(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

sorbet, but i also realised Dr Heng's weighing machine always heavier leh comparing to our own house weighing machine..ahhahaha...me opp. with u..i gained weight very fast during my 1st & 2nd tri...norm. 3rd tri shld weigh more coz bb grows faster..tats when we need more carbo food, sikali i increase only 1kg instead of the norm. 3kg. yah the nurses all very busy. i tink there's some adjustments to the hospital charges leh..there's a new listing (blue copy) which u may wan to request from them..i was looking thru', if i happen to go for c sect in single bed, i have to fork out $3K+ after medisave which is quite siong lor..tink earlier on, they missed out the GST part so looks more reasonable...then i asked my hb if wanna re-consider take 2 bedder instead, unless i can go thru' natural birth. =) dunnoe can change later during delivery ornot, tink subject to availability ba.
re: swollen legs, u try lifting your legs up using pillow at nite..try to wear comfy shoes to lessen the swollen. as for face..i also wan to get rid of tat problem..hahah but i dunnoe hw.

pinksorbet.. not shocking lah the weight increase.. it could be the placenta and the water retention in there..
okie i list down a breakdown here.. saw this in in M&B magazine..

"Experts suggest that a healthy pregnancy weight gain is 10 to 16 kg, BUT alot depends on your pre-pregnancy weight. If you were underweight, aim to gain slightly more, and if you were overweight, a bit less..
So if you gain 12 to 13kg in total, on average, your baby will account for 3.2kg, with fat stores making up another 3.2kg. The rest goes to the placentra (500 to 900g), uterine enlargement (900g), amniotic fluid (900g), breast tissue (900g), increased blood volume (900g), as well as the fluids in your tissue (1.8kg)."

btw, i have ugly green veins appearing behind my left leg..hmmm...ugly lor..+ stretchmarks on my left hip...i wonder why all on my left. hng! hope they will go away afetr birth!!!

mangogal
my gynae oni check BB's heartbeat by looking at the ultrascan. Dunno how he see, think as long BB's heart is beating it's fine.

I was put on a doppler while at my stay at the hospital for my pre-term labour contractions 3 weeks ago. The O&G doc oso checked BB's heartbeat via the ultrascan machine (like the one use for the FE scan - more advanced) I guess some gynaes used more sophisticated machine which can read BB's heartbeat.

Mommies
I have swollen legs last night. Both my legs so swollen up and were very hard when touched. Even my feet felt swollen too. Wonder why and what causes it. Feels better after I lifted my legs high on pillows and some massaging. But it oni goes away after an hr. Do anyone experience it too?

mangogal, i cant rem it clearly le. but think should be somewhere ard there. usually he will write it on my file, i will go home and check.
will update again this sat for my checkup.

prosper/mango...maybe diff. gynae use diff. device ba..maybe i just kpo kpo ask her in my nx appointment...anyway, i see my gynae everytime also chop chop come out liao..like 5-10mins? haha..

meebaby, wah all almost add up to be ard 7kg. i heard after birth, we can straight away lose ard 5kg..hope tats true..haha..then we can reduce our weight faster!!

varicose and spider veins! eh i dont think they will go away even after birth.. what i heard from pple =(
i had tons of them in my inner thigh clustered together so they looked like blue black siah..
Dont rub at it loh.. they will "float" up.. and dont walk too much..
There is this vein clinic at orchard that help to remove the veins.. so far i havent know any lotions for this..
somemore, im fair and the veins even more obvious.. pengz.

Re: home made CNY cookies..i.e. pineapple tarts mummies, any idea ware got sell nice pineapple tarts...near bukit panjang/ bukit timah? suddenly like hope to eat very nice pineapple tarts then those factory made one. hee

Minnie, I see..ok ya my gynae marchine more advance so can hear and read the hb rate at same time...

