(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

St & Kome, i m really frustrated during night time when bb will wake up every hour. is there a diff between latching on and feeding thru bottle?

can see that most mummies pump out their milk every 2 hours, why didnt they choose to latch on?

st, kome, serene,
same here, i dunno how long i can persist with bfing. my baby is 2 weeks old now and his consumption is very high. i simply cannot catch up with his demand. now i am feeding him 70% with FM. and i am super tired.
i spoke to a counsellor from breastfeeding mothers support group yesterday. she advised me not to express my breastmilk cos it will confuse the breasts if i latch on and express. but to build up confidence, she suggest i express once a day at a specific time to see the increase in supply. yesterday at 5am, i managed 50ml, today morning at 5am, i got 80ml, which gives me a bit of confidence and i continue to latch my baby as and when he wants during the day. tomorrow i will express again at 5am and see whether the supply increase again.

yiyi & mangogal & whoever had popped,
CONGRATS!

pinkdemoness,
dunno if u have popped. anyway, Jia You!

lenny,
u turn tomorrow. JIA YOU!

hi serene, have you been taking soups? as you probably know, green papaya + fish soup is well known for milk production, GNC's Fernugreek too. My auntie has been feeding me with alot of fish and chicken, not sure if it helps in the milk production. Also, rest plays a very important part of milk production. i realised that after 2 hour of rest and a hot bath, the milk production is better. i also started with poor ms , but i can see every week is getting better by 10ml or so...for now,i supplement with formula. when the ms becomes more stable, then slowly more EBM. Dont stress yourself too much, or keep looking at the process of expressing, it will tend to hinder your performance. Have you also tried to hand express the milk? i find that i can express more milk with my own hands as compared to the electric pump. this is what my massage lady taught me,and massaged for me to create the 'fountain' sometimes. I hope you will jia you...

Serene
Your MIL so pro on breastfeeding? My mum insist me giving FM but of course she told me to gave BM also. Although my supply still able to supply my son but it is really very tiring to get up every night 2hourly to pump out the milk.
Actually most important to feed baby, FM also not too bad. MAybe you can tell her you will still breastfeed but supplement with FM.

Nana
I joined this forum not 1 year yet cannot sell them over her yet. Half of myself felt like giving up on breastfeeding but the other half of me hope to breastfeed my son longer.

jtho - how much is your 2 week old bb consuming? mine is almost 3 weeks old, and she is consuming about 85-90ml of formula/ebm, dont know if its high. but she always seems unsatisfied after each feed. usually this happens in the day time. she cant seem to sleep in the day time now...haiz. during the nite, she tend to fall asleep better with formula feed, so i have to wake up twice to feed her. frankly speaking, i have not latched her on for a 'real' feed, usually latch her on more for comfort and to soothe her to sleep. so far, she have not given me too much problem on nipple confusion, as she always seems hungry, so she will most things in her mouth hehe..guess thats good in a way.

relatives have been bugging me to give her the pacifier and let her sleep in a 'yao lan' coz she always wants to be carried around, and she will sleep when being carried. but once we put her down at her cot, she will immediately wake up. hmm...dont know what to do also...

Kome, my hubby is very pro on breastfeeding too, he insisted we do TBF for at least 1 month before we start to express milk for night feeds, i tink by end of 1 month, i will be a walking zombie liao.

Bbs that fed on breastmilk will tend to get hungry easily, cos we cant gauge how much they are drinking, also they like to doze off while sucking the milk.

moomooland
i am giving my bb 70ml in the day and 100ml at night. guess mine is so high due to his weight. he's a 3.91kg baby at birth.
my baby also seems unsatisfied after each feed. i latch him on in the day, then supplement with FM. at night, i give him FM. my baby has no problem on nipple confusion too. in fact, sometimes he will push away the bottle teats with his tongue. seems like he prefers my breasts
but too bad mummy is not able to give him the supply he needs

ya, i think he remembers mummy's scent too...bb will feel more secure in mummy's arms, esp the heartbeat and the warmth...just pray hard, that during latching bb dont get too impatient, and refused to latch.

jtho - your bb can differentiate day/night already? if i give bb more to drink at night, she wont be able to finish it. my girl is 3.4kg at birth and she started off with 60ml, then 2nd day onwards she is taking 85-90ml. wonder if growth spurt starts at 3rd week, haiz...seems unsatisfied these days...

