(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

pups/alfafa/afcai - i dunno the girl drinking enough or not.. i only knw her diaper damn full la... ya.. my frn quite bo chup.. in fact she was very jealous of the attention her hubby poured upon this baby girl... she has 1 older boy.. this yr 5... that time the hubby nt so on abt the boy... then have this girl, the hubby was damn happy... then a lot of attention to the girl. then my frn damn bad la... very rough with the kid... my mum also bth... heh heh... i see le i told her cant lidat la... but fall on deaf ears la.. so jus like that lo... anyway her kid i think more or less used to her behaviour le...

petpet - aiyo.. i hope its okie for my bb... if nt have to sell off... i bought 3 pks.. haa.. if really cannot make it i guess i will stick to mamypoko... seems like the best for now...

moomooland
let me know the ameda review ya. thanks

Diaper lobang
My friends have been using this brand called Nepia, a Japanese brand that is sold only in NTUC, Isetan and Meidi-ya Supermarket. Or can call the supplier directly to order. 1 pack is $15 (NB size 60pcs) if order directly from supplier, cheaper. I think is very cheap compared to Mamy Poko, Pampers etc. My friend has also said that it is good and baby has no diaper rash after using. If we order from supplier directly, they will deliver it to you with a min of order of 4 pack. I already placed my order. Their contact is 62262650. U can mix your order with different sizes. I bought 2 NB and 2 S.

re: nepia

i am using nepia for my bb in the day and mamy poko in the night. so far so good but i still apply the desitini cream each time i change the diaper.

for NB and S ... you must order from supplier cos NTUC only carries from M onwards. when NTUC has sale, its slightly cheaper compared to getting from supplier cos its usually 2 pack for $28.45.

i q like pet pet cos i use it for my son when he is older and only for day use. but now that my son is already 3yr ++ ... i use it at night too cos he doesnt poo in diapers anymore - only pee

lenny - if u take 6-in-1, the regime wld be 2nd mth, 4th mth & 6th mth... the 6-in-1 includes Hep B in the syringe already... so they wun jab ur bb if u go in the 1st mth... u will have to go back again for the whole jab... =)

scrumpee - ya nepia is gd i agree! that time i bought NB shared with my frn... maybe once i finish all these i have then wil gt nepia again ba..

miss83/vernice
i am back from dr lilian lim for my girl 6in1 jab. 6in1 package cost $440 and rotavirus $99 each dose (need 2 dose). 6in1 package include consulation, development check and fever medicine.

re: hep B

what i understand is that we need to go for the 2nd dose by 2nd month and its the 3rd dose that is included in the 6-in-1 jab

Nappy Liner is jus a layer to e diapers...if poo/pee, it will still soak e diapers...i try nappy liner + diaper, bb more used to it too.

Brand used ~ annaku...may try other brands when used up.

alfafa,

yeah i dun mind 2nd hand bjorn. can cut cost why not? if u see any lobang, let me know k? i saw spree for bjorn but dunno wats the diff between original, air and active. would prefer air which has meshed like material, more cooling but dunno would be stiff n uncomfy?

when is our bb big enough that he wont cry as much as now? and when does colic stop? I read somewhere that it actually doesnt last that long...but couldnt remember in what week..

re: baby bjorn:

I LOVE ITTTT heee. Mine is the synergy modek.. very good back support.. can consider

re: Ru Yi oil
dearest mommies, can I ask if u apply this on bb after bath? MIL says from 2mth onwards, can bath bb in evenings, but must apply ru yi oil.. can check if anyone does the same?

re: gathering
definitely wanna join if possible!

miss83 - depends on babies leh.. diff babies diff de.. some stop earlier.. some last longer... some cn last up to 6mths... some by 3rd mth stop le...

cindy - i apply ru yu oil after bath in the morning... at night after wipe up i also apply ru yu oil...

seabreeze - if ur bb has taken the hep b jab at birth, then if u opt for 6-in-1, baby wil have additional hep B vaccine... but the drug company did do studies and it doesnt affect the child in future so the extra dose doesnt matter.. but for those parents who are worried abt it, you can always opt for 6-in-1, 5-in-1, 6-in-1 if im nt wrong.. mus check wif ur GP/PD... becos by right Hep B jab is only 3 doses.. 1st mth, 2nd mth and 5th/6th mth...

