(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

morning mummies
here i am, pumping again... i was really exhausted, last night missed the 9pm pump. then 12 midnight one postponed till 1am, and then missed the 3am one also... now again postponed the 6am pump till 6.45am. think i need a break... it's been a whole week without a 4 hrs stretch of sleep then finally last night KO liao...

Grace
the Nutrisoy is the packet ones huh? then u drink it cold?
i'm now still in confinement leh and will only finish confinement this Sunday, CL sure won't let me drink cold drinks. wat about the fresh soya bean milk from market? i'll check with CL whether can drink that or not.

jtho,
Yup the packet one. I buy the light blue one & I drink it cold like drinking plain water. heee~~~~

Pump
Hee..think I'm too tired too. Supposed to get up at 2:30am for the pump, oni got up at 4am bcos bb cried for milk. If not, think will sleep till 6am..hee~~

morning...

havent really get to slp.. poor me n baby..
finally we gotten out of his growth spurt last week.. this week come colic. he starts everynite 1am until morning.. tdy is the longest fight we ever fought together. so shag +_+ damnit....
is so much worst then growth spurt. tis time round tristan really cry like crazy.. going to ko liao.. b4 he wakes up again..

jtho,

Take a few days break from ur vigorous pumping sessions. maybe reduce to 6 [pumps a day for 2 or 3 days, then start the 24 cycle again. U might see results. Too tired also might not produce enough milk.

Queenie,

U try my method? My bb also got colic. She teach us her method and straightaway, my bb got to sleep a bit. Then we continue with her method and her each sleeping time becomes longer until now is back to normal liao.. all wihtin a day!

Think i posted before but here's how:
Use Telon Oil, massage ard naval anti-clockwise direction. Then gently use thumb to stroke downwards from chest to navel. After that use telon oil, stroke from behind bb's knee towards her ankle.
When done, carry bb with bb's stomach pressing on ur stomach, take a seat and pet bb to sleep. Continue everytime change diaper.

Asura, where to get telon oil? Use for colic?
Actually I only use ruyi oil to apply everynite to sooth my gal so she can sleep better

hi all, I jst gave birth last wednesday 25 march and its a baby boy~Now scratching head for the baby's shower, good idea to hold baby's shower at restaurant?I mean restaurant buffet as I am doing the confinement at my mama's hse and do not wish to clear the mess at the end of the day at my hse~Haha I am lazy~

Queenie
if baby got colic, bring baby to see docotr. my girl hv colic at wk2 after seeing PD, i gave her the colic drop 3 times only and its goes aways.

Asura
ya, will take ur advice. thanks

hope to get some rest these few days before the full month celebration this Sunday.

Dear mommies,

Sorry to interupt.

Just to check if you girls got any good CL (that just did confinement for you a few months ago) to recommend? If possible, can pm me her contacts?

Mangogal,

I also dont know leh. I got the bottle of telon oil when i did my postnatal massage with jamumassage, think is free with the massage. Mdm Rokiah says that telon oil is the malay version of Ru Yi Oil but our Ru Yi Oil could be too "hot" for bb. Actually before we use the telon oil, we were using ru yi oil, din work on bb, she was still crying and crying. BUt after we use the telon oil... wah... can see the difference immediately. My MIL see liao and ask me to check out where else got sell the telon oil.

wow, think i'm really tired too, suppose to pump t 7am, overslept and only got up at 9am to pump...i think i should do the 1am, then 7am pump so i can sleep for 6 straight hours should be enough. (so i will skip 1 pump which i think is still acceptable so i can rest) I think the suggestion was good, i will try to 1,4,7,10 timing, suits me better than 3,6,9,12.

