when we entered the bf contest for her, she also scream like murder. see stranger scream and cry. hence, think she got the stranger anxiety then...she is ok when she is 1yr old only.... even gg to new environment alos make her cry...

anyway, for me since my boy is a premiee so will try not to go crowded plc. will only go down walk walk or in laws 's hse.

wow...so young, already enjoy jacuzzi. is the water suitable for her cos scared got the cholrine...

<font color="119911">pinksorbet</font>,
my boy also fart a lot. loud and digusting...yr bb got simlimaR behaviour as mine. fuss fr 12am (after feed) till 8am. luckily, if not for my mum who take over the shift at 4am, I think i faintz man...

re:diaper.
adhesive tape for dryer not sticky one...also leak.

<font color="119911">vernice80</font>,
yr ms consider quite gd at least better than me. it took me 2 mth then I can get 150ml (5hrly pump and pump for 30-50mins).

<font color="119911">miss83</font>,
dun care how other looks..just think of the cost of fm and the benefit of bm will tell u to continue feeding ebm. I also tot of giving up cos too tired and lack of slp but i still preserve....

Idaasrshad,
You are amazing
My undivided attention for my #1 is his bedtime story. Without fail, I will sit with him every night to go through the story books he selects. The rest of the time, I am usually busy with everything else that I don't really spend quality time with him. And I agree with you that no matter what, we will go through it. By hook or by crook, can one!

Btw, the certificate of vaccinations, you don't have to stick to one source for it. The vaccination records need to be submitted to the National Immunisation Registry by the various clinics and your child's details will be captured by the registry. At the end of it, any clinics should be able to print it out for you.

afcai - nvm lo... if really nt that gd then i will sell it off if not then faster use finish.. use during day time lo... =)

wow ur bb like cold water ah.. i havent tried for my girl yet... considering washing her butt with cold water when she poops... heh heh...

alfafa dear - i tear up too each time when i think and tell myself and hubby this... it's natural i feel inferior at times abt nt being able to give the much best like other mummies to my children...but i accept that evryone is different and u die die aso cannot change like how u live ur life - i also mus live like that meh?? cannot rite... certain things can be same .. some cannot...so maybe u give better to ur child in aspect A . but i give better in aspect B?? ..i am also dun want to be biased as my mum was - loves and treats my bro better than me - wth my kids - she also like that - loves B1 more - u can so feel it - so now mummies who have $20 to buy one set of clothing for their child - i who have $20 must divide into 4 and buy a $5 per pc suit for each of them - i m ok with it and told my 2 elder gerls the same thing too - i told them in future- if i have enuf money only to buy one Mcdonalds meal - i rather none of them have any... if i wan them to have - all 4 must have.. btw.. my 2 elder gerls are 8 &amp; 9 liao.. and my 3rd boy is still using M as he got small buttock.. y.. u got samples to give?? i dun mind keeping...

pups... u are amazing too.. at least there is some me time with B1... oh abot the records isit - coz i rememebered thats what the poly nurse told me.. at least if i know this now.. can tell other mummies /frens same thing too

Keron&amp;Jeris,
After his last feeding, which range from 9 to 11pm, he will fall to sleep automatically. In fact, he sleep if he is full. Then I'll swaddle or half swaddle him, depend on the weather.

Vernice, same thots with alfafa, the doctors in polyclinic are not really that good in handling infants. The first doctor I met, in fact, my friend and me were displeased with him. Ask him to check Zac's blocked nose, he asked me if he is feeding well, if so, shouldn't be blocked nose. *faint*. It was the 2nd visit, which we luckily met the head of dept who is on duty, and he check on Zac. That doctor is great.

keron and jeris, I will latch her on to give her her last feed around 10pm, then she will suckle till she unlatches herself, then I put her back to bed. if she is still awake when I put her back to bed, means she still doesn't want to zzz and makes loads of noise, means she is still not full, will latch back again. If she has taken enough, she will be willing to lie on bed till she sleeps.
15 to 30mins. However, there are also times till she latch till zzz but will be awake again once I put her back to bed.