Moomooland & jtho
Both of you still can express out so much? Since last week my supply did not increase at all. Average only at 60-70ml only for every 3hrs. Luckily my son only take 60ml but every 2 hrs. I got this feeling that my supply ending soon as i don't really feel engorgement lor.

Keron
My hb do not insist me of TBF but it was me who hope to continue breastfeeding.

mummies- how many of you let bb sleep in cot? any problems so far? mine dont like...she will only sleep in cot provided she is already so sound asleep in our arms, and we put her down in cot, else normally if she is awake, she will not sleep in cot one.

kome - my ms dwindle alot , these few days, around 80-100ml (every 5hours), if every 3 hours, can achieve 60-70ml...its almost coming to 3rd week, and i can almost manage 4/5 out of 8 feeds in EBM. Hubby also dowan to set expectations too high so as not to stress me out. i think as long as bb gets some BM, then she will get some nutrients and 'water' in a way...else formula can be too 'heaty' for them.

kome, sometimes my bb can sleep thru 4 hours in the daytime but i dun feel my breast being too engorged or wat leh, so scared my milk supply will go down. Btw, my hubby insisted on TBF for the good of bb and me, but to be frank, he wont be affected in any way if i TBF, cos he still can enjoy his sleep, for us, we have to get up every hour to feed and soothe the bb to sleep which might take at least at hour.

how to make bb differentiate daytime and night time?

Moomooland
I let my son sleep on a small mattress which i place on sofa during daytime and night time he will sleep with me on the bed. He is quite ok lor.

Yup, FM will be quite heaty. My CL feed my son with the EBM during daytime and night time will give him FM instead.

Keron
Thats good. You bb can sleep 4 hrs in daytime? Mine only sleep for 2 hours only and he will cry for milk already.

want to ask u...recently I got discharge..it's kind of watery but no color..could it be my water leaking? coz it's not like my usual discharge which is a bit sticky...

mummies - sorry for bringing so much concerns, i wonder when CL is gone, are you all confident of settling bb for the whole day yourself? have you all acquired the skills of bathing the bb, cleaning her mouth? giving in to her whims? carrying her when she doesnt want to sleep? i kinda worry..

keron - wah, 4 hours to yourself, that's very good.today i was left alone with bb for 1 hour, i only managed to get a change of t-shirt...and that's all i have done. imagine if i have her for the whole day to myself, whole day look at her only hehe....no need to eat/pump/cook...

oh also..i've been feeling sharp sharp pain on my lower tummy..last week this sharp pain only last 1-2 secs, gynae said its bb head pushing down..but these 2 days the pain is stronger and lasts longer as well..esp if bb is active kicking, feel more pain like something pushing down...
did u experience this too? I'm worried since the pain is stronger...but it's not the kind of menstrual cramp..thats why i wonder what it is...

btw, has teddybb popped already? anyone popped out yesterday n today since i havent been online these 2 days

2dogs1kid
can ur dogs get along with the new baby? what's their 1st reaction? how do u introduce them to the baby?

koala
I've the same finger joint pain..i think its normal..

sung
also have itchy on my feet sometimes..

jme,
me delivered 2pm and i stayed in East Shore. So far far away from you.

Miss83,
this is my 2nd bb so it is easy for both dogs. all i did was carry the bb facing them and tell them this is "didi". during my pregnancy, i always bring them to my tummy and tell them didi is inside. so maybe they know? when Anzac is 1mth old, i'll let both of them come sniff sniff him. that was what i did when i had my #1.

rest well mummies.....

hi darlings..

had been reading the forumn but too lazy to post sometimes..

