(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

i heard NAN has the closest taste to BM...n not so sweet too.. heard similac is very sweet so bb sure like but may not wan bm after tat...read from one of the threads discussing abt milk powder..

pinksorbert
then i also lugi the Vesak Day one cos we need to take the hoilday leave within 1 month.

unless my boss allow me to take after my ML but confirm he dun allow one cos i already take 3 month ML liao..

queenie, Haha. Me just up from my nap n u gg to zzz. Haha. Tummy will not be able to go back as per before even if wt returns le.... The skin has been stretched and will not be as taut as before. Definitely saggy.

Elina and sunsun, me not standing by. Try not to stand by as it will just allow u to give in and affect milk ss even more. besides its really easy to get Fm if u want Haha. Just take note that friso and similac has lots of bubbles and similac is very tasty cause its sweet. I prefer enfalac. Will intro this if I have to. But using Fm is trial and error, see if the bb can poo well or not. So one suitable for others might not be suitable for your darling.

seabreeze,
tks for the info, will take note of that after i give birth at TMC. heard that we can also request for extra glass bottles to bring home...gd to store our BM. guess i will get 1 tin of FM to standby.

teddybb
ya going after work...huh they close so early..i know they close early but didn't know is that early leh..the most i can reach there is 6.15 hopefully they will not close at 6.30 sharp

thanks for informing

cindy
wat u mean by a lot of bubbles for friso n similac? how to noe whether the FM is suitable for our bb? fr their poo? then wat color or texture of the poo consider ok?

sunshinbaby ...

yap just dun physically eat the ginger but then again my #1 had jaundice for like 3mths even after my confinement lor ... so to me ginger might not really be the main cause for jaundice

pinksorbet ...

April - Good Fri
May - Labour Day (Fri)
- Versak Day (Sat)

but usually my company will give us a day off in lieu for Sat PH ... what abt yours? June and July is holiday drought!!

re: FM suitable or not

the most obvious is thr the poo ... cos i heard that some FM is more heaty hence the bb will get constipation and poo v hard

their poo should be soft one ... green or yellowish

Sportger, do take care yah. I think I will cry too if bb gotta be hospitalised. But jaundice seems very common nowadays. My cousin's son oso got it and has to be hospitalised in Jan. Now, growing very well and within less than 1 mth, gotta upsize his diapers. So I will be getting alot of NB diapers fm her soon.

Regarding FM:
I understand frm my SIL that NAN has e closest consistency to BM. So i told my hb to get this in case i need it later.

Saw on the hospital admission letter that my doc indicated Enfalec A+ as the FM. I asked his nurse why and she told me normally first day, mum will be tired..no milk etc so gotta supplement with FM. Dun wan to argue w her. Told my hb abt this. He oso object to FM. Anyway, I cancel this option in the admission letter and indicated that i wan TBF. We will remind the staff on the day of admission too. NO FM and no bottles.

Regarding Insurance that covers Cord blooding banking:
Can share which insurance you have/are going to purchase to cover cord blood tranfusion?

Sportyger & Nana,
This few days I still ask my CL to sun bath my boy just incase. PD did says jaundice might come back again de. So do sun bath baby still.
Nana,
What to avoid... hummm... only know not to take liver and as for fresh milk should be able to tak but have to warm it up.

Mummies who are delivering at TMC, after sending in the pre-admission registration form, do you get another confirmation letter etc.?

I've sent in my pre-admission registration form abt 3 weeks ago but has no other news.

Jasmin,
TMC doesn't inform us after they receive our admission letter. what i did was - i called them up to confirm whether they hv updated their system for my room booking. feel more fang xin after they cfm my booking and i also told them to note that i will be going for c-section 2 wks earlier than my edd in the form.
u could give them a call as well.

Hi Sun & Nana, i've chosen Dr Ngiam as my PD, heard he's good. Dr YY Yip is also good. Can't remember my gf say some other PD is not very good.

Asura, on the PTR, it's a one time only right? illustration only, easier to count as example

Now i'm going to call StandChart again to ask about their silly credit card forms...

Agnes
Oh, thanks. Coz like no sound, no picture, also dunno if they received or not. But I had a photocopied copy and packed into my hospital bag, just in case.

starflower
u can choose yr PD? yr gynae gives u a list of the PD in glenE for u to choose issit??

stdchart's CDA prog better than OCBC huh?? can elaborate more??

Jasmin
ya hor i should have photocopy one too. but i confirm they have received it becos i personal hand over to the counter staff.

hi mummies.. how's everyone doing here??

fially managed to come online during office hours.. damm shag. i m pumping my milk while i m typing these..

Hey mummies, I'm back from gynae visit.

Updates at 38wk 1day:
- Baby is head down.
- Amniotic level is good.
- CTG shows that I've mild contractions.
- Baby's weight: estimated at 3.57kg.
- 0 cm dilated.

It's the weight that has gotten me a little nervous and the fact that I've not yet dilated.