miss83
dr lim said no side effect for jab with rotavirus since it is oral.
so far no fever. anyway i am KS i gave her the fever medicine first, that what i hv been doing for my son previously.

miss83
my girl has been crying badly yesterday night, she gave her another medicine beside ridwind. she also mention that certain baby will be better after 3mths

ivy
good..i might follow what u did haha..
but anyway did u consult with dr lim if its ok to give the fever medicine first?
and did u give it just once and see if no fever then stop the medicine..or u give it to ur bb til a few days?
u gave the medicine before or right after the jab?

ann,
ur pd is right, burping is the toughest job in motherhood.

bathing, feeding, playing, bf, all are easy job compare to burping.

the nurses told me, we need to burp at least 20mins before we can put the bb down. if not, bb sure give us pbm, by not slping, making noise, crying etc.

moomooland,
i m using ameda dual pump tog. with super shields, wonderful, i can get 160-180 per pump in 20-30mins, no blocked ducts, no painful sore nipple.

i just bot the handsfree strap, gd also, now i can read mag or newspaper, or even sayang my #1 without worrying.

maybe u shld buy the super shields and try.

gd luck!

the weather is so warm.... can't stand it...

Feel so tired even after the nap.. hopefully tonight he will not be cranky and sleep after feeding.

moomooland, you are fast. Hope you will find Ameda good.

Just wondering, how come the milk supply will drop after the massage for a few days? cos i thot if she clears the blocked ducts, and empty the breasts, more milk will come?

I wonder if bb with total FM is less cranky than BF bb? I was thinking of going for total FM. coz with FM, bb can sleep longer. I've been latching during the day..and give FM at night. bb now seems fussy during the day..couldnt sleep longer...at night, he seems better..plus, during latching sometimes he squirms..must burp him a few times..haiz..

diaper - i m currently using fitti, so far so gd, my boy can slp thru at least 3hrs.

huggies ultra, too small liao.

btw, is the cutting for nepia NB big or small like huggies?

Ann,
yah man. I think that was why my bb was so cranky yesterday as well cos she hardly burped, which is very unusual. She's fine today, and her burping is back to normal too. There is definitely a co-relation!

Afcai,
actually my mom is also highly encouraging me to bring bb out more often. She thinks that bbs who go out more often will be more well-socialised. In fact, my friends also bring their bbs out alot since birth. I like how my bb is always so curious about her surroundings. Can see her open her eyes big big to look around, wonder what is on her mind. Hahaha I've also brought her to my friend's condo to use the rarely used warm jacuzzi pool at 5 weeks. WOW SHE LOVES IT! I put her on the bb neck float and at first she looked a bit stunned. Then within a minute she started experimenting with some tiny movements. Next thing I knew she started kicking her legs a little. Then she flung her arms about. Within 5 mins she was kicking so hard and flinging her arms so hard she actually "swam" by herself a short distance. Her facial expression was that of a bb enjoying herself also. Hubby and I were so thrilled. Am certainly looking forward to bringing her swimming again.

Pig Pig,
yah that's why I'm bringing her to GP for vaccines. Only for consultations on ailments I will bring her back to PD.

Misscandy,
aiyo not good lah lidat. What to do, not your own so you also cannot say much. But I know daddies tend to dote on girls more. Hehehe so funny.

Ivy,'
like Miss83 I am also curious about whether bbs get fever after the jabs. Can share? But of course, I hope your bb is fine!

Fairy,
ok I look out for you. We haven't brought her out in Bjorn air yet, usually use my pupsik. But my friend swore by her bjorn air. I've tried it at home with bb. At first I was also worried about whether the material is too rough, but she seems ok leh. There was a BP for Bjorn Original before. USD50 or so only, before shipping. The cheapest retail pricing for Bjorn Air in Singers is at the First Few years at $169 promo price the last I checked. Amazon selling USD72 but after shipping is still about $140 thereabouts.

