(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

pumping - ask u all ah... for pumping, when u see the breast no more milk will u stop or continue ? usually when i pump ard 5-8mins no more milk come out le... sometimes i will tahan til 10-15mins... then squeeze and squeeze my boobs... but nt much lor... you all alternate btwn the 2 ah? 5 each for a few times? i do right then left then finish.. =P

i feed FM at night as well... at night want to heat up the EBM also quite mafan. in my fridge in kitchen. lazy la. lol. nw all my baby's bottles, sterilizer, milk, hot water flask and water container beside me in my room.. so i dun have to "get out of bed" hahaha

st, ya body also.. esp the neck part. so basically the whole body.
My CL only take away her diapers left the clothes on. wash her bottom, use cloth to clean the body and neck.

missycandy,
usually i must left right a few times then the milk finish.. nowadays my pumping shorten from 25mins to 15mins then no more..

misscandy ...

yar his jaundice higher than my #1 ... my #1 was 15++ and stayed fopr 2 nights

me now still waiting for the PD to update me

tiring but no choice lar ... most impt is to bring the jaundice down

lenny
congrats! u did very well! jia u on bfing.. don be stress!

st
my boy bath once in the day.. and wipe his body during the nite.. b4 9pm.. coz scare too late he might get a chill..
but i try to get mom or hb to wash his butt if he poos kekes.. unless in e middle of nite den i use wipes..
u can continue to drink bao shen soup? can add duzhong(to stregthen our back), huai shan etc..

starflower
if scare ru yi oil too hots, can use citronella oil on babies.. oso to get rid of wind and most imptly not hot de..

haha my confinement DADDY sneaked out of the house.. so im gg to clean my baby boy now. he juz pooed..kekes..

Moomooland/prosper/caca/st

i am giving EBM at night, which means he wakes at about 1am & 5am. No FM since day 5 when my MS came in. But this week his growth spurt, about 3 times, about 12am, 3am, 6am. (not to mention he increase intake from 40-45ml last week to 70ml this week). My baby shower is this sunday, and i'm also going to give EBM. I am hoping to latch/EBM until his first month is over.

Pumping:
If using single pump, the lady from breastfeeding support group did say, pump each side 5 mins alternately, 3 times on right breast and 3 times on left breast, so total 30mins, for each pump session. But since mine is a dual electric, i use both pump at the same time, which i do 5mins, then 1 min rest for each 10mins pump. During the 10 mins, i masage & squeeze dry. After i finish, i hand express for any last drops. total about 30mins.

I have a question on latching. We latch them 15min on each breast right? Or we let them suck until happy on 1 breast then move to the next? (which he usually falls asleep liao after 15 mins...) then after that, we are suposed to pump out the excess within 15 mins issit?

I jus delivered my bb gal last fri and would like to join this thread. Have been reading but very hard to catch up leh.

Anyway would like to ask the mummies who went thru c-sect, how long was it til your wound stop hurting. Mine still hurts so it's been quite tiring as I am also trying to total bf.

bluebell - i didnt do csec.. but my gynae did mention that csec wounds take ard 4weeks.. i think it depends on individuals as well.. =) btw, welcome!

seabreeze, dun worry, the jaundice will come down..
my boy was admitted last wednesday. level 18.5. discharged on the next day. down to 9.6.

power pumping, it works, using this method, i yield around 120ml but at night, still around 90ml.

pacificer, we gave in to him, cos when he is in nicu, the nurses gave him the teat with cotton wool stuck behind to pacify him.. so he kinda get used to it. but at home, he will suckle awhile and puke out. we try not to give him, unless he is really crying.

st, my mom do wipe him in the evening around 6+ 7pm.

wha lau eh....
i wan rants!!
my dad !!!!!

ARGh.... he came hme in time to bath my boy.. he used one basin of water to wash his buttocks first coz he pooed. den after tt bring baby to a bigger bathtub and start washin his bottom again.. before washin his hair, eyes etc.. +_+ BUAY TAHAN.. told him to start off with the head first he keep saying he washed his buttocks already so CLEAN.. wha lau eh.......

nvm.. he wan wash babies clothings. i say don wash. wait till mommy home to wash. den tdy i finally saw him using wad SOFTLAN washing powder to wash!!!!!!! wha piang ehhhhhh KILL me la..... i told him to use baby detergent (my sil using what ABC baby powder detergent) then u noe wad.. he say add abit into the tub of water lor.. i told him inside already got wad SOFTLAN liao leh... Errr... he say nvm he wash the clothes a few more times with water can liaos.

