(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

seabreeze
u on any epidural for yr #1?
the nurse so experienced? by using finger can noe how many cm our V dilated? i tink i oso dun like the feeling someone keep poked into my V... erks

queenie

talking abt chocolates. I just had a whole snicker bar with almonds!! And I'm trying to recover from a cold. hehehe naughty huh? But really this is the FIRST time i indulged in chocolate during my pregnancy. I've been a good girl huh? Getting naughty closer to EDD. maybe getting impatient!

queenie ...

i agree with wintertime that BEST is dun need to use lar but my gynae was saying that as long as its non-genetic like heart disease ... where he discribe as 'machine breakdown' or leukema where the bone marrow just breaks down .. all this can use the stemcells and he was telling me some research that the US army was embarking on but stopped by the Bush etc

so he say that the use of stemcells will be ALOT next time ... in other words he strongly feels that if i can afford it ... then just pte bank it lor

quennie, i initially i wanted to use cc payment cos me n hb says tt we don't wan touch bb's CDA fund... cos we wan bb to keep his own money.. ahhaha.. but after much discussion, we think with such bad economy, might as well opt for CDA.. now cash is king.. but we agree that we will "return" this sum of money back to bb's CDA in due time.

queenie ...

i agree lar ... thats why i say everyone will tell their story and highlight points that favour them lor ... we have to do our own research to make a decision on our own

for me its the lazy way out - listen to gynae heehee

sunshinebaby ....

yes i was on epudural ... thats why when i told them that i want to poo they increase the dosage so that i dun have the want to push sensation ... but when its really time to push ... i dun feel anything liao hahahaha so just listen to my gynae's instruction lor

cos he will look at the machine that track our contraction ... at the peak of the contraction then he will ask me to push

i felt like big time constipation like that hahahaha but my son q small ... 2.79kg only so v easy to pop

yar lor ... keep poking into my v and tell me how many cm lar and that they can feel my bb's head liao *faint*

for this time round ... alot of ppl tell me to try without epidural lor ... cos actually my pain thrash hold is q high from my past experience heehee but i say i see how lor

my hubby agreed that if i dun take epidural then he pass me the $800 in cash for the 'pain' that i need to go thr hahahahaha q a good deal hor

any hr to KO... counting down...

promeganate
will our gynae doing VEs on us when we go back for chk up? roughly by which wk? wk36?

seabreeze
u on epidural still can feel the urge to 'push'?
but y gynae wanna increase the dosage tat makes u no 'pushing' sensation at all? tot u hv the feel, easier to do the push?

tat's quite a gd deal wor... u should give it a try since yr pain threshold is high... kekeke

promeganate ...

i think its the number of fingers that they can push into the v lor

but some of my fren dun have the mid-wife coming in to check using finger oso hahahaha i think different mid-wife different pattern lar

but mt A one like all v experience and when i admit to the hospital they can even joke and tell me ... oh your gynae is dr cheng ar ... he v handsome hor and we see him almost everyday *faint* that time i already got contraction liao lor and can still tell me all this hahahaha

sun, ya.. i know.. but at least we or his siblings can use it... of cos i hope won't get a chance to use it at all.. but never know mah.. tt's my thinking.

send u guys this link which i read this morning.
http://parentsguidecordblood.org/content/usa/banklists/listasia.shtml#asia

at least cordlife, there's many branch and more establish. there's not much details on stemcord according to this website.. anyway, i did ask around, most of my gf also think cordlife is more reputable.

seabreeze, wah.. ur hb so funnie.. i am still thinking if should use epi or not.. see how i "perform" on that day lor.. maybe i got a higher pain threshold leh? keeping fingers cross. but anyway, the idea of giving u the 800 bucks is gd leh.. maybe i can suggest to hb also.. wahahhaha

sun, my gynae done the cervical check on me when i was wk 35 plus... not tt painful as the rest of mummies claim to be.. maybe my gynae more gentle.

sunshinebaby ...

yap ... thats why i can imagine that they didnt give me v high dosage for the epidural oso

they increase my dosage cos they were not ready yet ... cos usually after gynae burst the waterbag still need to wait for 1 more hour ... and i had 3cm to go mar ... then suddenly within 10mins i was 10cm dilated so they oso caught off guard lor

but the most gan cheong was really my hubby lar ... cos suppose to can go for 1hr breakfast suddenly call to come back

see how lar ... my mum told me that my bro and sis v fast ... so she never take epidural oso ... only took when she gave birth to me heehee

seabreeze
yr mum's time got epidural available? my mum said during her time nothing at all... juz natural birth...
tink norm 1st one will be a bit tough, subsequent one will be much better right?
my gynae oso tell me not to worry, everything will decide at delivery ward as u wouldn't noe yr own pain threshold until tat moment...

