(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Promeganate,
you will need bigger bottles as baby grows. No harm keeping the bottle and buy new one.

Promegranate
If you don't mind, you may keep them till maybe 5 or later months, when baby may need to drink more than you can use them already.

tsp and kome,

thanks for your replies. I've decided to keep the bottles and get the 125ml bottles too. Hubby a bit cheapskate, said we cld use the 260ml for newborn feeding since it has the built-in anti-colic valve. I don't knw abt that

yiyi & pinksobert
the cot got any other colour to chose beside White?

how many level can the cot be adjusted?

Promegranate
Milk will turn cold quite fast if baby only drink little and you use the big bottles. It is not good for baby to drink too cold milk.

hihi mummies,
just back from orchard..so crowded! luckily it is easy to get cab at lucky plaza :p

Kome,
how many bottles and what size do we need to prepare if we bf?

Went to Hyperstore this evening. Here's a few thing that I take note:

1) Baby Cot - European Pinewood (beige colour only) $198
2) Steriliser - GLAND brand $48
3) Playpen - Not sure what brand $78

Strollers like Mc Claren and Peg Perego selling at abt 40% off.

kome,
noted, will let hubby knw that little milk turns cold quickly in bigger bottle.

I'm also interested to knw the answer to vernice80's question. I was wondering if 1 to 2 125ml bottles will do if i want to TBF and express milk only for hubby to feed during the day and night when he wishes to. Will like to latch the baby on as far as possible but want hubby to bond with baby through feeding too.

Does it sound like an unrealistic plan?

I dropped by the hyperstore too.. just want to share with u gals:

maxi cosi dori carseat is selling at $199 normal price $389 or $398 suitable for newborn till approx 4yr old.

Maclaren XT is selling at 20% disc.

There r also other items like bb cot and playpen but I din take note of the disc price.

Promeganate,
2 bottles would be just good, 1 for water and the other for milk. There are other options of milk storage - glass bottles, disposable breastmilk bags or avent's BM storage containers (rec to reuse 4 times only). The 1st option is most economical as you can ask from hospital, ask for as many as possible, I hv hundreds of them. You can buy the bottle caps frm Mt Alvernia hospital, they sell at about 80-90 cts.

It is better to empty your breast after every feed/latching. It helps to stimulate the body to produce more milk. the supply is at its optimum during the 1st 3 months before it stables down to produce the amount that baby feeds. By then, demand for milk would have increased and you may end up problem with the supply. The 1st 3 mths is the period to store milk in preparation for you when u return to work.

May, fatfish,
Do you know if quinny zapp is having any offer?

promeganate and vernice 80 - at least keep to 5 bottles if u tend to fully breastfeed most of the times and no.. ur plan is not unrealistic.. normal that u wanna get hubby involved.. though i have 3 kids.. but 1st time i fully expressin my milk till 9 months and partailly now coz i ave difficulty to latch on and i have 50 over bottles... i had so much milk when it was about 3 - 8 months then dropped when i got preggie again and worse when i fasted for the whole month of ramadahn... hope it helps..i had to keep on buying bottles and now keep for next year's use...

tsp - u mean after breastfeeding baby still have somemore milk left? how to go abt it? lets say this time i feed the right breast... then next one is left breast... so after drinking from right... do i express the left??? and vice versa? is there like a "routine" to follow?

I went down to baby hypermart too.. I find the discount for strollers quite good but its super crowded.. veri difficult to ask questions or test out the strollers.. so unless u oredi know which one u want to buy, den go down.. or else i think the major stores like JL r having decent discounts too..

FYI, if u want to buy capella or combi, pls dun go to baby kingdom now.. I realise its cheaper in OG but only till 8 dec.. same to the baby cots

Daphne, i also got very bad constipation a while back.. ya.. prunes help a lot.. really got to eat a lot of fruits

yiyi,

U bought the cot and stroller at 299? Tat's very cheap! I bought the same cot at robinson before i went US for 299... aiyah! do u think i can get a refund for my cot purchase then i go down the expo sale to buy another one?