I see Prosper thks

SG - the difference from my house weighing machine to that of Dr Heng's is like 3kg leh! so wierd rite?! If base on my house weighing machine, i onli gain 2kg as compared to hers 6kg lor...wah the hospital charges expensive..still gotta fork out 3k+ cash? :-O i'm taking 2-bedder lor...how come they didn't give me the new listing? we still have to ask from them?

meebaby - thanks, but a 6kg gain within jus one month is shocking...haha

Haha I remember my 1st trim I ate like dinosaur then that time no nauseous or morning sickness..enjoyed food alot which i think its more like tam jiak than any other reasons so i've gained that considerable amount of weight in a month too.. but now the increase more consistently and steadily, abt 2kgs per mth liao..

mangogal..act. its good to ask lah..coz we are paying them consultation fees leh..but norm. i will forgot wat i wan to ask..so just chop chop..go in lie on the bed and she takes measurement of bb's head, then estimate weight tats all. hahahaha sometimes wait like 1hr ++ go in 5 mins like super wasted hee...
pinksorbet, or could it be u see wrongly at Dr Heng's weighing scale? maybe nx appointment u weigh again..weigh twice if nt sure..hahaha for my case..norm. the diff. is ard 2kg...but wat to do..of coz they trust their own weighing machine, hee..coz i saw one of the nurses passed a copy to a couple (tink just conceived) then i just ask lor..then she told me only diff. is the GST part which was left out earlier in the pink copy but i brought home n compare..like gt slight adjustment to the bedder we choose. hmmm..nw i dunno want to change to 2 bedder mah leh..like $3K + abit ex rite? although i hope to go for natural..but just prepare for the most ex to set aside budget. CNY still have to give angpow..(another abt $1K is gone)...hmmm...

Prosper, I follow my gynae so will be at TMC

MTBs here for those delivering at TMC, hv u choose ur bed ward liao? likw 1 or 2 or 4 bedded?

Pinksorbet
6kg within a month? I think there's something wrong with the weighing machine @ the clinic..heee~~~ I've been weighing myself & everyday, the weight seem to be increasing...abit worrying oso! Checkup will oni be next week so...keeping fingers crossed!!!

Visit to Gynae
It will always include an ultrascan & also to listen to the heartbeat..but never occurred to me to ask abt the rate! I assume if gynae didn't say anything, it should be alrite! Seem abit bochap, huh? =P

hmm.. stemcord is local and the banks are in Science Park I and II.. for cordlife im not sure where they store also.. but their parent company is in australia..
Maybe i didnt really check out abt cordlife cos im the type who is put off by aggressive sales oh yes they have tons of promotion haha, anyway cordlife is also more expensive cos of the high maintainence lab research and their accreditation from overseas..so adding more cost to your pocket cos they need fundings alot..so if they do not have enough fundings, not sure abt the stability of the company..
my gynae mentioned that as long have MOH accreditation here, its quite safe aldy in terms of local context..

meebaby...wah u dun have MS ah? so good..i do suffer from giddy spells /nauseous..and i have to made myself eat so that i won't feel giddy/nauseous..tats why i gained weight fast during 1st tri, then 2nd tri all the cravings come..hahah satay, roti prata, ice-cream, chocolate..etc..all the oily n unhealthy food..somemore i went for supper. haha..best! nw tink cannot eat too heavy meals..will have heart burn...acidic gastric juice will go up my throat..eee...maybe tats the reason why my weight increase in 3rd tri like lesser than 1st, 2nd tri ba. but i'm 100% sure, i'm going to put on more weight after CNY! wahahahahah

mangogal,

I have not chosen, but most prob will take 4 bedded. (auto upgrade to 2 bedded by Dr Adrian)
Will the gynae help to make the neccessary booking? cos they did not ask me during my last visit at wk29.

I think most hospitals increased their prices!! They even increased their deposits! Previously (3years agao), i oni paid $500 deposit. This time round, we paid abt $1,500!

This time round I've opted for 1-bedded bcos had a bad experience with my inconsiderate neighbour the last time! I'll be delivering at Mount Alvernia!

haha.. im neither TMC or GlenE.. Im going Mt A..
Oooh GlenE.. heard that the bill can come out as a scroll cos they charge you almost everything blah blah..
Gotta know this cos my gynae go for GlenE or Mt A.. the clinic assistants told me cos I asked them whats the difference..
Went for the hospital tour at Mt A.. ooh I love the rooms :p

blurgal
my gynae side will book for me..maybe you can ask your gynae.

wow so good your gynae auto upgrade for you

St.. its just that its like unnecessary to pay for their extra fees loh.. thats his thoughts. In terms of service wise, maybe Cordlife better? I'm not sure. Anyway its your choice lah I'm not sure if there are cordlife supporters wait I get hantam seems like I'm promoting stemcord.. LOL.

