(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

teddybb - there is those gigantic absorbant sheets to absorb the water...everynow and then it will be changed, but while it is wet and not changed, you can feel the wetness hee

miss83 - its included in the antenatal package, antibiotics gotta pay, not too ex though...

teddybb - antibiotics is more for the stitches to prevent infection i think... coz my stitches quite long...and its not totally healed yet...

Misscandy

Better tell ur MIL not to do tat ah! Newspaper also got report about that, didnt she know about it? Can cause brain damage ah!

Devil
My gynae refused to give HL one lo, anyway i took ML today liao

Juz visit my gynae and BB still in Breech position so choose this FRI pm for C sect..scare scare.
Going to enjoy good food later

any mommies can tell me wat to expect from C sect? I m so worried about the pain after op..i m scare of injection too..aiyo and gotta go back and let gynae cut the knots of stiches..i tot everything ll disolve by itself? I ve bought panadol for standby also..

not sure who has or who has not delivered yet, dun hv time to track back the thread.

congrats to all who have delivered and gambatte (jia you!) to all who are waiting. motherhood's a really wonderful feeling and so so different from any other thing i hv experienced. lots of heartache too...

can someone help me update that my status:
nick: sung
delivered: 11 Mar 09
mode: emergency caesarean
son's name: ethan
birth weight: 2.87kg.

thanks thanks!

oxgal,
just happened to see your post. i had caesarean via epidural, not painful at all during the op. only felt pressure from gynae's hand when he push but no pain. after op, sensation started coming back abt 6-7 hrs after epidural was administered. not much pain on first day, pain started coming abt 15-20 hrs after surgery. not too bad, can still cope with painkillers. most painful is when you try to sit up or get up from the bed. anyway, c-sect likely will all be on drip for first day so can't walk around. was the case for me, so only 2nd day after drip removed and moving to toilet then feel the pain more. oh yeah, most painful for me is when i laugh or cough. the pain then is a bit bad and try your best not to press anything on your wound. e.g carrying bb be careful abt position, i use a breast cushion to bf, and it presses onto my wound abt 5 days after surgery, had pain for a whole day. hven't had my stitches removed yet but was advised by the nurse to take a painkiller before i go for my gynae's appt to do so. shd be ok, dun worry too much abt it. your gynae will likely give you painkillers so no need panadol. jia you!

sung

Thanks for ur reply! I m going for GA, dun think I dare to carry BB with the wounds, i super sensitive to stiches one..but hope i can do it la..hee

Motherhood is another thing tat i m afraid of also..always tot of wat i cant do from then onwards (think i m really selfish) abit guilty about tat..anyone like me??

Hope i ll feel diff after seeing my little gal! I wanna be a good mummy like u all too..everything juz for them.Jia you everybody
Jia You to me too!!!!!

Dear Mummies/ MTB,

Recently I had a VERY BAD encounter with Philips Singapore’s Customer Service regarding AVENT VIA Storage Cups.

I bought a lot of AVENT products during the OG 20% sales in Jan’09. I gave birth on 13 Jan & then started to use the product somewhere there then. One of the item I bought was the VIA Cups 240ml/8oz & 160ml/6oz bundle of 10 each in the box. The first few 6oz cups that I used have no leakage. Few days ago, I used one of the 8oz. I was surprised that it leak so I checked the cup. There was a needle hold at the mouth of the cup. The rest of the 9 cups also have the same problem. I believed this is the plastic molding defect. So I called Philips Singapore to check whether I can exchange the unused cups as I can’t use a defect item to store my BM & for sterilization.

The CSO who attended to me was Michael. He gave me a string of questions & asked for my receipt. I told him that I had thrown away the receipt. The stupidest thing is he even asked me how to spell the product. I told him that’s his product & he should know what that is. I already told him the remaining 9 cups are new & untouched, yet he kept asking me how many times have I used & where did I store it. Obviously unused items are in the box! He said with no receipt, there is nothing they can do as it is proof of purchase. He even suggested me going back to OG to reprint the receipt. I told him this is OG not any small shop that can trace backdated receipt. All he kept saying is “No receipt, they can’t recognize the item.”

I was angry as the product defect is due to the manufacture’s fault & in the end it become at the expenses of us, the consumer, I can’t even exchange the product.

I demanded to speak to his manager. His manager, Aaron Tan, again asked a lot of questions & said the same thing to me. He kept saying the service centre do not warranty items without receipt & it is very difficult to convince the service centre of the defect. When I asked him, “How do u warranty a plastic cup?” he did not answered my question & keep talking about the receipt. He also asked me did I check the product when I purchase. Items were all in box & sealed. Was it possible for us to check before buying??? Once open, its considered sold, isn’t it??

