(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

sung
my bb is total opposite from urs.
he suckles for few mins then dozes off...cant get him to suckle at my breasts. So fed him EBM, which i only pump 2-3 times a day. 80-100ml per pump (both breasts add up) and alternate with FM. Agree with u, Really not easy to TBF. I really admire those mommies on TBF. It's so tiring having to pump 3-4 hrs. Me getting lazy with CL ard, helping me to feed BB my EBM n FM at nite.

I think BB likes FM more than EBM, he took 1hr to finished 80ml of EBM, whereas he juz takes 10-15mins to finish 80ml of FM. So sad.

Hi Mummies, long time never login here le.. I am in mid week 39 le. Saw Dr Paul today. Baby is about 3.1kg. No sign of labour. But I feel swollen at the V area leh... Dr Paul also say my baby is very low already. Could be anytime and be prepared. He will be going on leave and only be back on 30th Mar. Meanwhile I will be handled over to Dr Eunice Chua. My EDD is on 23rd Mar. Wondering if I can wait for him to come back and deliver for me.. haha.. I am starting my ML next Monday... hope to get more rest..

juz called clinic but no one ans..but i ll monitor. now seems to be ok..juz pray tat BB dun be naughty and wait till i admit tmr pm

seem like alot of things vent do yet...give me one more day ah..
Plus dun wanna let gynae earn so much our $$ if E c sect..now ve to fork out abt 2500 cash if E c sect dunno hw much lo

oxgal,
dun worry too much abt costs. can't control that. if all goes well, maybe costs wun be much diff coz mine is emerg and kome is planned csect but not much diff too. you'll be careful and juz keep monitoring.

minne,
i actually got jealous of cl, juz want to handle and feed bb by myself. tink i very possessive of my little one. i rather wake up at nite to feed bb too. anyway once i hear his cry, i will wake up too. haha to tink i used to be a really heavy sleeper, now become very light sleeper liao. hb kept asking me to rest more and juz leave it to cl during this period. prefer to bf than to pump, bf more cozy. pump oso every few hrs but more tiring. still got to do it hoping tat milk ss and increase! tink all bbs like to suckle at the breasts and doze off coz so cosy and safe feeling for them.

Oxgal
Ya, don't think too much lor. Why you need ti fork out abt $2500? Is it your gynae package does not include delivery for you?

Sung
Maybe this is my #2, so i just hack care what the CL do. My CL can see from the way she handle bb, she got not much experience lor. Sometimes at nght, she can let my boy cried at least for about 10mins than attended to him or even worse don't attended him at all lor. At night she never even checked if my boy had poo poo or not and just let him sleep thru next morning around 9-10am than bath and changed him.

Oxgal, take care! Update us asap!

Dear mommies, you are all and we are all doing a good job giving our bb quality milk Heee. So don't stress yourself. Tbf or not, we only want the best for our bb. Heee.

sung
I got jealous too when we just started confinement. Got depressed from seeing how CL carry n fed BB. Told my hubby, i dun wan CL already. My Hubby n MIL asked me to take this mth to rest, if not next mth CL leave, I'll have lots of things to handle. My CL not too bad, she told me to talk to BB more coz he seems to recognise CL voice already. So CL told to spend more time with BB, if not next time she leave, BB may "reject" me. So scare.
I tried latching BB on the 1st week. He didnt seems to suckle so Hubby suggest I pump and then bottle feed him. BB is of low birth weight, so heartpain to see him not drinking enuff. And moreover he had slight jaundice upon discharge, PD suggest feeding him FM 1st. So we supplemented FM with EBM.

Kome
If my CL leave my BB crying for 5 mins, I'll wake up and asked her why BB crys. Actually this mth quite stressing oso. Must pump milk, see how CL take care of BB and see whether CL got take gd care of BB.

My BB crys after sleeping awhile. My CL n MIL says he has alot of wind (is it called colic) coz the surrounding of his mouth is slightly bluish. I see him cry until like catching breath, so heartpain. How to relieve him?

oxgal take care!