ARGH,., i wan KI SIAO liao.......... i don like my confinement DADDY............ i want my mommy back........

prosper
think that way might cos my supply quite low must alternate to ge more.This morning so happy can get 50ml first time so content.

Starflower
I think at least u quite good lor nw already total Bfing me still rely quite alot on Formula.

ST,
My CL will wipe bb every evening and apply Ru Yi Yu too.

Prosper
I've an electric dual pump but I also pump the same way as you. I'll hold 1 pump and squeeze boob very hard and keep alternating left and right side until I get 90-100ml.

I don't use both pumps at same time cos I find there's more milk when I squeeze at the same time when pumping.

caca...i checked with doc..he says nasal congested n prescribe drop for him...thks 4 advice...so poor thing like breathing so hard.

missycandy, thks for the tips on burping..shall try tat..but sometimes very diff. to make him sleep liao..then still carry him up again for burping later wake him up headache again..haha...

mummies, wonder ware can we see avg. weight for 1mth+ bb...just weigh him at clinic...he has gained another 700g in 1 week's time...my mil n mum says nw overweight neh mind one..true ornt? no wonder me like getting no strength to carry him liao...hiaz...

koala - me same as u. also have dual pump but use 1 by one so i cn squeeze and massage my boobs... then cn see the milk squirting out everytime i squeeze... hehe...

SG - np... ya agree... but for my bb.. usually the koala bear hug will put her to sleep... heheheh... i also use that style to burp her if i find it takes to long to do it for her sitting on my lap... then her head will sway all ovr.. and she stil try to struggle... zzz... so i jus put her over my shoulder and pat... dn she wil grip on to me... hee hee...

ru yi oil - my mil gave to me today becos i asked hubby to ask her to buy... so jus nw after her morning bathe i apply for her... will try again tonight...

i feel so sian... tmr my bd bt cnt go out cnt celebrate properly... =( but my mil says cn eat cake... so my family will buy cake for me... =)

SG, my boy also have nasal congestion. Think he got it from the sister.
Last week during his stay at the hospital, the PD did a swap for him and got some infection, so now need to be on antibiotic for 7 days. the drop can only use for 7 days, then gotta stop for 3-4 days then continue to use.

For baby weight, can refer to health booklet?

how are u all going to celebrate bb full month?
we decide to hold it next sunday, but, still haven't send out invitation... haven't decide caterer.. etc... haiz..

irene - for bb full mth we will be holding it at home. on good friday. jus nice falls on her full mth. heh. evening time. will be catering food. est ard 80-90+pax coming. we have sent out invitations (email, sms, word of mouth - i used smilebox to create card) for caterer - using melrose bake house. =)

missycandy
happy birthday to u.. hehe gd tt u can eat cake. celebrate at home.. with ur darlingss..

my mom only helped me last week .. nw she return to wrk liao.. so left me n dad +_+ and he is my confinement daddy lor. haha i calmed dwn liao.. and i also in wrong.. abit bit cannot wan to rant.. kekekes.. but he is out of gdwill lor .. my parents donwan me touch water too much..

irene
my hb ytd told me want to celebrate baby shower... but is on the 12th apr.. (baby tristan born on 3rd march) me also havent send out invitation coz is not yet finalised..

i tink i got running nose.. virus frm my sil.. she is sick on mc and stayed at hme to rest.. +_+so uncomfy..

missycandy
wow.. u got so many guests ah? i donno wan invite all my frds or not..coz my hb frds merely 20s niah..and if i invite i will invite, my pri/sec/ite/ and different bunch of ex colleagues..

btw. how much is dr ang fees for u??

Irene ...

my PD just called to say drop to 14 ... dunno isit cos of my BM ler ... cos even my next bed neighbour's daughter when she stayed for 1 day it dropped to 7++ while mine was still 10++

now only drop by 4 points ... can only cross my finger lor

my nipple is now so painful cos of all the pumping ... still prefer bb suckle

hi all:

my birth story:
20 mar
0330H - went to pee n had show, called gynae n was asked to monitor for an hour to see if had intense contractions...however none...

0500H - waterbag burst after a kick by my son...
0530H - rush to TMC n after all checks, was 1cm dilated, midwife say bb poop inside n need to stby for e c-sect..

0700H - gynae arrived and was immediately pushed to OT n C-Sect was done via GA...