Today baby keanan drank 60ml this morning which is strange coz normally after 3 hours he will cry for 80ml EBM. He pushed the bottle out w his tongue. Is it becoze his growth spurt is over? Tmr is his official 1 month...
Jtho, i think u're doing a good job *hugs to all mummies for all the hard work*

thanks, starflower for the encouragement.
ya, i think i will also try the 1,4,7,10 timing and skip 1 session in the night to get enough sleep. but will take a few days rest first before trying again...

last night was horrible... baby didnt wan to be put dwn... frm 12 til 3... wanted to be carried n walk ard the hse... -_-" i was so tired.. finally 3plus she drank milk dn slpt til 6plus... phew! plus she slept next to me, near my boobs... she likes to sleep near me leh... haiii... that day i put her on the bed... i was sitting on the edge and pumping my milk.. then she was in the centre of the bed... she move move move... til her head behind my butt.. LOL i was laughing... so funny... my MIL says becos i BF her so she used to my smell... i didnt say anything... i seldom latch on now... but i mus agree she likes my sweat & smell.. LOL... so horrible...

how to tell if growth spurt.. she has moods leh.. sometimes she wil drink 60mls.. sometimes more... sometime even less... then dunno why since yesterday, she coughs on n off... dn sometimes like choking... =\ dn the pi sai all stuck inside.. jus now tried to get some out... she was crying blardy murder lor... looks like i really need to get the pigeon thing.. i also dunno hw to suck it out with my mouth... quite a turn off leh... =x

SG, bb is 6 wks old but I am still strugglin for MS.. not too little but i guess it's just sufficient. worried that i might not have enough cos bb going to increase his appetite soon..
average i pump abt 800ml a day.. but bb taking 100ml each time, abt 7-8 times a day.. so i have nothing extra for me to store.. kinda stress also.. but nvm lah. i tell myself, if really not enough, just top up with FM..

asura
thanks girl.. i will ask hb try go get telon oil.. me hardly use ru yi oil one. coz is so hot.. i use citronella.. quite gd.. not hot at all..

sportyger
hmm.. baby cry non stop.. for mine, he got timing one.. 1am he start wailing liao..day time still like normal..

wintertime
at least u can pump 800ml and bb taking 700-800ml a day. i can only pump 400ml and bb takes 600-750ml a day. so i top up with FM lor...
sigh... remember a couple of mths back, all mummies here were all so up-spirited about the new life and bfing, then now, quite a number of us facing problems such as low MS, tiredness, stress, soreness, etc. etc...

jtho, I agree. It was with so much anticipation that we were looking forward to the arrival of our little bundle of joy. Now there are so many things to stress about haiz.

misscandy
lol my CL is my MIL lo, she also tot its rice wine but my fren say vinegar so i use tat once..

anyone MIL doing confinement for u? need to give ang bao anot? she has been doing alot and also spend abit on me..

wintertime
so u are TBF..jia you wor..i can only give EBM in day and cfm FM at nite.not enough at all

poo
my bb also poo ard 3-5 times ba..usually after feed

sportyger
he nv wails for v long.. coz i will try to stop him by patting him at his back.. but is the moment he cry is loud one lor.. and if u delay to care for him, he can scream until pitch go haywire like tt..

me squeezing some time to come in. Just very quickly glance thru 1-2 page of archives only. I'm now latching + pumping using manual, but realised its taking far too much time. Take almost 2 hrs to latch & pump together. AFter doing this, and probably taking a meal or so, its time for next round. Super shiong! But I think my boy considered v good liao cos he only feeds like 4hrly.

EBM via bottle feed:
I've finally given in to partial bottle feed for EBM since Tue. Partly due to reassurance from PD. She said since i have abundance BM and BB already established good latching, if bottle feed him EBM 1-2 times a day, he shouldn't be confused. Partly also due to my feeling so tired out by BF. Slightly more time to rest now. He is now 11days old and taking 90ml using bottle. Have previously bot the cup from TMC for CL to cup feed but he didn;t take it too well, cry alot, and with cup feeding, they gotta open mouth big and also alot of wastage. Afraid he may take in alot of wind and see him cry i also heart pain. Then We bot the pigeon weaning bottle with the spoon, but CL says the spoon too long, not suitable.

