(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Breastfeeding
I hope I will be like my gf, yest visited her was very amaze how sweet seeing her bb suckle her nipple as a comfort.

Learn alot frm her yest,hehe

Serene,

I once read somewhere that you need to hang out or talk to Mummies who have breastfed successfully in order to get encouragements and positive remarks to press on. Do not talk to those whom have either never tried or are pro-FM. they would be a negative influence. I think with the mindset and the support you get from friends and family members should be able to brave through the odds. It's tough but just try your best lor, don't push yourself too hard also. hahaha, I'm giving you advice, but I myself dunno can do it or not. Oh yeah, must drink more of the papaya fish soup, it helps!

Jtho, i think breastfeeding pillow is neccessary for 1st time mummy like us...my gf use it initially during her confinement but nw her bb 2 mths old dun need to use, esp those who hv c section will need a breastfeeding pillow for support and learning how to bf, she will pass me her pillow

Jtho
Last time i did not get any breastfeeding pillow and i carried my son till my hand 'very suan', partially of this i gave up breastfeeding. I do not know any other position already. Now i not sure if i am able to do it without the breastfeeding pillow. I hope to breasdfeed longer this time round.

mangogal
u so lucky, ur friend pass u the pillow. for me, everything got to buy new. only manage to get pass down clothings from my cousin. that's why hubby feeling a bit heartpain cos everything also very expensive. the breastfeeding pillow costs like $79 or $89.

jtho is so lucky...when I went for my 3D scan on Tue, my girl girl so un-cooperative...kept moving her head and hands so gynae unable to take good picture. Will try again next round. Also, dun know why she likes to be in breech position all the time, or at least during scans...really hope she has opportunity to turn later...some ppl say when space becomes more restricted quite difficult to turn wor.
Sung/Afcai - talking abt red bumps on stomach and itchiness around the neck, I have them too! So annoying...but dun dare to apply any medicated cream. Moisturizer doesn't help...last nite I tried some Mopiko quietly but obviously no lasting effect. How?

Jtho
Yup, it is so expensive and not sure if wanna get 1 or not. Maybe go and see if can buy a 2nd hand one or not, since i might not use it anymore after this.

Jtho, or u can buy frm ebay, it is much cheaper
I intend to buy bb cot frm ebay, after checking wif those experience mummy frens, realise that their bb did nt sleep more than 6 mths in cot, cos babies by 6 or 7 mths can sit up and mess around in the cot liao, no pt buying brand new cot as I think it is a waste of money...

kome, then all the more i want to buy the breastfeeding pillow cos i want to persevere in total BF. if hubby still so stingy (he asked me to use normal pillow), i will buy it myself... keke.

nancy, yeah i was quite lucky cos initially, the sonographer said bb's face was very near the placenta, so a bit difficult to capture. but after a while, he moved slightly away from the placenta. but he has itchy hand, kept on moving his hand around his face :p

Hi mummies, i am also experiencing discomfort after eating. i am hungry easily but each time can't eat much. Anyway, for bottles, i bought the Avent starter kit (4 plastic ones) and 4 NUK glass ones. With the constant boiling, thought the NUK glass ones i'll use at home and plastic ones for going out. Steriliser, i'm getting the Avent express, like the design. Anyone going for Mrs Wong's class tomorrow? see u mummies then

i agree totally with fairymoss, have to talk to expereinced and successfully mommies who does bf.. for my case most of my friends even my sil and mil discourage me doing bf.. my sil and friends say itz damn painful, think their latching is wrong tatz y.. for my mil say itz troublesome and will be hard to go back work if i do bf.. but now i am determine to do bf no matter wat becoz it save money and is good for baby's health.. so now when ppl told me or having doubt in me doing bf, i will just ignore and do more research on bf inorder to prove them wrong.. i noe it is tough becoz before i am pregnant i have breast pain whenever menses coming instead of menses cramp, and the pain is like really bad.. but i just gotta hypnotise myself tat itz not as bad.. luckily, got a few friends who does successfully bf encourage me to strive on no matter wat.. =)

jtho,

Your bb boy is very chubby!!!! so cute.

Kome,

You can use 1-2 fat pillows and place on your lap to support the bb and act as a substitute to a bf pillow. For me, didn't use any special bf pillow last time cuz also not cheap, abt $80 for one.

Jasmin
Thanks for the link. Will consider renting it, but still hope find a cheap 2nd hand one instead. Can save more money. Last time did see a mummy selling the breastfeeding pillow at only $10. Need to look out for it again.

