(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Ida - my bb didn't go thru BCG in the hospital as the PD at ESH told us he was less than 2.5kg and had mild jaundice. I think its rubbish cos when we went to another PD three weeks ago, she told us that babies who are 2.2kg can already take the jab, and most probably is cos that PD wants to administer the BCG jab at her own clinic. Anyway i don't have a good impression of the PD at ESH, as she was careless and scratched my bb's leg with the umbilical cord clip (don't know wat to call it) causing my boy to cry out in pain.

oxgal - i'm oso visiting the PD at kidslink @ Sengkang. R u currently seeing Dr Vanessa Tan? If it is, looks like we've got the same gynae and the same PD

afcai - the adhesive tape for drypers is a killer cos when it sticks on bb's skin, its painful to take it out. Must b v careful sia..me now using mamypoko and pampers which i find its way much better, but of cos price is steeper too...i was thinking of switching to cheaper diapers in the day.

wintertime - my bb oso has a bad case of phlegm and blocked nose initially...then we brought him to see the PD who gave us nose drops....i tink its common for babies to have abit of blocked nose since their nostrils are small.

Re: Burping of bb
I think this is a skill i have yet to master.....in cases where he does't burp after 5 to 10mins i wonder whether to keep continuing until he burps but scared he will regurgitate out all his milk if burping is done excessively, so i jus stop after that.

re:burping
do we really need to burp bb for that long?
usually i just burp him for ard 2 mins..if he doesn't burp, i continue feeding/carry him..
he will become cranky if i burp him during his feed..but what to do..he squirms alot and pull my nipple here n there..

alfafa, no need la.. later too heavy for u liao
so many of us haha... so exciting.. IMM also nothing much to shop la.. we can sit n chat can liao. U all taking cab? i am fine with anyday.. maybe we set as next wed then? prosper n missy, any preference? time.. say 230? for about 2 hrs.. then ard 430 can go home? what u all think? alfafa, no ley.. no get your email haha... u sms me back la..
missy n prosper, u all can pm me your contact ma? then i sms u back heee. Prosper yours is girlgirl or boyboy? cafe.. we can go there decide..

Miss83/alfafa
I did mention to her before, she just smile at me for begin KS.
I gave her the medicine after the jab and only gave one time only since after that no fever at all.
My mum taught me this method rather than gave after the fever came.

ivy
haha..okay..will keep your method in mind first..will discuss with hubby whether to give him the medicine directly after the jab..
thanks dear

miss83
welcome.yesterday want to check with dr lim can i gave gripe water everyday as it can reduce colic but forget to ask? i remember i used to give my son.

hmmm....ya have the same question too..
will help u ask lah..but my appointment is still 6th may..so got to wait
anyway, last time u give ur bb gripe water mix with water/milk or just the gripe water alone?

miss83, my hubby bought it, I will ask him tonite.. It's some sunflower yaolan and costs $200 plus altogether, with a mobile stand so that you can move the yaolan anywhere.

pimpkinseed, i've been thinking whether a manual pump is better for me too..how much does an avent manual pump costs?

vivien
avent manual is good..I'm using it..now I can pump between 100-140ml..i heard other mummy said manual is better as can empty the breast. i think it cost around $100 something..

alfafa - dunno leh... i thought goin thru growth spurt.. so sometimes after her full feed(90mls) 1hr later if she starts sucking action, will feed her 1 more ounce(30mls) on top of that, my mum always "add oil to the fire" everytime my girl does the sucking thing, my mum wil auto say she is hungry then say must feed... usually i will say NO.. she jus drank nt long ago leh... i wil try to give pacifier but my parents are enemies with pacifier... -_-" my mum says to jus let her suck on my nipple... -_-" currently i cant do that becos im having my massage sessions... so im oily and have the wrap on... then have ginger lotion all over me... haiiiii i intend to try BF again after my massage sessions end.... currently i also dont pump le.. =x but during bath time, i will massage my boobs and squeeze out milk manually... nt much comes out.. so i dun feel the heart pain abt wastage... hahahah =x but the other night after my bath, i let her suckle... and she jus suck n suck lo...

burping - now if she doesnt burp, i will carry her for ard 20-30mins... becos i dun wan her to merlion... previously i wld put her down after 10mins.... no patience ... LOL... many things to do ard the hse la... but now i take my time to burp her... jus pat n pat... pat and pat... pat pat pat pat pat pat pattttttttt!!!!! then she will fall asleep.. and i put her down.. heh...

