(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

missycandy,

wow, your hubby so Onzzz...He also does BW??? I asked my Hubby to do it...He says his balls will be stripped off with it,
he will definitely not do it! He cannot imagine the pain...Hahahahaha

Re: Channel 70

I think I'm gonna subscribe soon...

ilyena,

Is Hypobirth the water birth? I heard my friend says Dr. Paul Tseng in TMC is quite experienced in it. He was her gynae for #1, and she might be trying for it this round, she is having #2 now.

Been reading the posts. My EDD is on 11 Mar. Expecting no. 2 now. Will only know gender tis fri when go for DS. Hope it's a boy too.. This little one has been v active.. Kicking all day..

Re: U/wear during confinement
I bought cotton disposal panties for maternity last time. So no washing required for whole mth.

Re: Shaving
Mine was natural w/o shaving.

Re: weight gain
I put on abt 20kg then and lost more than that after birth. So kindda look forward to preggy, can lose weight.. Hehe.. I think b/feeding really help. My gal was on total bf till she's 1 before I mixed w FM and wean off only at 15 mth when I got preggy again. Too tired to pump anymore.

morn mtbs!

Keron&jeris - went bhg bishan last nite, dun hv wacoal brand. but i bot 2 seamless bra by sorella, slightly more exp, 2 for $39.90 but feels comfy.

kinda shocked that i hv to wear 80B now haha i tot wld just increase to 75. but the sales asst did warn me that to wear bigger is better for bb hee in her words "more space for bb to move" :p

SG - your bb boy so cute, sitting cross-legged! did you get a scan pic of that? it's really good journal materials

btw, for the mummies who hv went for detailed scans, do they give you copies of pics? or must pay extra for it?

Daphne - was a cup A, just change to B. actually, felt my breasts like harder now, not as soft as before. dun feel any bone inside though, not sure wat tat is.

chat more later! tata.

Good morning mummies .

Sung : I remembered last time my detailed scan , my gynea give me a report and some scan baby pix inside ..

good morning!

Re: BMI
if BMI falls within 19.8 and 26 before pregnancy, the weight gained during pregnancy should be between 11.5kg and 16kg.
if BMI ia above 26, the acceptable weight gain should be between 7kg to 11.5kg.

i got the above info from BabyCare magazine,issue 7.

Re: Bras
im still wearing my normal bras..

Re: Undies
i heard is better to wear normal panties then paper panties. coz can hold back our uterus or smething like tt.. donno how true.
but how to ask MIL to wash for us.. abit hard leh. die.. all my panties quite new. ask me to dump after stain i also heartpain.
haha, can ask hb to wash?

missycandy
wow , ur hb very fashionista leh..salute!

me n hb sort of clear it up liao..
coz he accidentally read my posts complaining about him 2 days back. and he can still act blur until last night when i tell him i angry w u leh. u knw y? he say he donno and wan go slp.. end up i force him dan he say he noe liao.. ZZZzz
im like a silly one.

Re: Wife of only sons
my hb is only son, eldest grandson of 2. his cousin carryin the same surname only 7yo this year. my mil told me girl or boy doesnt matter. but when she told me, i oso don quite believe her de.. maybe say say oni..
but i don feel any pressure about the gender.
seriously bb's gender cant be choose one..
even if 3 babies all girls dan how? be it lor..
couldnt becoz all 3 kids is girls dan still muz continue the factory mah. who wan pay all expenses for the kids siak..
u all don be so stress.. stress no gd for us. haha

Re: Undies
Are there disposable panties specially for after-delivery? Usually i wash my undergarments myself, now even to ask hb to wash oso i'm not getting used to....then cannot possibly ask the CL to wash....we can't wash clothes at all during the confinement period? i tot of still washing undergarments myself...normal clothes pass to CL to wash...

Re: waxing/shaving
I tink i have to ask gynae whether we need to shave "down there" b4 delivery...so far i dun have the guts to go try for waxing services yet...wakakakaka....the pain is enough to put me off....

Queenie - same as u, my bf has a younger cousin on his father's side...so he is oso the eldest grandson...my PILs didn't put any pressure on me on gender issues too...but tho i know they prefer boy la...seriously why should we women get stressed over this as we are not the ones determining the gender...the boys are the ones but we women bear the stress...i pity those DILs who get so stressed abt having to borne a son for the family cos their PILs blame them for it if the bb comes out to be a gal....

