(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

devil, i think the main reason is to make the elder kids feel less threatened by the newborn ba, also make them willing to accept the newborn?

not sure the actual reason but heard of this so follow loh. i did it for #2 and now #3, will follow also.

meebaby - ya... I like a suan ku... honestly i have really not been on the public transport for long long time. Cos its not easy to being a pram and my ger age 14mth now... so i use to drive around...

Asura - ... till i met with someone who bang onto me last week. Thats y HB dun allow me to drive now till i give birth lor...

By the way, mummies who is giving birth in Mt E, have u ladies done the pre admission yet?

Morning Mummies,

Have been buzy over CNY. finally have some time chatting here.

Later i am going for my check up. my gynae advice me to go on weekly check up le. I am in 34w5d liao. Wonder when he will do the VE on me?
any idea which week usually gynae perform VE?

makan time!!!
2115884.gif

seabreeze,
thanks! i'll take a look at the fisher price rocker if i got a chance
rockers are good for bb to sleep and sit and play rite? can be used up to how old do you know?

sung ...

depends on the rocker that you buy ... the normal netted ones maybe use until 10mth or so? cos its q low

the fisher price one can convert from rocker to a 'chair' so can last longer

sung ...

alternatively you can get your frens to buy it as baby shower present ... at least they can get you something practial ... my colleague got me the high chair which my son used until 2yr++

hey gals, has u all decide to keep or donate your bb's cord blood?

I had just made enquiries to both stemcord and cordlife. Which one do you think it's better?
In terms of pricing, let me share for the benefits of some mummies here who might be interested.

Stemcord
First payment $850 with subsequent storage fees of $250 for 2nd yrs onwards.

Cordlife
They are hving this promotion.
$2888 for 10 yrs storage. i had made a quick calculation, this $2888 is cheaper than stemcord base on the same number of yrs.

I need to make a decision fast. any advice from anyone here?

sunshine, sorry can reply only now as hubby sick last nite..

Saw your lastest email, think I will order the goo n. diapers on my own cos' hubby is lazy to drive to street 52 leh..

Hi Wintertime,

I am planning to store my 2nd baby's cordblood with CordLife again. Yes, they are now having a promotion and it will end by 9 Feb.

For the benefits of those mummies who are repeat client of Cordlife, below info which I received from Cordlife may be helpful to you:

As this is a 2nd time banking with Cordlife, there is an exclusive discount of $600 off the upfront fee of $1400 + gst. Therefore, after calculating the discounts for the 3 different plans, as a repeat client yourself, the CNY promo is slightly more attractive towards the 10 years plan.

For example:

Annual plan: $800 + gst (upfront payment) and $250 + gst every year, billed on your child's 1st bday.

10 years plan: $888 + gst ( upfront) and free 2 years storage = $888 + ($250 x 8) = $2888 + gst.

21 years plan: $800 + gst (upfront) and 4 years free storage = $800 + ($250 x 17) = $5050 + gst.

You may notice that the upfront payment for the 10 years plan is $88 more expensive than the annual plan. This is because Cordlife is having the CNY promo that gives a 1 year free storage additionally. Therefore the pricing cant go below $2888 + gst.
Usually when there is not CNY promo, for repeat client, it will cost $3050 + gst.

wintertime

actually the difference btw both are
1) cordlife is fr AU while stemcord is setup by local...
2) cordlife store yr blood cells in 1 location whereas stemcord spilt into 2 locations

so realli depend on u which one u prefer, if wanna some saving, looks like cordlife's promo is better... but nobody will noe wat will happen in btw fr now till 10 yrs times...

Anyone is still getting a confinement lady when you already have a maid at home?

I am getting a new maid and she should be in by latest end Feb (my EDD 3rd week of March). I have intially booked for a CL becos I thought my MIL would not be able to help me with the confinement as she was just discharged from hospital in Dec last year. However, my MIL recently told me to forego the CL if my maid can come in before I deliver cos she can help me to cook the confinement food and the maid can help to do the washing and housework. Therefore, no need to get a CL esp when the economy now is so bad.

I am in a dilemma now cos I am worried that my MIL would not be able to help much in taking care of my baby since she is old and her health is not very good. Also, the maid is pretty new.

I have a maid at home, not intending to get a CL cos my mom will be doing my confinement for me.
She will basically cook for me and help me take care of bb while the maid wash and do housework and also care for the elder girls.

But then again, my maid has been with me for 4 months already. Yours is quite new so need to gauge her capabilities first.

Kristen,
My MIL also keeps on persuading me to get a maid instead of a CL. And she said she will help me cook and take care of baby. But my hubby and I were very insistent on NO. But we just ignored her, never reply or answer her on the new maid. We very bad hoh...

I bluff her I paid deposit of $400 to CL liaoz.. She helped me the first time round, but in the end, I have to do most of the stuffs... So this time round, I told myself I must get a CL. My MIL is more of the tai tai kind of lady... So I would prefer a CL.