Here, I would like to emphasize that what if it was a gift? Do people buy gifts for others & leave the receipt in it? There is no flexibility in the way they deal with defect products. AVENT is AVENT from Philips, is there any imitation? If no, y can’t we exchange the defect products? If I had used it even if it was the manufacture’s fault, I will not ask for an exchange. But now, it is untouched, moreover, it is not cheap. Average per cup is $1.50. If there is no QC assurance on AVENT products, are we the consumers still able to trust them? For all we know, we will be buying defect products WITHOUT assurance & no exchange policy.

I am very upset & disappointed with the way they treat consumers who trust them. They breach my trust on their products. Therefore, please check all items from Philip Singapore if you are to purchase in future, keep the receipt as you may not know they sell defect items. My advise, best is don’t buy anything from them as the customer service or service centre have very bad way of treating the consumer.

For me, I will never trust them again. Never, again!

sung:
congratz..may i ask y did u end up in an e c-sect? cos i'll be inducing on sunday n also scared i'll end up e c-sect...

me feeling abit crampy n difficult to walk last night...wonder if its any indications...haiz...

momoland
mine is a c-section. dont worry if the wound is infected dr adrian will tell you. did you wash them regular? if your skin sensitive? try to avoid chicken and liver for the first week.

oxgal,
Good luck for your c-sec on Fri...me still waiting, later going to see gynae again

mummies who have episiotomy:
Do your gynae also prescribe antibiotics for u to prevent wound infection?

pinkdemoness,
How come u going to induce on Sunday? Overdue or ...?

Morning ladies

So tired and had just woke up not very long. Breastfeeding really is a tiring job. Although i pumping out the mik for my son to take but middle of the night you will still need to get up and pump and feel so tired. Haiz.....will try to continue the breastfeeding project as lonng as possible.

Sun & Mangogal not in today? Not sure have they deliver or not?

teddybaby
Dr Adrian did prescribe antibiotics for me when I went for my check-up 2 days after I was discharged. It's to help prevent the episiotomy wound infection.

Kome
I also feels so much like a cow and pumping every 3hrs. At night, try to sleep more and pump like 4-5hrs but then the breasts feel a bit engorged if delay too long.

Thanks Jasmin. So u got take the antibiotics? How many days course isit? Quite sianz to take it cos already took for Strep B, then during labour need to take antibiotic drip also (due to strep b again), then episiotomy also need to take...tsk tsk

Jasmin
Previously, i pumped every 2hrs but i realise i cannot tahan lar so now i pumping every 3 hrs also. At night i will only pump when i feel engorged. Haiz....not much different from daytime also, i will automaticakky wake up about every 3 hrs to pump too.

Kome
Ya, my body clock also adjusted to waking every 3-4 hrs le. Who help you feed bb at nite? My CL helped me feed nw but I wonder how to handle when I have to pump and feed when baby starts to wake up after my pumping. Like that, like no sleep at all...

sung
congras!!! u deliver in GlenE, right?
mind to share yr hospital charges? u opt for 2-bedded?

kome
me not yet... my EDD is next Fri... wondering when my boi wanna come out...

Jasmin
Same as you my CL help me to feed baby, but i am giving FM at night and daytime than give him my EBM. Ya.....i also realise that after my pumping, my boy than will cry for milk. Mmmm......i will try to either adjust my pumping time or his feeding time when my CL leave. Maybe night time i will try to latch on instead of pumping ba.........

jasmin
tat's mean no need to sleep at night huh once the CL go back... need to pump + feed bb... somemore the timing btw these 2 not fix right?

Sun
Feeling tired? Wow.....you almost going to hit full term already. When i am at wk 37 onwards already feeling very xin ku.

Kome
Same here, I'm also giving EBM in the day and FM at nite. Ya, think have to adjust either way.

sunshinebaby
Ya lo, the timing is still not fixed now. Maybe when baby established a sleep routine, will be easier to gauge when his next feeding time will be.

irene
im same as u.. my mind is praying all the while im in waiting ward.. waiting to be fully dilated..
hb keep askin weird qns.. +_+

quan_gie

missycandy
wow.. my dad oso like to shake babies. he even lifted my boy head to shake for a few times. i niao him right away.. haha. luckily he stopped.
maybe if u really don like u can tell ur mil in a funny manner lor.. wow like tt next time i muz shake my girl 24hrs ?? like tt me n hb (u n ur hb) sure no nid slp liao.
my niece n nephew carrys my boy also..they both age 9 and 8.. but bcoz they are well trained one.. to carry their 2 other younger brothers..

updates
wow my boy hor.. last 2 days is cranky.. buay tahan. ytd i gave in twice to FM once in a day once in the night. he really almost drive me crazy with his crying. not that he cry v loud.. but i hear him cryin more than normal i heartache liaos.. he suckle on me like nv stop for v long den wan suckle again.. sibei bth .. donno is it my BM supply not enuff for him now or wad.. ltr muz go drink the organic mother's milk liao.