Tusky - i must try ur technique at night.. usually at night im so tired already... plus im tryin not to rock her too much leh.. now at night she needs to be rocked b4 goin to sleep properly... haiiii.. nt sure if cn break this habit or jus leave it... anyway i will do it for a peaceful night ba... LOL! usually once i put her in her cot, i will keep on patting non stop for awhile... dn if she make noise, i will shhhh.... shhhh... shhhh... pat pat pat pat... if she cries then no choice carry and cuddle n walk ard... but at the moment i dont cuddle very long... shld do that hor.. next time big le no more chance.. hahahahaha

cindy - woooo.. so exciting! heeeee.... i will probably take cab... nt sure leh.. i stay sembawang.. =P IMM no mrt direct.. must change to bus.. so i will sling my bb as well.. if MRT direct, il take stroller.. hopefully she doesnt get cranky... if nt *ARGHHHH* ya go home b4 the peak hr... LOL.. then take cab nt so exp.. =x prosper bb is a girl if im nt wrong... il pm u my number =)

gripe water - do mix with water... becos its quite sweet leh... mix with 10mls of water cn le... good also becos cn train ur bb to take water.. =)

hi all, wow so much in the threads to catch up on...
Fever
i've been having fever last 2 days also, up to 41 degrees. Suspect after 6 hours not pumping/latching the fever decided to come. So now back at my mum's place for her to take care of the both of us. Went to see doc and taking panadol. $38 for a oacket of panadol...*sigh*..anyway, he says it's safe to keep the BM. If its viral fever, the virus will spread thru air like thru our breathe or cough and not through the breastmilk, which in fact will contain the antibodies later & better for him. Anway. i've frozen those initial breastmilk and gonna give him 3 mohts later when he's bigger. Decided its better to give him the fresher ones w the antibodies.

Jtho, motherhood is not about just bf alone, if we're not happy mummies and dont even have the energy/mood/time to play with them and cuddle them, then in no time, they'll be all grown up adn bigger and we'll miss that special time already. So enjoy your baby now and whatver u've done is already the best. And u will always always be the best mummy for your baby.

Wake up times
Keanan wakes up more now & is more alert. He is able to respond by cooing occasionally and smiles when myself and hubby talks to him. Of course, this is when he is fed, changed and had enough sleep. He doesnt like to sleep on his own much and prefers a small light on. When all fails, the pacifier comes out, hehee. This is his 6 week, coming to 7 weeks, he is taking 95ml every 3 hours. I am latching once/twice a day and pumping the rest of the time.

Jab
I'm gg w the 5in1. Not sure why but the nurse just wrote that automatically on my next visit card. Maybe its becoz he already had his \hepB 2nd jab during his 1st month visit.

Does anyway need a brand new car seat btw? i received one for his 1st month pressie but i already have one. Its a Capella s-100, selling for $149 & i'm happy to let go at $100.

Diapers
I got a packet of mamy poko to try out since NTUC selling $21+. Day time using Goon bought from gmarket.

Sling
i have a MIM sling which i find the material is very thick and too hot for baby. So i'm just using a straight piece of cloth which my MIL teach me how to tie manually their indonesian way which i find is definintely not so warm.

missycandy:: haha okies i also pm you. u pm me already? i have't received le. WOAHH, then all our bb are GIRLS!
hehe!! Where do you stay?

Prosper, think i will also pm u la. once u all get my pm, u sms me back so i can save your no. okay?

hahahahaha i msged u in msn =P hahahahaha... i stay /b{sembawang} far frm u all la.. ehehehehehheeh i also realised i have ur number in my phone.. probably that time got it becos supposed to meet up for the gathering but u cldnt make it? heh heh heh

hmmm i understand some other mummies wan to meet up as well but location bit far... hmmm maybe somewhere more central? taka?

missycandy, i wish to join but very worried.. my bb super cranky during daytime, even swing her in sarong also cranky, give pacifier also dun want, carry her walk here n there also cannot, pat pat on the back also cry.... sighs... how to bring her out???

tusky, you are very patient, the thing i hate most now is bb crying, she wants to be carried yet wants to cry after we comply to her needs.. noon time she can sleep for a while in the sarong then wake up in less than 30 mins, then i got to swing swing swing.. super sian.. thinking of getting an electric one.. my arms getting muscular soon..

starflower, take care and drink more water..

seems like drypers is not a very good brand?? i bought already but havent use... mamypoko and fitti are good!!

kris - u wan to try? you can try by bringing her dwnstairs for walk 1st? heh... i also scared bb cranky.. i usually bring pacifier out with me... at most we help u to swing ard? hahaha. =x

hmmm... if you all dont mind distance, can always come up to my home.. my home nobody at home during day time.. only my mum, bb & me... plus i have the mat... heh heh... only some of u might find it a bit ulu n far.. i stay sembawang... =P hahaha... we cn always buy some food.. if more than 10pax we cn always get the mini buffet.. =P

keron, I have the same fear as you. Worried that baby gets cranky suddenly. That day went vivo city with my hubby, she was a good ger while we had lunch at sushi tei, then after lunch want to go shop shop, she suddenly cry non stop. After a while, we just decide to go home.

