(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

hehe sun: papaya i think it's because of the colour... so don't take too much also!

Bye mommies! me heading home!

st
passed down is pigeon one... the metal bottom is exposed for pigeon one... tat's y can see...

irene mummy mentioned tat can use citrus powder to clean so assume wouldn't rust since the metal part is hidden...

Kome ,thks so much, then can meet at sengkang mrt?
Cos ST also ask me to collect for her...

I PM u my hp now, thks

Hee..at least i recognise you :p

sun
ya i have the citrus powder..but of cos if can see it's better leh..

should have got the pigeon one instead. didn't know the difference until i bought the avent one

mangogal
since kome collect the pdt for u, u wanna her to pay on yr behalf to jtho first then u pass her the $$ later when collecting yr pdts?

Kome , I pm u liao, u can sms me back wif ur mobile,thks

Sunshine, so i pass you the money this sat ok?

ST, think u PM Kome ur contact also

st
mayb the hidden metal wouldn't rust as it dun come into contact w water ma... not like pigeon one direct contact w water, mayb tat's the reason it'll become rusty if didn't take care or clean properly...

Back from walking my two dogs. Waaaahhh weather is damned hot today. Can't take it. Am havinbg diet coke now as we speak.

Queenie, why cannot drink coke? I still do. Actually I feel that all these worries over artificial sugar and "coldness" are unfounded when taken in small quantities, unless you are really taking tons of such food. I take watermelon juice, eat Del monte bananas, pineapples etc etc ... and gynae says bb perfectly fine. I believe that all things in moderation is fine. My cousin is a TCM practitioner and he is ok about taking these in moderation too. Operative word = MODERATION. I think being overly legalistic is unneccessary ... my two cents anyway.

Hi Mee, so sorry to hear that. From the looks of it you might indeed be better off to have someone else look after you during your first month. Maybe MIL? or hire a CL? Or at least arrange to have a PT maid come in and take care of all the housechores so that your hubby can help you do other stuff?

Sportger, waaa that makes two of us. Think we better hurry. I am using the list that Devil uploaded as a sample of stuff I need to prepare. Have tailored it to suit.

Re: toilets. I am opposite leh. Always avoiding the squat toilets cos I find them dirty. Now pregnant lagi more conscious. Hahahha I rather die holding my pee than attempt to squat there esp since squat toilets tend to be wet and slippery.

Oh goody, there is a BP on milk bags? I haven't gt around to buying that yet. Heard playtex is good and best value for $$.

Asura, Agnes,
wow you ladies are very brave. To have gone through most of your pregnancy with your hubby around. I really don't think I can take it if I were you. Kudos to you!

Re: Confinement
glad that it's not my MIL but my own mom who will be taking care of me. She is also not anal about stuff, think I take after her. hahaha

sunshinebaby,

i inititally dun even want to let them know i am preggy.. only see hubby so sad then i say ok.. can let them know but not interfere. they only got to know when i was 5 mths preggy.

i even wanted to cancel our wedding at time cos of them. hubby brokedown and pleaded so i soft hearted and give way.. on one condition.. i don;t want to see them till they apologise and stop running our lives. only then i will go visit them if not.. i told hubby i am prepared to walk out of the marriage anytime, with or withour kids. he got the message and so far so good.. hubby didn;t ask me to meet them or force me or give me any pressure. they have been "bullying" my hubby since young using a lot of emotional balckmail.

i.e. if hubby dun listen to FIL, h's blood vessel will burst cos he got high blood pressure .. things like this la.. so every time hubby gives in. till he met me.. he learn to speak up on things that he dun agree with so his parents dun like.. i make him turn "bad".

now i only dread that they come see baby when i am in hospital after delivery. haiz.. i really dun know what i will do.. i amy even ask them to get out or i will get out of hospital. kekeke

see how it goes.. anyway... they started buying me things and leave us alone.. MIL even tried to sound hubby out if they will get the chance to look after bb.. hubby told them that i will look after bb myself, so they will get the hint.

i just want to teach tehm a lesson, its takes a greater effort to apologise than to piss ppl off.
(they humiliated me and my whole family on my customary wedding.. dun want to go thru details.. too long a story) my parents intially ask me to give way.. but after my wedding,... they never ask me to visit them also.

Mangogal
I can pay first and you can return me later. Let me know how much for your things, so that i can bring enough cash with me.

