(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Queenie ...

Pei fu pei fu ... anyway make up was never in my hospital bag list the last round and even this round heehee think if i pack my hubby will think that i am crazy lor hahahahahaha

rem to bring camera and charger k heehee

wish a boy ...

me oso one of the last few ... EDD 27 March =P

Prosper - I haven use b4 personally, but heard good reviews about it. Smells nice too. No harm trying, anyway if Breastfeed, also cannot anyhow take diet pills.

May-totally understand how u feel...I also used to be M frame before preg. Sometimes even S. After my 1st delivery, before I slimmed down, I had to buy XL. Most irritating thing is people around me kept asking if I am preggie again. Damn demoralising.

lemontree - ya i'm intending to get those PJs from pasar malam...

queenie - u hello kitty fan ah? hehe...my hb has a fren whose wife just like u...her whole room filled with hello kitty stuffs it makes it a hello kitty room, tink her mattress hello kitty oso...i go to her place its realli pinkish lor =P

Sunshine bb- I dun intend to bring to hospital lah....cos dun wan to add on to the weight of my already super heavy and big hospital bag. I come home then use. The body treatment oil is for firming, not for slimming leh. Think must use oil for slimming first then firm and tone the excess slack skin rite...

lemontree,
ya.. very low self-confidence.
Then pple that didnt see me for long time, asked "what happened to you? How come put on so much weight! I nearly cannot recognise u already." So sad.

May & Lemontree
Me too after first pregnancy had put on 10kg. Lucky that last time i was S size and now M size. After this don't know will become L size or not (touchwood). My mum always making sacastic remarks that i will be wearing L size after delivery.
so sad to hear that lor....

Wish a boy,
me too. EDD is 2 Apr

RE: Diaper cloths
My #1 went through about 15 - 20 a day, and he used disposable diapers at night. Remembered washing and hanging the cloths daily, super tiring and sian.

seabreeze
my EDD same as u... one of the last few... keke

pink
next fri dun tink i can make it... got gynae appt + hb is with me... not nice to 'dump' him aft gynae visit n me alone go eat buffet...
2171938.gif

HI mummies,

Just to update on my checkup yesterday.

Am 35wk+ have put on abt 2kg+ since the last checkup. Doc said bb's wt is between 2.9-3.2kg and told me to cut down on carbo..which means also ice cream and drinks. sigh... Have been taking ice cream recently cos of the warm weather. MacD choc sundaes, B&J, HDaaz..Then yesterday saw that Goodwood Park hotel going to have the durain fair again from 1st Mar and today, everyone's talking abt durain fm Rajah Inn...How to control??

My doc dun wan bb to be too big if not diff to have natural birth.

Anyway, after the checkup, my doc gave a 3hr talk to his March patients in his clinic. He touched on why CS or natural birth, signs and symptons of pre-labour and labour, how to get to Mt A or TMC, what's going to happen inside labour ward, pain relief etc. Had a clearer understanding cos forgotten some of what was taught in Mrs WBB class.

For those going to deliver in TMC, he mentioned that there are two ways to avoid the U turn near TMC during peak hrs ie

a) U turn at Novena SQ traffic instead.
or
b) Go via whitley road, turn into dyson road, then Jln Merlimau.

http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel_id_19036/travel_site_1/5/

Think I will print out this route in case gotta show to my Bro in Law or taxi driver.. Hope it helps. Pray that we dun hv to go to hospital in peak hrs!!

One more thing - SHAVING. For those not going for waxing, my doc suggest to trim it short instead of shaving. So less of blood clots on the pubic hair. If shaving, it's going to be prickly later.

Sportger, Congrats!! Wanted to visit u yesterday after my checkup but couldn't get your details from mangogal in time. Do share your hospital bill with me, yeah..

agnes
wow... so gynae mentioned tat yr bb wt a bit too big issit??

goodwood park hotel gg to hv durian fair!!! oh my gosh... jia lat la... how to endure not to eat lei... tsk tsk tsk...

pinksorbet
hehe me fan but i don buy alot of it.. coz exp mah. kekes
my hello kitty stuffs i put in a common room - also pink colour de. kekes

seabreeze
muz make sure camera full batt everytime.. juz in case anytime muz use..
kekes..

got to go mommies.. for my check up!
cya~

Scrumpee...think it is ok if u induce at 37 weeks, u see what Dr Chua advise on ur next visit. U can ask her what is the estimate weight for ur bb at fullterm...cos afew mummies here induce at 37 weeks, for eg Sportygal, her bb gal is 3.2kg at 37 weeks...how heavy is ur bb boy now? U are 2 weeks early than me...
For my case , she will let me do CTG chk everyweek frm 35 weeks onwards till I give birth. Well u can opt for Dr Paul Tseng while she is not around to monitor...In case my bb pop while she is not around, I will ask for Dr Paul Tseng cos he is also very assuring and good in stiches...but nt sure will charge the delivery fees or nt cos I paid Dr Chua delivery fees liao...I hv to ask her the next visit.