i think my bb not colicky..
coz i read colic bb will cry about 3 hours non stop..
my bb only cry to be carried, pat his back in order to sleep..
really hard to leave him alone..
please..please let it be that this will not last long...i heard bb after 2-3 months will be easier to handle and not cry so much..i really hope it's true

miss83,my baby also always have to be carried and pat to sleep. Then when we tot she slept liao, we put her down in the cot, she wakes up and starts crying again and we have to do the whole process again. It is super tiring lor.

hmmm my bb doesnt cry for 3hrs non stop.. but at night... shes awake few hrs one stretch and cnt put her down.. and cnt rock her in one position.. must walk ard the house, swing swing.. sing, talk... anything n everything...

how short must we cut the fingernails? shes letting me cut her nails now.. but i dunno hw short to cut leh... scared cut her flesh... =\... is it all the white part cut away? hmmm... then must we file? if file wldnt it be painful? im using scissors... heh... im nt confident in using the baby nail clippers.. so im using the baby scissors cutter..

alfafa - yup he using m now - but soon to L i suppose - only his but small - so even at 10.2kg can use M - and i buyM as well got a bit more diapers than L mah (shake head - find ways and means to save)so soon to L - thanks ah dear - my children have been on all kind of cheapo pampers and i thank god that maybe knowing mummy's situation.. they all are ok one.

TUSKY!! - MY GOD U MAKE ME CRY WITH UR WORDDS.. THANKS A LOT YEAH.. THANK U

Pinksorbet - ya lor - i tot bcg was ok one mah.. never heard yhat bcg not done at hospital.. only hep b maybe since the 6 in 1 was available -some PDs mite want u to straight for
the 6 in 1 so never give hep b like my boy last year--so mafan - aiyo - how come PD so careless and cn scratch the bb... scary man

wanna join u guys - i have been bringing out bb and sleeping all they way onee-maybe shiok in the sling that i first bought in toys r us when sling was just geeting to spore some 9 years ago - the only sling now i see that has a paddin around it.. so bb can rest his head there .. but jurong so far and also like xin tong wanna leave my b3 at home... haizzzzz

Hi Mummies...

I am a March mummy too with my baby boy born on 2nd March...just manage to read thru the thread and learnt alot from all the info sharing... Can I join the thread ? need to learn alot for motherhood as I am a new mummy...

btw I have a question to ask ? my boy is 7 weeks now coming to 2 months...he is still wearing mittens but I read from some threads that its good to remove it for development but I am afraid he might scratch his face as I din cut his nails real short...

and he is on FM (still guilty on not able to give him BM due to bad mastitis during my confinement..
)and per feed he can only take max 90mls..is it too little for a 2 month old ? but his interval is quite near like about 1.5 hrs -2hrs per feed and if he is napping he can stretch to 3 hrs.. I am just worried he is not getting enough even though his wt gain is ok so far...

thanks Iddarshad... read about what u had said about motherhood and am touch by ur message... great mummy... I am so traumatized by motherhood I thought to stop at one... so really admire u...

miss83
my baby is in his 5th week. He started getting cranky like your baby in the 4th week then extend to 5th week. Wah...bua ta han leh, keep crying and crying. He only stops crying when he is given milk or water but I can't be feeding him all the time mah. Lets hope our babies will pass by this stage soon

missycandy.. actually my bb cranky not becos of colic leh.. she is not the kind that will quiet down after you carry her.. everytime let her sit on rocker for less than 3 mins also cry.. but this sat i m bringing her for jab wif my hubby, so it is a great challenge leh... maybe let me try this sat to go out wif her first then i join you guys in the next gathering.. sighs...

Mummy Bean welcome
My boy just reach 8 weeks old. Same as your boy, my boy only take 90ml of FM now and every 2hrs he will cried for milk.

Thanks Kome... ya same here..but I actually read from some that PD recommand us to stretch his feeds so as to give him time to digest..however he would refuse more milk if I try to increase by 10mls... but I guess since he is gaining wt and poo-ing well.. I should not worry too much...

just brought my baby out on her first train ride! so challenging! Glad to report that mother and child are safe. hehehehe

short ride only lah. Fr Queenstown to Dover to pick up the fridge-to-go from another mommy. Actually was a bit pissed off cos I messaged her that I was there only to received a reply 5mins later that sh was still stuck at a meeting and couldn't notify me cos she forgot my cellphone no. Asked to wait at least another 20mins or more, or come back again tomorrow. So angry. Somemore she drives so ask me to meet her at the bus-stop, which is so warm. I asked her for refund cos it's too troublesome for me. In the end she said she will drop off at my place tomorrow. That made me happy lah. At least she's trying.

