(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Grace ...

you ask your fren if her PIS is the normal one or advance one? the advance one has this massage function which helps to promote let down or something ... if its the normal PIS without that new function ... a brand new one is going at $419 at 1st few years.

alfafa: yup yup i think so too... of course not immediately but if we can hold some meet ups maybe 4 mth later hee hee will be interesting

Re BB sleeping on own bed:
I plan to let BB sleep on own cot, cos our bed not big enough...already now my hubby complain say I squeeze him till the edge and he got no space liao, haha.

What abt after confinement, do u gals intend to let BB sleep on cot in another room (BB room) or sleep on cot in same room as you? Initially tot BB cot need to be in our room cos afraid can't hear BB cry at nite, but my cousin says as long as door not closed, we can hear one.

Oh yah before I forget. Previously I enquired from a few mommies about their 2nd hand Glenn Doman flashcards. I have since bought a 2nd hand English reading kit.

A very nice lady got back to me today to say she's willing to sell her full set (infant all the way through to 3-4yrs old) Eng and Maths at $250 each + the respective GD books, and Mandarin set at 280. If you take Eng + Mandarin then $500.

If anyone is interested pls email to [email protected] directly.

Grace ...

Yap here is the link for PIS Original

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/detail.htm?ProductID=BTF%2D21

here is the link for PIS advanced

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/detail.htm?ProductID=BFBP%2D3

alfafa77 ...

now i have no energy to shop for a bed and what more try to prep him for his own room ... so i will do everything aft i pop lar =p maybe by then he change his mind again heehee

teddybaby ...

yes can hear one cos super LOUD but if you are a heavy sleeper ... you might want to get a baby monitor so that cfm can hear movement and cry in the next room

teddybear,
wish I could put bb's cot in another room, but unfortunately, my house is such that we have one room downstairs and two upstairs. And we don;t have bathroom/wc upstairs. So we have shifted temporarily to the downstairs room. Only one room so baby cot has to be next to our bed. Guess it will be easier on us for the first few months also.

Seabreeze,
yah yah true he might change his mind again!

Teddybaby (sorry typed teddybear by mistake just now!)
I also bought a baby monitor. Saw my bro/sil using it at their place and found it extremely useful. They don't have to go running into the baby room at the slightest sound. Only have to look at their baby monitor to see if anything is up. I bought one with both audio and visual capabilities.

bye janbebe

Sunshine,
I asked my SIL to buy for me from california. It's supposedly the most highly rated set in Amazon (and they had many many different ones). Price was USD140 or 145. Can't rem exactly.

Brand is Summer Infant. Model is "Day and night handheld colour video monitor"

Can see colours, good battery life (also AC adapter but I need to buy a normal step up transformer for it at the hardware store), up to 350 feet range, auto night vision for dark rooms.

We need one esp because I intend to put baby in her own room in time to come.

Got this info:

Back in the middle of your pregnancy, your baby's weight was made up of only two percent fat; now that percentage has soared to closer to 15 percent (and will increase to 30 percent at term). Which means your baby's once skinny arms and legs are now quite plump…and irresistibly, squeezably soft.

This explains why baby will be gaining lots of weight in the 3rd trimester.

Baby clothings:
The shop at AMK is the cheapest so far, 4pcs for $10 and lots of diff brands of cloth nappies. Intend to do the last min stock-up from there.

Baby sleeping:
Try not to let bb sleep with you. My fren's son slept with the mum until 10 yrs old and the poor HB has to sleep on the floor.

moomooland,
not sure about shaving practices during delivery. If you are keen, can try brazilian waxing. Find Strip's brazilian wax quite painless and very clean, all done in 15 mins. Might be a bit painful like ants bite the first time. Cleaner after delivery with all the bleeding and lochia.. Its slightly less than 60 bucks including GST. Heard honeypot is good but never try them. Think Strip has more outlets than honeypot.

alfafa,
first 1 or 2 times might feel painful and uncomfy. Subsequently, I rate it as painless. The kind of wax that strip uses is good, unlike those kind of wax that other salons uses for underarm or leg wax. Go for the hard wax, faster, painfree and lesser regrowth... Go try for it..

devil:: me also determined to put #2 on the cot!! otherwise kingsize bed also not enough. Now we let him know at night sleep on his own he NIGHTMARE cry... till hubby and i heartache.. in the end also relented let him zzz with us.