Blurgal,
During my last visit ard 27 wk +, Dr Adrian asked me which hospital I want to deliver. Told him TMC, and he say will book for me. As to ward, he says can decide upon admission...not sure if I heard wrongly, going to confirm with him again tml when I visit again.

grace, do we have to pay cash/ nets for the deposit or can we use credit card?
btw, will mummies here be using wat hospital provides u? like meebaby says..they do charge for watever u use there..and i tot they have a list to get us bring things like diapers, etc for our bb..if we use our own..then no nid to pay for those unopened stuff? hee..or just use..since they provide?

Yea loh SG, i also love all the sinful food.. haha. Cos of that, I had all sorts of illness coming in, sorethroat, cough, flu and they dont go away fast during pregnancy..
I've been telling my hubby to stop me from eating too much bak kwa in the coming CNY wait I get sore throat again =O
I'm imagining that sekali on the delivery day I have cough and on drowsy mixture and trying to push the baby, so drowsy and blur aldy dunno how to push man haha.

meebaby..haha i also worried dunnoe when to push..just hope that the nurses / mid wife will guide us thru'...somemore learn all the breathing during prenatal class..dunno will rmbr or nt. gan cheong tink will just scream liao hor? haha.. =p

SG - i tink i better weigh myself again this friday when i go for the glucose test at ESH...i shouldn't have seen wrongly but better weigh again just in case...
thanks for letting me know...i will ask the updated copy from the nurses on my next visit which is a month later...ya 3k+ cash is kinda steep, but its mayb due to u choosing single-bedder ba...me too another 1k+ gone for CNY ang baos....
i oso find our visit a bit chop chop each time...
i oso keep wanting to eat fast food, chocolates, roti-prata and ice-creams...now these are like no-no for me...hb oso getting strict on my diet now...so poor thing we suffer during pregnancy than oso this and that cannot eat/drink....

Grace - thats wat i tot too, after i tried out my home weighing machine...haha...

There's this hospital letter with all your medical histories and details, you'll have that when you confm the hospital which you will be delivering at..I thought it's a good reference for the hospital staffs.
Remember to pack that in your hospital bag loh..

SG,
As baby grows bigger, bones get stronger, movement will feel more vigorous also! I do see my tummy "moving around" too!

teddybaby,

Dr Adrian also never ask abt which hospital i will be delivering at? hmm.. think hv to ask him during my next visit.
U goin tmr, maybe u can check with him first and let us know? me blur blur liao.. scully give birth le, everything never booked. haha

Yiyi.. i think the hubby has to come into picture liao.. He needs to remind us about the breathing.. if the hubby going to scream with us, I'm so going to faint siah...haha

yiyi
u are welcome just to share good stuff with mummies .I reali like the material reali very soft.

Sg
I think maybe u can try gg to vivo cos I have check out vivo has gt mothercare and also spring maternity so i thnk easier no need go so many place thinking of asking hubby to dive me ther maybe this sat after hearing gingal story abit scare to walk so much le cos everytime I walk tumtum will become hard de lor dunno why.Btw u can find nice pineapple tarts and so at u know beauty world up there at the highest level gt 1 like food centre every yr new yr there will be a store selling all these stuff very very nice.

sorbet, yah nothing wrong to just weigh again. hee...dunnoe issit 1 bedder the px abit steep but i tot the diff. is abt $500+...shall see hw ba..my hb also sometimes strict on my diet.and i always take tea when he's nt ard. hee...yah poor thing lor..pregnant for 10mths so many things can't eat..and must control..after birth / BF shall go n have feast man!!! i wan to eat sashimi!!

Came back from my gynae visit. Baby weight is now 1.8kg. Hee she put on 500g since my last visit. I myself put on 1kg. Think not eating fast food helps cos the last time I put on 3kg i indulged in fast food a lot.

Mangogal, I will be taking the 1 bedded at TMC.