(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

p3pp3r
icic... most of the times, tink my urine is yellowish... tink realli must pump in as much as possible until i see clear urine... but i'll try not to drink aft 8pm to avoid waking up to pee many times... keke

Hi mummies, found this on the net with regards to water retention. Hope it helps.

Ways to fight bloating during pregnancy. Water retention or ‘bloating’ is usually a result of rising hormone levels which cause you to retain more fluid than you would normally.

Luckily there are a number of different ways to help reduce the effects of this during your pregnancy, and some of these include:

1. Lie down or elevate your feet regularly. Try and get your feet elevated as much as you can, especially during the third trimester.
2. Avoid wearing tight-fitting clothes, shoes or stockings as these will only restrict the blood flow and make your fluid retention worse.
3. Exercise will also help you a great deal with fluid retention, try swimming, yoga or walking.
4. Avoid diuretic drugs, especially during the early weeks of pregnancy.
5. Drink water- try and ensure that you are drinking at least 6-8 glasses of water a day. You should be doing this even if you are not suffering from fluid retention anyway.

kome
try guaging thru ur urine's colour, if it is near to clear or light yellowish tone, tat means u r having enough water but if it turns dark yellowish, it meant ur body needs more water... i knew tat sometime we cannot sit our urine colour while sitting on the toilet bowl becoz of our tummy oso.. look on the toilet paper to see the colour tone of urine while cleaning up after urination lor..

sportyger
thks for ur info!!!
2101477.gif

p3pp3r
Yup, i did take a look at my urin colour most of the time is yellowish, so i think i need to take in more water.

sunshinebaby
dun worry too much, even if it is yellowish but near to light yellow i suppose still ok.. in fact i dun usually got clear urine as well, just ensure tat the yellowish isnt too dark will do...

re: watermelon

watermelon is actually heaty but its the white part of the skin that is cooling

most fruits balance off by themselves ... even for coconut ... the coconut water is cooling and the flesh is heaty ... thats why if you eat both they actully balance out

even the mandarine orange oso ... you know the white white fiber stuff ... that one will balance off the heatiness of the flesh

re: water retention

to get rid of water retention is to drink more water =) its cos of the salt in the body + the fact that we dun drink enough ... thats why the body is storing up water that results in water retention

think to avoid it is not to drink too much water at night ... consume more water in the day time

lenny ...

most PD will advise to bring bb out only after 3mths though i have frens who already started bringing their bb to shopping ctr even during confinement mth ... for me i only brought him to orchard when he was 2.5mth cos it was the xmas period heehee

guess every family has their own set of difficulties ... do what you think its best for yourself and your gal ... that should be good enough

Seabreeze/Lenny,

I dont know leh... but i think it is good to bring bb out to parks for stroll after confinement. I believe that the greens and nature is good for the bb. Actually if confinement month i cannot take it, i would bring bb out to bishan park for a stroll. But shopping centres i would avoid as much as possible, more germs and viruses in enclosed areas.

asura
not a bad idea to bring bb to park for a stroll... definitely more benefit than bring bb to crowded places...

Im back from chinatown... Wah sweat like hell... even I already cut my hair so short. Sweat until like coming out from shower like that OMG...
Sun,
Think you better forget about buying BBQ pork, me & my colleague walk pass there the Q is dam long lor. When we left also that long.
Lenny,
Better don't bring to enclose place like shopping area, my gal gana chicken pox when she is 9mths and that is when I just started to bring her out for shopping for the very 1st time leh.

irene & janbebe,

you mummies mentioned about going to fengshui master for bb names. we plan to go to You Long Zi at Guillemard road when the time comes

just to share that my fren who went to You Long Zi ever mentioned that he tend to give the same few names or rather use the same few character to the bb that pop around the same period ... and that too many ppl go to him so she feels that in terms of service level oso not v good

i have never use him so just sharing with you all what i hear lar

re: bringing bb out

outdoor is always better than shopping ctr =) at least the air is fresh

jasmine
the queue was long huh... as expected one lor...
thks for informing, dun tink i'll go down to queue n buy...