Re: Giving up on Bfing
me too.. always have this idea in mind.. very tiring to bf.. at night, i only wake up once to pmp.. i will usally latch bb at 11.30pm for his last feed, then he will wake up abt 3am for his next feed. my hb will bottle feed him with my ebm... then after that, bb will sleep all the way till morning.. at least my bb now can differentiate between day and night..
however, in the day, he will sure fuss for a couple of hours.. damm tiring.. Like few of u here,, my bb kept want to be carried and always wan to have cluuster feeding dring that few hours.. i get very very tired and sometimes, i just let him cry in the cot on his own.. at this rate, i will go crazy manzz.. had been tbf since day 7 till now.. bb is 5th wk now, getting soo tired.. wonder how long i can tahan.

Rocker, stroller.
Funny enough, my bb doesn't like to sit in rocker or stroller.. the moment i put him down in stroler when we are otside, he will cry.. thoght all bb like to be in the stroller?? haizz.. so in the end, i got to carry him all the way.. my shoulders and arms hrt terribly.

Re:ebm
I had been trying hard to express milk after every latch.. so that I can start building up my reserves in the fridge so that bb has enough when i started work.. sometimes, i will bring a backup frozen milk when i am out shopping.. so that if I can't bf in time, at least i got the ebm as a back up..

Re:CL
my cl left too.. very tiring without her.. hb took leaves to help me out these few days, but he's returning next tuesday.. so I will be all alone with this little monster..

2dogs1kid
so cute..!

I put my dogs' head on my tummy too last time..and I record their barking voice n let bb hear..sometimes bb kick when he hears the dogs voice
hope they get along well..one of my shitzu is very jealousy type of dog..

Hi Sunshine, can help to update my details:

EDD: 17 Mar 09
ADD: 21 Mar 09 at 5.59pm
Assisted delivery with epidural
Baby is 3.285 kg

Will update my birth story asap.

Yiyi: Think I gave birth after you, by Dr Eunice Chua too!

Mangogal: sorry that I didnt return call to you today. Whole day got so much visitors, I'm totally bonked out. See you at forum instead.

miss83,
heee, last time my shih tzu oso very petty and jealous when my niece was born. he will even jump at the bb when we carried her and bark when we talked to the bb. but after some time, he became a very caring gor-gor and even come tell us when bb is awake/cries. but my maltese is the "cannot be bothered" type. so all i need is to shut him up from barking..

hope ur bb get along well with ur dog..

Vivien
Congrats. so u have a overdue bb too? can share what was Dr Chua's advise to you? were u even dilated before you were induced? My bb is overdue, EDD is today but no sign. Quite worried what will it be like to have an overdue bb. My gynae is also Eunice Chua.

only can log on at night after bb sleeps. supplementing his feed at nite with fm so he sleeps better and can sleep for 3 hrs at least before waking up for next feed. my bm supply still not enuff, at most 70ml from both breasts when pumped out 3/4 hrs interval while bb is already taking 90-100 ml. and most sad is bm keep leaking every hr or so, so wasted, if i pump, only get 20ml so dun know if i shd pump or not every hr too...

CONGRATS to all the mummies who have given birth this few days!

fatfish, koala, pinksorbet,
thanks for the tip on the ameda pump. i'll go look for it hopefully soon. confined at home, hb quite strict, not allowing me out during confinement period except that one time he sneak me to taka fair after my gynae checkup coz i was a bit upset haha so he give me a bit of leeway :p

cindy,
haha i only drank water in hosp coz no red date tea brewed yet, now not allowed to liao. i just dilute with more water hopefully so i can get more fluid intake. hoping the pain will go away, very uncomfy. did you hv your itch before delivery? if so i guess oso due to the hormones coz i had mine before delivery and gynae said now is due to hormones lor. just hoping for it to go away, drives me crazy sometimes!

keron,
your itch sounds like mine! mine oso very bad in btw the space on my toes, hates it! but my gynae din give me any cream or med. just said it will go away, hoping it will....got small red dots on feet from scratching so hard. they looks like rashes but i tink is more from my scratching...

jg,
i used alcohol wipes given by hosp at first then pd gave cord spirit and powder. my boy's umbilical cord dropped off on the 11 days. dun worry, the pd said the baby feels no pain from the umbilical cord cos it's just dead skin/cells. my cl said the same thing.

ivy,
oh oh so cfm is not enuff plain water arrhh, hmmn must try confirm hb and cl let me drink water then, they very admandant that cannot drink plain water coz said will get wind into body...

miss83,
did you do anything for your itchy feet?

sung
didnt do anything..I thought my feet are dirty, that's why itchy..( until u wrote about it)usually i just wash with water since i thought it's just dirt..