0753H - Arrival of my prince - Elixir Chua
WEight of Baby: 3.055kg...

tks sun for updating n congrats to all mummies who had popped...

sun: pop already?

queenie - ooo... i touched water since i gave birth... lol... been bathing bb myself since came home... hmmm nvm... =)
thanks for the wishes. i dunno hb will be ard or not becos he is supposed to be wrking frm 1030am-8pm tmr... =(
i cn understand how u feel abt ranting... sometimes i also say my mum but feel bad after... =P nw i try to talk to her nicely though inside cn be boiling... LOL... tryin to control...
how come ur full mth celebrate so late? my parents said cn celebrate earlier but not later... hmmmm
dr ang's fees cost me ard 1.5k also. hee. wanted to check if same if he deliver @ tmc and Mt A.. guess ard the same ba... =)
hubby side quite a number of relatives.. my relatives all not in sg. either in msia. us or uk. heh. plus hubbies close/gd frns & my close gd frns... =)

seabreeze - dun worrie. it takes awhile de. that time my bb also when discharged with me was 10+.. then go back appt. shot up to 17+... then next day go down slowly slowly de... 13+... 10+... then reach 7plus b4 brought her home... then yesterday appt is ard 6+... PD says coming down... is okie.. shld not rebound... *cross fingers*
eh u prefer bb suckle ah.. i prefer to pump.. but nw my nipps sore.. i think the shield too small.. =\ sian

SG, by right should burp one.. my CL also says so and she's very gd at burping bbies.. she make sure bb burp every feed.. I will try my best to burp. sit upright, if not, caryy bb upright. if after few mins still no burp, then forget it.
I need lots of sleep too.. i was praising bb for being a gd boy for past few night, bt last night, he was cranky again.. so tiring. i hardly have any sleep. like wat u say, still got many chores to be done. stress.. tt's y it's gd to have a maid to settle all these so that i can concentrate on my bb.

koala, my boy too.. kept want to be carried and cry as if he's heavily beaten like tt.. sometimes i so pek chek tt i left him crying in his cot for 5 mins before picking him up.. spoilt brag..

caca, you are most welcome.. i was told that try this power pump for 2 days and shold increase milk flow after tt.. don't have to do it everyday.. only cons is tt we got to sacrifice our sleep..

prosper, i gave my bb a sponge bath at night before 9pm.. so that he will feel clean after a long day. also to tell him that it's night time, it's time for him to rest and sleep.
I have been trying all sorts of methods, still can't find the optimum one.. now i will try to bottle feed in the day and at night latch on.. let's see if he's okay to doze off by himself without suckle me.

starflower, i latch bb on one side of the breast. i make sre bb suckle and clears the milk on one breast before i switch to the next. so that bb can get both foremilk and hindmilk from one breast.

pinkdemon, congrats darling

glad that the power pumping works for most mummies here..

Re: bb acne
This morning, we decided to bring bb to see PD due to his rashes.. my bb's rashes was so bad that he has red patches on both his cheeks.. i mean REAL RED lor... and the whole face with little red dots too.. not to mention, his scalp has little flakes, believe that's the cradle cap... and also, his ears also had rashes..
PD presribe some wash and ointment of my bb. though he say it's bb rashes,he agrees that my boy is more serios type.. so I was glad i went see PD. hope to see improvement on his face.

misscandy, Happy Birthday to you.
I think we'll have to send out the invitation today. Haiz.. has been procastinating...
80-90pax, all at one go?

Queenie, I thot need to do earlier? Cos Zac is born on the 7th, so we will be doing it on the 5th.

Seabreeze, 14 is the safe zone already. Just let him stay for one more day, should be able to discharge tomorrow. Don't worry too much. Jia You on your pumping.

Wintertime,
Aiyo...nw u're making worry if i should bring bb to see PD for his bb acne....but thot try the Avene Thermal water 1st.....see how...

Power Pumping
How does it work?
Pump how long then rest 1 min then how?? Sorry din managed to find the details of it.... =)

Congrats Lenny and pinkdemoness

Happy Birthday misscandy. My birthday is in next month lucky still can go out celebrate.

Sorry, what does this power pumping is about?

Grace, Kome..
Power pump is like pump for 10mins, rest for 10mins then pump again and rest again, so total will add up to 1 hr.
Some mummies here, pump for 10mins, rest 1 min then pump again. it works also.

irene - thanks! =) ya all at one go. thought of spilting but i dont tink bb cn tahan. i dun wan her go into her moods/tantrums then jialat for me leh. =P

kome - thanks. ya. was hoping bb come out after my bd. hahaah too bad. but lucky also come out some time b4.. too close to my bd in future also sian for her if she wan to go out celeb with frns n bf =P hahahaha

lemme paste the power pumping for you all. =) the link can be found here. http://flowerpod.com.sg/forums/Breast-Feeding-Thread-t61372.html&pid=1763693

YOu just need to do this for 2 days - after that do 1-2 times a day on day 3 & 5 for maintenance & repeat the 2 days system again maybe before you go back to work.

