(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

hmmm.. will call the staffs later.. see if there's any other pain bo, so scare becoz i use to have gastric pain before preggie n the pain seem to be even worse than the pain i am experiencing now and then le.. so i was wondering am i pain trained liao bo..tatz y now dunnoe how to differentiate liao..

Asura,
My nausea occur after the breakfast. I thought the breakfast caused the nausea but seems like having it both day, it is not the cause already.

caca
Usually they say 2nd time delivery will be faster.. so maybe once you're induced everything will proceed on very quickly without the need for epi or c-sect Be positive yah.

p3
just contractions, at regular intervals that are getting more intense. Already 3cm dilated when admitted.

hoon
ok.. i think i will just monitor awhile more.. coz now no cramps liao.. just hardening nia.. so when u reach hospital is the contractions with pains still there?

p3pp3r,

Wah.... i think u also popping soon.. excited? I am wondering what the feeling is like but i dont want to experience it so soon.. hee hee.. Is the backaches very painful? Or is the contractions painful? Painful where? I keep wondering and wondering.. but cant imagine.. heh..

asura
ya excited.. anyway now week 38 liao.. hmmm.. the backaches/contraction is pain but still bearable not till dying la... the contraction like an urge to urinate even u empty ur bladder le.. it can be oso like going to have the biggest fart of ur life, but of coz not gas la.. it lasted only for 1 min plus.. it will come and goes lor.. but it seem like today i only got it once and not as frequent n consistent as yesterday le.. hmmm.. so wondering issit false alarm.. my gynae did told me tat tis can even last for more than a week if inconsistent..

Queenie
Congrats on Xander. I thought of naming my bb Xander too until another name came along.

Laughing Gas is enough for you? your trashhold of pain must be high. All the best to your BF too.

I am still waiting, had backache this morning so took MC to rest at home. But I hope my bb can wait till after 18 Mar, when my gynae comes back from leave.

jtho
take care n hv a gd rest now...

kome
all the best for yr delivery... soon u'll be seeing yr bb...

p3pp3r
understand how u feel... try to monitor closely n realli if u still hv the contraction quite intense, pls do admit immediately...

jtho,
I can understand the apin you're having now. Before I pop. I also have the same case like you. V area pain like shit when standing up to walk, every step I walk was so painful and my colleague will ask me ok to walk or not coz they can see Im in pain when walking. Just like you say like a 80 yrs old ahma... Gynae ask you to C-sect next thursday? By then your baby will be in 38weeks?
Misscandy, I have PM you regarding about the milk bags do let me know yeah.

Jasmine
yes, your description is exactly what i am experiencing now! i can't even walk to the foodcourt to buy food. need my hubby to come pick me to go elsewhere to eat. just now bought 2 buns to standby in case later hungry and cannot walk to buy food.
initially, i wanted to have my c-sect tomorrow at 37 weeks + 2 days, but gynae said too early, wanted me to wait till 38 weeks. so re-scheduled till next thursday, 38 weeks + 1 day.

just now i called the my gynae's nurse, she said it's due to baby's head getting too big, then pressing on my ligament. cannot do anything now. she said can take panadol if really cannot stand the pain. i'm trying to refrain from any painkillers.

Pumpkin,
Thanks!! Will be gg this evening to practice feeding him again...hee~~ But he always never give me face. SOmetimes can feed quickly, other times like taking his own sweet time to finish 60ml. Maybe he prefers the pretty nurse jie jie at MT A's NICU...heee~~

Mangogal,
Little Ryan was abt 35+weeks when he decided to enter this world! =) Altho he is of good weight, his coordination between sucking & swallowing was poor. So sometimes when he drinks, he doesnt swallow and gets choke. He may even turn blue due to lack of oxygen. On the other hand, he oso has jaundice...so he has been in NICU for the past 10 days. He should be out by tmr if all goes well!!

my edd 29th.. still long way to go.. but gynae say most likely will pop early by 2-3 weeks. so playing the waiting game... hoping he comes out soon...

Grace I see..well nt to worry he will recover soon since he is nt pre mature liao

Wah St, anytime soon to hear good news frm u next week,hehe

hey mommies,
typing w one finger now cos i'm pumping milk.

just want to remind those using medela PIS thast pls mk sure u r using the right breast shield size. i inherited mine without actually knowing much abt it, didn't even kn that size matters. alamak, i only realised that i hv been using one that is far bigger than my nipple size ---> v difficult n slow to pump. in fact caused a msjor panick few days ago when i found my ms dwindling drastically. turned out tat as i pumped more n become less engorged, my nipples n areola returned to their original size (bibgger when engorged) whic rendered the current breastshield way too big. Pumping actually became less and less efficient. Major panick. Then it struck me out of the blue that there might be diff sizes for the shield ... :p

So stupid of me. I went to the first few years to buy an reduce size insert. and now my MS is slowly but surely increasing again. HURRAY!

So for moms who are habving trouble with pumping, do check that u r using the right size shield to begin with.

p/s very hard to type with one finger so I'll just read fr now on. Kome ... errr or was that winter ... thnks 4 the tip on PISA. Will check that out. sounds like a dream!

Alfafa,
I know you are reading this. =)
How long do you pump with your medela PIS? And for that duration, how much on average do you get? (altho I know it'll vary from person to person) Thanks

hmmm contractions are constant gripping pain is it ? i dunno hw to tell.. i also had hardening the whole of last night... plus back pain... but i jus turn left and right lor.. then bb inside jus keep moving and kicking... then i keep going to pee... plus feel like wan to pang sai but keep passing gas nia... then sumtimes have sudden shooting pain at the V area... no waterbag leak no blood... so i cn jus ignore right??? my pain tolerance is quite high so i also duno abt the cramps part.. haii... til nw i stil have tummy hardening but it cld be BH right?

