(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

caca..thks for the photo of the dress..hee..was tinking of going PS spring to look at the maternity clothings..i did go mothercare harbourfront last week but i din see any floral pj wor..aiyah wasted..

Re: hardening of tummy & cramps..i also have this problem since weeks back..cramps normally below tummy..accompany with those (diarrhoea feeling) kind of pain..
caca..i also realised i cannotw walk too long liao..my whole tummy will harden and pain then like very heavy as i walk..very scary..tats why nw will tink twice b4 i go shopping liao.
last nite told my hb one of Mar MTB gave birth liao..hopefully he can quickly go n pack & move his stuffs to another room..have been asking him to do so long time ago liao..he still very nua. abut worried i might pop early then everything still in a mess. sigh....

Pinksorbet, Dr Heng did glucose test for u after the urine test? i din do any glucose test lately wor..dunnoe need or not. going to see her nx week...lately din have good nite sleep wor..coz tummy hardens for no reason..u can see alot of weird shapes & bumps..i tot coming as bb grows bigger, the movement will be lesser / gentle..for not for my case wor..my bb moves rather rough and i can't sleep throughout the nite. can feel his head at the bottom though...and i asked my hb a doopid qns...u tink my undies will "sock" bb's head? hahaha...

gingal,

I got BH contractions about once every alternate day leh... if go see gynae immediately would be very often liao leh.. humm... but i would probably bring it up to the gynae and see what she says when i see her this friday. So far my BH contractions dont come with any pain/aches/cramps. Just hardening of the whole tummy.

First time posting since new year. Was down with flu & sore throat on NY eve and still recovering from flu now, bleh. Didn't really sleep for 2 consecutive nites due to bad block nose and appetitie also not very gd, hope my little one won't be affected.

Gingal, congrats! I hope your gal will grow quick quick and be out of hospital soon. You take care too!

Re BF after C-sec:
I've got 2 cousins who C-sec but still BF successfully for more than 1 yr. I think its abt preserverance and getting the technique right. For the good of our BB, let's all do our best to BF! ;)

Re childbirth video at Mrs BB Wong's class:
Ya, it was quite scary, I tot I was the only one to crinch until I saw other mummies' face crinching too. But then again, so many women have gone thru it, we can do it too!

hi gingal

did u delivered ur baby at gov hospital? and how heavy is baby when birth?

i am worry about mine also cos my first one came out at wk35 and recently i always feel tighten below belly button. i am not only wk30

Teddybaby
Re: BF after C-Sect
I also BF for more than a year after I went through C-Sect! So if we (your cousins & I) can do it, I'm sure the rest of the mummies are able to!!! Cheers!!!!

gingal..hee...thks for your advice..do take care..i guess mummies here will be more alert nw...hw long did u take to deliver yr bb gal?

p3pp3r,
As the baby grows bigger, there is less space for them to kick so the movements tend to feel more like shifting and squirming around. But if you still feel ill at ease, check with your gynae.

pups..wat if instead of feeling lesser movements, my bb moves more vigorously esp. at nite? me in week 32 nw..sometimes really shock to see my tummy like out of shape, one side is much much higher than other side. even if i try to gently shift bb..he doesn't wan to move..then i have to go his way..can't make any movement.

SG,

Please start packing, no harm.. For me, I have not bought anything and have not prepared anything for myself and baby..now is chaotic!!! my whole family gotta go and share the load of buying things... and I myself went Isetan to shop for stuffs on Saturday..That was 3rd day after I delivered!!!

My Breasts Pumps/Baby Playpen/Cot, alot of my friends help me buy and sponsored... I am so touched that in times of need, they are always there for me...

Now everyday, they are checking with me what I need, so they can go grab it for me...My hubby also running about getting this and that from my house to my MIL's place..and even let down his "Pantang" and buy my sanitary pads...Hahaha

So please get ready all your things girls!!! Really no harm doing so...

Ivy,

Yes, I was adviced to go KKH by my Gynae, as the team there for NICU and equipments are 1st class... And I opted for C-Class Ward, no point for any luxury liao...Got upgraded free to B-Class Ward, As my girl was smart to make me admit on 31st Dec 2008, We are entitled to 80% Govt Subsidies...If she let me admit after 1st Jan 09, There is this "Mean Test" thingy, where the Subsidies amount will be dependable on the income of the family... So Quite heng loh...

My Girl was 29 weeks and 2 days old at birth, weighed 1.355kg...Doctors and Nurses say it is a good weight for 29 weeker...

gingal

thanks for sharing.

take good care of yourself and baby will be discharge soon if she hit 2kg.Agreed is a good weight.

you go through natural birth?

gingal...very glad tat its a good weight for yr bb..and yr bb is really a gd gal to let u admit to entitle the 80% govt subsidies.
yah...will be more ks..shall go back n wash bb's diapers & all clothings by this week..wah..u still go isetan and shop for bb's stuffs..poor thing lor somemore 3rd day after u delivered..its indeed really touching to also see yr frens and family members to run errands for u.. u must take gd care leh..