I managed to get a seat on the trip there but coming back, no body gave up the seat for me and baby leh. And I had her strapped on my pupsik + carrying a fairly big diaper bag (thank goodness v light cos I no longer do bottle feed). I stood in front of the priority seats somemore.

aiiiiiiii I must make sure that I teach my children well. Must give up seats for the needy.

welcome mummy bean
I share the same sentiment as you and agree that motherhood is definitely not easy. Your baby shd be drinking enough, dont worry. My baby is 9 weeks old, she is drinking about 130ml and she can last 3-4hrs.

v happy n excited about meeting you ladies next week too! wonderful

Ladies, we are all hot mamas so must dress up nice nice ok? Jtho, want to join us?

I understand the fear. Even for me, having brought bb out on my own before liao I am still worried. But hey, being together gives us strength right? There will be at least 3-4 other mommies around so NO FEAR. ;)

Misscandy,
good idea to go to someone's house but sembawang is too far for me. Maybe you can organise something for mommies staying in the north side.

I like town area too. Anywhere in town is fine. Paragon looks good. Not too crowded. Anything lah, if there is one in town do count me in as well

Pumpkin seed,
so happy to see you back. I'm also taking care of bb alone but not as lucky as you; I still have technically 2.5kg more to go before I reach my pre-preggie weight. I'll be happy to lose just two more. All stuck at my belly now. So annoying.

welcome,
Mummy bean! Your nick reminds me of Mr Bean. I love their cheese pancakes. heeee

Idaarshad,
wish you could join us too! I'll get back to you soon re the diapers. which area do you stay if you don't mind me asking?

keron,
plenty of opportunities. ya take it one step at a time, as long as you are comfortable. I'm sure this sat will be fine, another new milestone for keron junior.

meetup:

If I am bold and ready to travel alone, will like to meetup with you mummies!

Sportygal and I live at NEL area, maybe we both and take mrt together

Paragon is a ideal place, mummy and baby friendly too, think level 4 hv the facilities and a few hi tea places
Taka also nt bad..gt coffeclub

hello mummy bean! ur bb same as mine... heh.. also 90mls.. but she is 6weeks going 7weeks... sometimes she doesnt drink finish.. and 2-3hrly feed... like they say as long as peeing and pooing... gaining weight then shld be no issues.. no worries! =) dun blame urself for nt being able to BF.. alot of mummies here also dont give TBF... im one of them.. =P my bb also on FM..hehehehhe...

alfafa - no worries.. ya probably north side lo... hahaha... wa.. i a bit scared to take mrt.. if she starts to get cranky then i will panic... probably get off the train and tk cab liao.. LOL... pple r stil inconsiderate.. that time i pregs also stand in front priority seats the person jus turn 90degrees look the other way.. damn bastard man!!! =X

im fine with Paragon! But will be crowded or not? Hmmm... im also okie with Taka... Both fine with me.. provided i can make it out of the house... LOL.. i better start telling bb to behave ... must tell her goin out to meet friends... then cant cry in front of frns ah... shame shame wor... so be good good girl... either stay awake without crying or sleep... LOL

anyone taking milk to help with BM supply? hmmm i jus drank the Anmum sample i had... feel like puking... =x I still have 1 tin of SimilacMum... dunno wan to try or nt.. anyway tried b4?

srumpee, sportyger
knows ur struggle..
whennn will this stage pass???
2nd time mummies...any ideas how long this will last- that bb will not be so fussy over sleeping?

can't ta;k noe cos latchin her w rt hand. damn diffi to type w my left hand

lol

yes yes paragon or anywhre in town count me in but not next wed can? meetin cindy, prosper n misscandy. unless they also can meet in town then lagi better.

im okie with anything.. hehehehehe.... IMM or Town... I can go...

Thursday Im goin for the New Mom fair @ Expo.. if anyone wan to join me let me knw. Im nt sure if im bringing baby yet.. Might leave at home. Shall see how... =)

miss83 - oh... hmmm... okie... then i will drink when i latch her on again from Sat onwards... think i need to start taking my fenugreek again.. and also metoclopramide.. plus fish fish fish... my massage lady says White Radish also helps... hmmmm i only knw it tastes quite nice leh! that day my mum cooked with white onion & ikan bilis... quite yummy soup! =) im like hoping for a miracle to happen with the sudden urge to BF again... haaaaaaa... wish me luckkk! =P

alfafa and misscandy and cindy,
i am ok with town area and IMM, anyday. Say meet at 1pm maybe go home at 4pm. cos usually 4pm onwards taxi change shift then difficult to find cab wor..

sorry my PM not working. i place my number here lah, pls text me ur number too once see my msg here. 91136481.

oh all Baby girls. Wonderful. sportyger and mangogal, do join us k if u r ok at town area.

haha alfafa, yes must dress up nice nice and take lotz of pics k. hehe
so excited now.
i will leave it to u gals to decide on the place and time.