Serene,
It is normal to feel this way... I felt the same way as you last time. But I told hubby of my intention to breastfeed and got his support. He was very supportive right from start. Cos my baby drinks very slowly from the breasts, at night I give him expressed breast milk. This way, my hubby gets involved in feeding him at night too. And cos my boy wakes up very very often at night to drink, hubby and myself split our sleeps into 2 shifts. first half of the night I wake up to feed baby, second half, he wakes up to feed. At the start, I was diligently pumping 3 hourly to get milk flow, which means I also keep to this schedule in the dead of the night. How hubby assisted me was that I just have to rinse the pump and bottles and leave them in a basin. During his "shift", he will wash them thoroughly and sterilise them so that during my next pump session, the equipment are ready for use.

You need to be mentally prepared that breastfeeding is not a bed of roses. Engorgement of breasts, pain, are all part and parcel of the initial period. But these will ease off (and you will get used to the feeling) once your milk flow is more established. This may take up to a month or more, but it will happen
Once you are prepared, just accept it and not detest it. This kind of psychoing helps. It is good to get hubby involved. There will be hard lumps at the beginning... but hubby can help massage and break down the lumps so that you can feed/pump more efficiently. Can be done... been there, done that.
And when you get down and depressed about things, come in here and give us a shout. We will be here to listen and help!

Kome,
I think I mentioned I got a breastfeeding pillow last time but I didn't buy the branded Breastfriend. I bought the normal type selling for $30+ or $40 type. Ended up it didn't help much cos of the shape of the pillow. I felt that putting a pillow or cushion on my lap to support baby more helpful. but if you are thinking of getting My Breastfriend, then it may be different.

Mangogal,
Thanks. I certainly hope I can overcome all odds this time. With an active toddler sticking onto me, it may be more difficult! Workwise also more demanding than before.

Serene,

I'm already seeing a few pro-bf mummies and we can form a small support group here and share experiences and shower each other with encouragement during this journey.

serene... no brand de... anyway lots of mummies will go there buy.. it is at b269 queen st #01-246 shd u interested

Devil
I am still around. Heehee.....searching around to see got any 2nd hand Breastfeeding pillow selling cheap cheap. =P

Has anyone done a comparison between Braun and Terumo ear thermometers to see which is a better investment (from newborn up)? My SIL says these are the two best brands in Singapore.

fairymoss, my #1 is delivered at mount e. 2nd one at tmc, reason why dun wan use back, cos he is very popular n the waiting time is very long. My colleague recommend hers at mt a, so i think i will engage her son's pd this time.

For the breastfeeding pillow, personally i feel it is not necessary, just use a normal pillow will be good enuff.

Luckily i brought from the spree, cause yesterday i went to kiddy palace and saw the same model selling $123+. I had brought it at $87.18 including shipping charges.

<font color="119911">sung</font>,
yeah, do check with yr gynae....over exert, walking too long, carry heavy things etc will stinulate pre-term labour.

<font color="119911">Asura79</font>,
yeah, same as me.....think it will be kind of hard bearing via suffering if we eat too full. like indigestion etc....

do take care loh....maybe it's bec of low blood pressure or low sugar which cause one dun feel well. do rest as much as u can. take care as CNY is coming......

RE:Washcloth
yeah, me also pondering, what's that?

<font color="119911">Kome</font>,
today, my gar first day at playgrp.

heard fr my mum that she woke up at 7am with full of energy (usually adult woke up, drowsy drowsy type, dunno why kids so 'jin shen").then when we reached my mum'plc at 8am, she kept dragging me to the door. think she 's more excited to go to sch. ai-yo, my gar at the sch like big sis big....tot she will be timid but....one of the boy cried and she even sayang him and also very KPO too....all kids sit down to play toy while she jumped up and down, humm....with the children song, dance...ai-yo....she totally opposite fr last time cos when she is 5mth - 13mth, she got stranger anxiety.....now....like big sis big.

so u didn't send yr son to ccc today?? even my col took leave, I also dun care cos I told boss that I needed to be present for her first day of her playgrp.

re:bf.
dun need to carry bb. initially, I also carry till very suan in hosptial, somemore, my hand pluck with lot of those jab cos blood transfusion mah. so nurse asked me to use 2 pillow and placed onto my knee and raise up bb so that bb 's mouth will be just be the same level as my aerora.

<font color="119911">sunshinebaby</font>,
oh...so what's abt whitening facial cream? cos have to using it for night cream.

<font color="119911">Devil</font>,
same to u, also have a wonderful new yr.....

re:ru yi oil.
same as my mum will place a lot on my gar 's tummy (belly btn area) after bath since day 3 when she was discharge fr hospital.

re:milk bottle.
I luv avent bottle cos it stated can prevent colic. but my gar still got colic (suspected cos she will cried non-stop for 2-3hr during her 4mth-5mth twice per week at the same time) until nothing can pacifiy her....

wow, u got so many medela bottles. I used pigeon bottles, teddy bear bottles (given FOC via gift) and 1 medalea bottle to store bm.

