(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

hi mummies, having tired nights since the birth of my bb on 7th march. it has become a routine that every night my bb will be cranky and wailing away for milk or cuddling.. so when night time comes, i will feel so sian and tired.

it is the same for yesterday night, as usual, my hubby and me were not having enough sleep and bb was cranky again. she doesnt want to sleep, BF her already but she slept for less than 10 mins and woke up again. I m gng crazy soon cos been latching her on off since 1am to 5am. For TBF mummies, you will understand what i m trying to say cos bb sometimes wants to suck our breasts just for comfort or gng to sleep, so when bb cries, 1st thing came to our mind was bb was hungry.

After the long feeds, at 5am, she was still wailing away, hubby carried her out of the room and her cries woke my MIL up. In the end, my MIL dealt with her and told us her tummy got wind, that's y she was crying so badly. I was totally shagged and went to sleep while my MIL applied the Ru Yi Oil on her tummy and kept her company till now.

So mummies, take note if your bb was fed and nappies already changed, burping done and all kinds of weapons were used to counter attack her cries but she still crying, maybe it could be due to colic...

keron&Jeris,

I also have the same problem with u. BB got a lot of wind in the tummy and was ultra cranky this morning since 430am. So happens that Mdm Rokiah was at my place to help clear my blk ducts and she helped me looked at bb. She use the telon oil and apply anti clockwise on my bb's tummy and then from behind the knee to the ankles. Then ask me to carry bb with bb tummy pressing on my tummy until she doze off before putting her down. When put her down to sleep, let her sleep sideways and put a beansprout pillow on her tummy.

Miracle, my bb slept well immediately. So now every time she cries, we just follow the steps and she go back to sleep again. The tummy like not so much wind liao also.

irene
oh i see..i thought per pump can reach 400 something..thats alot!!!

ivy
water retention on legs got better already..just left on the ankles...
btw, first check up to dr adrian..will he remove the stitches? how many check ups anyway?

SG - mine also love to have alot of attention. she was so lively during full month party...wide awake and didnt cry. when she is alone with me and auntie, she always refuses to sleep and always wants to drink milk. during full month party, she couldnt finish her milk...haha..

if my bb has nothing to focus on, she will cry and want to drink, if she is busy looking here and there...she will forget about hunger...wa piang

how many days have you been taking care of Alvey already? thursday i will start taking care of my gal alone...the thought of it is so exciting and daunting at the same time..esp the bathing and the 'refuse to sleep' and 'dont like to be carried the way i carry her' part..shang nao jing...

miss83 - dr adrian will check on the stitches, i think more like check if there is any infection and if wound is healing properly...no actual removal of stitches as its self disolving...for me, after first check up, he issued 2 types of antibiotics and a antifungal cream to apply and tell me to come back in 6 weeks time...

congrats sunshinebaby!!!

Congrats Congrats sun sun!

Miss83, so fast thinking of stopping milk ss? You can stop by either skip a pumping session for a few days before skipping another pumping session, or if u feel super engorged by skipping one session, u can just pump out a little to relieve the engorgement. The idea is to leave milk inside so body will not make more milk, and slowly, the body will re absorb the milk. More on the internet..

Asura,

Actually my baby had trouble latching on cos he was sleeping. So had to wake him up - this was really tough! But once he was awake he would suckle, but only 5mins or less then go back to sleep! But I just let him do that every 3hrs.

Now he gets up every 2 -3hrs to feed on his own and suckles for abt 10-15mins on each breast.

You might one to see a lactation consultant if things dont improve. I had an excellent lactation consultant visit me during my stay in KKH, think I wld have given up TBF if not for her.

Bluebell,
You knw I cried buckets in the delivery suite when my gynae said that I wld have to go for E C-section. I cried for 15mins then took a deep breath and told gynae that I'm ready. I enjoyed the entire operation, the KKH staff were excellent during the 7min operation! Also I've told myself that I shld be thankful that baby and I are healthy, so let us forget the delivery mode. We can try vaginal birth again the next time? Hopefully we'll dilate then

promeganate
I had same expereince with u..never thought would do c-sect..but only dilated 1cm even after tablet inserted and being induced..contraction came and felt painful but didnt dilate some more...
gynae said cervix very tight n slim chance to have natural birth..
was very shocked and confused what to do..but dunno how I got the strength to just carry on..
in the end, I enjoyed the operation too hehe..not painful..can still talk n smile to hubby..and when bb is out I can hold him n talk to him..
Plus the pain after surgery is bearable..I can walk around the next morning..
my gynae also allowed me to discharge on my 2nd day! I thought c-sect must stay at hospital for 4-5 days..but I was discharged on my 2nd day..Thank God!