Jasmin
Last time my mum helped me i did not realised and cared about my son's feeding. I really salute my mum, she really establised my elder son's feeding very well. She will not wait for my son to cry for feeding. Every 2 hrs, she will automatically fed my son. My son had been so well taken care that he put on quite alot of weight within a month.

teddybaby:
bb is nw 3.4kg...
gynae say may grow some more...n head circumference already 33.5cm le...r u feeling achy at e v area? i m feeling so achy there n also stomach not comfortable...but i dun think its contractions cos some parts soft soft de... only worry is cant dilate in time n cause foetus distress...anyone went for induce without dilation?

pinkdemoness,
3.4kg is quite big, mine 3.2kg. Sometimes feel strained/pull down there, not sure if its the same achy feeling u referring to?

Jasmin,
So when taking antibiotics, u take with plain water or with the red dates & logan water since we're not suppose to take plain water?

kome
not realli tired, me still can go shopping somemore...
2265022.gif
tis wk i'm still working, will start my ML next mon... hopefully my boi will guai guai come out next wk when my ML starts...
but hv alternate plan ie to ask for next wk MC from my gynae... if my EDD is delayed then i'll submit MC and start ML later...

teddybaby
I take the antibiotics with the red dates & longan water. So far, I only take a few sips of plain water. Never ever thought that I will miss plain water, cause last time, I dun like to drink plain water one. Hehe...

I had been feeling cramp last night for twice on my lower part of abdomen..it's a very slight pain about a few seconds..and since it's not that painful, I just ignore it and go back to sleep..
now wondering if it's contraction...
usually the labour contraction on which part of tummy?

pinkdemoness,
i ended up e-csect coz cervic not opening and contractions stressing bb.

sunshine,
total bill for 2-bedded was $4,900+, medisave covers abt $3,400 so balance is cash. but mine was for e-csect and 4d3n. not sure for natural delivery how much it would be.

btw, gleneagles gave a free pack with a nice diaper bag and some free sample items and lots of adv brochures.

re. tbf
i gave in and use fm to supplement on day 7. everyone kept saying bb too hungry and i guess it's true. coz bb loves to cuddle and wld suck bm for 15 mins then doze off. can't wake him to suck some more. but once you put him down, he'll wake in less than 5 mins and cry for more bm. guess very tiring for bb too coz he can't sleep well. after supplementing with fm, he can at least sleep for 2 hrs straight now. still i feel so guilty and bad. wish i cld still do tbf. now pumping hard, hope can increase supply...

Thanks TeddyBB

All Mommies,

Help ah..this morning discovered some blood streaks in discharge..abit of crampy feeling but not like contraction ba..i m supposed to go for admission tmr for C sect..if today i go ll be consider as E c sect??
Does having the 'show' means i m going to give birth soon?? heard from my friend see streaks of blood can go deliver liao!! I wan wait for tmr..

my gynae didnt give me antibiotics for my episiotomy wound leh... hmmm but now more or less healed... then not much pain le... *phew*

i think mornings are horrible for me and bb... this am when my hubby left for work ard 5plus, i woke up to latch bb on... she suck suck suck til i also want to fall asleep le... then after that she like still hungry... so i faster pump out what milk is left inside... ard 30mls and fed her... then she slept... but 1hr later wake up again -_-" so i fed her FM... but she only drank half of it... i dunno why her intake like cut down le... =( i will knw if she is losing/putting on weight when i go see PD next tues... but she is pooping x2-3/day and peeing a lot...

boobs - i have this stinging/ants biting sensation at the cleavage of my boobs... does anyone have it too? im nt sure if its a sign or engorgement as well.. my boobs dun become rock hard... but this am had that feeling.. i tried to tahan but super uncomfy... like many many ants biting... so i faster pump and massage my boobs... then come out 30mls lor... =\

teats - is there a special way to hold the avent teats? maybe thats why my bb doesnt drink all the milk finish? or there isnt... hmmm... no indication leh...

sung
Don't worry abt giving in to FM in the initial stage, cause our milk supply hasn't kick in yet. My MS started coming on my 6th day, from 40ml to 90ml today (Day 13). As long as you pump at 2-3hrs interval, the supply will be forthcoming and maintained.