Ladies, TGIF! Yeah, me going to see my gynae now. Byee!

pinksorbet: cheap nursing bras like Impression/Eternity ($9.9) also available at Giant.

Wintertime: U bot the Da Feng Cao? How much per pack?

wintertime ...

this one is i bargain with him one ... cos to him he has to spend the $800 ... its a matter of giving to the hospital or i keep mar hahahahaha

then i told him if i dun get any benefit no incentive for me to not go for epidural oso mar ... since my #1 i had a pleasant delivery heehee

i opted for stemcord cos they had a tie up with my gynae =)

sunshinebaby ...

yap my mum's era got epidural liao heehee

agree with your gynae ... dun think too much lor like this time round i also take it easy lar just keep reminding myself to wash my hair before i go and pop hahahahaha

teddybb, update us after ur visit.. i am going off to buy it with my mum.. think 1 dollar per pack per usage if i not wrong. i buy liao then let u all know..

seabreeze, hees.. gd gd, i think whichever one we choose, as long we keep the cord blood, it's an insurance for us too.. if i don't keep in the ptve, then i will opt to donate it out.. no pt throwig away. who knows it might be of gd use by others right??

seabreeze,

hahaha the nurses at MT A funny huh? So you have a handsome gynae huh? Aiyo, how to 'open up' to him? ;)

sun,
different gynae's have diff practice and do VE at diff times. I don't knw when my gynae will do VE le, have yet to discover!

my nose is leaking big time.. plus my cough becoming worse... =| sian ah... but guai guai taking antibiotics... hope to get well asap!!!

we plan to donate cordblood... =P

bra - impression have at least 38D/DD? dont knw hw much more i shld gauge for the cup size leh... =\

today sit in office... really wan to sleep... tryin not to fall asleep and act busy... lol... becos im usually on the go outside so dont really have opportunity to slack and take naps unless in cabs =P

last night kept experiencing pain at V area... =( plus the cough... also had fever... so that kept me up the whole night... and peeing as well... so xin ku man... nw i paranoid.. keep checking if any water bag leak or bloody show... lol

anyone having itchiness at v area? seems like v area is widening, then the folds get sore when over-scratched. i get that sometimes, and i cant get to sleep

wonder if this is called vaginal infection, coz it's not exactly the inside v area...

*sorry for being so graphic*

promeganate ...

yar think in his younger days he should be v charming heehee even my hubby says so =p

mine likely to do next week ... i had to take the anti-biotics the last round cos of the step B thingy lor ... think this round should still have lar

seabreeze,

I also asked hubby for 'push prize' so that I will be motivated to go without epidural and he asked me what I want. But I don't knw what I want le. Maybe cash is a good idea...hmmm

But really man when I realised that the cost of epidural is btw 800 - 1000 (depending also on the ward you choose) my eyes popped out man!

seabreeze
my hb recommend me to take epidural so tat i can rest properly but most important he'll not hv a hard time too when i'm in labour pain... buay ta han him... hahaha

Promeganate
hehe chocolates. im eating that everynow and then esp when i get hunger pangs all of the sudden.
but tink i muz stop taking ferror rocher coz lately den realised got peanuts.. kekes

seabreeze
ya i agree. medical technology is getting more advanced. so the chances is higher that cordblood can be used for more other diseases.
hehe i oso lazy so rely on gynae. ask me go attend the talks now is impossible lor..
lol the nurses/midwife still can joke. so cute..

missycandy
poor thing. rem to drink more H20 ah.. and rest more.
lols act busy hor. i used to do that too

moomooland
i don have V area itchy.. had that during late 2nd trimester or early 3rd trimester.
got the urge to scratch. den i will go n wash with mild soap and cold water to relive.
a few times is gone le. i try to keep tt area dry..