<font color="119911">pups</font>,
yeah....swaddling blanket...I also use that when I go out.

hmm when u apply nipple cream did u wipe off before u pump or latch on?

<font color="119911">Serene</font>,
ai-yo, producing bf is not based on size of 'b' but based on demand and supply lah. tell hubby that, the more bb lathc on or mummy's pump, it will tell brain to let down the reflex.

for harden breast, just place warm towel and massage loh...that's how I clear my block duct.

yeah, agreed with what fairymoss mentioned, if those who dun really bf, they will give discourgement words etc....mum also kept saying bm not enu for bb and they got hungry easily. bm so fishy and smelly etc...like my sil and my frenz but I wasn't discourage by them and they even in turn envy me for bf for long. I told them got milk as long as one regular pump or let bb latch on. no mum after delivery dun have milk one unless medicine condition cannot bf or lazy to latch or pump.

jiayou, u can do that.....

<font color="119911">jtho</font>,
wow, yr bb 3D/4D photos so clear. kind of cute wor...

<font color="119911">fairymoss</font>,
hmm...durign the scan, yr gynae got scan placenta one meh? mine was average acc to detail scan done 2 mth ago.

errr..so jialat, yr no#1 got hospitalisae after bf....serious or not?

<font color="119911">managogal</font>,
dun need bf pillow lah....just dun feel shy to ask as much bf tips in the hospital. last time, i also no experience to bf but after a kind Indian nurse shows me and I got hand on, it will be a smooth one.. for me, I used normal big pillow will do to raise up bb loh so that bb will be incline with my areora.

anyway, one dun latch on bb in long term right, if bb got teeth then they will bite. so it is still gd to pump the ebm out. the pillow only merely used for the first few mth only...

fairymoss:: hehe no no not to let bb suckle before delivery but i will let the nurses know i want to BF before delivery so they will respect my decision and not give FM, in case i get too groggy.
I hope your condition improves!

starflower
I experience the same thing as u...last week got flu and since then my appetite is not so good...couldnt eat much but hungry easily...so uncomfortable..and then my heartburn is back again..

re: ear thermometer
how much is it the Braun one?

re: bb stuffs
did u ladies complete ur bb stuff list? christmas got sales everywhere..i hope u all get good price!

re: breastfeeding
I'm still worried if I express milk and let bb drink from bottle, he will later refuse to latch again...how ladies? any experience on that matter?

re: breast-feeding

yap i agree that once you get the hang of it ... its not as tough or difficult as you imagine =p

i didnt get any breast-feeding pillow oso =p

re: 1st day at child care

it was a NIGHTMARE for me in the morning cos my son refuses to go into the classroom and the teachers there make NO attempt whatsoever to try to get him to join in the class - and its really not my son's usual self as he enjoys his 2hr playground in his previous school and he keep telling me that he wants to go back.

Anyway both my hubby and me find that the teachers were really bo chuap and even we were bored at the story telling. Some more only my son and another boy are new additions to the class which means that there is no reason as to why they dun have the bandwidth to help my son fit in - i think they simply dun care.

so in the end i left the cc at 11am and brought him to Cherie Hearts near my mum place and he instantly could fit in without much threat - so much d<textarea>re: breast-feeding

yap i agree that once you get the hang of it ... its not as tough or difficult as you imagine =p

i didnt get any breast-feeding pillow oso =p

re: 1st day at child care

it was a NIGHTMARE for me in the morning cos my son refuses to go into the classroom and the teachers there make NO attempt whatsoever to try to get him to join in the class - and its really not my son's usual self as he enjoys his 2hr playground in his previous school and he keep telling me that he wants to go back.

Anyway both my hubby and me find that the teachers were really bo chuap and even we were bored at the story telling. Some more only my son and another boy are new additions to the class which means that there is no reason as to why they dun have the bandwidth to help my son fit in - i think they simply dun care.

so in the end i left the cc at 11am and brought him to Cherie Hearts near my mum place and he instantly could fit in without much threat - so much difference from the morning!! the teachers played a part in helping him to warm up and imagine i actually walk into the cc unannounced hahahahaaha

when i wanted to leave at 5pm ... my son was the one who tells me that he wants to stay on to play with his fren *fainted* so now he tells me that on monday he wants to go back to Cherie Hearts. luckily i only paid registration fee of $60 for the earlier child care

now crossing my finger that he will continue to love the school - v tiring to keep changing child care =p

RE: Thermometer
I bought CADI brand from the motherhood fair in 2006. Till now still working fine. I think not bad lor. Saw it at Kiddy Palace also. U can measure from ear and also scan across the forehead if baby is too small. The thermometer is not very big too, quite handy. I think it is less than $100 if I am not wrong. Maybe those who are interested can check it out?