Queenie,
yah man. Damn hot. No choice as if I don't walk them around lunch time one of them will pee in the house and I will then have to clean up.

Sportyger,
so poor thing. Hope your sis comes back soon. I usually only have a Shih Tzu at home. Recently we decided to bring our mini shnauzer (very big sized, not like a mini at all) home from my MIL's house as he is suffering from very bad tooth decay (like rotten fish) and requires daily brushing. MIL doesn't know how to take care so figured we bring him back for now. Temporal measure only lah. Frankly I can't handle two dogs and a newborn. Even one dog is difficult liao. No choice.

Lenny,
It's a shame that your ILs don't know how to treasure you. They sound like terrible folks. In any case, you alone will know what's best for you and your family. Be strong yah

Seabreeze,
thanks for the info. That's ver interesting indeed. I never knew that about the fruits I am eating.

how how how? I have been guai the last few weeks and managed to keep to 2kg gain per month. Now I'm losing my resolve again. Arrrrggghhhhh why must have CNY before I deliver?!

St,
For removing rust in sterilizer, I use vinegar + lemon juice + 1 cup of water add into the sterilizer and let it ran after the auto switch is off throw away the brown water which is the rust inside, normally after this I put tab water 1 cup and let it ran again to remove the vinegar smell, just do it like once a week or 5 days once if you like, it can be done on Avent and Pigeon, I have told my friend to do it on her Avent it works. For me I use Pigeon so can see it remove totally.

alfafa
LOLx... simply cannot resist those CNY goodies right...

jasmine
will take note of yr steps to maintain as i'll be getting new sterilizer instead of using the passed down one...

re: PIS Advance

i rem reading 1 mummy ordering the PIS Advance from USA ... can let me know which model and how much you pay in total? still trying to decide if i should just buy in Singapore or order from USA

is the bak kua at Chinatown (don't rem the name but it has a super long queue) really that special? I like the Mei Zhen Xiang ones but am always curious about this Chinatown store due to the ridiculously long queues.

prosper
i dun have it. will be getting from my SIL, she got her son's name from this master too.

Seabreeze
ya think i also heard this story before but i dunno other master who is very good in this naming too

Jasmine
thanks will finish up my cirtus acid first then i try your method. the problem is we can't see it's it totally clear for avent sterilizer

alfafa77, mine is a shih tzu too. Ya it will be tough to take care of a dog and newborn at the same time but I guess we will manage.

Sunshine, you want to buy the Lin zhiyuan BBQ pork. I also feel like eating that but with the queue so long its mission impossible.

jasmine
they'll buy BBQ pork but w pineapple type, dun tink i taste it b4 lor... nvm la, can eat anytime aft CNY one...

seabreeze
wintertime got hers fr USA... u can chk w her...

alfafa77,
That store is Lin Zhi Yuan. I tried buying not on CNY, I dont find it special leh, and think is a bit dried than the normal juicy bak Kua leh, but dont know why ppl still will q for it. But Jing Ping Xiang is good.

Sunshine, yah lor. Xiao liao.

wow I just received an sms from beautyscent, who has a BP thread on fragrances/cosmetics/skincare. I just ordered and paid yesterday afternoon and they are sending to my place tonight at betw 7-9pm. Damn fast.

I bought the Clarin oil (100ml) from them at $56. Cheaper than the stores outside.

seabreeze, my friend order from USA directly, think she spent less than USD300 (roughly SGD450). She is very happy with it so far. In Singers if I am not wrong you need to pay between $700-$800. So this is a huge amount of savings. You can just purchase the step up transformer from local hardware stores. I inherited a set from my SIL in the US so this weekend I'll be shopping for a transformer myself.

sportyger
i'm not getting the lin zhiyuan BBQ pork, i'm interested in another shop Jing Ping Xiang - pineapple bbq pork... but jasmine juz mentioned they hv a long queue, so i can forget abt it...

jasmine, I havent eaten Lin Zhiyuan BBQ pork for a few years liao. But rem last time when I ate it was very nice.