My son having fever, coughing and running nose this morning. Just came back from GP., luckily he is too very active run here and there,

Btw i thinking of getting a good ear thermometer, does anyone have a good lobang? Thinking of getting the Braun one.

read from some mom's mags that to take a baby's temperature, its best to take via the rectum, but i always hear ppl buy ear thermometer...so kinda confused...

moomooland ...

generally for our body rectum is the most accurate but i guess the fastest and easiest for bb is still via the ear

missycandy,
I always pump both sides even after latching, just to make sure that the breasts are empty. Breasts turn soft if it is empty, you will come to know that... You can choose to latch alternate breast during feeds, or you can feed 1 side for 5 mins and the other for 5 mins.

Kome,
Me using braun too, find it reliable. Measuring via ear is more convenient.

moomooland,
the worrying thing is when bb has high fever. By then, you will feel it as the baby gets too hot.. won't it be painful or uncomfortable to insert the thermometer into rectum?

Jo,
I am keen to get quinny zapp, buzz is too bulky to put inside car. Guess it is heavier too? But I am not in Spore now, now sure if there would be any sale in Jan when I am back..

ok, thanks moms for contributing to my query...i guess getting a reliable ear thermometer is crucial then..braun is pretty popular ya? i'll consider getting a ear thermometer..wonder if there are discounts ard?...

st, I think is only white color. It can adjust 3 level.

Pinksorbert, you got the same deal too?! That's good.. keke..

Asura, aiya.. nevermind lah... even 299 without the stroller, i feel that is already a good investment as it can last till our bb till 5 to 6 years old..

moomoo - u can check out the BP section... sometimes they have someone who is selling the braun thermometer... i dont think any ongoing at the moment... but no hurry to get right? =)

Hi tsp,
Are you interested to get a used quinny zapp (color is a nice chilly red)? I have a pre-loved zapp to let go. Bought it as a second stroller for my girl. Ended up not having to use it very often because she prefers to be in the bb sling (poor me, tired). Very good and clean condition, including sun canopy and rain-cover. Can be folded and placed in a stylish "golf-like" bag. Convenient for used during travel. Didn't have the picture to show as it is nicely packed. Let me know if you are keen.

tsp,
2 bottles is enough? then what size should we get? Does TMC give out the free glass bottles? how long can breast milk be stored? in freezer?

sorry so many qns cos 1st time lah

what brand of bottles do u all get? Avent non BPA bottles not available in SG right?

kome,
hope ur son recover soon

Hi girls!

Just back from BHG sales, there is 20% off storewide!! Bought some bb clothes, quite cheap too! Think i'm gg back tmr see got disposable undies or not haha. and maybe can stock up on teats liao...

hello mummies

long time din log in.. so many posts.. how is everybody??

btw have u all bought steriliser? i am contemplating between Pigeon Rapid Steriliser, Pigeon Multi Steriliser or Avent IQ 24 Steriliser.. any advice? the one downside about avent is that u have to use only avent bottles right? not so other brands friendly that way..

i am also wondering that if u expressed your breastmilk.. how much to feed baby? heard somewhere that newborn only need 60ml milk per feed.. is this true?

St
Thanks, he is so sticky to me when he is sick and want me to carry him around. Aiyo.....now got no strength to carry him too long so he cried and cried.

I never use before that washcloth. I buying to try out and see how is it.

Nana,

Pigeon also got downside, i.e. Cannot use to sterilise Avent bottles. So think got to decide on what type of bottles before u buy the steriliser. Me going to use Avent bottles.

Hi mtbs,

E thread is really moving so very fast...
So glad for e public holiday on Mon...

Entering e store to check out bb stuff is a rather surreal experience for me...as 1st time mtb...im qite amazed by e amt of pdt differences for bb...like e kind of teats for milk feeding *latex/silicone...types of sterilizer/cots/stroller/pumps...e clothes to buy for different ages...wow! I definitely need to tag along w an experienced gal frien to navigate thru this bb stuff...