Pinksorbet
I don't think there are disposable panties specially for after-delivery. Disposable panties for maternity than i did see before. I felt 'paisey' to ask other even my hb to wash panties for me, so i will prefer to wear a disposable panties during confinement,

We are not suppose to touch the water at all during confinement period.

gingal
my gynae is paul tseng but still dunnoe tat he is good in hypnobirthing... hahaha.. but i do know that he has a lot of ang mo using him as their gynae, maybe he is very good at natural birthing due to the method he use during delivery ba..but at times it still depend on the condition of the pregnant woman, becoz each individual has different condition.. my friend who is using him ends up in c-sect in the end coz her condition is critical and baby is in stress.. but do agree that unless is really bo bian arbo he will be still be doing natural delivery...

daphne
my situation is similar to urs.. my hubby's brothers have gals as well, so tis is their first grandson to be..

haha pinksorbet nvm la. b4 he is ur hb he was ur bf too!

ya i oso tink so.. what era liao. cant blame DILS for wadever reasons haha. if their son's sperms decide de.. LOL

Re:washin undies
i tink if we don wan hb/CL/MIL/mom/maid to wash for us. got to throw away liao..
but another alternative is wear the gloves n wash? like tt wont be in contact with water mah.
can ??

Kome
cant touch a bit of water. dan how to wash face brush teeth.. bleah. i cant imagine..

kome
i heard from my mom, actually we still can still bath while using herbal treatment.. medical bath i guess..not very sure but will have to check with TCM...

Queenie
Actually was thinking to do my own confinement, but order CL food instead. Than i need to bath bb how? My hb also suggest me to wear a glove instead but i don't think is good.

Joyce
Yes, still can bath with herbs. What i mean is touching the cold water so often. Have to buy the 大丰草 (not sure corect words or not) from Chinese medical hall. Last time i buy from Hock Hua.

queenie - oh yes in that case i was thinking of using gloves....its a good option...
otherwise i jus get disposable panties to save the trouble....

yalor, cannot imagine not touching water at all....

kome - my colleague was telling me the herbal bath is brown in color (eeks)...even if i tink i bathe using that, still gotta use water to spray it off...can't imagine jus using the herbal water to bathe alone...

Wife of only Son : I think most PILs nowadays not so partially about gender but of course they have preference .. for me , my PIL did not give me pressure just myself and hubby lor giving ourselves pressure .. hahaha .. but of course we also decide that if 3 all gals also close shop .. I got a friend married into rich family .. she is now preg with no.5 , first 4 all gals and the MIL told her must give birth till it's a boy .. so poor thing of her .. think this no.5 also gal ..

Panties : I also wear disposable one as paiseh to ask MIL to wash .. don't think it's good to ask hubby wash lah .. think old folk will say no good for hubby to wash ladies undergarement ..

morning mummies!!!

my gf asked me to prepare disposable panties aft birth... wear n throw away, easier...

Kome,

My colleague says TMC has disposable panties for post-delivery. They would give us one when we give birth. My colleague say that it is quite good quality. She used as normal panties, just wash everyday (she ordered additional) and throw after the locia clear up.

wishaboy - my gawd...poor gal....mus be under so much stress....wat PILS, they tink she bb factory ah...?! tell them to blame their own son instead...these PILs should get educated with biology...

if i got such PILs i will not hesitate to close shop after two kids, be it boy or gal, the more they wants rite, the more i will defy (yes thats me :p)

Pinksorbet
Use hot water to wipe off instead? Coz the herbs is actually help to prevent wind from getting into our body, so if you wash off than will not be of any help.

pinksorbet (pinksorbet) : ya lor my friend poor thing but what to do .. married into rich family and only son so the PIL wants a son to carry the name .. her MIL ownself give birth think to 7 or 8 then got her hubby .. my friend no choice .. so she very stress when gynea say look like gal .. she give birth till scared ..

joyce
u mentioned b4 tat u apply some cream to yr 'pimples' on yr back, where u get it? safe to use right?

Hi morning mummies

SG,
I put on only 6kg not 8kg. I also surprised that I put on so little as Im big size. Think its coz I have thyriod when I have #1 and need to take medicine. This time also have thyriod but don't need to take medicine.

Wish a boy
I really pity your friend. MIL asked her to continue give birth but she is the one who going to do the discipline. If have not discipline well, i think PILs will blame her again.