keron n asura
both r not alone.. my bb ganna wind in stomach these few days oso.. today is the worst, cry non stop despite after feeding n changing of diaper.. have the ru yi yu on him oso.. yesterday night bring him go see gp n was prescribe with medicine to rid his wind.. hopefully he will be ok soon.. haiz.. thought breast feeding will have lower chance of him having wind but i suppose becoz i got forceful let down which is the culprit of his discomfort... poor boy.. i know he in discomfort mode n worst of all my wrist is hurting badly recently, i guess becoz of carrying him with his weigh heavier ba, dunnoe how to cure the pain on my wrist le, scare it will turn worse, the most scary part is tat i always carry him using my left arm.. just settle down to sleeping mode after carrying him upright position with his head on my shoulder for more than 2hrs since 10am.. this seem to be the only way tat he feel most comfortable at.. even when sleeping i got no choice but to put him on his stomach on bed so he can sleep longer n more comfortable.. his cry really pathetic wo, will heart pain one when he can continuously cry for more than an hr non stop.. super wo.. think sooner or later he will ganna sore throat.. hahahahahaa...

p3pp3r,
Re: Wrist pain
I had bad wrist pain after my #1. Cannot even turn the door knob. Think it's due to water retention. I even tried wearing wrist band to control the pain. Nothing we could do abt it. It goes away by itself 6 months after delivery. Asked gynae, think it was attributed to water retention (my #1 was a induced bb, and had bad water retention after delivery).

So I guess, meanwhile, gotta bear with it and hopefully it will go away fast. Like I said, tried wearing wrist band to support the wrist to reduce the pain.

Re: Heavy lochia discharge
Mummies, can I check if any of u is aware why is there a sudden heavy lochia discharge? It's already slightly over 2 weeks after my delivery and the lochia has became v little for the past week. But this morning, when i was pumping milk, the discharge was so heavy (only during that 15 min or so), that it soak my entire pad and stain my clothes. After that, I feel that my tummy/ uterus is v aching and strained, till now. Today lochia discharge is also heavier than usual. Any idea if this is anything of concern.

My lochia is still quite heavy, today is the 11th day of my delivery, is it normal?

Hee, I now pumping my milk while using the hands-free function with my freestyle. Quite a liberating experience..

JG
wa.. 6 months ar??!! so long.. aiyo.. but bo bian oso lo.. gotta bear with it, just tat i hope i wun lost balance in carrying him.. but i noe my pain will worsen with him gaining weight everyday... think will go for the wrist band.. thks for the suggestion..

Re: heavy lochia
i oso got such symptom but just tat without pain n not as heavy as urs.. think it wuld be good to call up ur gynae n ask if u need to go down for a checkup or not..

Re: Baby wind/colic
i suspect becoz of wind, bb tend to drink little by little, so itz very very siong on mommies doing latching on full time one wo.. alternate way is to do pumping lor.. bottle fed him/her...

miss83
first checkup to cut the two end sitches and rest will be disolve by itself. 1 mth later another checkup suppose to do pap smear but if not clear still him and he will check our wound and do scanning. if this round we did not do pap smear will arrange another date. i remember after that the next checkup is 6mths later.
previously all this checkup need not to pay except for the lab fee for the pap smear

miss83
he will also remove the waterproofing plaster.
me too discharge 1 day earlier and i was surprised by it. he said no point waste money there keke.

Congrats to mummies who have popped...

Re: Breastfeeding
This time round, my milk supply really alot... Now my baby is 10 days old... Every 5-6 hourly, I have 300ml... I pump 20 mins using the medela PIS advanced breast pump... Sometimes I will latch on baby and she will suckle for about 20 mins each side and then I will express out the rest... Now I have lots of milk kept in the freezer... My girl drinks 80ml every 3-4 hourly.. CL said coz my milk is thick so can last longer...

I drink about 3 big flasks of longan drink per day... CL makes papaya soup, black beans soup, she said the rice wine will make alot of milk also... Cook Mee sua soup, mee hoon soup and fry fish with rice wine will also have alot of milk... Can try these to increase your milk supply... Drink a hot drink before you express your milk...

I also got engrogement during first few days.. The massage lady massage for me and it was much better, still got alot of engrogement. She told me to ask my hubby to help... To suck on my nipples to clear the pathway for the milk... It really helps.. Those having blocked ducts, ask ur hubby to suck really hard... It clears the milk path...

Misscandy
To prevent nipple crack or sore, my massage lady taught me to use my milk instead of the nipple cream. It helps... You can try??

RE: CL
I was supposed to pay her 2k... But she give me discount 1.9k... She said if she strike 4D, give me more discount. She is a very nice aunt.. Really do everything except for marketing. So my mom is doing the marketing...