Just to share, i have lobang for enfalac A+ 900g... if anyone is interested can PM me... im thinking of ordering few tins since my bb 3/4 on FM... but will have to either collect from me at Sembawang, my hubby at Tjg Pagar or I can ask my Bro to help... Woodlands or Novena Sq... =)

misscandy
I also have that stinging feeling, sometimes, can feel it around my aerola also. Usually, the pain comes about 1-2hrs after pumping. I also dunno if it's cause the milk is coming or what.

Do you wear nursing bra? I go braless at home now and sometimes when the blouse brush against the nipples, can be quite painful.

sung
dun feel bad.. i oso in the same situation as you trying very hard to do tbf but my supply doesnt seem to catch up with the little one's appetite thus i give in to FM after midnight for him to sleep longer while day time will still do bf.. which means out of 10 feeds, one will be FM.. so poor thing, he doesnt suckle well to get the maximum from me either.. so i gotta be extra hardworking to pump out the remaining inside me lor.. hopefully my supply will increase in no time for me to do tbf.. i started using FM as supplement just 2 days ago which he is in day 12..

oxgal
y not u call up ur gynae or the hospital to check with them can u still wait for 1 more day? becoz for wat i know some mommies has blood streaks but still can dong for a few days one lor.. but becoz u got crampy feeling than itz best to call the professional up to seek for further advice..

queenie:
i havent deliver...inducing this sun...

teddybaby:
i think its the same feeling i'm talking abt...

sung:
initially u already opt for 2 bedded or only after e c-sect u downgrade? cos quite cheap for yr bill in terms of e csect... when u induce, cervix soften already? or were u already dilated?

jasmin,
thanks. i sure hope ms increase. now can pump out 40-60ml both breasts combined every 3/4 hours. hopefully can be much more. bb already taking up to 90ml per bottle feed. i need more to be able to bf him completely.

p3,
hoping that both our ms will increase. i'm looking at alternating feed btw bm and fm now first then let him suckle whenever he wants in btw. once bm increase, then i will try to bf more than use fm.

missycandy,
i hv stinging feeling too. it's like a very sharp sensation that comes and goes at the breasts/nipples. sometimes got, sometimes dun hv. but like jasmin, i oso go braless at home. it's the sore nipples that hurts more so i'm not sure if the stinging sharp feeling is from what. just massage breasts a bit more and it seems to help relieve the feeling somewhat when it comes.

Sun
Thats good. Still can go shopping but do be careful when out. Wahhh....you have not start your ML yet? You not worry that contraction come or water bag burst during work?

Sung
Initially my boy wake up abt every half to one hr for milk, i cannot tahan too so i gave in to FM already. Now i feed him with my EBM in the day and night time FM.

pinkdemoness,
i opted for 2-bedded originally coz not sure if will hv any complications during delivery. 1-bedded cost increase will be very high. i dun hv induce.

was planning to go for natural delivery, water bag burst 10pm+, went to hosp. but till 7am the next morn, my contractions was very sporadic and not enough for my cervic to open, only 3cm after whole nite. so ended up doc said go for emerg c-sect as my contractions was causing bb to stress. ended up emerg c-sect straight away and bb out within the next hr.

yeah, is cheaper than i tot, so am glad abt it.

kome,
my bb like can't sleep when bf. he only sleeps well when i latch him on in sleeping position and sleep with him, then he will suck, sleep, wake up suck a bit more, sleep. once you detach him from nipple, he'll wake up and cry for more. actually i was ok with this coz i lov the cuddles with him too. but with mil and cl kept saying bb very hungry, not enuff milk etc etc. and well meaning relatives calling to advise me, i gave in and try pumping to see how much milk ss i hv, realised very low, only 10-20ml per breast that day, so sad and heartbroken to tink that i cld be starving my bb. broke down and gave in. ppl kept saying not enuff sleep no good for bb and well for me coz doing confinement must rest more etc, so now supplement with fm. really not easy to maintain tbf. it's a big challenge.

haha worried i remembered the pricing wrongly. yup just checked, my total emerg c-sect cost was $4908.78, inclusive docs' fees and medications. medisave covers $3200 (sorry sun! not $3400) so we ended up paying $1708.78. no double charging for the time i spent in the labour ward while waiting for natural delivery. was worried initially they'll charged for that too but apparently dun hv. think it's reasonable and much cheaper than i tot.

Sung
Ya lor, i do agreed with you. I almost break down during the first few days. When i pump out only have about 20 to 30ml, my boy always cried for milk. Had continous cried for 3 days becoz of breastfeeding stress. My mum had called me and told me to give FM also. She said BB don't know how to latch on is ok, if they reject FM by the time we do not have the supply than how.