Here's the link
http://www.cadi.com.sg/products03.htm

Seabreeze/Kome,
First day in school for ur kids also? Are they born in 2006? My gal first day is quite ok, can go into the class. Not sticky to me, I grab a chair and sit far from her. But can see she is stealing glance at me lor. I stayed for 2 hrs, gone thru breakfast, assembly and playtime. Told her I am leaving and will fetch her later. Luckily she say bye and see u later with a smiling face. First Day can consider not bad already. Hope her 2nd day is ok too.

thks Afcai, since my gf gng to pass me bf pillow, I just take lor

Wah so happy and excited to see some of ur #1 gng sch, hope is a fun experience for them!

moomooland,
it's better to get playpen than baby cot. playpen at least got another latch for bb to sleep until few mths later, they can be stable in the playpen. As for babycot, they can only sleep for up to 6 mths then no use le. And also playpen is cheaper than babycot.

May Wong ...

my son is 05 one so he already attended playgroup last year ... think he simply dun like the 1st child care thats all ... was super ok with Cherie Hearts and even can tell me this morning that his new school is Cherie Hearts and he wan to go back there on Monday!

your gal is v good ... must continue to encourage her =)

p3pp3r
Thanks for your link, but its abit expensive for 2nd hand. I saw 1 from ebay selling at $45.
Will slowly look around again, in the meantime consider if really need to get the breastfeeding pillow or not.

afcai
Haiz.....my ass mgr not approve i also cannot do anything. Still need this job to support my children.
My son also very active, when the teacher never notice he went into toilet to play with water.

RE:Washcloth
Can be use as a normal handkerchief to wipe baby. Any other purpose i not too sure either. I get the below information from the BP that i had brought the washcloth. Hope can help.

1. Lint-Free
The presence of lint can be a cause of irritation and sensitivity to baby's eyes and respiratory system. Most conventional cloths are not lint-free.

2. Durable
Suprisingly durable and will not tear or break into piece even when wet. With a special woven technology, it is actually Reusable and can last up to 1month (depends on one's usage).

3. Highly Absorbent
Because of its high absorbancy, some parents actually use this DR Baby Washcloth as a towel to dry their babies or even toddlers, after their bath or a swim! Easy wringing out of water makes this DR Baby Washcloth really friendly on mother's hands.

4. Quick Air Dry
DR Baby Washcloth dries up within minutes!

5. No More Molds
Molds are not just an unpleasant sight, they are actual signs of poor hygiene! DR Baby Washcloth will not have molds nor bacteria build up, unlike conventional cloth.

6. No More Foul Smell
Since Dr Baby Washcloth dries up in minutes, parents no longer have to withstand the smell of a damp cloth. A common probelm in our humid climate.

7. Hygienic
DR Baby Washcloth is made disposable for hygiene purpose. It can be disposed off after a single-use, or washed and re-use for a few weeks before disposal.
Frequent change of cloths helps decrease the transmission of bacteria and diseases to our fragile babies.

8. Light-weight, Compact, Convenient
DR Baby Washcloth can be used during outings, shopping, at in-law's and travel purpose. No more lugging around of a thick towel that takes up space in parent's diaper bags.

TIPS:
* Bring along a few pieces of DR Baby Washcloth in the diaper bag as you will need it and can use it anytime anywhere
* If your baby's diaper leaks, or if your toddler makes an accidental spillage, DR Baby Washcloth can be used as a quick and effective clean-up of the soils on your child, car seat or stroller!
Thanks to it's high absorbency, wont tear and disposable!

I have some leftover hard liquor from my wedding.
Anyone interested in buying Martell VSOP, 70cl, for their confinement needs?

$70 self collect, $75 deliver to your doorstep.

Contact me at [email protected] for enquiries!

prosper: think u got it wrong le, our gathering most likely at hotpot culture in MS or TB... the one missycandy is asking for recommendation is for her n her hubby...

thanks for the reply mommies!

so far ive seen the latido (at OG)$119 and babycraft (tangs) $139 playpens, which is better? my mom thinks babycraft is more sturdy, while hubby thinks the latter :S

prosper,

the vote is for missycandy to go celebrate with her hb. we going rajah inn or hotpot culture for our gathering. The Line is abt $80++ per pax. Think it is way out of most of our budgets and personally, i think too many things we cant eat liao... no alcohol, no raw food, etc.