2dogs1kid
my shihtzu only good with toddlers (1 year above)..he likes to play chasing them..but never see my dog and baby..but he's always jealous if I sayang my other dog..

smile
u gg for induce this thurs/fri? so soon! i am already 39w 2d, and gynae said wait till week 40 then see how. my baby already 3.3 kg laio. i have decided on a date for c-sec already if baby still doesnt come out by this thursday when Im going to see gyane. still hope for a miracle of VBAc, but bracing myself for c-sec already.

been reading the post but never poste before. My actually edd is 3rd April but will be scheduled for c-sect this sat 28th March. Hope i dun pop before that cos hubby got a major exam on 27th March.

This is my 2nd child and is a little princess. No. 1 is boy who is 26 months old, also c-sect.

After reading all your post, I quite scared i cannot cope with the sleepless nights and breastfeeding and all the insecurity about insufficient bm all over again. Some more this time got a toddler to handle too....

Now i'm 38w4d. Feeling very uncomfortable already, can't wait to get it out actually. She's getting stronger and pushing really hard.

Ester,
Nice to see you here too!

sung, yes. I had the itch during preggie too! Scratch till my leg tainted liao Haha! Hope it goes away for us soon man. I also buay tahan liao!

Moomoo, u will be able to do it when the time comes, I'm sure. Hugs.

congrats to mummies who have just popped!!

pink...hee glad tat u have poo poo....

wintertime/moomooland, i've been home alone with bb since fri..sat was really a bad day for me...dunno wat bb wans kept crying till badly...bor bian called my mil to come over to my place...i cried with bb mah...so embarrassing..coz i'm very tired of carrying him for hrs yet he doesn't wan to sleep... =(

yest'd felt so much better...went over to my mum's place...but nw i'm feeling "scared" again...coz going to be home alone again...

Re: BF....me too wanna give up...my hb is ok if i'm going to stop giving bm to bb...coz he sees me really shag always pump n pump coz bb super impatience to latch on...n my supply also nt increasing...still on fm...but my mil wans me to con't...hiaz...ms still can't go on tbf..

SG, at least u got mil to come over to help u.. for me, once hb back to work, no one will come to my rescue leh.. tiring.. i also afraid of those times of the day when bb start fussing, crying and refuse to sleep.. and yet, he doesn't wan to b laid down, neither does he wan to play..

Wintertime & SG
I understand your feeling. For my #1 when he cries i also not sure what to do liao, luckily my mum is around to help me. For this time round, think i can still handle without my mum helps as got some experience already. Of course will still prefer my mum helps as she is a very experience person in taking babies. She had helped people to look after for more than 10 babies already I feel more an xin when she is around.

Re: BF
Looks like alot of mummies have the thought of giving up bf.

SG
My MS does not increase although i have been taking fernugreek daily.

moomooland,
my baby girl 3 weeks old now, and she's also taking about 80-100ml each feed. Sometimes when she gets hungry too soon (like within half hour or so), I'll give her another 40ml or so.

I've only been watching how my CL bath her and never hands on yet cos still cant touch water mah... thinking of trying this weekend
Sure stress one, cos i know it looks easy but will gala gabok for sure haha.

Itchy Feet
I had the exact itch as Sung too after I gave birth! Thought it was becos I was wearing socks so I stopped. The itch in between my toes also came with swollen feet... went off after about 10days.