Any mommies popped these few days? havent got time to read the posts.

Sun
Jia you and take care. Soon it will be ur turn to hold BB in ur arms. A moment $$ cant buy... really!

Minnie
Did you burp your bb after every feed? No matter you latch on or give FM, after feeding you must make sure you burp bb to relieve out the wind. These will prevent wind from staying inside bb'stummy. You may also apply slight ru yi oil on your hand after rubbing both your hand place your hand on bb's tummy.

minnie24
colic will go away itself? i read from nana post few days back.
my mom oso told me my boy have wind in stomach.. so muz apply ru yi oil and massage clockwise .. burp him often(i didnt), feed him gripe water(i didnt)

pinkdemoness
oic.. all thebest to u! meanwhile, rest more b4 ur little one arrives!

Kome
I did both. He burped real loud one. Think my son has a loud speaker in him. Cry, burp and fart SUPER loud. My CL rubbed ru yi oil on her hand then rub her hand and press on BB tummy. She even rub his soles... Dunno what else to do.. =(

Queenie
Can give gripe water? I tot can oni give after 1 mth?

so if there's bluish tone colour around bb's mouth means they r having colic? mine oso got le.. on and off one le..

yiyi, I was at TLC today..think i saw u cos i leave clinic around 12 plus

Hey I PM u abt Dr Chua? Cos I be gng for induce on Sat morn, I am 1cm dilated le

Wah Pink ,maybe I will see u at TMC leh...u how many cm dilated??

Actually I feeling mild menses cramp now

How's ur milk coming along?
I am having fever yesterday. and had thrown away total of 400ml of milk. So sad being thrown away.

Working harder today to give bb EBM if not cannot catch up..

I have lost total of 8kg still got 6kg to go..
Jia you ba.. mummies here, jia you too.

kome, sung n minnie...looks like i also have the same problem..BM ss nt enuff to catch up bb's appetite..1mth liao nt on tbf..but i tell myself just do my best. i cried on the 1st day i reached home coz i gt bleeding sore nipples can't feed bb...bor bian let cl feeds him with fm..see liao very sad...coz he cried so badly n i can't feed him... then my cl also ignorant told me "untrue" stuff..like bb pees red red stuff...she said coz i nt enuff bm for him..so he's bleeding..later than i read frm someware its norm for bb to pass urine with blood on initial stage...glad tat my cl leaving tmr...but also means i have to face new challenge. taking care of bb myself...hope i can manage him... last nite kind of worried n sad coz bb kept crying dunno wat he wans..then later my hb back, i cried when telling him...hiaz...stress stress go away!! mummies jiayou!!

SG,
I almost cry too when back from hospital. Cos no milk and nipple very sore and bleed. The funniest part is i pump out only droplet of milk, then i put it in fridge. My hubby and CL laugh out loud, says bb how to drink, "droplets"

mangogal:
i m nt dilated yet...will hv to start from scratch..tats y worried end up e c-sect...at least u got dilation le...any feeling anot? u taking how many bedded?

prosper..haha..so funnie..but glad tat u r coping well nw...tink most of us here do cry after birth ba..coz suddenly our lives change so much. =)

hee...i just managed to pump out 75ml of BM..so happy..break my record!! tink coz just nw went dwn bring my bb go take hep b jab..relax abit..hee..btw, doc says my bb overweight ask me to cut down his intake from 90 to 80ml...my cl lah! cry only gave him milk..force him to finish when he can't..se liao so heart pain..then i complained to my mil she says bb will reject if too full..ended up my guess is rite, bb over weight liao..hiaz...glad tat cl is leaving tmr!!! hurray!!! hee...

st....nt sure leh...din pump during the 1st week wor..tink latch is the best for colustrum intake ba..else bottom/pump trsf here n there later all precious colustrum gone!! sayang. =p

Didn't post for quite sometimes. Look like alot of the mummies had popped. CONGRATS !!

