(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Queenie
You can pull up the dress and don't sit on it and use blanket to cover lower body. This way will not get stain easily.

Pinksorbet
I bringing my own PJs also. I had 2 old nursing bras and got another 4 more. Hee......KS abit. Will be bring 3 pcs during hospital stay.

i think it up to individual too..cos also must think whether can afford to pay for so many year the fee to store... what happens if like after 10 yrs u cant afford to pay the storage fee then how?

$25K??what that huh? SCBB never metion need to pay anything if need to use the stem cells from their bank...
the thread is really like MRT.. sometimes dun know where did i stop at the post

pinksorbet
don mention
i got passdown nursing bras frm my cousin. about 4-5 pcs.. i tink there is one brand at metro dept store selling nursing bra ard $11-$9 each. tink the brand is impression or something. previously other mommies were talking about it. see if any of them can confirm the brand ...

haha. it nv occurs to me that my hb will be scared of anything. coz in my eyes he is v strong. like my pillar. but until my gynae drawn tube of blood frm me previously i noticed that he turned his head away from me n gynae. LOLS.
but anw, scare oso cant be help. im sure ur hb will wan to be there with you and ur baby during the birthing process. perhaps juz tell him don go dwn and see lor. kekes.

Queenie, ya loh.. I remember last time, they just open and put it for me. I think I will just let it be for the 1st pack. I will bring extra just in case 1 pack is not enuff.
If you start your contraction at home and you delay the time of going to the hospital, I think maybe will be so drama. So we have to take note.
I remember last time the administration staff asked me need wheel chair to wheel me in or not. I told her I still can walk on my own.

Pinksorbet, about nursing bras, I think I will buy from spring maternity. They selling at $29.90 I think. I will be getting two new ones, I have old ones at home but without padding de. Going to get two with soft padding.

Jasmin - thanks! since BHG is near my workplace, i can pop down to take a look...not willing to spend like $40 to $60+ on one nursing bra...hehe

Queenie - ya he said he will look at me instead...mayb if i give him the option of not going inside with me to the delivery ward he will? hehe...

ling.. i am having a lobang for huggies ultra.. very good quality.. cmes in 2 pc pack.. $0.25 cents each.. i have bought drypers.. but more ex a bit then the lobang i have here.. so my 4th bb is lucky.. get good pampers at a fraction of its price... will consolidate orders for march / april mummies.. will collect in bukit gomabk and bring homt to sengkang... let me know if u want?

Queenie, tks.. i wil if i realli feel uncomfortable..

wanna ask ur.. did ur experience below breast centre part & above ur tum tum tightness & pain?? i experience once on my cny eve.. my hub was drivin bside mee.. he remb gynae told him dat if i encountered ani discomfort, juz lie dwn.. & is true, after i lower dwn my seat, e pain stop after awhile.. dan after dat i keep tokin to my gal, tell her to b a gd gal inside.. & while i was tokin to her, i keep cryin.. im afraid sumthin might happened to her inside.. which i worried too much ler..

i tink im gg b sick again.. nw havin sore throat, & e las few daes keep havin nose block & flu..
nw my whole body is achin.. hope i can go hm earli tonite to rest but tis wun happened as im havin my lesson todae.. =(

sun
haha u ask me this qns i so stunned. i oso donno leh. me oso fTM . hahahaha. tink we juz pack everything in our bag can le?

kome
ya hor. im bringin 2 pjs. one is dress. one is one set de. think for the set one is unavoidable. or maybe i go buy 1 more dress one. kekes. the one set is so nice and comfy until i don bear it to get stained. tink i will pack some incontinence sheets in my bag too. sicurry later tmc charge $ again if i request for it.

siohchong
haha ya i read from other mommies if u donate to SCBB den wan tk back 25k. anw, u may not be able to get back ur own child's cordblood. coz maybe donated out liaos.
i tink one year $250 i still can die die fork it out bah. cordlife have annual plan mah. u don have to sign the 10 yrs one. even if u wan sign 10 yrs, according to the promotion they having nw, u oni got to pay for 8 years. all these can be paid thru baby's CDA if u opting for CDA payment. like tt is like GOVT is paying half for u? other mommies pls correct me if im wrong. kekes

Irene - ya few weeks ago i went to Spring Maternity...they were having discounts on certain nursing bras but i didn't get it then cos dunno how much my boobs will grow eventually so intending to get them onli after w34 or something....

