(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Miss83

For this pregnanacy don't know why i always got the negative mindset and pain here pain there. Haiz......

Mummies, now i cannot sit upright coz my back will felt pain. Anyone the same?

congrats to mummies who know their bb's gender.. can start shopping for bb's stuff now.

Congrats to vernice and idlecat on the double good news. I understand wat u gals had been thru, I was like that too... reading the forum but dare not to say anything while waiting for the results. Now counting down to 2 more weeks for a detailed scan to confirm bb's heart is normal.

kome,

it could be normal backache.. dun worry too much. Mummies must stay happy and positive.

May be u can check with your gynae on your next visit.

Fatfish
I think is normal also, but don't know what position to sit already. Seat this way also pain seat that way also pain. Seat too straight tummy feel discomfort.

thxs fatfish..

kome - i also can't sit upright for too long..must have cushion behind or sit slant a bit..my mum sat maybe the bb is more nearer to the spine area..so more burden wor..so don't worry too much..everything will turn out fine..

Lunch time I went Marks & Spencer, brought the baby romper 5 pcs set at $26 sales price & 20%off on top of sales price which come to $20.80 for 5 pcs of romper think quite worth buying as the material is good. I also brought 2 pcs set of long sleeves at $18 with 20% off. Wahaha... happily shopping liao...

Congrats idlecat & Vernice!

Baby's nickname
Hubby and I call him Bao (3) Bao (1).

Baby's room
Alamak! Hubby and I headache about this because we never planned to have a baby so soon. We had a room transformed into a walk-in wardrobe and had a wall bashed, to link to the master bedroom. There is no room left for the baby. Can't possibly have the maid sleep there with the baby too, cos the room is linked to MBR. Weird lah. When she gets up or wants to go out of the room, always have to walk past our room. The 3rd room is entertainment room. Initially thought of moving the computer table to MBR, then put the baby in study room, but there is a huge display cupboard filled with some scary-looking toys (hubby's collection), sure will scare the baby. If put the baby in MBR, then the maid can't access him in the middle of the night. Headache lah.

Stretch mark cream
I use this purple tube from my gynae. Go back then check the name. I use very minimal amount, cos want to save $$.

Christmas
Yay! I am also looking forward to it. Got presents. Ke ke.
1836959.gif

fatfish ...

me oso waiting for the detailed scan too .. though the genetic report has cleared and the last scan showed that the NT is back normal ... somehow feel that only 100% sure after the detailed scan

even when my mum ask me when to start cooking the tonic ... i oso told her after my detailed scan

Thanks Sun. I dunno what is the brand of the cot. It's white colour and comes with wheels. I notice there is sticker with 2 cartoons teddy bears on it. That day got at least 3 ppl getting this cot.
Actually, 2 weeks ago saw another white colour baby cot on sales @$299 with free bedding set and mattress at Compass Point Metro. I wanted to buy but hubby doesn't like yellow colour Looney Tunes bedding set and prefer Robinson's.
Now have to shop for bedding set

Congrats idlecat & Vernice!

at last the nightmare is over. your guys really can wait for two weeks while i cant and ask for express result.

idlecat
u can go kaki bukit wholesale bb stuffs to get bedding set... saw they hv quite a no of design to choose fr...

Hi Ivy, my hubby have thought of FISH but I scare need to extract more amino acid and also FISH cover fewer tests. This 2 weeks really difficult to endure. But we still go ahead to buy a baby cot and paid antenatal class fee before result out. Ha Ha... funny right...

Hi Sun, went there before and originally plan to buy one of the cot from Kaki Bukit but >$300 leh...
Bedding set also not cheap. I think wait for dept stores sales then buy.

Idlecat : Triple test accuracy only 70% as compare to Oscar . Since Amnio clear all should be ok .. don't worry anymore ..

hoho..me too..i sign up antenatal class even before i got my OSCAR results..

btw what is FISH? i nvr heard from it before..

idlecat...ur Amnio test was done late ah?? so fast u due for FA liaoz..i am still waiting

vernice80
like you, i am oso eager on waiting upon my DS.. ahhhh... seem so long.. although i know the clock is ticking fast liao.. but still wan to know more about my bb..

does it mean that the kaki bukit is more expensive than those at dept stores? anyone know of cheap buy from the wholesale?

next thursday.. 6/11.. but it still seem so long for me.. think alot of mummies been sianz hearing tat from me liao.. wahahahaha

Seabreeze
same here ultrasound shows NT back to norm but gynae said most impt is the detailed scan. Yah, my mil also asked me abt tonic and my hubby wanted to buy birdnest I also told them after my detailed scan. We must stay positive and happy, I believe our bb will be fine

vernice
FISH is the fast result which u will get after 48 hrs but u need to pay extra and doc will also need to extract more.

fatfish
i hvn't done my DS n i'm already on tonic n birdnest lor... no prob w tat ba...

of coz our bb will be fine one!!!
1837194.gif

irene
my DS oso same wk as yours but 3 days later...

kome
i understand ur feeling..tho i dont have backache yet but Im experincing 'the other type of suffering' (bloated tummy, loss appetite, pelvic pain, mood swing, etc)...all these sufferings also make me wish that time will fly so fast n then march come..got to see bb..i believe the joy cant compare to the sufferings we've been thru rite now..but march seems soo long...
so now wait for christmas first..at least christmas spirit also makes me happy! and can do shopping too

aiyo u all already know your DS scanning date , my next appt 14 Nov then I will know when is my DS scanning date think should be around 28 Nov even longer right .. hahaha ..

re: DS
for those mummies who have gone for DS..may I know what kind of scan they will do to us?
i heard it's about 1 hour..how come that long?
what will they check besides confirming the bb gender?
my DS is on this monday 3/11..very excited..have been waiting for this since 4 weeks ago..

oohh..thxs seabreeze..i nvr knew abt that..they also nvr offer me heehee..anyway over liaoz best!!!

irene/joyce - ur DS will be fine..don worry, be happy

i still donno got to wait till when???

