(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

cordyceps : think those really good one is very expensive abt 1k for 1 liang .. this one usually MIL buy and make for me .. only birdnest hubby buy .. so luckily me save a bit on cordyceps

oh cordyceps is also very nutritious!
My gf's gal now coming to 2 yr old, I pinch cheekily her gal's arm when I play wif her, is very firm! My gf said she ate alot of cordyceps with slice lean pork meat once a week during her pregnancy.

Birds nest : my boss and colleagues who are mothers told me not to take too much birds nest... apparently will cause baby to have a lot of phglem and also high risk of getting asthma... hmmm can take but not too much lor... so im still considering to buy or not to buy...

babyplus - waaa i also got confused with the days usage wor... i thought with every week then lessen the number of days for each lesson... thanks for enlightening meeee!!! but anyway i played the lesson 1 additional 1 day... lol blur me... now on lesson 2... so will play all the lessons 9 days each from now... =P only worry is pop earlier then baby wont have the opportunity to hear the last few levels wor... hmmm....

i actually read the testimonials of the web... and asked hubby before buying it... i tried to search for 2nd hand but quite hard to find leh... so with hubby's approval then i bought it lor... =P to me, i think its worth trying... can keep for future babies also... hopefully this machine will help baby develop faster mentally.. =P i havent been a gd mummy... havent been popping the prenatal vitamins regularly la... always forget and i hate to pop pills... =P

milk - i actually have the friso mum 1 tin from the fair in jan... i opened it and drank it twice.. now its just lying on the shelf.. waiting for me to drink again.. i dun really feel like drinking leh... =\ i dont mind drinking soya bean though... heh heh heh...

mangogal & Fatfish,
We can let each other know when we go for our check up, maybe we get to meet each other there and say hi to each other...

Re: Bird's nest
My mum told me not to buy the bottled bird's nest as she's worried about the grade of the bird's nest, and the quality and process they use to clean the product, i.e. not thoroughly rinsed, picking off the feathers and dirt, how they make the bird's nest look so white (some sort of bleaching agent?). These are things that may cause adverse effects on the bb, and not the bird's nest itself.

My mum prefers to help me to source for the bird's nest herself and like to boil for me at home, with some wolfberries, cordyceps and rock sugar. Unfortunately, my parents are not living in Singapore and I can only wait for her to come back. I only had some during the beginning of the 2nd trimester when she came back to look after me.

Mrs BB Wong does agree the bird's nest gives bb fair and smooth skin. But all eaten in moderation like any other food. She suggest to make and take the bird's nest on its own and separately from the cordyceps and others goodies so that you get the maximum benefits from the bird's nest.

seabreeze: the cordyceps at Hock Hua and other TCM stores that I've asked around are mostly from Qinghai. Even the Eu Yang Sang ones are from Tibet or Qinghai. Think when I buy, will get my mum to go with me cos she is more familiar with chinese herbs and the quality. Haha, plus she can bargain better.

Cordyceps are very good for the lungs and those with respiratory problems. Also good for immunity system. According to my TCM doctor, it is not heaty

re : bird's nest
bird's nest will not cause phelgm, my MIL very kiasu one, she only told me that oranges will cause the bb to have a lot of phelgm, that's y she forbid me to drink the orange juice. as for bird's nest, i have been taking the bottled ones and double-boiled bird's nest every alternate weeks.

re : milk
i tried enfamama and similac before, find that enfamama doesnt taste as good as similac. Similac is sweeter. normally i will pour half a glass of hot water and half normal temperature water to dissolve the milk powder. Enfamama will tend to clot and there will be lumps of powder floating ard.

haha sure Jas...my next appt is 3rd Dec, time is 10:30am

Hope to see you & Fatfish

Just came back from Mrs Wong's class..quite entertaining indeed. 1st lesson- educating our hubby on massage for mummies and bb, communicating with our bb and our diet etc. Was told that we need to hv sufficient iron and calcium( cant recall how much).She mentioned that we can hv alcohol in our confinement dishes as long as its moderate and make sure its cook not direct. For bird nest, it only helps to improve bb's complexion and also advise to brew birdnest on its own not with other stuff. Watever she said its actually in her book which is selling at parentcraft center..fyi

sportger/ ilyena/ queenie/ gingal/princessindreamland

Din manage to recognise you gals.. hope to say hi in our next lesson. see ya next week