Ok I alert you when I see them ok?

miss83,
from what the nurses told me, is not becos FM that bb slp longer, its that bb needs more time to digest FM, so they do not get hungry easily.

while BM is more easily digest, thus they look forward to milk all the time, or at least every 2.5hrly.

hope my info is correct.

think one mommy said huggies ultra maciam like bikini cut. how apt! hahha

I don't mind huggies ultra actually. I notice that bb doen't have to spread her legs too wide because of the cut. Looks more comfy for her.

Cindy,
oh no ... my bad for the confusion. Thought of chio-ing some mommies to come out for coffee (a bit is ok lah) but turned out that we are stationed all over the place so very messy. Anyway, as mentioned, anyone wants to go out for a while in town or slightly west area can call me!

Cindy,

I was taught by my massage lady to massage bb after bath followed by application of Ru Yi You on the soles and tummy. I usually bath baby as and when I think it is a "good" time. Sometimes it is as late as the early evening.
My baby loves the massage. She almost always smiles when I do it.

I see a lot of confusion over hep B and 6-in-1

this is what I was told. Because my girl has taken Hep B 1st dose at birth (at the hosp), and the 2nd dose at polyclinic at 5 weeks, the best vaccine plan for her is as follows

jab 1: 5-in-1 (my GP charges $75)
jab 2: 5-in-1($75)
jab 3: 6-in-1 jab ($100)

the first two are 5-in-1 type of jabs since my bb has already taken the 1st and 2nd hep b doses. The final jab becomes a 6-in-1 type of jab (meaning includes Hep B) since she has not taken the final dose of Hep B.

Not sure if I am confusing anyone? :p

hoho/irene - supershield, what does it do? also, how do you all prepare for the pumping session, do you all practise massage and compress both breasts first then pump? maybe i am not used dual pumping, coz i have to use both hands to massage and compress one breast first then will have more milk..so wondering how you all prepare for dual pumping....

this morning with avent pump - 60ml, 3over hrs later with ameda - 90ml, then 3 hrs later with ameda - 70ml..hmm....

irene - think, why ms drop after massage session, coz the breasts are emptied, so not so much milk inside, it will take 2 3 days for the brain to respond to demand, so in the meantime a drop in milk production...

moomooland, i don't really prep for pumping session. got to rush for time before bb wakes up, so as long as got window of 30min, would grab hold of opportunity and pump. i would just put the hot compress onto breast to dilate the milk ducts then pump. once the flow is not so good, then i would stop the dual pump and change to single and use one hand to compress the other breast for more milk.

miss83, FM doesn't seems to make my son sleep longer, he will also wakes up at 3 hours interval. Same when feed with BM.

burping, agree that is the silent killer... last night, he was cranky due to this also.. finally burp him and he went to sleep.. on our bed... no choice... too tired to attend to him on his bed, sleep with me, easier to attend to him. Lazy mommy here.

moomooland, i dun massage first, i assemble the pump then start pumping... for ameda, you need to adjust the cycles n vaccum.. some mommies play with the cycles n vaccum, start with more cycles, then when let down, increase the vaccum... i fixed at my comfortable cycles and vacuum, din play with them.

sorry mummies, im really a newbie at dual pumps...like all over the place hee...

fairymoss - the gerber breast therapy right? you will microwave both and put then pump ah?

irene - hmm, i understand increasing vacuum, the higher the vacuum, the tighter and more suction power on the nipples (painful at times). takes abit of getting used to. what does cycles do?

moomooland, dun tune to so high, if not will have sore nipples, tune to your comfort zone.
cycles is the number of suction per min ba... you increase the cycles, it will suck more freq...

hi mummies, long time no post but have been reading up...been lazy to post...hehe...

so tiring, my bb fussed from 1am+ till 4am+ not wanting to sleep....was very cranky and my guess is that his tum tum got a lot of wind cos he keeps passing out gas and when we had to try to burp him many times but he still felt uncomfortable and cried....i was almost gg mad and "scolded" bb said he dun want to sleep mummy want to sleep woah, wat exactly does he want, my hb needed to go to work early this morning and his sleep was disturbed by bb too...i know its not bb's fault la, but i was v tired, dunno how many more nights i have to go thru like this...
i am afraid his loads of wind will lead to colic *touch wood*

Re: Ameda Lactaline Dual Pump
I'm currently using this as well...now my MS is an average of 200ml+ per pump session on both breasts...i jus pump on both sides together...i tried one side pumping and one free hand to massage my breast but doesn't seem to yield much difference so i jus let both the pumps do the job simultaneously...after 10mins or so, i stopped on both pumps and massaged the breasts then pump again.