Your maid is very new and will she be able to help?

kristen and sun, thanks.. i think i m more towards cordlife since the price is more attractive now.. got to settle this fast before my bb arrives.. thanks

kristen, if money is not an issue, just go ahead and get your CL.. at least u can be assure to rest well during the first month.. plus maid so new, she will not be able to handle many things. since u say ur mil is old liao, then how can she help u to take care during the night?? you will sure obliged and wake up at night to help out.
i had the same dilemna as u before jus tt i din get a maid, but in the end, after listening to my friends advice, i finally decided to opt for CL.. leave everything to CL and we jus rest and pump milk..

kristen
but yr MIL will take care of yr bb during the night? if not, tink will be a bit hard for u to take care as u need to hv plenty of rest unless u willingly to scarifice yr sleep during confinement period...
if CL is ard, she will handle all tis since u said yr maid is new...

kristen
i agreed w wintertime too...
get the CL if money not an issue, leave everything to CL, we juz rest n nourish our body back during tat mth...

wintertime
i oso hvn't decide which cord blood banking co to sign up... tink will hv to settle asap too...

sun, ya.. i had just called the sales person. i will make an appt with her soon to get the kit and sign immdiately. if you r going with cordlife hor, let me know, i can be your referral so we can get both 50 bucks discount.

prosper, ya.. decide fast.. cos all these got to be settle before bb arrives. we will be given a kit upon signing up.. we just have to bring this kit along during our delivery and the cord blood will have to be stored immediately.

As for cordlife, i was told tt the 2888 package can be deducted using bb's bank when govt credit the bb bonus.. alternatively, we can use credit card and have interest free installment plan.

Wintertime
Your EDD is very near, should ask the sales person quickly process for you. I had sign up last mth with cordlife. Scare might forgot to bring the kit along when rush for delivery.

Kome, yup... now i am waiting for bb's arrival.. hope to see him by wk 38. quite tired of waiting actually.. it's been a long 9 months since i preggie.

hope i got everything ready now. need to go buy "da feng cao" for bathing during confinement. later meeting my mum to buy tt.. think i m done with the stuff once i get this..

afternoon mummies. just back from glucose test (not those need to draw blood one.) results 9.4, doc say need to monitor n control diet liaoz :p if not bb will be too big. Got to cut down my pineapple tarts, durians n mango

asura - yeah same same, i also 2 units side!!! heehee. it's not safe to drive cos 1st the seat belt is too restraining, 2nd our judgement slower mah n easily kan chiong.

sun - doc say mine is 30 mar but my LMP is 16 jun. So like got a week difference leh.

re: maternity pads
i just went NTUC to check out. Those Kotex maternity pads is only like 26/28cm long only. but sofy got 40.5cm long one. so isnt it better for us to use the sofy one?

Thank you for all your advices...it seems that it is still advisable to get a CL afterall..

My hubby was thinking of bringing in the new maid after my confinement if we are getting the CL so that in term of expenses we can stretch a bit more. However, I am worried that the CL will not do all the housework such as ironing of our clothes, washing the toilets and changing our bedsheets since her main duty is to look after newborn and me plus cooking. Also I heard some CL may not like it becos she is as if being treated like a maid.

May I know anyone's CL has ever done the above housework chores exp when you do not have a maid at home? Can I ask the CL to wash and iron my hubby and elder child's clothes, wash toilets (???) when she is free?

This is my first time getting a CL therefore dont know what we can ask the CL do and what we should not ask her to do.

<font color="119911">bloom</font>,
thks bloom for the announcement.

<font color="119911">mummies</font>,
just sneak in while trying to clear the milk duct for few hrs liao but still can't get rid of it. breast already engorge but milk just cannot come out.now, managed to pump out 10ml of milk after massaging but breast are still full. sigh....me so forgetful, left my pump charger in hospital, y'day so panic cos without one of the pumnp equipment cannot pump liao. luckily, mange to borrow fr one of the forum mummies living in my estate wor, or else....

hai..didn't expect that my cow prince wanted to come out s0 early (wk 31.3days) to take ang pow. but at least, he let me enjoy my reunion dinner for the cny eve and the cny loh.

will update my blog when I have time. Have taken 3 photos of my boy. when call him, he just opened the eyes big big and stare at u.sian, everythg came unexpectedly. bb is just as tiny like a kitten weight 1720g. but doc said he is progressing well cos 10hr later after delivery, he off oxygen n can breath on his own. and within one day, he ttf fr nic to scn liao. y'day, feeding milk thru the tub. when call him, he opened his eyes big big looking ard. nurse even 'complaint' that he 's very active cos he kept shaking off the tub etc... until nurse got to wrap him and then plc somethg heavy under his little wrist so tat he cannot move so much.

anyway, he can only come bck after wk 35 or after 47 days depending on his feeding progress.

today is the third day since delivery. y'day, just discharge fr hospital.me normal delivery, fast wor within fews mins cow princejust slipped out. thks for one of the mummy's advice cos told my boy tat if he can tahan for 2 wk, try to if not pls dun let mummy suffer and be gd boy, come out fast. so without any much push, he just slipped out.

my summary of birth happening:
27/2(0630pm): Reach mum'plc at 0540pm after relatives visit n to temple.dinner at my mum plc.