Re: Jaundice
My baby jaundice ok already. The PEP bed is great and my baby likes it... Put her there for 34+ hours for 3 days 2 nights package. Much cheaper than putting her in hospital and I cannot see her...

Sinmey
My CL uses fish bone to cook the papaya soup. She should know what kind of fish will help to increase milk flow since she is so experienced already?

Asura
Storage of frozen expressed milk should be 3 months?

RE: Baby Bathing
My CL also bath baby with stout. Said she will not be have sensitive skin in future...

St
My baby only 10 days old, now taking 80ml every 3-4 hourly...

Bliss
Your baby boy so cute and chubby...

devil
ur bb taking 80ml all BM?
my bb after latch on for 30mins somtimes need to top up with formula another 40ml..
the last time I express i give him 40ml, and need to top up 30ml FM.
i think 80ml BM is ok..because BM is easy digest and he gets hungry easily..
my PD said bb should take 60ml til he's 1 month old then after that increase to 90-120ml.

Devil,

If store in freezer of a separate door refrigerator is 3 mths. If store in deep freezer is 6 mths. I thinking of buying a deep freezer to store my milk. My bro help me check out price in harvey norman. $338. Quite alright i think.

miss83
Yes... My baby taking 80ml all BM... Oh? How come 1 month old then increase to 90-120ml? Many babies taking about that amount during week 3-4 leh...

Asura
Me also thinking of getting one deep freezer too... My CL told me SIM LIM got sell only 299.. Dunno got anywhere else cheaper one... or 2nd hand one... Dunno good anot...

Devil,

at that price, i rather buy 1st hand one lah... not that expensive mah..

intending to buy once my freezer is filled. Currently only use up half shelf. Still got 2.5 shelves left.. hee

devil - u so lucky!!! got such a good CL & MS!!!! *envy envy* my mil say cnt eat mee sua leh... -_-" anyway my food options very sian one... and she still puts liquer in without cooking.. so i dun drink that soup... i only drink the fish papaya which they make maybe once every 3 days...

anyway ive started taking fenugreek today... also taking oats with milo.. and metoclopramide.. hopefully cn see some increase... also i try to pump a bit more often... but my nipples painful... shield too small.. hopefully tmr all will be well! *cross fingers* i will still JY on BM... i pray for the day where i can latch her on and not use FM when i go out...

hi girls
i given birth on 24 march, 3 days b4 my edd via natural birth! so happy can do that as i was bracing myself for a c-sec already.
here is the pic of my baby, who weighs 3.5kg at birth.
my Bm supply is quite establishd by day 5, but baby seems sleepy most of the time, and i have to wake him for feeds, otherwise will be very full and sore. I do fully latch on, cos too lazy to express.
for mumies with less milk supply, maybe can try red dates n longan drink? I drink that everyday, dont drink plain water at all, and drink milk with quaker oats every day. also chicken essence every day
2304983.jpg

Daphne Crosailo has a Combi Walker to let go.
4 wheeler, light weight and used once (less than 4 mins) selling $200.
anyone interested?

Ester&Boys
so lucky that ur BM supply established already... i've been drinking red dates n longan drink, and taking chicken essence everyday. i just started taking oats with milo today but had been taking anmum with milo everyday, but supply still very low... i guess it's very individual...

jtho - we same same.. but im nt as hardworking as u... hee... i dun pump that often... but im tryin... have started taking milo w oats today.. also taking fenugreek and metoclopramide... tried to increase number of pumps as well.. but my nipples feel sore.. anyway i wan to perserve...

i also drink red dates with longan everyday.. thats all i drink... plus the soups... and take warm baths... also during pumping i massage... so i guess im one of the mummies with big boobs but low ms... anyway will still pump and feed to my bb... some is better than none... =) but a bit heartpain when she doesnt finish it... =( dn have to throw away...

my bb is taking ard 60-80mls/feed leh... dunno if too little... but she cnt tk more.. she will spit out.. in fact today she vomitted 2 times... -_-" she is 3weeks old.. but she pees alot... and poo poo ard 2times a day...

nose sai - my bb has big big ones... yesterday jus removed today have again... jus nw remove and she cried her lungs out... so heart pain... but no choice.. after that sayang her... dunno why so much sai... haiii... is there a suction thing we cn buy to suck out or not? im currently using cotton that has been twirled to long slim thing to insert n get it out... but see her so xin ku... =( but dont remove also cannot... heaving breathing plus she coughs on n off.. like choking lidat... nw remove okie liao.. anyone has recommendation lemme knw okie? thanks... =)

jtho
I'm already 28days my ms still low. But tomorrow i will try drink fenugreek raw seeds tea. See how 1st. Will update u see the tea can increase ms or not.

My fren ask me to put white vinegar into e herbal bath..so is it rice wine or white vinegar? anyone knows??