Pump
I am seriously thinking of getting medela PIS cos think I will burn out soon if con't like this. I can pump at least 125ml on each side after latching...but think I need a life other than BF!

Ivy, miss83, moomooland
If c-sec, need to still do pap smear? I came down to walk on day 2 at hospital, damn jia lat, walk bending forward and needed pple to assist me. Then want to cough or laugh also can't cos wound will be pain, but now ok liao and can since a few days back, can sleep on my side.

BB sleep in aircon room?:
Any of your BB DON sleep in aircon room? The older generation keep saying don let him sleep in aircon room lest he gets too used to it...but my poor boy having heat rash though I on the fan (but closed window during day time cos upgrading still abit noisy) and I quite heart pain. Dilemma...

teddybaby
CL doesn't like to on air-con for baby cos she herself not used to having air-con. but baby always cry so hubby told CL that he insists to have air-con for baby. baby gets heat rash easily also if no air-con.

misscandy
Y cannot eat mee sua? mee sua produces alot of milk... Drink more longan and red dates water.. Soya bean drink also helps alot...

Ester&Boys
Congrats... My CL said cannot take chicken or chicken essence for the first 12 days leh... Dunno y leh... I have not eaten chicken and drink chicken essence yet so far...

Oxgal
I think is white vinegar...

Noticed most mummies here pump milk every 3 hrs..any one doing every 4 hrs? I pump every 4 hrs (100-130 ml each time) and it's currently sufficent to cover my boy's appetite (70ml). But am wondering if pumping every 3 hrs will increase milk supply, just in case my boy suddenly got growth spurt..

Talking about tiredness, i oversleep for 6 hrs and my boobs hurt like hell! One of my nipples was so engorged I almost couldnt pump anything from it..think I got to engage massage lady soon..

Devil, when u asked your hubby to suck your breasts to clear the milk ducts, so he will drink some of it as well? Hmm..wondering if my hubby will find it awkard, stealing his boy's milk..hee..ok will ask him to do it tonight..

poo,
Any baby on Tbf poo inconsistently? Haha my girl can don't poo for 1 to 2 days le.... Is it something to worry abt man. Hmmm.

And the rest of us, Jia you!

Teddy, how is the lift upgrading? Still bearable? Heee. I still haven't intro bottle le.... Haha, now 5 wks old, lets see.. Heee.

Queenie, Missycandy, last night my girl also don't wanna zzz! from 1am till 8am this morning! Terrible! Haha. But heng today hubby off.. We gg vivo later! Can't wait to shop n swipe my card!

thks jtho

oxgal,
yup, its white vinegar

numb feeling in legs and bone near butt:
Any mumies who used epi, esp for c-sec have such experience? my legs and bone near butt feels abit numb after I wake up and after sitting to BF for like 15min...then really need to stretch my legs, buay tahan. Wonder if its due to epi or juz me. then also aching shoulders and neck when BF

Vivien
Yes, he will drink some of it... Haha... Good for him leh... Haha.. He told me the BM is sweet... But must suck real hard... Let the milk path clears then milk will flow out...

Any mummies has gd and cheap recommendation for 6 in 1 jabs? My PD one cost $440, incl consulation, fever medicine and develpoment test

cindy,
major noise is over, but now they drilling the BIg rubbish collection floor, quite noisy also. Like never ending one.

Vivien,
Can try to massage boobs on your own b4 pumping. If u attend MRs wong class, do it the way she teach us. Also, if using manual pump, I one hand squeeze & massage my boobs, the other hand pump, find can drain milk better this way

thanks devil and teddyBB..so its rite huh? i smell it and tot it ll make us more sour?? haha..it is to provide a layer of protection for us huh?

teddyBB, my gynae also ask to go back for pap smear in May, my gal few days earlier than urs. e nurse say its a muz.

we ll on e air con at nite ard 27' and its blowing at my hubby side so me and BB abit away from it..as long as wind not blowing direct at us shld be ok ba. anyway they say the heat rash is normal and my gal also ve some more ard chin/neck area today.ll apply the facial cream from mustela..hope it sooth her

BB sleep in aircon room?:
My girl she dont likes to sleep in aircon room, she cant sleep well if we on aircon. We tried 3 times le.... Then my mil said she help her to save money. haha.

teddybaby
my son's 6 in 1 jab will be $220, excluding consultation. consultation will be around $56. rotavirus will be $160 ($80 for each dose), and pneumococcal is $160 per dose (i dun remember how many dose for this). i dunno whether will include fever medicine and development test or not. he will be going for his jab on 30th this month.