Re: Storing cordblood

Heard that most likely bb won't be able to use back own cordblood so hb and i decided not to store it but donate it instead....

siohchong ....

you check with the lady first cos i read before that once you donate you have no rights to your stemcells anymore. and in the event that you need to use it *touchwood* ... it will cost you $25k to use

you now can use your CDA account (the one where the govt match $1 to $1) to pay for the storage

think once the kid is 21 yrs old they can take over liao ... its like buying a bio-insurance

irene
spring maternity selling nursing bra for $29.90? mayb i can take a look as AMK hub hv their boutique...

queenie
heehee... pai seh...
ok will pack all in my hospital bag...

Queenie,

Yup better to use CDA to pay for cordblood banking.

Siohchong,
Hubby and I spoke to SCBB rep at kkh cos their HQ is there and their rep is always lurking around. Hubby threw lots of questions at her and found out that we have to pay 25k in future if we want to use it. Hubby not very happy with that cos we 'donate' the cordblood but they are making money out of it by SELLING to others at such a hefty price.

sorbet
bb won't be using back own cordblood? how can be possible? the purpose of storing is meant for bb' use in future if required ma... if bb cannot use it, then no point in storing right?

promeganate
coz SCBB are charging a fee for storing the cord blood ma... u paying 25k if u want to use? other oso paying the same amount?

irene
haha sometimes very hard to guauge when to admit hospital lor. i read some mommies dilly dally after waterbag burst..or contractions comes.
but mrs wong bb taught us to admit immediately after any of the 3 symptons appear.

Re: nursing bras
i was told by my sis that mothercare's is the most comfy one. donno how true la. but is quite ex..
ya i saw tt spring maternity sells that too. but i dont intend to buy yet. perhaps after delivering 3rd day onward then go and buy if those passdown one is too small for me by then.

pinksorbet
haha i asked hb if he wan follow me to delivery ward. he say he will. i told him is ok. coz if he not going with me maybe i opt for c-sect with GA.
lols.

ling
i didnt experience that before. i always kenna the V part with sudden and acute pain but is only for like half second and is gone.
keep urself well hydrated. i tink is cny visiting, munching, drinking tt cause some of us to be getting sick..

Promeganate
wow. ur hb is good at throwing questions! haha. luckily he did. if not many of us will be goin to donate to them instead. but seriously, why would they need to charge us at such a hefty price..?? even with pte banking for 21yrs storage is only $5k plus.. wow. they are earning 5 times lors. so they shd be richer then pte banks? :x

Queenie
Ya, better get a dress PJs instead. If i remembered correctly they did place a waterproof sheet (Disposable type one) below my backside to avoid staining their bed.

pinksorbet ...

my gynae was telling me really is not so much for the bb ... its more for US ... cos as parents the stemcell will def be a match for us and even the grandparents have a good chance of matching

and he oso say that some illness are non-genetic like cancer or heart disease ... so the child can use back their stemcells

and that there are alot of research going on now ... so he say that it will be beyond our imagination what the stemcells can do for us lor

so i feel that maybe should do more research on the purpose of the stemcells before making a decision

for me i just trust that my gynea knows what he is saying as he is a SUPER practical gynae ... he rather i spend money to store the stemcells and will scold me if i say i wan to go and spend $200-$300 to do 3D scan type

queenie
u still give opt for yr hb to choose whether to follow u to delivery ward... tot hb sure must follow to give us support?

sun
is ok lah
hehes. if not we hand carry our own pads into delivery ward. hahas. like tt they cant charge us..