Sorry Sun for the confusion. I don't meant Kaki Bukit bedding set ex. I meant in general bedding set is not cheap as I see Robinson selling at ~$100+. I think most important quality must be soft and comfortable.

Is anyone going to TMC Parentcraft antenatal classes on Sat 29th Nov 7-9pm? I wanted earlier class but waited too long to book so stuck with this session.

miss83, how long your DS is depends on how co-operative baby is with moving around so the person scanning can see all the vital organs, limbs, head etc
If I am not wrong, the scan should check all head measurements, neck, hands, arms, legs, kidney, blood flow through heart, facial features incl. cleft lip. They also check to see baby's movements. ( I am looking at my scan results here haha)

My friend's said theirs took half hour to 45 mins. Mine was 20 mins because baby was super co-operative.

Hi Vernice, ya loh... test quite late... I was getting more worry each day while waiting for result as my tummy is getting bigger and can feel baby kicking more frequent... Now I'm already in 6th mth, what if... also too late to... Lucky baby is good girl

RE: FISH
(extract from web) A faster method of analysis, called FISH for "fluorescent in situ hybridization," involves using special dyes targeted to specific chromosomes. Each dye glows a different color under fluorescent lighting. At present, we can only test for four or five different chromosome pairs using this technique. Normal cells have 23 pairs of chromosomes; an abnormal fetus may have an extra chromosome or may be missing one from a pair. Since we can't test all the chromosome pairs using FISH, this method only picks up a portion of the potential chromosomal anomalies that may occur. Luckily, the most common problems are picked up using this screening method. As results from this test can be available within a few hours.

hi pumpkin..i am going for the class on 29th 7-9pm..but my original class is on thurs..the sat class is a replacement for me..

sun

yah, no prob to start on tonic now. Its just that I have phobia coz I had 2 m/c prior to this preg and I was told that my bb's NT is abnormal and gone thru CVS hence I prefer to wait till DS.

pumpkin
thanks for the info
we will be given the report about the measurement of the head,neck etc right?
coz I want to tell my parents after my DS

miss83

Yes they print out a report with the numerical measurements.
Will also have charts to show which percentile the measurements are at.
Best part is they will print out pictures from the scanning! My pictures were so funny, everyone who has seen them can't stop laughing. My little one is already so cheeky in the tummy. Make sure to ask for picture showing the gender and side profile if it can be captured.

hheeh I'm back from the DS! took only 20mins. Baby was moving ALL AROUND that the person had to be faster than her! haha! She was totally opposite for my #1 who wasn't moving and had to take like 1hour plus for the DS previously. HAha. So the lady said: well, they say active inside when come out will be guai guai. hahha! She's about 400g at 21wks 1day.

kome and sun:: kome, please update for me, it's confirmed a PRINCESS!! YAY!!
NO MORE MONSTERS!! and don't worry kome, I'm sure you'll feel movements soon. Hugs.

Congrats Cindy! mine was 20 mins too. Looks like we will have good little kiddies

miss83, oh yes, definitely something to look forward to!
At Thomson. My radiolgist/scanner person was Etta Tee. She was awesome. Is your other half going with you? It's such a special moment to share. My partner was almost in tears at seeing our little one so clearly

yes..my hb is going with me..he wont miss it!

oh really..??? the scan will be so clear? are they using 4D scan or just normal scan like in gynae clinic?

I think 3D scan will be even clearer but with the normal DS, you can already get a fair idea of how baby will look like. I can already see it having his nose! Sorry if I keep gushing but been looking at the results everyday for the last week and I still feel in awe. Having a baby is such a miracle! Makes all the small headaches seem trivial in comparison.

Cindy, did you get nice pictures to take home? How heavy is baby? My little monster was supposed to be 20 weeks but measurements more like 22 weeks.

hi hi MTBs, congrats to those who knows bb's gender!!

wah looks alike alot of MTBs went for detailed scan today..me too just came bk from scan..
just a little update: mine was pretty fast, ard 15mins ba..bb kind of active..keeps punching..and i do feel a little umcomfy (pain) when the radiologist pressed the scanner near my belly button. received the report in 30mins time + a chart with pics (like x-ray) showing bb's limbs, lip, head, spine, heart, kidneys and some other medical terms which i also dunnoe wat is it. haha..i guess all are normal (from the readings) except that bb's scarum (tink is the triangular part at the back of the spine) is nt clearly visualised coz of position ..i'm in my 22week 5days and bb nw weighs 519g, additional 100g over last appointment which is 10days..haha i wonder if i've put on more weight again..oopss. =p

have to wait for my next appointment in Nov to show my gynea the report so further explanation ba.

wah Cindy & pumkin, so nice your hubby get to see the scan..mine was ask to wait outside till the last part where the radiologist take a pic of bb's face (dunnoe 3D/4D) scan then show my hubby..diff. hospital diff. working style hmmm..somemore no printout on the face was given wor..was told that i have to pay for it and advised to come bk ard 28-29 weeks when bb's features are clearer if i want to purchase the pic. =(

SG, which hospital is that?

I did mine at TMC about $130 incl GST and it included the Xray like pics. The additional pic was given by my doctor as I went to see him directly after the DS.

Hmm I'm confused, is the DS a 3D scan? What is the difference between that and 4D scan?