0640pm: abt to finish dinner n felt a gust of warm liquid coming out. pray hard n dun let me see it's blood or else i....cos got 3 times experience since first trimster that warm liquid just gust out. thks god, check in toilet n it's transparent sticky liquid. but dun look like urine cos no smell. then plc pad but more n more coming out. so suspected waterbag leak n took a shower b4 heading to kkh.

hubby 's reaction kind of stunned, quickly finish, clear up the dishes. he also at lost. brother sent me to kkh.by the time, i reached kkh, my whole clothes, towel(plc under my bum) etc are wet.

7pm: reached kkh n immediately sent to delivery suit. given drip and antivirus drip.

0730pm: belt up to monitor bb heart beart n contractions. no contraction except water kept on leaking.

8pm-11pm: given steriod jab. first jab within 12hrs and hopefully can ta han so tat will be given sec one.
(no one asked me wanted to have epidural or laughing gas or not since i dun have any pains). hubby went home at 1040pm.

1128pm: first contractions came. nurse n doc came in every 15-30mins to check. so mid-wife given me 2 pink tablet to stop contraction doc said that hopefully can delay labour for 2 wk if possible.

but think medicine not fast enu to react.

28/2(12am): contractions came in every 5 mins, got the urge that somthing wanted to pop out but try to ta han and call for help.

12-1230AM: doc asked not to move and to ask me to ta han. doc duunno check wat use the machine to [rint somethings... then I shouted cannot ta han liso coming out soon... so mid wife plc inform notice calling code blue - calling all 3 units fr nic staff, doc and dunno what. quite a grand event whereby abt 20 staffs(wearing blue, purple and green clothings) fr 3 units all rush in. quickly set up the equipment within mins.

1240am: cervix also fully dilated so I asked doc if I can release out or not.

1240am: abt 7-8 doc (2 senior one) hold my legs cos my legs cramps. they can see bb head crowning liao. bec legs did not open wide enu so first push (dun really push)not really help.

0058am: doc cut a small cut. bb just slipped our on its own.cry 2 times b4 he was sent to nic. dun even need to use strength to push.

0400am: out of delivery suite to watd. can't slp wor...

of cos, I asked the midwife to call hubby and he called me back via delivery suite at 2am. he was shocked and lost.....cos lot of things undone like have not cut hair, not wash bb clothes, cl cannot come out (only can come out on 16/2). so now, temporary got to give up my gar playgrp thgs and let my mum standby as cl for 3 wks.

Wintertime
Understanding your feeling. I remembered last time me too hoping that baby can come out faster and see him. But now i hope can carry full term till at least 39 to 40 weeks.

Kristen
CL will not be doing housewhole chores for you. Normally they only help you to wash baby and mummyclothes, no ironing, looking after baby and do cooking. The rest i think will not do lor unless you pay them more. Even so some CL might not agree.

afcai - wow, so u don really feel any pain through out the delivery? No need to push? That's so good!
how come u only out of delivery suite after so long?

Afcai
After finish reading your story, i am quite touch and speechless. Great and happy for you. Congratulation for your little prince. Hope he can go home with you very soon.

seabreeze and devil,
thanks! wow, can convert type is prob more useful and can use longer, will look for this type.

hee seabreeze, i'm getting all my frens to just give angbaos, no need buy things, i tink angbaos more useful and practical :p or else, then vouchers lor hee hee.

Me back from gynae check up. Here a update on my visit. At week 34weeks 6 days, baby weight 2.68kg. Baby facing inwards again tis round just dont like to show his face. sigh...
st,
I walk pass ACJ at 10.20am, but dont know which is you.

Afcai
Congrats on your little prince. He is a strong boy.

Kristen
You got to ask your CL. I asked my CL. She is ok to wash clothes for hubby, cook for hubby also, sweep floor, mop floor and wash toilet.

afcai
during delivery, u still can rem all the timing so well? if for me, dun noe panic until where lor... envy u lei, no pain at all n bb juz made its way out... hope my bb boi oso dotes me, dun let mummy suffer too much, faster come out when deliver
2116210.gif

kristen,
my cl told me upfront that she will not do household chores and will just focus on mummy and bb. tink wash mummy and bb things still ok.

afcai,
wow, your delivery experience is really fast and so detailed, thanks for sharing
your boy's really strong, hopefully he will feed well and can go home with you soon! congrats congrats!

kristen
i agreed w devil, u need to chk w yr CL whether her charges include all those u mentioned... heard tat some CL will charge extra for those not inclusive in their pkg...
tink u better let yr CL noe wat u want her to do other than taking care of u n bb...