Alfafa, Heee. Next wk can can. Which day? jurong east nothing much now that the entertainment centre closed liao. Can consider imm, or the new jurong pt.. Haha. As for nursing, I can go public toilet la Haha.. afternoon? Hee, exciting, can go shop n buy clothes.. Don't know how to try though Haha. I will just carry her in my arms lo.. Not expert in sling like u Haha.. Anyone else wanna join us? Hee.

hi, any bbies here with blocked nose? my boy seems to have phelgm and is wondering if I should bring him to see PD..

wintertime, zac's blocked nose is not cleared yet. the doc in polyclinic told me is actually his airway is narrow, tat's why we keep hearing that his breathing is congested. I din bring to PD.
If you are worried, it's good to make a trip down to the PD.

wintertime,
my boy oso have blocked nose, so every now n then i will clear his nose dirt, then he ok liao.

phelgm, my boy oso have, think its something most bbs have.

dun worry, when they spit milk out, they will spit the phelgm out as well, sticky sticky 1.

Oxgal: is the pd at kidslink gd? Only one pd there?
Re burping: i tried putting
him over my shoulder and i feel he burps faster like this. Any mummies full month liao and still wearing panty liner cos still got a bit of light brown discharge?

Idaarshad,
If I have 4 kids, I will peng san first (If I had not peng san-ed from the morning sickness yet). Haha. Don't even dare to think. Kudos to you!

I agree with you about giving our children the best within our own means
It is endless if want to compare with others, so why bother.

Cindy,
If you are thinking of shopping for clothes, I think it is better to bring a stroller. I did that with my baby and I pushed her into the fitting room with me! But of course, the fitting room was big enough. Else find another mummy friend to go with you so she can help jagar baby while you try on clothes

teddybaby,
I wore panty liner until about 6 weeks. Cos yes, some light brown discharge. The discharge will slowly taper off.

yay!! alfafa, we count prosper in.. heee.

pups:: my stroller now not suitable for her lo.. sigh haha.. somemore i dont think i can handle baby, stroller, bag all alone haha!!

alfafa - btw forget tommention - thank u and hubby for the encouraging words

pupt - thanks also... yeah for B3 - i had MS till they i gave birth - i went by cab with the hosptial bag alone . .. coz hubby tot it was false alarm again and didnt want to take leave - so i said ok - and went alone - even nurses was shocked - was 4cm dilated then last year when i did that

my bb also has huge pi sai... everytime i will peer into her nose to see any sai or nt.. if i see i wil use cotton bud and take out... i buay tahan the sai there.. if leave it there, wait the problem come back again.. that time mucus so much.. block then see her so xin ku... dn a lot of phglem in the throat... grrrr.... until feed her can feel it all gurgling in her chest... then will merlion... haiii.. now much better le.. so must act fast if see the sai... what i do is, i will squirt 1 drop of the saline drop given to me by the PD to soften the mucus.. then cotton bud in n out... usually it comes out.. and cn see its super big for a bb lo...

Gathering - i also wan to meet! i dont mind IMM or Jurong Point... heee... but hor, next Thursday start the New Mom Fair @ Expo. Anyone interested in going?

Idaarshad,
M size still ah? hmm I see what I can do. Huggies ok? where do you stay? Don';t mention it lah. We should all help one another.
If I know your hubby I will *piak piak* him for you. Hahaha

Cindy,
got your PM. emailed back liao. I bring an extra sling for you to try want or not? I'll use my pupsik cos it's fitted to my size but my sling can be adjust to any size. So you don't have to carry bb in your arms the whole time. As for trying on clothes. I'll try to carry two babies at a time lah! hahahaha what a sight we will be. So funny. Jurong point too far, as it is Jurong East very far liao. I stay at Queenstown. IMM sounds ok. My usual hang out in the west is Holland Village. Maybe next time we can go Holland V ;P

Prosper,
onz onz. Next week when are you free? Any venue prefernce? Cindy, you want to set date and time since you are the one who needs to schedule for #1 as well? I'm free anytime but would like to come home before peak hour traffic.
Best to go at a time when the mall is at the quietest.

Re: blocked nose
I use the mucus sucker to loosen the mucus first and then use a damp (baby) ear bud to extract it. If the mucus is too dry, one way is to try only after bb has a crying fit. Or drop one drop of water into her nostril, wait a bit then try again. Worked really well for my bb. But I stopped bothering ever since I read that we should leave the mucus alone UNLESS her breathing is compromised by the mucus.

afcai,

yah when out of the aircon room I on the fan the whole time for her cos she is scared of heat, like moi. heh heh. Never tried room temp bath water, always warm water.