I am now counting down. Going to c-sect next wed. But starting from last sun, bits of mucus plug had come out. But luckily it is clear and not red/brown. Else I got to go deliver earlier.

prosper
why did u throw away ur 400ml milk??

may wong
u're under dr adrian too right?
if you deliver first, that means I'm the last one under dr.adrian

kome
I dunno how they calulate also but after medisave i was told to pay a deposit of $2500 (for C sect 2 Bedded @ ESH). Going down to clinic tmr am then go ESH, they ve not show me actual 'package' thing yet.only told me thru phone yest after i ve decided on op date.
BTW, was told tat i ve to pay extra at least @200 if i were to choose my own date/time of op.

I not so worried about cost but not so 'happy; to let my gynae earn so much extra leh.But really thanks for ur concerns (mummies) if theres a need of cos i ll go liao..hah

ll get to see my little naughty tmr pm..haiz wonder how i can cope..BB cries/feed/poo poo..going to be stressed up like most of u.Hope we dun get post natal depression.
But this is really a good place to share our 'new life'..at least we know we are not alone! we faced e same problems and help each other to overcome it!
U mummies are GREAT!! soon i ll enter the how many ml milk thingy..haha pls help me along e way ah mummies

minnie24
i donno leh. i tink my mom fed him once.. is it call the Fei Zai Shui?

re:colic
i read when bb have colic will cries, then clench their fists and crawl to their tummy

prosper
huh.. why u throw away.. i tot still can feed bb bm if we are sick?
so heartpain !

ytd 11pm i asked hb fed bb with FM.. i c he drink until like v hungry like tt.. but only drink 20ml! i watched him drink while crying.. hur ! sad

SG
haha.. pop champange! u can finally kick ur CL away for good..

Mangogal, I am not sure if i see u.. keke..
Dr Paul din do VE for me leh... so I also donno how many CM dilation leh.. I also feeling menses cramp on and off... but no painful contraction yet. Wah.. Sat... so excited for you! I din receive your PM on Dr Chua... the cashier nurse mention March a lot of baby due... Both Dr Chua and Dr Paul were working like crazy..

may wong
now wk 39, edd is 24 march..
bb engaged already..last monday still not dilated..dunno today how..

teddybaby
how's ur check up today? when will u admit to hospital?

miss83: when will you be going to gynae again? Me same situation as you... waiting and waiting.. My EDD is 1 day before you.. so I have the same feeling as you...

Yiyi, haa i hv nt PM u, will do so now
Ya today clinic was so busy!

I wore beige dress today, yalor today Dr Chua is super packed :p

So when u seeing Dr Chua while Dr Paul on leave?

Mangogal, I will be seeing her next Thursday if I have not pop. I am wearing black.. but din see you.. Maybe too many pple there le.. keke...

miss83,
so u going for checkup tonight? Hope dilate already. I going for last round of checkup on monday.

yiyi123,
Ur EDD is my birthday. I hope to celebrate my bday before I pop. hehe.

Prosper, why did u throw away the 400ml? i feel so heartpain for u, so much effort to pump one leh...

i'm also very tired fm the 3-4hourly pumping/latching. 1week+ more before end of my confinement, i also wonder ho i can feed baby, let him sleep, then pump out the excess. Today is his day 17 (day12 since milk came in), ave 80-100ml. But every nite wake at 3am/7am is super shiong. This morning i latch him at 9am, then knocked out to sleep until 12 noon.
For weight loss, I've lost 7kg, 6 more kg to go.
Kome/Jasmin, do u guys automatically feel like a "breast hardening at the nipples" sensation every 3 hours? i think my body is signaling me coz i will feel this hardening slowly come and i will know it.
Went to visit my gynae for post-opcheck up. NO pain and did't need any painkillers for my episiotomy the moment i got discharged. His internal stitching skills is very good. Gynae removed the knot and checked my uterus that its in position, everything is healing well. I asked why is it when i pee i have stinging sensation. He asked is i'm on exclusive red dates tea. When i said "yes" he told be to drink water. So ladies, if peeing is stinging, its the red date tea. I drank 2 big cups of warm water and immediately no sting. (else make your red date tea more dilute)
This morning baby latched for 70mins (yes more than 1 hour), when i gave him EBM, he took about 50ml and needed 20mins more of latching. I wonder how much is he drinking...how much EBM are ur babies taking now? (its his day 17 today)

hey mommies

may i ask- the breast pump, do u wash it after each use? lets say each time we try can only pump out very little bit then we ve to wash and try again later? wont tat be alot of washing and drying process? we cant touch water so often and hubby wld be working. How to ask MIL wash and wash again?