Dean Gingal, thks so much for ur sharing

Ur advise are so precious! U rest well and will pray ur gal to hv spedy increase in her weight so that she can go hm wif u soon, but other than small wieght, everything is normal right for ur gal?

I just came back frm my gynae appt, I am very kiasu and required to see my gynae once every 2 weeks and those week nt seeing her, will go dwn to use doppler to hear my bb heartbeat rate. But think start 30 week I will request to see her once a week.
So ladies no harm just to see ur gynae as and when if feel uneasy and experience any strange symptoms or even ask the nurse to use doppler to let u hv the ease to make sure ur bb heartbeat is normal and movements are normal! We Know our body BEST!
I also do my swap test once a month to make sure no vaginal infection, my gynae is giving me the best assurance to make sure everything goes well.
So any of u here feel less or diff bb movements, pain or any cramps just go to ur gynae, afterall we paid for their service and under their great care!

SG,
All my Hand-Me-Downs, no one wash for me also..Both Grandmas are busy with my Confinement things and visiting their Grand-dd at ICU, so they just grab new clothes for her...No time now...Don't be like me, so last min...

Ivy,

yes, i was only allowed Natural birth, will update soon on why...It's gonna be a long story..

My Baby Name is gonna be Jerlynn Tay...Now my Hubby going to get the Chinese names from the Fortune Teller.. I think my MIL used Jin Zhi Long's service... Hope the names sound good...

pinksorbet
oh dear, u muz take care of ur diet. Like what Mrs Wong says on Sunday class, diet is impt.

gingal
Congrats, and thanks for sharing ur story with us! I oso kenna pre-term labour contractions in my 26 weeks. Now me so SCARED to go into labour.. Coz still having pains on n off and taking adaluit to stop the contractions. Only that for me, I dun have dilation so far .

Went for my gynae checkup on friday. Dr Adrian still prescribed me the anti-contraction medications. The good thing is that BB is fine. He's now 1.21kg @28weeks. I only put on 1 kg in a month.

After hearing gingal's story, I think I better pack my hospital bag and get ready BB's room.

Minnie,

I was on Adaluit from 27th week til the very last hour before I delivered...The dosage was so high on the last day (31st Dec)together with 50 mls of ventolin drip, I take 4 x 10mg tablet spread in an hour's time...Then they increased to 90mls of ventolin drip and I shivered so badly and my pulse rate went up to 150 that they have to stop the drip in case i die bah..wahahaha

You are lucky you are not dilated yet, now u gotta do bedrest leh... As for me, I'm prone to infections cos I'm dilated, thus completed some courses of antibiotics..luckily this preventive measures were up early, so when I'm able to deliver naturally as there is no infection. You must not move around too much now...pls pls bedrest yourself...Keep ur baby with u as long as u can...even an additional hour in mummy's womb helps baby also...

Did ur gynae suggest the Jabs to help mature baby lungs in case u have to deliver pre-term???

minnie
me too... better start the preparation early... as nobody noes wat can happen...

u only put on 1 kg, i put on 2kg+ lei... my bb boi even weight less than u...

BTW, the weight estimation that our Gynae measured using ultrasound usually not very accurate...

Baby was measured about 1.516kg at 27th week...
When I delivered her at 29 week 2 days, she is only 1.355kg...

gingal
yup, was given jabs to mature BB's lungs just in case I deliver BB. I was given the ventolin drip too, like u I have the same effects and cant even breathe. So was taken off the drip and put on higher dosage of Adaluit. Yup, better rest so BB can be safe safe in my tummy. Hope ur gal will be out of NICU soon, tell her the aunties in SMH-Mar09 want to see her soon! =D

Sun96
yup, i oni put on 1 kg in a month. But BB is growing fine, so it's fine with me. yup, gingal is right. Usually the gynae's gauge is not accurate.

Ya heard that gt signs of early labour need steroid jabs to mature bb lungs...
Actually think once hit 3rd tri like 28 weeks can start packing hospital bag liao...
Well, I settle all major stuff like bb cot, stroller and car seat ,the rest bb stuff I intend to buy frm the chinatown bbshop above OG, too tired to go dwn town.