Going for check up later at 8pm. Now tummy feeling much better, not sure if my weight had increase but personally does not feel that there is any increase in my weight. Hope bb is growing well.

sunshinebaby
yap.. itz mycoban cream.. think my hubby got from his camp, hahaha, itz actually against ringworm, white spot and athlete's foot, but i try it on my back, it works for me.. the "pimples" r subsiding.. another cream u may wanna try is fobancort cream which i got it from my nearby clinic, think pharmacy also got.. itz quite good as well..

wishaboy
think ur friend really poor thing le.. i got a friend similar to ur friend's case but becoz they r devoted christian so if she is pregnant by all means she has to deliver and morever they r rich la.. can afford.. 5 girls liao.. dunnoe whether she is still going to have somemore or not.. think leave it up to god's decision liao.. hahaha..
actually my mother's family is such case as well.. my grandpa wans boy till siao liao, had my grandma give birth to 10 girls and one boy only... ke lian my grandma.. poor thing

Joyce : Older generation sure like that .. but now modern generation we still see some PIL especially those from rich family is like that .. die die also must have boy ... Oh your friend is devoted christian so cannot abort lor .. like my gynea also , told me before he don't do abortion and if we need to have to get others to do instead ... aiyo .. so many children also problem , discpline issue , time spending with them issue , financial issue etc ...

wishaboy - so yr friend's hb is the onli son i suppose? sometimes the theory is the more we wan the more it will turn out opposite...so best to jus leave it naturally lor...healthy bb is most important, gender is a bonus ba...

in such cases like your friend, surely the boy will get pampered alot de....

kome - there is no increase to my weight too, as per my last gynae visit, hope bb is growing well too....good luck for yours later...

morning mummies!!

kome, hope you feel better soon.

Re: Panties
i also wore disposable panties during my one month confinement but really UNCOMFORTAbLE. this time round MAY resort to buy cheap cotton undies and throw loh. Sighs. cause the disposable paper ones really huge and airy and so NOT comfy. the washing part is the prob la. no matter MIL, or hubby they also will pantang de ma. don't want to touch dirty blood. GRrr.

Re: Shaving
For #1, me is csect, so before gg delivery then nurse shave the top part for me, not much too.

Re: Bath
I bathed EVERYDAY when i was discharged from hosp. haha. using the herbal bath. Really yucky too but better than NO bath haha. but after bathing i also went back to zzz in aircon room, no blow hair, i think it's all up to us. our responsibility for ourselves. heh!

Pinksorbet
Abit sound like me. Haha.....i wan a girl so badly and come out is a boy instead.

Thanks for your wishes.

Cindy
You are right. We can do anything we want to do during confinement but we must be resposible for our own action.

pinksorbet (pinksorbet) : ya bb health more impt but too bad for my friend , her PIL too old fashioned and old thinking lor .. they still think that should try till a boy .. sigh .. just poor thing that my friend have to suffer lor .. u know different preg different symptoms and difficult .. just hope she gets a boy soon lor ..

asura,
yes, the disposable panties at TMC is very good quality...in fact the nurse told me can reuse and also it help to tighten the uterus back cos its tight rubberized..
Din noe can order more! This time must tell the nurse to give me more and bring home...anyway, its just charge in the hosp bill mah..cant be too expensive rite?

kome - its ok la...healthy bb can alr
my colleague just gave birth to her second boy too...tink she oso preferred gal...she told me now she dotes on her niece so much cos she got two sons...hehe

wishaboy - realli pity yr fren, hope she will get a boy for suffering so much...
probably rich family to them finances not an issue, so bring up how many kids oso dun matter to them....

wishaboy - your fren really poor thing. tink she may need to get her hb to speak to her pil if they dun want any more kids. it's a huge responsibility and gamble to keep trying just for a boy...

kome - good to hear you feeling better. good luck for your gynae check later tonight!

tmc disposable panties - any idea if not a tmc mtbs can buy the panties? haha i want to get comfy disposable ones too. hb is washing for me now but dun tink convenient for him to do during confinement with the blood n stuff. somemore mil may be ard, tink she'll faint if she see hb washing for me haha.

gingal - hmmm hubby nvr say pain leh... i also didnt ask... i think shld be okie??? i dont think there is a lot of hair on the ball ? more of it ard the groin region? hmmm

SG - ur bb sit cross legged u nt uncomfy ah? my colleague was telling me last time when her son inside also sit cross legged then she bth... she didnt knw... she also said very uncomfy... cannot stand cannot sit... then went for scan see the bb sitting lidat... hahaha...