Delivering TMC:
All patients are entitle breastfeeding and bb bathing class

agnes
so care to share on the signs and symptoms of pre-labour n labour? coz i really wanna hear the real stuffs from a gynae since i always forgot to ask my gynae.. hahaha.. just thought tat i have some unusual signs recently..

Sun,
yeah..he said bb's wt / head abit big. Anyway, I think my doc prefer smaller size bb lah..easier to give birth. Now gotta think what type of carbo to reduce intake..

When my hubby's back early mar, think will get him to bring me to GW Park hotel....

If everything goes to plan, my hubby should be able to stay in SIN for 7 weeks cos his kind boss is going to arrange for him to do some proj here.. I will feel better with him around in March/April.

wah Durian buffet? :p yum yum...

Agnes, sorry I only retrive my hotmail yest night, too late to give u info, u shld hv drop a note here and I know u PM me, pai sei!!

lemontree, exactly my concern loh. Haha. So think end up we just have to put up with their cries? Sigh.

Slimming :
I also hope this time can slim down ah. They say after second one is more difficult to lose that fat. But really hope I can. For #1, I managed to go back. Get away from me fats! Haha.

agnes
tat's gd news tat yr hb able to stay for nearly 2 mths in SG... carbo food like rice? noodle? potato?

actually my gynae didn't mentioned anything during my chkup last sat... my bb wt 2.7kg at w34... i'm wondering is my bb consider big anot...

P3, Dr Paul will give alist of labour symptoms, cos my gynae gave me yest liao...feeling constipated with backache is also a sign...

Sunshinebaby : bb wt 2.7kg at wk 34 sounds a bit big , let's say bb gain 200g every week so your bb will be around 4kg at full term .

hello ladies!

Wow, congrats Sportger and Winter! Sportger, I am now very wary of the nurses poking my rear entry.
I have internal piles leh. Somemore these two days I suddenly have hard stools again and could feel an internal "cut" when I passed motion yesterday. Was so paranoid to poo poo today; luckily it wasn't so bad, just a mild pain.

SG also?! OMG ... wonder if she has delivered.

Starflower,
wow your pics are really nice. Think your hubby is a natural; he has a good eye for artistic shots.

I'm still waiting for Maryann from Studio Loft to send me my pics. By Sat she said.

Re: Binder
HELP! What is this? More importantly where can I get a good one? I am xxs size pre-preggie. Not sure if that influences the brand to buy? Also how much is it? I don;t want to spend $50-$70 (hospital's) if I can get cheaper elsewhere. I will know for sure whether or not I will end up with C-sec after my appointment this Fri morning.

Northvirgo, Ling and the rest of the new forumers!
welcome on board! North, wow triplets! You must be so exhausted. Hope all is well and triple congrats!

Re: my gynae
someone was asking who is my gynae? Well .. he's Dr PS Lui, clinic at Orchard Plaza. :x

Aiii 37 weeks and 6 days already. Can't wait!

Agnes,
alamak now I feel like eating ice cream again. *drools* heheheh

Hey, does anyone know where I can buy Zebra brand stainless steel pots of relatively big size (enuf to cook soup for 3-4 pax)? I saw some at NTUC Bukit Merah but all too small... Sigh, new maid just arrived so ultra stressed organizing my kitchen (I pity my bb who's receiving all the stress hormones from me)..

Also, does anyone know where I can find a kitchen trolley (the 3 tiers kind) preferably of sturdy material....thinking of putting my sterilizer, mircowave oven, etc since running out of space.

p3pp3r,

these are what i managed to copy down yesterday. Mostly what some of you have shared. But I find it more reassuring to hear frm my doc since Mrs WBB speaks highly of him.