Hi Queenie! Thks much for e invitation...itz great to hav a gathering n check out our new fig...heh heh...but tink u all go ahead lar...been qite lazy lately...

A few of u mentioned hyperstore...Where is it?

Read e comments abt whether letting e bb sleep on bed... or in a cot...qite amused when bb suddenly disappears from our sight?! Beri scary yar?!

Somehow we all forget tat bb is a really active being...my bb started to b really active on 5 Dec...he started to turn/kick n experiment his watery playground day n nite?! Itz those ticklish feeling n oso i get to see my tummy skin bulging out when there is a strong kick... U can imagine how alive e bb is once hez out of ur tummy?!

My hb n i tinking of calling him Abel...

went to OG chinatown today... bought our stroller and playpen... kakaka... i mentioned before that we wldnt buy a stroller til baby is born but having promo and tempted... so we bought =P then also say the playpen and becos we sleep queen bed... no place for baby =P so out of the our bed she goes and her own crib... we're using playpen becos we prefer something more mobile... =) oh ya... we didnt buy those high scale brands... we bought Latido... australian brand but put together in china... =\ anyway we tested the stroller and quite satisfied with it... tad heavy though... it has suspension control... quite cool...

For mummies who uses the Elancyl Stretch Mark cream, Guardian is having a promotion... it's 2 boxes for $47.30. (According to the sales lady, it was previously $47.30 per box)!! Is it true? =P

BPA-free bottles:
Will you mummies go for such bottles or jus normal ones? Having been using NUK for my girl but dunno if I should change it to BPA-free bottle for no. 2....

hi... me went to fox warehouse sale today and bought quite alot of bb boy's 3 to 6mths clothes even though my little ethan is not born yet... cheap and hip @ $6 each.. mummies who is expecting bb boy might wanna go look see look see.. but not so much for bb girls for this warehouse sale.. the previous time has more stock for bb girls..

Hi Grace,

The promo for the Elancyl One For One package is like on-going leh..keke
It has been this package since dunno when... Anyway, it is quite worth it and I have been using since I think week 10 til now and yet to finish one tube.

Nana,

Think someone here mentioned previously (quite long ago so cant remember who) that avent is too big for pigeon steriliser. You might want to confirm that with the sales.

Grace,

Think Mrs Wong mentioned about BPA-free bottles during one of the classes. She said that it is our choice. The non-BPA-free bottles would only leak BPA if there are scratches. So it depends on how we handle the bottles when cleaning. Also, it is advisable to change bottles after 3 - 4 months usage. I have a set of Newborn starter from Avent (non-BPA-free). Guess i would change to BPA-free version after i use the bottles i have for 3 - 4 months. Buying from US so not an issue, all brands sell BPA-free bottles there. Think i read that Avent would bring in their BPA-free bottles end this yr or next yr..

Gingal
About the promo...hmmm....ok...anyway got it to try...thanks for the recommendation! =P

Asura
Thanks for the info about the BPA-free bottles.

jme,
Thanks for the info abt the fox sale. Was just thinking if we should make a trip there becos previously, the babies ones are usually for girls and very limited for boys!

asura
pigeon steriliser cannot fit avent bottles? i tot pigeon's one can fit any bottles, eg NUK, avent? coz i've a pigeon steriliser passed down fr my si sao n tot of getting another one to place at my mum's place... if cannot fit then i've to chg my mind again... =(

nana
we'll update each other if we find out more on the pigeon steriliser... ok?
btw, any mummies noe can i use NUK teats on other brand bottles? eg, pigeon or avent???
or avent on other brand bottles??

Sunshinebaby
If I'm not wrong, NUK teats cant be used on other brand bottles but pigeon's teats can be used on NUK bottles....

st, I donno what wood is made from leh.. but i am going down today again.. cos we are getting the same set for my MIL house too...