ST,

ou asked when we are going to bring bb out to shopping malls etc in the previous post. i am planning to bring bb out after her full month. i just need to get settled first cos hubby might have to travel even before my baby has reach her full month. i will try to cope and see how

Mangogal
ok thanks will check with Kome

Kome
can help me collect too?? is it too heavy for you? I'll be transfer the $$ to jtho

sunshine, ya that's why I try to take diet coke. I don't drink bottles at a time lah. Just a few glasses a week.
Damned shiok.

Actually I think snacking on chocolates and ice cream is worse. Both of which I am terribly guilty of. Am consciously cutting down now. Oooohhh just think of them makes me drool.

Someone was talking about papayas? I love them esp since I am preggie. Helps in my constipation

Queenie, I am not sure about the cold drinks having any effect on joints pain but hubby was saying might be link to rheumatism. Anyway just try my best to cut down but impossible not to drink at all.

Sunshine, I took watermelon juice too but I think in moderation is fine bah.

lenny
so sorry remind u of yr story... hope u dun mind...

u dun make yr hb be bad... he juz learn to speak up if he tink is reasonable w his parent...

can understand how u feel 2wards them... but watever it is, glad tat yr hb stood by u...
juz rem to stay happy everyday... happy mummy = happy bb!!!

btw, when's yr EDD?

Lenny,
oh dear. This sounds really really bad. Am glad that at least your husband is on your side. Having said that, try not to threaten or give ultimatum lah. Your hubby is also in a difficult position. Not good to threaten divorce or walking out of marriage; we don't know how men think sometimes. So sorry that your ILs are mean to you. Think on the bright side, at least they are not mean to BB, that would be worse.
The more love BB can get, the better it is for BB so do consider letting them love your BB the way grandparents do. But I agree, better set it straight that they are not taking care of BB, YOU are.

lenny
my hb oso object bringing bb out aft confinement period... i wanna bring bb to my mum's place aft confinement, he said too early... must wait till 2 or 3 mths later then he find ok to bring him out...

Lenny,
Understand how you feel cos before marriage, I’m not in good relationship with my FIL and SIL also.
They like to interfere on what hubby (then BF) is doing and even force him to go home early when he is out with me.
Luckily Hubby sides me more and eventually move out of the house and stayed at my mom’s house till we got married and move to our own house.
It was after my 1st pregnancy, then FIL starts to buy baby stuffs for us and maybe being pregnant that time, become soft-hearted then I gave in.
Till now, FIL knows my temper and do not dare to interfere with what we do now.

backies frm my lunch..

p3pp3r
i call my mom mah the first thing when i heard my mil don wan do confinement for me.
den i ask my mom how. den she say she can tk leave for 2 wks. i tot she already exhausted all her leave for doing confinement for my sil last oct lor.
she even took unpaid leave for my sil..
tink if u getting help frm ur mom maybe have to open up to her liaos. tink getting things done is easier with my mom den my mil..
coz me n mil nvr really communicate one.. everything thru hb to tok to mil so quite difficult to get things n words across correctly.

Re: watermelon
if u all wan tk hor, muz eat it while freshly cut .. coz watermelon if cut for v long hor will absorb bacteria de.
so u all might wan tk note..

alfafa
wha u tis hour go walk ur 2 dogs.. not hot ah? i so scare tio freckles coz heard during preg v vulnerable to get freckles.
u muz rem apply sunblock ah..

coke got caffine. but i noe coke caffine's content is lower den coffee from an article. hehe. and my sis say soft drinks is bad for us preggys.. as for why she oso nv explain ..
but when i complain my finger joints is aching due to water retention , my sis will nag see la ask u don drink soft drinks don listen.
another thing abt soft drinks/cold drinks i read thru forum is baby will get wad bonchitis (donno the spelling) and one more thingy cant recall. maybe asthma.
how true i donno lor. but gynae oso nvr say no soft drinks. lols so i oso heck care de la.

sunshinebaby,
My inital edd is 31 march so i joined our march forum but its moved back a week cos one period i was very stressed at work and lost 4 kg in my first trimester cos of bad MS. then EDD delayed till 5th April

queenie
i seldom take soft drink but i oso got aching on my finger joints... norm i drink H2O, will drink more water lead to water retention?
tink as long as moderate for everything tat we not suppose to eat should be fine ba...

st - no problem....

how to check private messages? issit go to "check new messages?"