My hubby is also only son in the family... his family didnt say anything but i knw they are the traditional type... esp FIL... MIL said FIL was very happy when had my hubby.. becos 2 girls before my hubby... and very wide age gap... i think older sis is ard 11-12 yrs gap... then 2nd sis is 8yrs gap... then my hubby is called "lai zai" (cantonese) also, his older sis has 2 boys already... so maybe they also nt into boys??? i knw MIL lurves girls! but i knw hubby also wans a son he can play soccer with n play rough la... hahaha! but he is ok with girl too...anyway we dont plan to stop at 1... so next time round.... =)

disposable undies/panties - to those who wash i salute u! hahaha i will be too lazy.. i will opt for disposable ones...

eh confinement cnt touch cold water ??? -_-" cold water is my lifeeeee!!! nowadays i bathe cold water leh.. becos very hot... esp at night.. i will bathe evening time... and again b4 i sleep... =(

Srumpee (scrumpee01) : Babyplus , if we can get 3 they can offer $20 discount but must self collect at wheellock orchard area .. u also interested ?

Ya lor my friend poor thing and think her hubby also want son so she no choice lor .. just hope she get a boy soon .. that's all we as friends wish for her .

Hello Miss83, Nana, Gingal, Seabreeze and Sandi,

I'm a SAHMTB too. BTW, I don't call myself a housewife. I proclaim myself a Domestic Goddess. Hahahaha

Used to be a workaholic so the initial transition period was really painful for me. Coupled with the effects of bad MS, I became very emotional, sensitive and clingy. My self-confidence was shaken also; for some reason became a bit scared of hubby straying. My poor hubby also suffered somewhat then.

I've been staying home for 3.5 mths since and have really got used to it by now.

Here's what I do with my time:

(1) HOUSEWORK - moping, tidying, laundry + clearing store room and also our downstairs "study room" (in reality my personal dumping ground) to make way for a nursery + bath my dog once a week

I NEVER USED to do ANY housework. NEVER. Hubby did everything cos he complained I was too slow or wake up too late (he's an early riser, I'm not). My retort previously was always that I rather pay someone to do it since I worked so hard to make money, my free time is worth many many times more than wasting on housework. Guess now the tables are turned. Figured I should justify my existence by keeping the house clean.

(2)COOKING

Used to love cooking until I joined my previous company. Got so busy and stressed that I stopped altogether. Hubby can cook very well too but we usually eat out. Now that I have time, and finally got over the effects of MS, I started cooking since 3 weeks ago (17-18 weeks) on Mon to Thu. Weekly & daily meal planning + daily preparation is a joyful distraction so I'm really happy that I started cooking again. Besides saving money (we used to eat alot at restaurants throughout the week), which is important now that our Household income suddenly down by 55% with me not working, we are also getting more nutritious home cooked food. I get to pass time meaningfully + leftovers for my lunch the next day. Don't need to fret over what to do for lunch.

(3) DRIVING LESSONS: I mentioned in one of my previous posts before that I am learning at Bukit Batok Driving Centre right now. Hoping to get my licence before delivery so that I can take my hubby's car and go anywhre Iwant at anytime. JUst have to send him to work and fetch him back. really really hope I can pass n my first trial.

(4) Play & exercise on my Nintendo Wii. I love my wii set sooooooooooo much. I have great games to help me while my time away as well, especially Wii Fit, which helps me to do low impact step aerobics and also virtual hula hoop. Because the whole wii concept requires gamers to physically move to simulate the action, the rest of the games inevitably force the gamers to exercise a little too. E.g. I used to get muscle aches on my arms after a long session.

(5) READING - LIBRARY
I'm an avid reader. Had very little time to read when I was busy working so now that I have time, I am devouring books like never before. It's a great past time. Instead of going to Borders bookstores to buy books, these days I go to our community librar to borrow. Saves a lot of money this way.

(6) Surfing net, facebook, online purchases, meet up with ex-colleagues for lunch, watch the telly (no cable)

These, I do on a daily basis.

(7) Watching FREE new movies/series on my laptop.

This is really neat. There are many websites that do this, my favs are www.youku.com for Asian drama series (I watch Korean dramas here), and www.watch-movies.net for western movies. You are not download/saving any movies on your computer, just streaming them so it's not P-2-P sharing which is illegal. That said, because it's streaming video, the resolution is not fantastic for the TV but it's fine on the small screen. Try it!