RE: Shaving Baby Hair

Beside tai mao bi, any good recommendation for shaving baby's hair & eyebrown for "baby one-month old"?

jtho, sportyger, i totally agree with you gals.. before delivery, we are all so excited abt the new arrival of our bundle of joy.. now, we need to be so stress abt so many things.. don't know wat bb wants esp when he/she is crying.. i even told hb that I missed our couplehood lifestyle.. haizz..

teddybb, i letting my boy to sleep in aircon room.

cindy
im considered tbf bah. the past 1 2 days.. tristan oso nvr poo.. den durin midnite, he poo 3 times.. ytd whole day nv poo. then this morning poo one big pack give me kio..
u song lor.. shopping again.. hahaaha

idlecat
the huaxia is shaving.. not expensive ..

vivien,
I also do 4hrly pump.. I tried every 3hrs but ms only 80ml but 4hrs i can get 100-130ml..

jtho,
where is ur PD?

prosper
my PD in NUH
today i started pumping 4 hrly. for the past 1 week, i pumped 3 hrly, can only yield 40-50ml. today pumped 4 hrly twice, can get 80ml for both times.

prosper
i'm still doing confinement. my bb sleeps with CL. so CL will decide whether on fan or air-con. but hubby just gave 'order' to her 2 days ago that he wants bb to have air-con. for me, i sleep in my own room with air-con.

jtho, but i tot confinement should not have aircon? i have been no fan and aircon for a month liao. totally cannot tahan.. so shiok for u. tml is my last day confinement..

Oxgal,
If I am not wrong, it is to expel the wind from our body... When you boil the herbs, can add in ginger and lemongrass also...

prosper
You can tahan no fan and air con?? I cannot tahan w/o fan... Never on the air con...

Anyone using catered confinement food? Or any recommendations for me whom I can order from cos my CL is leaving Friday and my mum insisting that I continue with 40days confinement... sigh... so I've decided to get a caterer to deliver the food for next 10 days so I dont have to stress up over my meals haha.

RE: Ru Yi Oil
My massage lady teach me mix baby oil with some ru yi oil and massage baby every night before sleep to get rid of wind.

RE: Sleep in air-con
My baby has been sleeping with us in her own cot with air-con since day 1. Weather too hot... sometimes we also on air-con in the day so that she can take a better nap during the day.

RE: heat rash
My baby getting more heat rash over her face; so heartpain... what can we do?

RE: wrist pain
My chinese doc advise me to wear wrist guard. So, I apply his "hot cream" and wear my Rollerblade wrist guard instead so that it will restrict my hand to bend and hurt the wrist further.

devil,
ya just no aircon and fan, but somwtimes will on fan but against the wall only bit directly on me..

Koala,
my confinement end tmr and my mom also ask me to do 40 days.. where u get the contact from the caterer? so who is doing confinemnt once ur cl leaving?

SG - you may want to consider getting the Avent Manual Pump, I got hubby to buy it from Taka Bb Fair last week. MS result is kinda similar to the Mini Electric...but the good thing is, its portable, at least dont have to go to another room.

wa, menses so fast come back liao. my lochia is finishing. my ms is also not very good..on a good day, can yield 110ml only...and thats after 5-6 hours...one time engorged until fever..haiz..and the next day yield 170ml haha...i have a few days of 50ml, so sian...dunno how come also..

queenie - hows Tristans growth spurt? drinking how much now? seems like my girl is going through yet another growth spurt, let her drink 110ml formula, she also finish wor...