Re: milk

I hv tried dumex, enfamama and anmum. I still prefer anmum. As wat Keron said, Enfamama will tend to clot and there will be lumps of powder floating ard.

hi mummies, wow so many posts today!

hee today's on leave, tom's on course, it's a good week haha weekend's almost here
ate so much rich food today, came back weigh myself almost 1 kg heavier in a day haha. target is to stop at 60kg if poss ;P

re. cordyceps / birdnest
i started taking after 20th week. haha not too sure if taking would be good but heard so many positive things abt these 2 tonics. still my gynae dun believe in chinese tonics so i'm taking very slowly, both only once a month and during diff weeks. oh bot mine from a shop my mil frequent in bugis area. cordyceps was $470 for 1 liang from tibet (recommended to boil together with bao sheng). birdnest was 1 liang $130 also recommended to boil together with bao sheng. pretty cheap compared to EYS and comparable to Hock Hua which we checked earlier. main reason is coz MIL trust the owner lor.

re. anmum milk powder
actually the more i drink it, the more i like it hee. taking vanilla favour now, tink choco more heaty, used to hv constipation prob when drinking choco flavour. now ok. rem to make it with some cold water first then add hot water, else will hv tons of lumps too. not sure if that's the same case for enfamama mentioned by keron. haha i used to get lots of lumps too until an older colleague taught me this tip when she see me making in office. drinking twice a day now.

re. facebook
haha not yet time to log in and add all you mtbs who have the account. hee i'll try to chk dis weekend again! now it's like wkdays busy at work, tired after work and wkends, busy whole day, attending classes and shopping for bb stuff. hee i can't see enough of bb stuff, though can feel that hb very sick of KP and all the bb sections liao haha ;D

seabreeze
wow, more online ordering, i want too hee! will go take a look at the website, anything i want, pm you k. thanks thanks!
i spend almost $200+ online BPs liao. waiting to rec most items, hope they are good, wahhahhaa!

missycandy
must rem to take your vits regularly! every day once rite, tk after your breakfast immediately lor. cannot skip. hee hee i'm a sticker in believing dis vits are the best for bb. like mentioned in a book i'm reading now, it's only for these 9 mths and it's the best we can do for bb now coz will impact so much on their development that we can't make up for later. so jia you jia you in tking them k!

sung, you are right, my MIL taught me to add cold water first to dissolve the powder before adding hot water to make it warmer...

i m going to the tollyjoy sale tomorrow, hope i can find something which is worth buying, actually more interested in the clothings and bibs, hope can find good buys..

Hi Mommies to be...
I am from the April 2008 thread... Looking to sell my infant car seat as my baby will be moving on to a front facing one.

Maxi Cosi CabrioFix Car Seat (Black) - In almost brand new condition. Bought for $358.... willing to accept any offers of $200 - $250. Can pass to you in late Jan. (I actually regret not buying a 2nd hand one as baby only uses it for a few months)

I do not accept PM so kindly email me at [email protected]
thanks and have a good weekend.

Seabreeze, pm you liao
hee let me know if can tag on.

Keron, haha at first i'm so silly, i kept tinking water not hot enough so got lumps and add more and more hot water :p

After your visit to tollyjoy, let us know k. If got good buys, then maybe can pop down over the weekend. Thanks!

hi mommies
im back from Mrs wong's class.
haha really too many mommies there. and i guess 95% of us are wearing black capris.. LOls..
aniway im nearer to the entrance, 2nd row from the back.

im gg bintan tml morning liao. guess wont have time to log in to chat..
haven pack my bag yet.

u all have a nice weekend!!!

me long time did not see the updates(just browse thru the latest updates only) leh, too tired now..bb is quite active nowsday...tummy and backside also
protuding out.

<font color="#7D2252">anyone want the followings(am giving out):
- 2 sample sachets of dumex mamamil expry in Feb 2009
- $5 similac mum expiry dec 08.

do pm me.

<font color="#7D2252">Lenny Susanty </font>
re: Hock Hua member.
how to be one??