Sorry for the long post. Hope this helps!

Srumpee/Wish a boy,

if you don't mind 2nd hand sets you can consider bidding for them online on ebay. I won mine on Ebay.com.au at AUD110 inclusive of shipping to Singers. That works out to less than SGD115.
Should be able to receive it by this weekend of early next week. Can't wait.

Weight wise, I'll be at the start of my 21 weeks come this Thu, and my weight gain is creeping towards 5kgs. I eat alot of carbo (rice, noodle, potato, bread). I absolutely must take alot of these foodstuff or I will cry out of hunger very very quickly.

I was underweight before - 39.5kg at 152cm. Not that I dieted, I was a natural lightweight no matter how or what I eat. I didn't look unhealthy skinny though, just slim. Now my weight wavers around 44kg.

P/s I bought a cheapo but effective digital weighing scale at Ikea for 10 bucks. Very useful.

I have received sms on JL got sales at Someerset outlet, will go down and take a look. Its say EXPO Orchard JL sales (Opp. somerset MRT Station), wandering got good buys or not. Will feed back when I come back from lunch.

alfafa77
thks for ur sharing on ur daily timetable.. i dun think i have the discipline to do all tat everyday.. i only did it like two or three days a week on such schedule.. coz i spend more time in napping and watching online movies like on the given sites u have mentions.. hahahah
1809893.gif

no lah not everyday. only surfing net, shopping online, watching telly, cooking (mon to thur), facebook, reading .... I do on a daily basis. The rest are at varying frequencies.

The free movies sites are brilliant, aren't they. Saved my life when I first started staying home. I rem being addicted to some Korea dramas which easily took up a whole week to finish. Speaking of which, I watchd this Korean drama early last month, fabulous show:

When It’s At Night
June 17th, 2008 Posted in All, Year 2008

Title: 밤이면 밤마다 / When It’s At Night
Also known as:Everyday Night / When Night Comes
Chinese title : 每天每夜
Genre: Romance, comedy
Episodes: 17

By the actress in I love Kim Sam Soon (the one with the plump Pastry chef)

Joyce, you are a SAHMTB as well?

BTW mummies, I'm also checking out infant video monitors. Any one else getting something like this?

The idea is that you place the baby set (camera) in the baby room, overlooking the crib. It records both audio sounds and video images which you can check at anytime via your mommy handheld set. So you can be anywhere within your house, doing anything and rather than running over to check on your baby everytime you hear a sound, you can just looking into your handheld set to see if everything is ok.

alfafa77, I am also a SAHMTB. Have been staying at home for around 4 mths. Your daily timetable shows that you occupy yourself well everyday. Joyce, like you I dont have the discipline hehe. I am doing some freelance stuff so that occupy some of my time and I also spend time napping and watching cable tv.

Oh yah, check out this interesting website

www.etsy.com "a place to buy and sell everything handmade".

US based. Alot of SAHMs, amongst other profiles, who sell their homemade wares/crafts there. Really cool stuff. I'm thinking of embarking in a new hobby once I get tired of whatever I am doing now. Perhaps making my own baby shoes or doll. You can pay a couple of dollars for online sole proprietary doll patterns on etsy for example. They will email to you immediately with instructions. Can't sew for nuts but hey, for a bit of fun why not right?

I seldom log on to this forum so I tend to come in and "torpedo" all my responses in one single session. Pleaes pardon my multiple posts

hello sporty ger, no no no I don't do everything eery day. My bad. I didn't make myself clear. I'm laze a lot as well.

Having said that, I am very conscious not to appear too lazy in front of my hubby lor, in case he starts to feel resentful for suddenly becoming the sole breadwinner. So at least I try to cook dinner for him.
Gives me the perfect excuse to ask him what time he's coming home every day as well. Hahahah

Wish I could do some freelance work like you. To be honest I miss working and doing something useful with my time. I have to be very careful not to become a bore infront ofmy hubby but aiiiiii .. what to do. Can hardly talk about movers and shakers these days, only can talk to him about our dog lah, my driving lessons, what I saw on TV, internet etc etc. Am worried that one day he will stop sharing with me about his work related issues.

In a nutshell, am making every effort not to become a Huang2 Lian3 Po2. So in the weekends I also make special effort to doll myself up.

I feel that it is really important for us stay home wives to keep things interesting for our hubbies.