Re: nails
tink i muz remove my nail polish asap le. very scare i will go birthing anytime oso.. -cross fingers-

i hope to carry baby until 40weeks.. despite im getting SWollen everyday. lols

Re: Anti swelling
i read the dumex website. that apple, celery and cucumber can helps. maybe i shd go try ..

Sun - this is wat i read lor...

"Doctors do not recommend that you bank cord blood based on the slight chance that your baby will have a disease that could be treated with stem cells. If that should happen, your baby will probably need stem cells from someone else rather than his or her own stem cells. Stem cells from the child's own cord blood often cannot be used, because they may have led to the disease in the first place.

Banked cord blood is not likely to be helpful to your baby, but it may help a sibling who has an illness that could be treated with a stem cell transplant, including leukemia, sickle cell disease, Hodgkin's lymphoma, or thalassemia. Doctors recommend that you bank your baby's cord blood only if a family member already has one of these illnesses."

sunshine, as quoted from the SCBB brochure:

"Reseach has shown that there is an extremely low probabilty that the donor should ever need or benefit from his/her own cord blood unit. Transplant physicians may not feel that the patient's own cord blood unit is the best choice as it may already carry the genetic abnormality that led to the blood disorder or immune system failture."

My sister-in-law used to work in Cordlife and she also told me that usually the baby can't use back his own cordblood for treatment. Only useful if there's siblings who may be able to benefit from the storage.

seabreeze
^5 my gynae oso quite practical one. i ever asked him for comments abt storing cord blood during my last visit. he told me if we don have budget go ahead with it. but as for which pte banks to store. he say both is basically the same.

sun
hehe u noe la.. women give option for shiok sake one. but i really hope he can be with me all the time thru out the delivery process and not to go away to Smoke.... so i will prepare his jacket, PSP, coins to vending machine for him, to keep him beside us. i don wish to see him miss the birthing part..

sorbet/sportyger

icic... but both bank didn't mentioned abt tat b4 lei...
tsk tsk tsk... a lot of 'hidden pts'

Irene
Should be able to. Got to tell them in advance.

Pinksorbet
I will also be buying my own maternity pads to bring to the hospital. I dun like the string types.

Jasmin

Does it mean that it will make more sense to private bank our baby's cord blood if we have earlier banked our first baby's cord blood since if anything happens, the siblings can use each other's cord blood?

Dear all, very efficient, i had signed up with cordlife is jus an hour!!! so impressed. I was contemplating which bank to sign up when i finally decide to sign up with cordlife. Call upthis lady and was worried that I would pop anytime.. so i offer to go down to meet her at TMC booth.. to my surprise, she offered to come to my house and let me sign the contract despite she's on half day leave today!!! professional!!!.. and i had jus sign up and have the kit with me!!!
if you gals wan signed up with cordlife, can get me as referral too.. u will be entitled with 50 bucks rebate!!! btw, i signed up the 10 yrs plan instead of annual plan, since i have more savings in future!!!

Anyway remember during Mrs Wong's class, she mention initial month, good to use the biodegradable detergent. Anyway knows where to get this? Must go to TMC to buy issit? She said the Pigeon/Tollyjoy detergent keep for when baby is bigger 2-3 months then use.

quennie, try to settle it fast cos u dont know when u will pop mah.. at least if u decides to donate to public bank, do contact them too cos u will need to get the kit and sign contract.. don't be like my gf, delay and delay.. and by the time she popped, she did not opt to even donate to public bank. so in the end, i think the gynae throw away the cord blood leh.. so wasted..

actually when i read the SCBB website ... i dun see them mention the $25k anywhere in the website and if not for 1 of the mummy who tell me this ... i really wont know

if i didnt talk to my gynae ... i would really have donated my #2's cordblood already

anything my gynae told me was that SCBB is very strict when it comes to collection and even if its just short of a few ml ... they actually throw the whole pack away while for pte bank they try to save as much as possible

thats why he feel that SCBB actually 'waste' alot of cordblood which could have put to better use

queenie ...