Miss83
after C sect i dun dare move for 2 whole days and day 3 also like crippled like tat..wow u all really good ah, dare to move abt liao.

missycandy
Pigeon has one very good product called Baby Nose Cleaner. it was recommended during one of my antenatal class. this thing doesn't use the pump type that we always see. it comes with a container and a tube. insert the container into baby's nose and we adult will suck lightly using the tube. then the 'sai' will go into the container. this way, we can control how much suction to introduce.

serene
yes, please update... thanks a million!

jtho - ooo thanksss il try to get hold of one asap... tmr sneaking out to get stuff frm asura... haaa.. but must tk cab go and come back fast... wait kena found out then jialat... il see if i cn go nearby to get...

duno wads wrong with my bb... she keeps on crying on n off the past hr or so... wans to be carried.. i dont think its colic... tummy flat.. jus wans to be carried... carry le dn wil sleep.. put her down.. after awhile strt crying... tired... amazingly, she drank ard 100mls jus now... nt sure if its just a once off or the start of new feeding amt... b4 that she was taking ard 60mls...

pigpig - i duno.. maybe u cn ask ur CL?

missycandy, is it cos of growth spurt??

BF
Well, bb is 6 wks old now and my MS is stagnant.. so sian.. i am pumping now, hopefully will wake up in the middle of night for next pump.. still in TBF mode, but guess if my MS don't continue, I got to supplement with FM..

moomooland, me alone with bb coming to 2wks liao..so far manageable except for my ms...its nt increasing but decreasing coz i rarely can have time to pump my milk nw...n he doesn't like to be latched due to impatience...hiaz...still trying my best to give him some bm...hw's yr moomoo career going on? i see lots of mummies here have well established their ms...so nice..dunno izzit really due to individual body..i'm having my menses bk...n i tot my ms is going off soon..dunno hw true.

re: pump...regretted buying electric one...coz realised it wld be alot more convenient n efficient if i'm using manual..coz can just grab the pump n pump anyware...nw really gt to sit dwn in another rm...sometimes gt to close the door incase i wake bb up...coz mini electric really noisy lor!! so pumping nw like more stress scared can't hear bb cries...i'll b so happy if my hb is ard so tat i can pump while he looks after bb...but lately he super busy even on weekend also goes bk to work..hiaz..

Re: ms...any mummies noe if aldy 1mth+ still haven established gd ms, anymore chances of increasing? i doubt so =( coz norm. shld established within 1mth...else stagnant liao..sigh...

SG,
I think the most impt thing to do is to either latch on or pump more....! However, giving little BM is better than giving none at all. Just do your best!

As for menses, it will reduce the ss during tat time. When it's over, the ss will come back! =)

Increase Milk Supply
Other than milo + Oats and Fenugreek, I've started to drink Nutrisoy (Fresh Soya Milk)...I drank tat during #1 and it did help..=)
Haaa~~ everything oso try...!!!!

grace...i see...hope my mense will go away soon...so stunned when i see my menses is back..coz i tot is bf won't have menses so fast de....guess becoz my ms is getting low ba. shag ah...tonite my bb like nt well dunno izzit colic..woke up every 1-2hrs for milk..norm. 3hrs..

mummies giving mixture (bm + fm) to bb, hw often does yr bb poo ah? mine norm. 1-2 times a day...yest'd he din poo..so worried guess tata why nt well ba. n also wat's the color / appearance of yr bb's poo?

SG,
Hmm...the drop in SS could be due to the menses and YES, usually when bf-ing, the return of menses will be delayed. During #1, mine came back 15mths later...

You latch bb direct or fed him EBM/FM? Becos i noticed for my bb, if i latch him, he doesnt seem to get enough & dun wanna sleep for the next 2-3hrs. BUT during the next feed, i give him EBM, can sleep for 3-4hrs... =P

Poo
I give 1 FM feed each day (altho can give total EBM) bcos wanna let him get used to it. Hmm, he poos at least 4-5 times each day! Current colour is yellowish/mustard.

grace...tat means my ss is dropping tats why mense is bk...haiyo..
me feed him fm at nite...only latch for comfort at daytime +EBM & FM...my bb is a big eater at the start n i'm nt able to catch up with his appetite..wah so nice yr bb poos so many times, guess these few days my ss drop tats why he gets lesser bm n din poo yest'd. so poor thing...feel so bad. hiaz...my bb's poo is abit greenish + sticky wonder tats norm. for mixture of mostly fm + ebm.

SG,
No worries, when menses is gone, ss will be back! Jus continue to pump (altho the quantity could be 'demoralising'). Dun think so much abt catching up...it'll give u more stress. Just supplement wif FM. btw, How much is your bb drinking now?

Poo
My bb's oso sticky....hmm ok lah..it's yellowish green! =P