<font color="#7D2252">Caca </font>
I delivered at kKh last time. agreed that the MO who does the stictching part not so profession. he stitch for quite sometimes. think stitch
and remove again (similar to yr case), dunno what happened....even with the jab on my legs, i still can feel the uncomfortable feeling.

<font color="#7D2252">Jasmine</font>,
last time, I also did the glucose test. but this time, no last. think now, i dun prefer sweet thing, just sour thing only...

<font color="#7D2252">fatfish </font>
for me, I also brewed my own tonics. sian.....

<font color="#7D2252">mangogal</font>,
for me, i also intended to ate cordyceps with slice lean pork meat + 10 pieces of pao sheng every alternate week loh.
then other alternate week will be bird nest loh.

<font color="#7D2252">Keron&amp;Jeris </font>
re:enfamama. agreed that the fm will tend to clot and lump of powder floating ard. Anumum is not like that loh.anyway, I still
prefer anumum.

<font color="#7D2252">sung</font>,
for us, we bought the 3 in one package at Zheng zhong (still can clock NTUC link pts). 3 in one package consists of ginsheng, a box of cordyceps
and a box of unsweet swallow nest (consist of 8 small bottles). all cost $300.

wish to share my postnatal massage experience. My therapist Mdm Rozie frm malay postnatal retreat serve me with very professional and I'm very satisfied and enjoy my sessions everyday. Always punctual with her timing and my mum also tried her traditional massage service, she too enjoy it. Was recommended by my cousin who have use their service before. Tks to you Mdm Rozie for your great help.I took their promotion package in smh biz thread and I think worth with such service they provide. May visit their website malaypostnatal.blogspot.com for more info.

Re: Thurs Mrs Wong's Antenatal Class

Queenie,

I think I recognised U...U brought a Gucci Tofu Bag in Dark Green Trimmings right?
I'm sitting in front of U to your left...As said, was in Black bottoms and Cardi and Green Top...

Don't have chance to catch your eyes on me...wanted to give u a smile then...

Anyway, I was feeling extremely warm throughout the class, as though the air-conditioning was not working.

*I couldn't make out who were the others on this thread... Too many couples leh...

I won't be in Thurs class next week, as I will be attending a Friend's wedding. will be joining the Tues class
next week instead. So see U gers the week after wor..

afcai
same as u, currently i'm eating cordyceps every alternate week loh and then other alternate week will be bird nest loh.

morning, sun. TGIF?

long time nvr post, but hv been reading the posts..hee hee.
looking forward to my detailed scan on monday, cant wait, bcos then can cfm is a prince and can really start shopping for boys' clothes. last scan, gynae cfm 80% boy...

heard that Avent steriliser can only fit Avent bottles only. true or not? my cousin giving me one, so need to know before getting the bottles.

MORNING SUN, elina, Irene! YAY! FRIDAY!!
hehe

elina:: yes avent steriliser can only fit avent bottles only wor. That's what I was told by the salesperson the last time. ^^

afcai,

re: Hock Hua Membership
I went to the sales staff and told her that i want to buy brid nest, she asked me if want to join member to get discount. Just try approaching the staff and asked them about it. you can ask them if we buy more, got further discount? the one i bought is the "Xue yan"

If you want, tonight i go home.. i go check the bottle then let you know..

Wow... so many posts that I cannot catch up! I am so tied down by work. I was in the office until 9.45 last night cos of a multi-nation teleconference and this morning by 8.15am, I am back in the office again. I am so tired!

Hope everyone has a restful weekend

Its finally friday again...time flies..

seems like a couple of u went to bintan/batam...i guess i wouldn't be able to tahan the boat ride there...

lenny - have added u in fb and saw the colored scans...i couldn't realli make out the bb parts even tho they were labelled, except for a few i guess...but its good to have colored scans to keep...but u are having a pretty princess...hey lots of things to buy ya..hehe

which milk bottles are BPA free? i heard NUK and Piyo Piyo and i'm sure there are lots more others...am oso deciding between glass and plastic bottles but leaning more towards the plastic bottles cos glass ones are heavy...

Pink sorbet,

I will try to label the FA scan photos in FB this weekend.. kekeke..

Yep.. princess means more stuff to buy.. i intend to buy them at a later stage. As i am due in first week of April, think i wil only buy them in March next yr.