Prelabour:
a) B Hicks
i) we will tend to feel more fre/stronger at nite cos less distracted by daily activities.
ii) maybe associated with backaches/sensation to pee or poo momentarily.
iii) as BH increases in frequency, it oso means u r closer to labour.

b) head engagement. But I understand some mums already had tat.

c) mucus discharges. I oso have this and i think some mums oso do.

d) cervival ripening. Contractions will increase. I tot this is similar to BH but din asked him further.

Signs of labour
a) contractions. (stronger,painful,frequent) My doc told us to go to hospital if contractions is every 10 mins. Not sure what other doc advise. Can share?? But if its every 15-20 mins and I am feeling very distress, oso advise to go hospital.

b) Show. Mucus with streaks of blood. Not too urgent but to call doc. He may advise to do CTG. But if bleeding is very obvious, continuous and need to change pad, must to hosp immediately. Could be separation of the placenta.

c) waterbag burst. He mentioned if we suspect waterbag burst, we are to clean up, change pad and walk/lay down for 10min. Then squeeze/smell the pad. If cfm, called him, then go hospital immediately to avoid infection.

Anyway, he said when in doubt, call him immediately, dun SMS him. Told us to store his HP/labour ward number in our hp, hubby's hp, family's hp just in case.

He oso advise us to place waterproof protective sheets on our mattress and bring some in our hospital bag to place inside car/taxi. I got these from Guardian and had placed these two weeks ago. Kaisu...

Seabreeze, Idlecat, angelmummy
I will send u the recipes when I get home later.

Daphne,
I don't have ur email.

Bye mummies...Going home.

nancy,
think for kitchen trolley, can try Ikea? I've resorted to using my dining table as a baby-everything-table. My steriliser, bottle warmer, breast pump, airport, baby bath tub and bb toiletries etc etc will all be on the dining table. I was told it will be easier to bath bb on the dining table too as we will not need to bend our body at all at that height.

Sportyger, you stay in how many bedded?

Kome, thanks. I’ve contacted her.

just came back from a long long meeting.. sit till my legs numb...

agnes,
thanks for sharing. If it is waterbag burst, how is the fluid supposed to smell like? *blank*

Re: baby movement
I'm also a bit paranoid now because my bb is usually extremely active and her movements can be quite painful. But recent weeks her movements have become more subdued. Today though, is virtually non existent.
worried now. Tried coughing and shaking my belly, as per the advice given earlier ... still not much movements leh. Can feel a really mild movement only ... very very mild. Don;t know if that is ok.

Agnes Chew, your Doc must be Dr Kee too

I was there yest!
Right after the talk I went down to buy the incontinence sheets because my good friend is on standby to drive me to hospital and he drives a Maserati haha

Got this email.

Recall Wyeth brand formula milk by AVA.

IMPORT OF INFANT FORMULAE CONTAINING LUTEIN
It has come to our attention that the Wyeth Progress Gold, Promise and Promise Gold Infant
Formulae containing lutein have been imported into Singapore.
2 We wish to inform you that the import and sale of infant and follow-up formulae containing lutein
is currently not allowed, as lutein has not been approved as a food additive in infant formulae and followup
formulae.
3 If you have imported the affected products, please recall the products with immediate effect for
destruction or for re-export back to the country where the product was imported from, failing which
enforcement action will be taken against your company.
4 If you wish to return the implicated product to the country where the product was imported from,
you are required to submit the approved Singapore outward declaration and bill of lading to this office for
verification within three working days of export. If you intend to dispose the implicated product locally, you
are required to make the necessary arrangements to dispose the implicated products at a National
Environment Agency (NEA) incineration plant. You are required to submit the quantity and value of the
disposed products, and the official disposal certificate issued by NEA for verification within three working
days of disposal.
5 For any clarification, please contact our TradeNet officers at Tel: 6325 0783 and 6221 5056, or
Ms Jessye Ong at Tel: 63251221.

mangogal, i oso din msg u in forum lah..shld hv done that... Abt the bathing class, I will get my mum and hubby to go w me cos my mum helping me during the confinement.

alfafa77, think its becos I eat ice cream a couple of times every week for the past few weeks. I overeat.. Just dun be like me..