Vivien,
Congrats to your newborn darling! How do you find Dr Chua? She's my gynae

morning ladies ...

no time to read back on past postings ...

had a tough time on 1st night when we ret home cos only realised late at night that we do not have a small lamp over at my mum's place and bb cried whenever he wakes up to find the room in total darkness ...so ended up we slept with the lights on but think its so bright ... he didnt zzz well too ... kept waking up for milk almost every hour

last night we brought a lamp from my own place ... lukily the interval for night feed then became 2-3hr ... so much better and am crossing my finger that it remains this way ... at least i get some sleep

now bb is still zzzing but expecting him to wake up any time soon cos his last feed was 7.30am =p in fact my mum said he woke up when i burshing teeth and cleaning myself for the day ... she just went to speak to him and he went back to zzz

wintertime & SG
it is normal to feel in that way when baby cries especially begin a first time mummies after sometime you will get use. i remember last time i also face this situation. now my #2 cried i got no reaction.....keke

My bb is onli six days old and i already feel abit upset sometimes cos of bf-ing....haiz no matter how much i pump doesn't seem to satisfy his full feed....he can drink like 90 to 100ml and the most i can pump out is 70ml from both breasts. How to satisfy him? so demoralising...Then my mil prefer to feed formula like saying bb is not full yet la, then ask my CL whether can feed him formula. My CL is pro-bfing though and told her mus let bb drink EBM. Yesterday i suffered v bad breast pains that i thought i was having engorgement. Couldn't sleep well and then bb was still not sleeping at 1am+...i feel kinda stressed with my mil here even though she is trying to help....cos she is v anxious over the bb....

I don't know how i'm gg to give my bb BM when i go back to work, since bb taken care of by my MIL, she sure will give bb FM de....since EBM is more troublesome like having to heat up and all...even my hb oso doesn't want me to give BM when i'm back at work, since its oso v troublesome for his mum....

pinksorbet
if you still hv BM, i encourage you to continue give until you go back to work. for me this round i never give at all so sad

ivy - how come u never give at all? yup, i hope to give until i go back to work...even if i do go back to work i hope to be able to give EBM too...

ivy - don't be sad...i'm sure yr bb has FM nutrients too...jia you! =)

jus received a call fr my hb that bb has hit 2.54kg so he can take the jab le....cos he onli weighed 2.435kg at birth....

This is it.. i am doing my last minute packing to go TMC.

i will be admitted at 2.00pm and c-sect will be at 5.30pm.. taking a deep breadth and hope to see my little one soon.

i wll post my update once i settled down.. Ciao Mummies..

chocbabe
hihi, good to see u here! u have scheduled ur c-sec already? how come so early schedule? ur baby too big already?
i have decided on 31 march to be my c-sec if baby still shows no signs of coming out. by that date, baby will be 40w4days.

dont wory abt BM, just latch ur baby more, and ur body will produce enuf supply to meet the demands of ur baby. But for first few days, no choice lor, got to give them FM, as our BM has not come in yet. For my first one, my BM came in only after 4-5 days

Hi ladies...
Due date 30 March but gyni suggested going for inducing on 26 Mar if no sign of natural delivery...bb too comfy inside as e blood ss frm e placenta still going strong but it can oso deteriorate fast when it reaches 40th wk ie next wk...

Mayb he is jus too used to sleep n eat inside my tummy haha...

All e best for mums whose delivery is this wk whether natural/C sec/ Induced...

We r very excited...
enjoying my pre-mum days by counting down e hrs...

fairymoss
haha. sorrie to reply so late.. hw r u nw? in labour already?? congrats to u in adv!

jme
icic.. then u registered ur bb's bc already? the max is 42 days to reg bb's bc after tt muz write in to explain if im nt wrong..

missycandy
not me la.. lols is jme.. tristan's bc is done on the 18th of mar.. 15days after his birthday. LOL
mine is 09072** ..

RE: BFing
mommies don get stressed up.. think babies is the best at retrieving the breastmilk.. don let the MLs of BM u pumped out each time affect u too much..

tuskywoollie,

i'm just like u, baby is too shiok inside me. i will be going for induction 27 mar as bb is too getting too big already and i'm hoping for natural birth...cross my fingers and toes...