Sunshine, Oh its another BBQ pork. Is it very nice? I have never tried b4.

Jasmine,
oh that's a great tip, thanks for sharing. I inherited a used steriliser too so this really comes in handy.

Oh yes, Lin Zhi Yuan. I rem now. Good. Because I vaguely rem having tried it eons ago but it left no impression on me so I wasn't sure. My hubby said the same, that it's not special and in fact a bit dry. Funny. Why do people queue for so long for it.

Jing Ping Xiang is another brand? Is that nicer than Mei Zhen Xiang? Where do you get it from? Most importantly, do I need to queue to get it? :p

st,
Yeah Avent 1 can't be seen. But once you did the ran on Vinegar with lemon juice the water you throw away after the ran can tell is there rust trap inside.
Sun,
I brought the pineapple bak kua for the past few years CNY it taste nice.

ok I see that sunshine has just answered my question. I'll stick to Mei Zhen Xiang. No need to queue. Maybe I'll try the Jing Ping Xiang after the CNY madness.

sun,
But I know there hor got 2 stores. 1 at pearl center and 1 at the outram park hawker there. Both are same just different branch.

alfafa77 ...

u must be talking abt Lim Chee Yuan or something ... ok lar i dun find it fantastic though i have Q once for like 2-3hr during partor time to buy for both families

anyway there is this shop that is directly opp (just across the bridge) that is oso a branch of Lim Chee Yuan but the Q is significantly shorter ... cos ppl still prefers to buy from the original shop ... but actually its the same stuff cos we see their staff bringing basins of bak kua across the bridge hahahaha

to me ... bak kua is avail throughout the year lar ... no need to die die buy for CNY ... nowadays my parents and MIL dun even bother to make sure that we serve bak kua lor

st ...

me using this guy called Wang Tian Ping but the downside is that he only give ONE name heehee so we cant choose one lar cos he says that he only choose the BEST name to give us

my uncle and my cousin all use him ... but we oso find him giving us the same sounding character (though different stroke) hahahahah

uncle's kid
1. Yong Rui
2. Yi Rui

cousin's daughter
1. Shu Rui
2. Shu Zhen

My son
1. Yi Cheng

I told my hubby that i will not request for both my kids to share a common word cos i dun wan to restrict the choice for the shi fu lor ... wan him to do like what he say ... find the BEST name heehee

alfafa77
ya taking care of baby n a dog is real tedious lor.. for mi having big dog is even worse when i dun have any helper.. recently mine is in heat.. sibei sianz.. dun dare to bring her downstair to do her business coz scare of male dogs..hahaha.. so bo bian gotta make her do all her business at home liao.. so tiring in clearing her mess even though she is toilet trained.. i have to still squat up and down to clear her businesses.. -.-"
especially tat she is in heat i gotta like follow her around to clean the stain she drip...

Sun,'
They also have the Royal bak kua which is thicker and more chewy, tis time I only buy half kg for each type. Both at $41 in total.

p3pp3r
ya really not easy taking care of bb and dog..mine MIL have to look after 1 bb + 1 dog + do housework + cook for the family

sunshinebaby ...

its wintertime hor ... i oso rem it was her but when i look back at her past posting i cant find anything on it ... ok i will PM her direct then =P

alfafa77 ...

me eyeing the limited edition PIS Advance Metro ... selling at $669 now ... so wan to do a check to see if its worth it to buy from USA or not lor ... considering that i still need to buy an adaptor (cost $85 for original) and no warranty

jasmine
u making me drool on yr bbq pork... can i hv a slice??
2101806.gif

alfafa77
i'll oso buy aft CNY madness... now is mission impossible...
2101807.gif