sorrie never use that function b4...hahaha

lenny
u lost quite a lot in yr 1st trim... i oso lost abt 3kg in my 1st trim but now all gain back liao... heehee
tat's possibility yr EDD will be in end mar depend on yr bb when she want to come out...

sunshinebaby
water retention means tat we r not having enough h2o.. tatz wat i heard from one of my mommy friend.. so gotta pump in more water to avoid water retention.. i oso got stiff fingers and joints but has been trying to drink more water.. it seem to work for me.. itz good for constipation as well..heheee...

alfafa77, wow you have 2 dogs. This week my sister left her dog at my place becos she is overseas and I find that there are so much more to do with 1 more dog cos already I have 1 dog myself. Her dog is "marking" around my place and I have been cleaning up her wee wee.

sun
i donno leh. but my frd told me muz drink more water. coz if we have less aminotic fluid is v bad for us.. may lead to early delivery wor..

lenny
don let all these stuffs affect u too much.
we muz rem happy mom happy bb..

p3pp3r
is tat true?? oh gosh then i oso need to pump in more water to avoid water retention... i'll try it out n see whether it helps anot...
actually how many litres of water we need daily?

to know whether u have enough h2o, try checking on ur urine, if the colour is clear to light yellowish tone, tat means u got enough but if itz dark yellowish means tat our body needs more water.. becoz i read up on a book saying tat the body usually replenish or replace the amniotic fluid one, so taking at least 8 glasses of water is enough for a daily usuage in our body oso for the baby..

p3pp3r
ya i oso heard tt water retention is lack of water.
another version i heard is our body is auto storing water juz in case we during delivery will dehydrate. lols.
too many versions.
but i try myself drink more water..

queenie
ya lor.. think there's alot of version..

more h2o is good for mommy and baby lor.. anyway i suppose pregnant woman r very prompt in sweating due to the rise of our body temperature, so dun really have to worry over taking of h2o ba.. the body will give out the excessive water oso..

kome
apparently i din swell up tat much le.. think should be ok la.. coz tatz oso wat the book say.. and it shld be scientifically proven ba..

me dun feel warm leh..in office will feel cold at home also feel cold with aircon..so dunno if my temperature got raise anot

irene,sunshinebaby and alfalfa,

i am having same case as u. before things turn bad, i was "forced" to spend whole weekend with them.. meaning i was asked to stay over at their place.. not by my hubby but by my ILs from fridat night i knock off till monday morning, my then BF sends me to work consecutively for 2.5 yrs of our dating period.

i mentioned that i would like to spend time with my parents too cos i only reunited with them or stay with them since Aug 2004.. (they are staying in indonesia, they send me here to study since i was 7 yrs old. i didn;t grew up with them)

while i am with my parents, i dun request for their son to be with me. but they not happy, say i try to snatch their son and make them lose face cos i dun follow them around in their weekly gathering with close relatives. with this reason, they want hubby to break up with me and started making our lives hell. that's why i wanted to walk out la. i told hubby that i rather stay single then stuck in a shitty marriage cos i been there done that. btw, this is my second marriage, i left my first marriage cos my ex is turning violent, never hit me but like to smash things if i don;t listen to what he say. another long story la..

i dun want to use my baby as a tool to make them bow down and i am prepared to tell my kid when they time comes on why i shun my ILs. hubby is aware of that too, cos i dun want to teach my kid that its ok to shun grandparents unless there are valid reasons. i am plan to tell her to ignore those who abuses their so called "authority" and just ignore and walk away. turn back only when they are apologetic.

dun want my girl to be bullied in this way, hubby also said he dun want his parents to look after our daughter cos he dun want her to grow up like him. so afraid of his parents and dun dare to speak his mind. but visit them can..

I strongly believe that Respect has to be earned no matter who they are..

as for my IL, they have to earn their grnadparenting rights, i will not give it to them by default. we are prepared to move out of the country if they persist in trying to run our lives..

good to have ppl loving my bb, but i would prefer it to be quality love than quantity love..
means less genuine ppl who love her than many claim to love her then make her obilgated to do things for them. for this.. i rather not.
same goes for friends, rather have quality friends than quantity friends

just my 2 cents worth.

ST & sunshinebaby,

i think i want to try the western style as in exposing bb to the environment as early as i can to stimulate her senses for her development. i have been watching discovery home and healt channel about babies' development so i am keen to try it out.

want to pick up the good stuff from both asian and western teaching to teach baby. hope i can make it