BTW bb heartbeat rate:
MTBs here, when u go for chkup, will ur gynae what is the rate of ur bb heartbeat?
My gynae say as bb grow bigger heartrate normal range is btw 140 to 160...can share ur reading?

sun - tks for telling me...ya better refrain from scratching...hehe

SG - Dr Heng sent me for a glucose test at East Shore this fri cos she detected sugar in my urine...then she took abit of my blood to test on her instrument and found my glucose level to be high...so she wants me to go for the more detailed glucose tolerance test at the hospital itself..as long as yours is normal, no cause for worry...
and haha yr undies won't "sock" yr bb's head la...u so cute...i tink yesterday my bb's head was up...jus hope he will turn nearer to delivery....tink should be no problem still got time lor...*positive thinking*...hehe

minnie - i went to check with mrs wong on my diet after class...i suspect mine imay be a case of gestational diabetes ba...no more fast food, candies, desserts and chocolates for me...so :-(

gingal..wah...so fortunate..both grandma doing confinement for u. =) hee...will go home n start packing.

yah, i also heard weight measured using ultrasound nt very accurate..norm. come out to be lighter ba.

mangogal
i dun tink my gynae measure my bb's heartbeat...
he juz measure his weight... essential to noe bb's heartbeat?

gingal
under wat circumstance will bb deliver pre-term?

BB Heartbeat
what i normally do is to breath in awhile while laying down and monitor my tummy. you can see the tummy is moving up and down.

pinksorbet, haha...guess wat i almost forgot to take my urine test in my last appointment and when Dr Heng asked me u clear yr urine test? i simple say yes...then after i stepped out then i realised oh yah ah..i like forgot to do the test hahaha and i went bk..the nurse like just glance n say ok..sometimes i wonder if they really pay attention. wahahhahah me so bad.
hee...pinksorbet, i rmbr u r on skinny/slim side rite? guess the weight increase shld be more or less stable soon ba. no worries...tink most prob. is the glucose tat makes u weigh heavier. =)
so far, hw much weight have u gained liao? me aiming less than 15kg, but i doubt i can wor..coz CNY is coming!!! wahhahahah
positive thinking is good!! we still gt time haha..but we try to pack our stuff first hee..

mangogal...eh..act. i din ask abt bb's heartbeat rate leh...in week 32 only nw starting to see gynae once every 3weeks+. so i guess after tat will have to see her once every 2 weeks? hmm...

Oki SG, eh..maybe me more kiasu...:p

ST, yalo I also see my tummy moving up & dwn, but I thot that is our breathing, even normal ppl tummy also up & dwn when breathing mah....

sometimes i confused with BH and tummy ache.. haiz. but lately seem to have alot of "air" in tummy..yea have once there is cramp at pelvic area..

prosper...me so far 13kg liao..hahaha going to see my gynae nx week..hopefully won't gain much so tat i can eat alittle more during CNY..hahaha after tat see her then she will shake her head again. wahhahah....oh u seeing yr gynae every 2 weeks from 3rd tri ah..hmmm...i wonder why mine is still 3 weeks wor. maybe after tat will be every 2 weeks.

mangogal..i always see those mummies with big big tum lying on a bed to monitor something...izzit to monitor bb's heartbeat? when do we start using tat device ah?

Meebaby, BH is painless and it is irregular, if ur tummy ache is persisitant, then better cal ur gynae's clinic n chk wif them

SG , that device is doppler lor, u can hear ur bb heartbeat sound and the reading, u mean ur gynae did nt use at all for this pregnancy?

Re: air in tummy..i realised my gastric area will be bloated (bulging up) esp. after a meal..then when u try hitting it...gt thumpthumpthump..alot of air lor..no wonder will have heartburn.

the tummy ache gone again.. suspect its "air" cos been sleeping facing the fan although i cover my tummy with blanket.. but just now i felt a little faint when walking.. i think better rest more siah..

mangogal..no leh...so far only use ultra scan to measure bb's head/weight tats all...i always see those mummies with very big tummy using the doppler in a room..very curious..and i'm tinking maybe tats for later stage ba...but i also dunnoe hw late is late..nw aldy 32 weeks liao..another less than 8 weeks to go, sikali even much shorter, who noes hor?

SG - preggies tend to be more forgetful! hehe...ya the nurses like so super bz lor....
my frens were saying dunno where all the weight gain gone to cos i dun seem to have put on 6kg for the past month...with this 6kg gain, i have gained like 12kg since the start of pregnancy! shocking!
i wanna eat the CNY goodies but i have to cut down cos of this glucose thing...sigh...dr heng was like.."u gained 6kg bb onli gained a kg..."
(like OMG)...
i find my face and feet swell up tink its cos of the sugar level...so ugly...sigh....

st
i tot the moving up n down is our heartbeat?

BB's heartbeat is abt 2x as fast as compared to our heartbeat. It sounds like thousands of horses galloping.

i think the baby's heartbeat is about 133? anyway my gynae mentioned that once baby is out from womb, the heartbeat will drop drastically aldy.. he mentioned the weight of the baby is about 1kg plus.. he just said that its a good weight according to my weight increase..i've gained abt 13kgs so far..

minnie24 no leh it's at the tummy area when i stop breahting.

i try on hubby to ask him stop breathing his tummy didn't move up and down leh...hehehe

Minnie, ur gynae gt use doppler to let u hear ur bb heartbeat?

SG, I see..my gynae let me hear using doppler since 2nd tri start...