4-5 times a day power pump

Pump 20 mins
rest 10 mins
Pump 10 mins
rest 10 mins
Pump 10 mins
rest 10 mins
Pump 10 mins
total 60 mins

this gives u 10 mins inbetween to tend to your baby change her or carry her/him. (roughly la - +/- few mins is ok for this system just do it 4-5 times a day.

For single pump users - its abit more tedious but i have come up with a system for you as well

Pump 15.mins (Right)
Pump 15mins (Left)
Pump 7mins (Right)
Pump 7mins (Left)
Pump 7mins (Right)
Pump 7mins (Left)
total 58 mins (approx)

while u pump one side the other side is resting - single pump users really have to be tied down whole nearly 1 hr lor. But i developed this just for those who dont plan to buy another pump since they have already bot one.

just 2 days of this system - most will see significant milk supply increased - but still pump 15-20 mins every 2-3 hrs after that as usual - really up to your lifestyle & your urgency to upp your supply.

Thanks, Irene!!!
Ok...but after resting tat 1 min, pump another 10mins? anyway will try it at my next pump which is at 330pm...hee~~~ For me. my pumping session usually takes oni abt 15mins to get the amt baby is drinking... =)

Irene & Missycandy
Woww.....won't the nipple be painful if pump for so long? It will help to increase the supply? REally hope to increase more ms.

kome - i think if breastshield is correct size shld nt be painful.. hee hee... anyway i havent tried this technique b4... i only posted it.. hehe... im quite lazy to try.. plus my nipples always painful leh... =(

wa grace ur ms so good ah... gong xi gong xi.. mine still hovering ard 30-60mls for both breasts each time i pump... =P

Queenie ...

Yap i apply the cream hopefully after a nap then not so pain

misscandy ...

yap i prefer latching bb on ... even for my #1 latch him on until 8mth ... only pump at work ... thats how 'lazy' i am heehee

my #1 had jaundice until he was 3mth++ ... had to keep bringing him back to polyclinic for blood test ... so i hope that this round wont be for that long

seabreeze - i opposite of u.. lazy to latch.. wld rather pump.. LOL! hmmm my PD only let my bb come home after the level dropped to less than 10 wor.. i also preferred that.. dont wan to bring home wait go up then must readmit... u latch on all the way ah... means ur MS shld be quite good wor... =)

Missycandy
I am same as you. Lazy to latch on and will rather pump than to latch on. Mmmm......maybe i will try the power pump method also. Coz its been already 3 weeks and my ms only at 60-70ml only.

Missycandy,
Pls dun say tat...I've been pumping for 1 mth liao & I oni get 100-120ml each time....hmm..not say very good lah...but contented bcos bb drinks abt this amt each time too....=)

missycandy , happy birthday to u...

irene...yah my doc told me to use 5 days stop 5 days.. =) thks, will refer to the health booklet on the weight...

missycandy
haha ya me too.. has been touching water since i delivered.. but in front of parents they donwan me wash dishes and get in touch w water too much..
i bath everyday. but i wash hair alternate days.. coz sometimes really not enuff time to soak in bath.. baby cries halfway when im showering will tensed me up de. haha.
sometimes is pekchek w dad coz tell him the ways and he don wan heed lor.. but tell mom she still can understand.. of coz i told them in nice way.. juz when my dad donwan heed i will tell him : aiya tell u u donwan listen.. aiyah i donno la...
same lor.. dr ang's fees . kekes..

my full mth..is considered on 2nd of APril.. according to chinese calendar.. on tt day , hb will bring me and baby back to his ah gong house to carry out chinese praying rituals..but still have to bring baby back..
according to chinese's beliefs baby girls have to celebrate early.. for baby boys is on exact date...but for me , since the in laws already pray to their religions den we will go ahead w our full mth celebration on our own choice of dates..
since my hb offday falls on 12th apr den we will have it on tt day as well.. if on 5th apr den he still muz take leave.. so kill2 birds w 1 stone..

re: POWER pumping
i tink i later also must try it out.. coz from last nite till now.. he still everyhour wan milk.. juz nw worst.. every 30 mins.. he 3wk old liao leh... pengs

kome
hehe high 5.. me oso next month bday..but on 29th..

seabreeze
ya apply generously.. keke

for me if can choose, i rather don pump don latch.. hahahah