Wintertime
lols juz told hb about the promotion plan. hb say go for cordlife lor. lols
i juz told him bb wont get to use.. most prob is ourselves, siblings or grandparents get to use.
but i told him touch wood better don get to use.

sun
i read somewhere if parents have medical history like enzema or asthma and one more but i forgot better avoid peanuts. i tink i got mild enzema but i still eat rocher. but nw i tink better curb it..

queenie, sun

I used to have peanut butter with bread for breakfast in trimester 1 then I read abt hw it could lead to allergy in baby so I stopped too.

queenie
not long ago i oso got enzema on my face... but aft apply medication, already recover... no history b4 mayb preggy so trigger enzema... so i can still take peanuts??

Moomooland
Most likely is viginal infection, better go see gynae to get the medicine. LAst time i have it and i went to see gynae to took medicine to apply.

I also heard from somewhere that its better not to take peanut when pregnant but forgot the reason.

sunshinebaby ...

i think thats q true too cos i had a good rest before i push ... so when i reach back to my room ... i was v alert and even started msg my fren to say that i pop liao etc heehee

in the noon/evening when my frens came to visit ... they say that i look super fresh lor i told him i was v high cos v happy heehee

thanks kome,

problem is, its perfectly fine now...gynae ever prescribed pessary to insert into v area, but it doesnt seem to help, coz the soreness is on the outside, not the inside of the v area.

nvm, i shall ask him later!

Wintertime,
Today I go gynae she didnt do cervical check for me and nevre say need to do leh? And Im 34weeks 6days today le. You also took up 10 yrs plan for cordlife ah, me too. But hor I thought FBI/SBI card got $450 rebate? I have to go back and check mine how much she charge me, I forgot liao. But I know mine is $450 for SBI rebate +$50 referral rebate.

promeganate
ya from 1st trimester i know peanuts allegey liaos. so i banned myself frm taking peanut butter. until i see ferrero rocher. i cant stop myself. :x now muz ban myself liaos.

heard even during BFing oso better avoid peanuts.

Queenie,
When I sign up coz the SBI card they gave $450 rebate mah, but I not sure is it becoz now CNY got promo than the rebate become $50 instead of $450, have to check with wintertime also.

the lady from cordlife did explain that without the CNY promo, the signup fee is $1.5K+ (thereabouts), so with the deduction of FBI $450,so plus 10yr storage it will still work out to be more expensive than the current CNY promotion which is $2888 (10yr storage)

Hey there mummies..
Had a great time following the thread today.. many talk abt stemcells today learnt alot from mummies here, didnt know abt the 25k required if needed from private bank loh..that amount is very incredulous..
For me, also lazy to choose Cordlife or Stemcord.. Since my gynae (also Seabreeze's gynae) recommend Stemcord, then I go for Stemcord loh..
But if I were to go for public bank, i guess i would just donate even when there is 25k thing when I know that I most likely won't be able to use in lifetime(or the baby's cord blood aldy donated to someone else, which is most likely to happen)but to know that I'm doing a good deed about the possibility of able to save someone although the public bank is earning alot of money through this..

It's also like if you give something to someone, it sort of aldy belong to the person and what the person is going to do abt it, you can't control mah

Cheerios

Moomooland..
It sounds like a yeast infection..if it is itchy. is it at the labia..?? labia is the folding skin on the sides of the vagina..
You may see milky liquid oozing out from vagina if its bad yeast infection..
Very bad case is have to take antiobiotics.. if only abit, eat yoghurt cos yoghurt has friendly bacteria and monitor first..

If really jialat, then get gynae to check loh..but monitor first loh if its not that bad cos if on tight budget, you have to pay for that consultation when just to ask gynae check.. or your next visit is coming soon? Then can ask your gynae shun bian check..

Cheerios

Seabreeze..
You gave birth to your number one at which week? Wah gd for you, easy push for number one.. i hope that mine also the same.. *cross fingers*
Henry Cheng's stitching good? I hope my tearing is not very bad..
Dunno why but i have a feeling my stupid cervix stubborn won't dilate so fast.. dilate slow = more suffering..

Cheerios