P3, so excited for you, you're going to make it before Dr Tseng went on leave! Hope I will strike soon too..me doing nothing at home, so boring as I already went on AL since last thu..

Kome, hope you're doing well, my EDD is same date as you, but me still no news.. think baby is really very comfy inside, everytime i call hubby (cos I very bored at home), he will sound anxious cos he thot that's it, but everytime I disappoint him, hee...

ok done pumping.

Grace,
that's what I am trying to fifure out also. To be honest I didn;t know that I need to pump out the excess that I didn't manage to nurse. I am nursing like 8-12 times a day, so I ddn;t think I need to pump. I only started pumping because of engorgement. Even then I only pump to relieve the pressure, so I only pumped once a day, no particular amount in mind. I stop once my breasts feel softer. There were times when my BB latched on more often, so I ended up not pumping for that day at all.

I only discovered now that I need to express out the excess. In fdact, I am multi-tasking now with multiple screens opened, all on search results on brwast feeding.

I'm so clueless it's not funny. :p

I don;t get it. After my bb latches on, do I pump until the breast becomes empty? And is it both breasts? Then what if bb needs to feed again in an hour ... then how? Will I still have enough milk to nurse?

Paiseh I ended up with more questions for you instead.

I am a complete mess lah. Am hoping to get more info today.

As it is I just pumped 90ml in less than 20min, from both breast, one breast at a time. I don;t like the dual pumps. I have more to go but I don't dare to. What if bb wakes up and I have no more left to nurse? *horrors*

Alfafa,
It's ok. We learn from each other. I guess most mummies will have the same 'worry' as you and me. What if i pump out the extra now then b4 u realise, bb needs to latch on.....

For me, when I was breastfeeding #1 & during maternity leave, I din really pump at all...hee~ but still managed to bf her for 18mths.

Anyway, talking abt using the dual pumps at the same time. Why dun you use it together? It's supposed to increase the milk volume.

I'm also using the Medela PIS Original. I pump for abt 20mins...then I stop & hand express..sometimes can get another 5-10ml.... =)

vivien
i hope so.. coz i oso very bored at home liao.. wanna just offload him n see this little angel in my arms.. today's cramps not very consistent unlike yesterday so i m oso waiting for further "instructions" by my body.. wahahhaha.. hopefully the real hardcore contraction can come in by this evening so i can go hospital liao.. but of coz the hardening of tummy seem to be getting stronger n tighter with abit of cramp nia.. dun worry, i am sure ur turn will be soon since u already in week 38 liao right? i am sure u can make it before he goes on leave.. my next app with dr paul is next mon, the last app, he told me seeya either in hospital or a week later..

Grace,
oh really? Wow that's re-assuring. i.e. that you didn't express out but still manage to bf for 18mths. I am worried that I might have screwed up my ms with my ignorance in the last 11 days since delivery. :p

Using together will increase milk flow? Hmm ... then I might try again. I might check out PISA too. I think kome (or could have been winter, sorry I'm v blur) mentioned about a seperate attachment to medela PIS to make it handsfree. I don't iuse both pumps because I find it terribly restrictive to have both hands tied up at the same time. Further, I seem to end up losing grip (thus the suction pressure)on one of them usually. OR it could have been because of the wrong size shields. :p

Actually is there some kind of gauge for how much breast milk an infant should consume at different stages of development?

Am searching for it. Right now also going through online articles on the breadfeeding support group in Singapore

Everyone nursing here? I have trouble latching the bb on. Can only latch with someone to help. How to handle the bb alone when latching? bb keep wriggling about. Then got bite on the nipple as mouth not open big enough.

Alfafa,
Using 2 pumps togethers will not oni increase milk volume but oso reduce the time taken.

When I went back to work previously, i still pump 2x during office hours. That time i was using the Medela Mini Electric. So I'm used to holding it. Tat one was slower to obtain 'letdown' and pumping time was longer. For PIS, i obtained 'letdown' faster.

alfafa... maybe u can try mumsfairy handsfree ( hope i got the name correctly) it was a life saviour.. used it b4 n i can pump both breasts n both hands free at the same time..

it seems tt w/out queenie around.. this thread is much quieter leh...

queenie... helllllllloooooooooooo...

check out this website: lots of articles on breastfeeding. Wish I knew some of this stuff earlier. http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg

Oppsgal,
sorry wish I could help you but I'm one of the luckier ones whereby bb just knows what to do from day one. I don;t think I have mastered a perfect latch though cos I am experiencing sore nipples.

I sometimes use my fingers to tug her chin down, to create the asymmetrical shape. Works sometimes.

Grace,
I think I probab;y just need to get used t it.

am so sleepy now I'm falling asleep halfway through reading the articles on the above mentioned website.

I'm very sleep deprived these days. Brain seems have to slowed down alot too. zzzz

grace,

thanks I'll check it out. Might nap for a bit before she wakes up to nurse again.

jme,

does it work on Medela PIS? I'm liking the sound of it more and more. :p thanks for the heads up.

oopsgal,

Me not expert here... and havent got to try yet but i remember Mrs Wong say before. Stroke underneath bb's mouth (chin area) until bb open mouth wide (a bit like yawning) before u let bb close over the whole nipple and aerola.