Misscandy,
could it be that you fed her before the "time" is up so to speak? That's why the huge discrepancy in how much she takes. Sometimes bb just automatically smacks their lips when they can smell our breasts, doesn't necessarily mean that they are hungry. I think bbs usually (not everytime but mostly) take roughly the same amount of milk per feed.

misscandy,
cool, so now we have 4 mommies. imm ok? i was thinking more of a sit-down teatime? any nice big quiet cafe at imm? i'm not so familiar w that place. aiiiiii how i miss having a quiet time reading at a cafe over a delicious iced earl grey vanilla.

alfafa, cindy, prosper, missycandy
I want to join in leh but too far away for me liao cos in the west.

misscandy, what is the new mom fair at expo abou?

Miss 83,
I understand wat u mean...

E usual routine for my bb after feeding (@ nite) is ...
a. burp
b. wipe his face/hands/body as he sweats
c. check e diaper *may need to coax him to poo/pee
if no action (he does this big poo thingy once
a day now...jus flows out like a cement mixer)
d. change his shirt n diaper
e. cuddle n walk round n round till his eyes half
open
f. pat pat his back/ swing frm side to side as i
walk
g. sit down n continue patting (steps e. f. can
take place frm 30-45min)
h. put him gently into e cot; cover his chest w
husky pillow/ sides with 2 small bolsters
i. stop patting until his hands in a surrender
mode w eyes closed
***If eyes open after all these steps, i repeat steps e. - i. again...

My burping on him usually 5-10 min...no patience to do it for 20min... will watch out on this as indeed there r times he squirms n screams...i thot he wans to bang sia *poo...thks 4 e reminder...

Miss 83...putting bb to sleep never easy but i tink if u hav someone senior who is experienced to give u n hb some tips, it will work out fine eventually...sometimes we need e help of others to calm our bb...never b afraid to reach out n observe how others pacify ur bb...seek help.

If ur bb not collicky, tink shld b more manageable...i noe collicky babes give moms a terrible time for e usual 1st 3 mths, esp @ nite...

IDAARSHAD...jus wan to write a short note to encourage ur great love for ur little ones...

We r inspired to hear how u handle ur little ones...n oso humbled too...

Don give up despite e seeming setbacks...waz bleak to us @ e moment may b a blessing in disguise later on...

As for all of us...our bbs will appreciate all e sacrifices we make...even if they may not in future **touchwood... i believe Motherhood definitely makes us better n stronger individuals...

re: bb sleeping
those whose bb can sleep thru after her feed (stomach full)..how old is ur bb?
mine is 4 wk old, used to be able to sleep fast after feed..but now need at least 30mins-1 hour to put him sleep..have to carry him first, then pat2 his back..etc...
during the days it is even more difficult! sometimes couldn't even leave him at all..he will notice and cry..

tuskywollie
yes i did almost the same steps that u did..esp. e to i. I noticed that my boy did have some wind in tummy sometimes. coz he farts alot. and during BF on the day, he squirms alot..need to burp him almost every 2 mins during feed.
but at night, he doesn't all the time crying..just hard to put him to sleep...once we put down, he will cry..need to pat his back...(continue doing this til 30mins-1hour). i wonder if it's due to the colic also ???
when will colic be gone?? he is 1 month old now...was difficult to put him sleep since week 3

Mummies, do you get more milk when you hand-express, followed by pump or just by pumping along? Hubby not happy that I spent so much time on expressing milk..I hand-expressed around 40mins followed by pumping another 40 mins.. The prob is I can get around 120-150 ml on avg when I do this, if just be pumping, I only get 80 ml.. donno why like dat...

Re putting baby to sleep, we got an electric yao lan the next day after CL left..Frankly speaking, it's a god-send to me, I can now express milk or take quick naps cos baby always wake up when we put her to b ed. But feel guilty la, cos think baby still love mummies' touch and communication, still thinking of best way on this..

Hi mummies, just sent e-mail to alfafa77 so thought I would come in and say hi since I finally have some 'me' time today. My girl has a runny nose so my parents kidnapped her for the day so I won't 'pass my germs' to her.

Took her to Ang Poon Liat at TMC.. omg, he gave her so much medication for a simple runny nose. I sought a 2nd opinion from my GP and am using only the saline nasal spray for the moment.

Vivien, if you're using electric pump, maybe can try manual pump? I had better results with manual. Diff people get diff results with diff pumps I think