Doc gave these options:
1. Wait another week, to see if I've dilated then can induce;
2. Wait till next week, if not dilated schedule for a C-section;
3. Wait out till 40weeks, if still not dilated then schedule a C-section.

I'm sad. I don't want a C-section

Hopefully I dilate over the next few days and can push my little giant out!!

Wintertime
You should lay down on bed to rest. My mum told me to lay on bed to rest so that next time will not get backache.

Promeganate
wah..ur bb is pretty big, how abt natural deliver via induce? Actualul can try to induce this week since u 38 weeks liao

Winter mummy, glad to see you

Gynae said that chances of success for induction when cervix is closed aren't high. Many a times, such cases end up in C-section bcos the cervix doesn't open or opens too slowly (which may cause fetal distress) despite induction.

promeganate
yr bb consider big at w38... u try walking more, climb more stairs to trigger labour??
if wait till w40, bb wt might be ard 3.7kg-4kg??

but if realli no choice hv to c-sect, u dun hv to be disappointed... as long as bb can arrive safely n healthy, tink tat's the most important factor ba...

Mangogal
Promeganate not yet dilated, i don't think can induce now.

Promeganate
I do agree that your bb quite big, is the weight that your gynae gave correct?

promeganate
tat's the same as daphne's case... she induced n wait till 8 hrs but still cannot n bb distress so go for c-sect in the end...

Promeganate
I agree to what sun said. If really cannot by normal delivery just go for c-sect. BB is more important than anything.

I see...ya Promegnate if cervix still close..will hv to go for c sect

that is what one of my gf also, 4o weeks fullterm...cervix closed...insert to indue but cervix dilate very slow so end up c sect

promeganate
be positive ok!!! try talking to yr bb n telling yr bb u prefer yr bb coming out via natural rather than c-sect... tell her daily n hopes yr bb get yr msg n make yr wish comes true...
2189257.gif

so u hvn't decide which option to choose right? by when u hv to tell yr gynae???

Jasmin,
I handed the pre-admission form personally to the lady at the counter hence she gave me a photocopy - to be presented during admission. Not too sure how if you submit by post... but i'm sure they've record already

Baby only moved 4 times so far today and they're all very mild & slight movements.... kept telling my girl kick more so I know she's doing ok. Am so conscious now and worried, always wondering why no kicks from her.

FM
My cousin works in pharmaceutical industry and advised me to standby 1 tin of NAN H.A. for my baby just in case.... she recommended with H.A. cos my hb got eczema so she said for parents who have skin allergy, better to buy this with "H.A." tho its slightly more exp. Just sharing with you...

Thanks girls, I've to mentally prepare myself for possibility of C-section. Must keep reminding myself that C-section is fine.

But I'm still going to go for my walking, squatting and stairs climbing till then.

seabreeze - by right i lugi 3 days la, cos vesak day falls on a sat and company substituting it on the 11th which is a monday and the third holiday is labour day...but in actual fact lugi two days like u said since vesak day falls on a Sat....

so u r rite, its two days lugi in may....hehe...

Promeganate
i can understand how u feel perfectly, cos my case is the same as u... i've been wanting to go natural but at week 33, my gynae told me that my chances of going natural is very slim cos my baby was 2.7kg at week 33 and estimated to be 3.8-4kg at birth. it took me a while to accept the fact that i have to go for c-sect. now i am actually looking forward to the date that i have chosen. as long as baby can be delivered safely, i dun mind the method of delivery. this was what daphne crosailo said also after her emergency c-sect

Checking if cervix open
May I know how the VE is done to check whether our cervix got open anot.... is it use gynae will use fingers to check? Is it painful? Sorry, just wondering so will be prepared when I've to go thru it.

koala
when's yr next gynae visit? can u request to visit yr gynae more often eg, thrice a wk juz to make sure bb is ok??

NAN is another brand for FM?? dun tink i come across tis brand... where can i get more info on tis FM brand??

st, dr ong seems to be very busy.. he's those type very straight forward type.. he tell u wat he's going to do and why he's doing it.. he not the type who will joke around and chat more things with you.. but well, guess a buusy doc is alwasy like tt..
but one gd thing is that, i went back to PD check up yesterday, he help and teaches us how we should clean my bb's amblical cord. however bb's cord drop off yesterday noon!!! both hb and myself are so happy..

Kome, ya..tt's wat my mm say too.. i m pumping my milk now, tt's y got to sit up.. but i tell u, i think not easy for us to rest unless we go on FM.. if we want to BF, then we got to be awake every 2-3 hrs to feed.. so far, the longest i had slept so far is 2 hrs.. even at night.. sobz..
i really envy those mum's with lots of milk supply.

sun, ya.. he's sleeping now.. but sometimes he's very alert and look around... esp if i don't give him enough milk, he will get cranky.

promeganate, don't worry.. everyhting will be fine. maybe you can control ur diet for next 1 wk.. i have friends who delivered naturally with bb above 4kg.. but watever case, don't get too stress up..