Me Just back from gynae... bb is at 2.5kg at 35wks. Confirmed will be csecting on 26feb.. hehe! 3more wks. so exciting.

wintertime
can pass me your cordlife representative contacts?
btw, u got $50 for referral and $50 for ur own deduction?
thanks ah.. wanted to PM u but ur pm not activated..

moomooland
that day u ask abt waxing i got replied u leh. maybe u nv see. hehes. u wan go honeypot ah?
i intend to go strip at wheelock one. but since u say honeypot got 1 for 1 for $60plus, den we can share the amount? cheaper ma i don mind.
but wen u wan to do? me now at 35wks already.
u let me noe again k..

waxing / shaving - i wld actually advise u to opt for waxing instead of shaving... reason is that for shaving, the hair grows back faster... plus u will have lochia & be wearing pads... for me, when the hair starts to grow, its super duper itchy! esp after shaving! as compared to waxing, the hair growth is slower so by the time the hair starts growing back, lochia may have already stopped and wun need to wear pad le =P thats my own experience la... heee heee... and, pain depends on individuals... everyone has their own pain threshold... initially when i did it the 1st time, was almost painfree! 2nd time felt some pain, 3rd time also felt some pain but to me is tolerable... jus tahan awhile and after that, smooth, fair, hairless down under!!! lurve that feeling! heee... feel like xiao mei mei... hahaha!!!

since last night and this morning, didnt feel any baby movements... was quite worried... cos i didnt sleep well last night and usually can feel her moving.. but didnt feel anything... so i called my gynae's clinic, the nurse asked me go for ctg... i went but my gynae off le.. so she did for me... after that phew! cn hear the heartbeat... then she said will show to my gynae tmr... had a bit of problem locating heartbeat as well.. according to the nurse, she said bb small so swimming all over the plc cnt find it... *shrugx* anyway she very nice.. she waited for me though clinic supposed to close at 1pm.. i arrived 1.15pm =p on top of that, she didnt charge me for the ctg ... but duno she will charge to my next visit or nt.. i think she closed her accts for that day le.. then lazy to on comp n machine.. hahaha! anyway she was quite nice.. reassured me and told me what to look out for... she said i missed the gynae as well.. if came earlier then friday dont need to come back liao... dang!

but dunno why bb nt really moving leh... i cn feel hardening on n off but nt funny active movements like the past few days... dunno is it becos bb tired or affected by my cough... =(

Gynae Updates

Just done with my 35week 1 day check. Baby is about 2.75kg and continues to be in a head down position.

Also had my GBS swap done and because I complained of pelvic pressure and tightening of tummy, gynae did my first VE (she asked me if she cld do one) and there is not dilatation.

Cindy,
Why do you have to go for C-section?

missycandy
i tink ctg is free one right.. heng u call the clinic up. at least now much more relieved. u try talkin to bb more.. and pat ur tummy.. kekes

i agree with u.. i wont wan to shave. i cant imagine the stubs all growin out ltr part and tgt with my lochia. i will go mad. hehes. tho' i nv wax b4 but i would rather go do it b4 my delivery.. kekes

missycandy

don't worry dear. since your ctg report came out fine all should be ok. but continue monitoring and don't hesitate to call your gynae if you think there is anything amiss.

queenie

for cordlife, if you are going for the 10 or 21yr plan, only the 'referral' person gets a $50 cheque. It is only with the annual plan that you too get an additional $50 discount.