Nancy, u may wan to check out ikea? They have those wooden type with wheels. I tot of getting one movable plastic trolley to store bb toiletries and stuff. Think it cost $19 from ikea.

mangogal
hahhaa.. maybe he will give me on my next visit ba.. he seldom say anything to me one.. just to make sure bb is healthy tatz all.. n stupid me always forgot to ask him anything one.. coz i always forgot!!

agnes
thks for sharing.. i suspect i might go into pre labour liao coz i got all these signs lately this week le.. just hope tat he can tahan till after week 38 ba..

alfafa77, he said it will smell different from normal urine, also said best to place those incontinent sheets under you when sleeping because if the waterbag burst and soaks into the mattress, you won't be able to get rid of the smell, will want to change to a new mattress

Agnes,
I did that in my 2nd trimester and put on weight super fast. Everyday I was eating bens and jerrys. Then I went through a chocolate phase ... chocolates from royce esp ... all kinds. Somehow I stopped towards mid of 3rd trimester. But now ... I feel like eating ice cream again! heeeee have to control also. Cos last sat at 37.5 weeks my girl is already 3.117gm. She put on 400 grm in one week! Xiao liao

Ivy,
thanks! But I read the today's thread and it seems like a lot of mommies are bringing their own because those provided by hospitals are very exp? Someone said $70, another said about $50?
If I can get else where I will also but don;t know where, and which type.

Pumpkin,
oooh ... ok. So it will also smell different from normal discharge right? Getting more and more discharge these days, some times there is a bit of a smell. :p yikes. :p

Re: bb movement
ok I'm happier now cos she has given a rather noticeable jab. Heeee Still not moving much but that jab calmed my nerves down a bit

By the way, some advice for mummies who don't like to be stuck on the bed throughout labour.

During check up yesterday, I was grumbling to my doc as I din't like being hooked up to CTG when I went in a few weeks earlier for observation. He said that when we go in, we can ask to have intermittent CTG monitoring after they establish that labour is progressing smoothly. Meaning, they will strap you to the belt for 30 mins every 2 hours. For the remainder of the time, we can still walk around, do whatever we want.

PumpkinSeed,
Yes, its Dr Kee..Din know there's a mum here with him oso!! Tot I only one. hehe..When's your edd? Mine's 21 Mar. BTW, where did u sit? I was the only one sitting by the counter and busy copying notes for my hubby. Maserati..wow...isn't it abit low to get in and out?? Must really protect the seats yeah!! Expensive car!

Alfafa, can't rmbr if he mentioned abt the smell and I din copy down amy thing on this..But as long as it's not ammonia smell from urine, then cfm liao. He oso said to put on pad for 10min then smell/squeeze the pad for the fluid. If urine, cannot be continously flowing. But if ammoutic fluid, it will trickle continously, so from the wetness of pad, can tell.

Thanks Agnes and Alfafa, I did check out Ikea last week - yeah they got some but size not ideal. Never mind, I'll keep looking. Good thing I'm almost 36 wks so quite safe to walk bah..
However, walking long distances is a real challenge nowadays

My other pet peeve is, I have difficulty falling back to sleep in the middle of the nite after i wake up to pee. Sigh, a very under-rested mommy to be.

agnes,
oh cool, thanks for the heads up.

Pumpkin,
wow, really travelling in style. hahaha I love the engine sound of a maserati.

yalo P3, Dr Paul very cool one...:p So in case my gynae nt around, I ask him to deliver me,hehe :p

Agnes, wah ur list very detail thks

Nancy,
I oso woke up, tossed and turned every nite..Was telling my hubby that when he's back next mth, there is no space on the Queen size mattress for him cos I need the space to toss and turn. Ask him to zz on flr..hahhaa..

Nancy,
same here. Difficulty getting back to sleep after waking up at night to pee. Worse is turning in bed. Feel like a beached whale whenever I try to turn or get out of bed. Also when I try to get up when squatting or sitting on the floor. Aiyo ... have slightly sprained both my wrists as a result.

mangogal..must copy as much so that my hubby will take note for me then. I very KS...hehe..hope it helps. But it will oso be good to discuss with your doc on his style. My doc say go hospital when contractions is every 10mins+. But my SIL doc told her 5mins...so alot depends on your doc, i think.

May,
re: slimming centres
Am a bit skeptical of them. Besides they charge an arm and a leg for the sessions. Heard that once you stop you tend to pile back on. Think diet (cut down on carbo) + exercise (e.g. swimming?) is still the best.

A no of my friends put on a lot of weight due to pregnancy too. But am glad to say that even the slowest of them lost the excess weight latest one year post delivery.

We can do it!