my gynae and the clinic assistant keep telling me that the cordblood is stored for my hubby and me ... not so much of the child lor cos we are the one who will grow old first mar

so in the end i discuss with my hubby and he was oso q surprised when i told him abt the $25k thingy so since can use CDA ... then just pte bank lor

wintertime, did you sign up for FBI card? lady from Cordlife told me, there will be $50 rebate in the form of cheque for FBI card members or baby's massage (worth $98).

Kristen

your current baby's cordblood may come in use for the other siblings should the need arise even though you may not have pte bank the elder sibling's cordblood.

sun, sportyger

the thing is public bank paints this picture that so far no one has needed their cord blood cos they want us to donate our baby's cord blood.

The private banks don't say the above cos they want our business too.

They all have their own agenda.

What erks hubby and I is that public bank takes cord blood from us for free, and yes they spend money storing the blood but make much much more money selling it. And have you checked their website? They actually open the donated cord blood to people all over the world. so imagine the money the govt is making. On the other hand, when parents are desperately in need of help, they won't be looking at the price but thanking god and donor for having donated the cord blood

moomooland
very hard to decide as wouldn't noe whether how many kid i'll hv... if i plan for 2 kids but somehow only hv 1 kid, then oso consider waste $$ to store it right? *headache*

winterime
ya i tink i better tell hb about our discussion tdy. and get him to agree with me asap. hehes.
u opt for normal CC payment or CDA payment?

seabreeze
ya store for hb and i or even other siblings snd if he have, and grandparents. but is it confirm baby he himself wont get to use it?

starflower/sun
i cant recall leh..

cord blod, actually hor, it's jus an insurance.. i don't wan to have a chance to use the cord blood at all.. but i am jus worried.. wat if, wat if bb or bb's sibling need the cord blood in future, then i would have regret not storing it today.. tt's y i will store this for first kid. 2nd child, maybe donate out lor..

quennie, ya.. very efficient, tat lady very nice and very informative also..'
if anyone wants her contact, i can refer her to you.

sun, ya.. i paid $2888 via CDA fund.. i calculate if i take 10 yrs for stem cord, it will be more expensive. got addditional deduction.. 50 dollars if got referral, and another 50 bucks for FBI card holders..so i felt it's quite worth it..

moomooland, ya.. i got additional rebate for FBI card.

sunshinebaby ...

i use the kodomo and pureen baby detergent when he newborn ler ... no problem =)

re: hubby standby

i still rem that my hubby was with me throughout the night and we both tried to zzzz but the delivery ward was really cold

what i dun like most was when the nurse keep coming in to poke their fingers into my V area to see how many cm diliated etc

think around 8am or so ... i gynae say already 7cm liao so burst my water bag and they told my hubby maybe got 1 more hour to wait so he can go for his breakfast

but at 8.10am i told the mid-wife that i want to poo hahahahaha then they check and say 10cm liao so i faster call my hubby and luckily he was at the cafe downstairs and ordered a BAO only hahahaha so faster run back up at 8.20am like that

then very fast lor ... everyone get ready then i just listen to my gynae instruction ... 3 push and my #1 was out at 8.38am heehee

so unless you are at the start of the whole thing like 3cm or what ... he can still go further but once at the end ... he better stay PUT lor cos if once start pushing can be really fast one

wintertime
but there's saying tat bb wouldn't get to use his/her cord blood in future... bb's cord blood will be useful for parent, sibling etc etc but not for his own...

seabreeze
haha. ur previous birthing exp is so comical. hb running back..

im crazy maybe will pack food in my bag oso.
uncle toby, chocolate bars..for him. hahahas.

ya each have their own agendas one la.
sell flower sure say flower smell nice one ma.
so in the end is see ourselves liaos.