Jasmine, my family also.. Mainly my hubby's family.. Doesnt encourage me to put her in classes so early. Mainly due to the diseases like HFMD, etc.. But I find she's learning things from the TV now, esp on Hi-5. Maybe let her go experience some new things and can learn new things. Hopefully, she can start to talk soon. Thanks! I'll go browse thru the website.. Just the transportation is a problem.

Seabreeze, for the ward, I think TMC only have 1 or 2 4-bedded. I told the nurse that Dr Ang guaranteed me that I will be getting a 2 bedded at 4 bedded cost. Then they said they will look for a slot for 2 bedded, so they put me there...
If I really get 4-bedded, I think I will complain and will change to 2-bedded.

Fatfish, me too... My MIL will brew for her own daughter.. Like #1, both of us are expecting.. So she will brew and I get to drink.. This time round, no more "BU" soup, bird nest, whatever... Even confinement, her daughter no need to lift a hand in anything but I have to do everything myself. So I have already confirmed a CL this time, no matter what they said.

Only my mom make the "BU" soup and bird nest for me.. Mummy is still the best...

Queenie, enjoy your trip.

Mummies, anyone using facebook? Can add me? [email protected]

Anyone got their baby's blog? Can I add you into mine? Mine is http://aloha-littledarling.blogspot.com/

St
Maybe you should consult your gynae first. Since we are taking fish oil and multivitamin, i think is more than enough already. If want to take TCm to help 'bu' health, you may consider after delivery. Personally i find that not good to take so many tonics and mix chinese and western together. All in moderation will be the best.

lenny - u can get yr items at march bb fair next year...but i tink i couldn't wait till then...my guess is that i will probably deliver mid mar...

i'll have to get my main bulky items in dec (hopefully there will be year end sales) then slowly get the rest of the stuffs...

i have been looking at bb items but dunno y i always didn't have the "guts" to buy yet...mayb still thinking too early or so...and oso scared to buy something that is not needed..or that i'm still indecisive which brands to buy...

Pinksorbet,

me too, i haven't really looked into it. I only bought a pair of booties &amp; 4 dresses from Bali. My hubby bought her a signature Hard Rock bali tee.. think she can only wear when she is 18 mths - 24 mths old.. he bought 3 of them.. 1 for himself, 1 for me and one for our bb gal.. he said. we all wait for bb to be able to wear then wear together.

he super kan chiong.. kekeke

Lenny,
Will it be too late to get bb's stuff? I scare will give birth by end feb so will be getting all the things ready by late Jan or early Feb.

corene, is pigeon bottles good? I heard Avent bottles better coz it can reduce colic in babies... Am still Avent bottles now for my #1 but Avent bottles are quite ex. and it is not BPA free.

Sung ...

Got your PM will include your order in =)

teddybaby ...

ok i ask my mum to go and check out the cordycep again ... she seem to only trust the horse brand cos we been buying from them for the longest time

re: birdnest

i rem that they say must clean the bird nest properly cos if any of the fine feather gets into the bb lung then will have asthma

thats why when bb is too young ... oso cant take birdnest

re: jshopper

any more mummy keen? if not i will place my order soon ... scared stuff OSS

Kome,
I am due in first week april (5th April 2009) so no hurry yet la.. can even start buying after CNY.

in the meantime, i will keep a lookout for stuff and comapre prices.. if i buy now, my room will be very cramp and things will grow dusty.. will give me extra work of cleaning up. My parents and brother are still staying with me as their apartment haven't T.O.P yet. so really no space also.

lenny - that is so sweet...my hb doesn't seem to take interest in bb clothings...i jus feel i'm more enthusiastic than he is...wish he could be more enthu sometimes too...mayb cos he is thinking its too early too...
thats why i tink its good he's attending the antenatal class as me...

corene - tks for the infor...will check it out too...

does anyone know which milk bottles will be the best actually?

any of you going to the talk at K.K.Hospital tomorrow?

Baby Singapore Pte. Ltd. will present BabyPlus at K.K. Hospital ‘Nurturing Your Child Talk’ from 11am to 2pm on 22 November and 20 December 2008.

I am only keen on getting babyplus, donlt know if i can buy there on the spot.