I just signed up with cordlife today after my appt.

queenie - must pay wor.. the nurse was saying ard 16 something... but i think she lazy to on the comp liao... hahah so lucky me! =P i shake my tummy she also dun wana move leh... =\ plus i keep getting tightening feelings yesterday and today on n off...

promegranate - she says normal but will still show to gynae to interpret lor... so must wait for gynae to see b4 i can breathe properly...

anyway the nurse also funny... at first say if contractions are often every few minutes for few hrs then call.. but sometimes may not even experience contractions also can be going into labour and dilated... ehh like that how i know what to look out for ? i said ya.. also if water bag burst or bloody show... then she said sometimes also wun have that... so have dont have then how? my only worry is bb stop moving... suay suay bb end up tangled up with the cord we also wun be able to see or detect til we go scan right? =\ then i read online the baby center if experience constant ache at V and back... tell gynae but the nurse say normal as bb getting bigger leh... like that how to report? blur le... =( so i cn only look out for waterbag burst, bloody show, no movements and regular contractions.... right ? shld be bah.. hahaha! anyway few more days can see my lil one le.. cnt wait.. !

promeganate
thanks.. at least now i know. hehes. is ur cordlife rep same as wintertime?

missycandy
wow. i didnt noe is so ex.

Queenie

I'm not sure whether wintertime has the same cordlife rep as me. I called the main line and was connected to her. I took the 21yr plan.

missycandy

I can understand your anxiety. At this point of time when space is short in tummy, baby will move lesser too. Plus the CTG wld have shown baby's normal heart rate. Hopefully gynae will call you tomoro to clarify things.

promegante - hope so ba... the nurse said bb still small so hard to find the heartbeat.. then keep moving ard.. but i didnt feel anything lor... and i seriously doubt the baby is that small ba... *shrugx* anyway friday my appt le... hope bb cn tahan til then =) thanks prom!

Queenie,
Don't think CTG is free.

missycandy,
lucky you, don't have to pay for it. I had to be strapped for near half hr for the CTG.

Promeganate,
my baby's weight is only 2.1kg at 34+4 weeks. Gynae says average leh. Can feel more frequent contractions and pelvic is getting heavier. hope can last for another 2 to 3 weeks..

missycandy,
I was charged $45 for CTG last Thur! and my gynae questioned me why i didn't do a proper baby kick count when I showed him my baby kick chart - sometimes very low, sometimes very high. I'm suppose to rush to A&E for CTG scan if baby kick count drop below 50%. He said he got case whereby baby neck get tangled up with the cord. So, he want me to be serious in keeping track of baby kick count.

idlecat - ya... i also worried abt the cord tangled up with bb thats why i went to do it... plus bb also nt really moving lor... so jus go and do...

tsp - i wasnt strapped very long la... less than 30mins? but more than 15 ba... plus bb keep moving accordin to the nurse.. though i cldnt really feel lo...

jus nw went to lie dwn awhile... feeling tired... then can feel bb moving le... *phew* hubby play with her also... tap my tummy then she move... hehehe

hi was sick so didnt came in.. hadcold.. this thread so fast i really cant catch up.... saw somthing abt shaving? we need to do the shaving ourselves before delivery?

IDAARSHAD,

Hihi... have transferred u the money at 19:21 today. Wanted to email u the details but there seems to be something wrong with my hotmail account. Keep hanging. If u need details of the transfer, let me know again ok?

RE: Shaving

I saw in my friend's TMC bill.. they charge $10 for shaving but i not sure whether it is for C-sec or for the natural birth cos she was suppose to give birth naturally but ended up E-csec
But i heard from my colleagues it really depends on how ur hair grow down there... they dont really shave all.. they only shave where the gynae need to make the epi, so if that area no hair, no need to shave.

missycandy,
when bb grows bigger, the space in our tummy gets lesser so we may not feel as much movement as before. That is why doc will put us on CTG cos that more accurate as it measure heartbeat too.