mangogal
how is your checkup today? I just came back from Dr Chua's clinic. Did a VE check, no dilation at all

She said if I still dun give birth by this Sun which is my EDD, she will wait for another week before inducing me. Looks like I am going to have an overdue baby. Saw the scan just now, he is sleeping very comfortable in my tum, no wonder dun want to come out.

oxgal
i at most pump once a day. so i get hb to wash when hes home..

starflower
my boy..16th day old liao. he drank FM ytd 30ml.. sometimes EBM 50ml..v hard to have a definite figure of how much he needs leh.
can latch bb on for more than 1 hour?

Mangogal: Thanks you for information. Now I am at ease if i am going to deliver with her...

Miss83: I hope I can deliver naturally without inducing too.

May: My Birthday just past... on 5th March.. so I will get to celebrate my BD before my son.. keke..

mangogal,
i think i have fever due to not enough rest and sleep.
I called up my gynae to check whether can give BM if got fever, nurse say better throw if not got bateria. so no choice got to pump and throw. each pump 100ml... so heartpain

Prosper, u must rest well during confinement leh cos heard that sick vwill affect bm...dun be too stress gal

u welcome Yiyi

Scrumpee..I just pm u...can feel free to msn or email me

prosper
wow! so sayang, throw away 400ml of EBM. Tot BB still can take our BM even if we are sick? u having fever? better take care!

SG
yalor, so tiring to be a mommy. But dun give up, jia you!! Why ur CL like dat one, so happy for u that she's going tmr.

Queenie
Yup, think it's called Fei Zai Shui. My MIL dunno give BB eat wat in powder form (fed BB with water), she say TCM say can 去风. Dunno how true..

starflower
my BB in his Day 13 take abt 80ml EBM each feed every four hrly. But sometimes he naughty only finished 60-70ml. So Wasteful...

oxgal
after each pump, i just leave on my kitchen table. CL will wash n sterilise for my next use.

me popped yesterday @ 8am ... here is my birth story

17 march: felt contraction throughout the whole day

18 march
2.30am: water bag started leaking, hubby quickly send my #1 to my mum's place and i went to bath + wash hair + eat breakfast, contraction at 5 mins interval
4am: arrive at hospital, dilated 5-6cm told them i wan epi cos it was v intensive contraction
5am: administered epi but could still feel pain ... told dr its ok cos its bearable
7am: still 5-6cm, gynae ask them to put some medication in my drip to make the contraction stronger and mid-wife commented that bb was sleepy thats why contraction slow down. she use this device that make some funny sound to wake the bb. but still no movement.
7.40am: mid-wife cleared bladder for me and suddenly water bag burst. told them that the contraction was v strong and the pushing sensation was super strong

they started to set up and v soon i was pushing away ... could even feel the head coming out etc and finally popped at 8am!!

anyway we got a shocked when they weight the bb cos he is 3.72kg!!! told my gynae that if i had known bb going to be 3.72kg i would have gone for c-section liao!!!

he has started latching on since last night and so far so good ... got pee and poo so i presume he managed to drink some stuff though the breast feels empty heehee

hopefully all is well so that we can go home tom. Anyone at Mt A now??

Oxgal
My after each pump my CL will wash and sterilise for me but nite time i do it myself.

Starflower & Minnie
Wow.....your bb drink alot. My boy only drink 60ml, my boy now day 14 already. Hope he can drink more as he look so skinny now.

Seabreeze
Congratulation. Finally saw your bb and welcome to the moomoo club .