Re: 6-in-1 jab
Lenny - u r rite. my bb doesn't have the 1st dose of Hep B yet, cos we gg for the 6-in-1 jab on his second month. We brought him to a polyclinic to administer his BCG/Hep B jab three weeks ago but the nurse told me since i'm gg for 6-in-1 with a PD, my bb doesn't have to go for the first dose of the Hep B jab there, so they just did BCG for my bb.

Re: Diapers
I've tried Drypers and i don't like it. The adhesive tape kills and the diaper caused leakage. I'm now using Mamypoko/Pampers whole day but i find they are pretty expensive so i asked my hb to pls consider Nepia. He planning to ask Nepia whether can buy from them directly at their site so we don't have to order a carton since its too many.

fairy,
saw my pm?

... don't know leh. I went straight for air based on my friend's recommendation. Makes sense for SG weather too. But I did hear that synergy has better back support.

cooked a horribly salty thai minced pork w basil leaves dinner just now. poor hubby

pink sorbet -how cm BCG nt done at hospital?

alfafa - u are rite.. so dun run anyomore for jabs coz after all jabs are done - u will be given a cert to certify that ur child has taken all the necessar jabs and this needs to be shown in primary school when needed..... FYI .. though a bit too far to think but wanna tell mummies dun change PD / GP / Poly for jabs

moomooland, trial n error.. Kekeke... Initially i play with the settings also till i get what i like. At first the vaccum, i din tune so high... I increase it recently... Scare of sore nipples

irene
with BM, my son wakes up every 1.5hr. coz almost every after feed, he poo...then hungry again..at least with FM, he sleeps longer..2.5-3 hourly..

so tired....can really feel the difference after CL left. this morn when CL is leaving, I felt so emotionally that tears welled up in my eyes. Although CL has not been very attentive to mother's needs but has been taking quite good care of bb. I could see that she also she bu de when she's leaving the bb. Once she went out, tears just flowed down uncontrollably. Felt a mix of feelings. On one hand I was looking forward to taking care of my 2 children and experience the life of a SAHM for 3 mths, cuz I think I would never have the chance to be a SAHM. On the other hand, was afraid that I'm not able to cope and did not know what's ahead of me. Today is only the beginning. Managed to get a gd lunch thanks to the help from my maid which I think otherwise is not possible without her. My brother drove #1 to my house after school, but tomorrow onwards I would have to do it myself. Really salute mummies with 2 kids or more who handle on their own without maids! Can't imagine how idaarshad do it! got to go and think would post less often unless the children are more cooperative

i'm not sure if my bb got wind too..
he can fall asleep on my arms and when I put him down, another 10-15 mins he opens his eyes and start to cry...he's been doin that since this afternoon..whoaa so tiring..he even knows if i step out of the room..he wants me or CL to always beside him or pat2 him..if we ignore him, he will throw a big cry tantrum..then we have to start all over again to calm him down, put him to sleep,etc
mummies..what to do..HELP!

Pig pig, my boy seems to share similar symptoms of dry flaky ear with dried pus at ear lobe. Oh dear need to call up pd. which Pd you seeing at bedok?
Re pet pet diapers: m using them. Ok so far. But i apply desitin cream each time he poo

fairymoss
everyday there are times I think about what happens if CL leaves..and I end up in tears..got really scared esp if times like today..when bb is so fussy..difficult to put him to sleep...how am I going to handle that alone.. sigh..

Hi momooland,

If u r using pumps for e 1st time, jus start e freq gradually...if ur breasts very engorged...ur discomfort actually overcomes e suction p'r...i usually start frm medium then high...sometimes i massage my breasts @ e same time while expressing to speed up...e sore nipples problem will get better over time...not to worry.