(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

2dogs1kid
oh sorry didnt read ur question carefully..
when I moved to sgp, i was still 18 yrs old and studying...I couldn't bring my dog as noone will be watching over him when I'm not around...
so saddd....

seabreeze
Oops, hehee I see! Thanks. I've been itching everywhere on my body recently and it's keeping me up at night. Thanks for info!!

steph,
yah, i can imagine that so whenever i think of one day my dog dog die, i want to cry liao. so when i had my first dog, i didnt want a 2nd dog. but who know fate brought the maltese to us. it was a lost dog and he was only 1 yr old when we found him. i managed to find the owner thru his microchip but he owner didnt want him back. and none of my friends want to take him in. so we kept him till now. it has been 3 yrs he became my "son". hee hee, i always call myself "mummy" in front of my dogs.

ya, must spend wisely since nowadays everything so expensive. me now buying unisex clothes for my gar so didi can wear.

miss83,
wah, i din noe it cost so much to quarantine a dog. my friend brg her dog in from usa and she did well. lucky her. also, she did visit the dog everyday so dog dog feels beta.

wish a boy,
hope that you see a bird bird. good luck and have a great wkend!

hey babe,
if itchiness is at belly, you can try the Elancyl which is sold at Watson. it solves my tummy itchy problem and i did not have a single stretch mark after my girl was born. it is not oily as palmer and it feels cool..... got a bit of minty feeling.

2dogs1kid
Yea, I bought the elancyl stretchmark cream. It's not bad, no stretchmarks spotted.... yet.
Am itching kinda all over, eyes, chin, on my neck, arms, legs, tummy. I think it's due to dryness, but when I sweat, it's darn itchy. Been using non fragrant soaps, physiogel cream, anti itch powder so far and it only provides temporary relief. The weather does little to help.

afcai

I gain 4kg this month. If in one trimester then not so scare. 4kg in a month alot. Don't know how to control diet and not affect the bb.

babe,
that's bad. did u eat anything special recently? how about some medicated powder or lotion to help? guess u may want to stop seafood for a while since its always the culprit.

errr... stretch mark does not come so fast. usually 3rd trimester than appear. for some ppl, after birth then they see. so do carry on to use it as it helps our skin to be more "elastic" so still "mei mei" after bb out. that time i saw one malay lady at her 3rd tri, her tummy looks like a tiger skin. its full of dark color marks. freaked me out so i guai guai use. so far my friends who use it all good good. no marks.

BHG got discount for some products. Went to shopping and buy lots of things for bb. But cannot find any medela PIS breast pumps or avent duo. So in end no buy the breast pumps.

Buy bb's clothes and toys.

oppsgal,
how about cutting down on carbohydrates? rice,bread and pototoes will be the first on the list to go. did u eat a lot of those? eat more meat and vegetables.
dun worry too much. a hapi bb comes from a hapi mummy, remember?

babe,
u might be having ppup ( think thats the short form). It is a rash related to pregnancy. I had it for 9mths with my 1st one. Very very itchy and can go mad scratching them...But best part is, it totally clear up and not itchy at all after birth.. And i meant really right away leh..Within first 5 days of delivery, my skin is not itchy or reddish anymore...haha...

we talked abt the iron pills the last time..asked my gynae today. He explained that the normal iron tabs outside selling is okie to eat BUT its definitely will cause contispation. The one he prescribe for me is one with iron microorganism, something about it being easier to breakdown and hence will cause contispation....

HI,
Thanks mummies for concern. I also don't know whey sudden happen that my hand is so painful. When I have #1, I did have the finger can't flick in the morning and sometimes during day time. Yesterday is the worse lor, have the pain in the day but no as bad at night. Will ask my gynae why its happen on me. Im think maybe baby pressing on my nerves that why got this happening to me. Hope it goes away in 2 days time like what jtho say.

Steph,
The 1st toothpaste can use when their tooth growing just use the soft brush which come with it. Don't buy from store as its super ex. Can buy from Wish a boy or some other BP if have.

Daphne
if my mil is doin confinement for me, i will be considering confinement catering..coz she donno how to cook confinement meals dan still muz ask hb's gugu to cook.so ma fan..

missycandy
high 5.. i also don't like to eat liver. becoz of the texture. bleah. got chilli i oso cant tk it. if my mil/mom is doin the confinement, i tink i will print out the menu ask mil/mom to follow some of it. those tt i like one. hahas.
u can try that?

afcai
haha.. u are very LI HAI!!!
i think most probably im going to defer my module after much considerations.. thanks for ur advice on the EBM..

yah, youngest but memory oso failing abit. coz i by nature im a very forgetful person too.
i hurt my back b4 when i was young. and will have backaches easily... maybe my postures not right also..
anmum choc is very nice for me.. the rest i nvr try b4. but i tink juz stick to it. since i don drink it regularly i guess 1 tin can last me pretty long.

Re: Stretchmarks
i see my frds stretchmarks appearing only at the super last stage of 3rd trimester. i hear liao so scare. so i tink only way is to apply SM cream regularly..

Re: Metro BB fair
haha i stay near Causeway Point, maybe later if i have time i can go tk a look..
i tink the sterliser don have the bottles..
Taka BB fair the pigeon sterliser got more things, but of coz at a different price.

anybody considering the bb cot?

i muz ctrl myself.. donwan buy anithing yet. LOL

Babe
u wan got try the snake powder?

2dogs1kid

Well.. have been eating alot of bananas last few week. Now don't dare to eat. Hope my weight will be reduced.

Metro fair seems no sell the Medela PIS or the avent duo?

oopsgal
don worry about the weight so much..
coz nw pregnancy is not time to worry abt putting on weight..
but of coz some of us will worry.
why not u try doin some exercise? like swimming?
or eat less fastfood, less oil, less fatty stuffs?
u can try having ur meals using the food pyramid as a guideline..

Queenie

Hard to resist potato chips and fried food. I have stop doing exercise since got pregnant. Scare stretch too much will squeeze the bb flat. Don't know how to swim.

Maybe I should cut down the food intake amount.

eating bananas will cause weight increase?
but bananas can prevent leg cramps..

afcai
i don have varicose veins (touch wood)..
eat more strawberries? heard it helps.
other dan that i donno wad can be done to prevent it..

any advices on how to prevent?

Queenie

I think veins cannot prevent unless ask the doctor. It is the usual for pregnancy period.

Never heard of eating bananas can help to prevent legs cramp. I still have legs cramp at night.

babe,
yr itch sounds bad. Any history of eczema ?
If really bad, go c gynae/doc, better dun anyhow apply cream/lotion.
Causes of eczema:-
Irritating soaps, detergents or chemicals
Changes in temperature or humidity
Clothing made of wool
Certain food
Stress

2dogs1kid
Hmm, no leh, I haven't taken seafood lately. I think it's something like what Ivy mentioned. Eczema just started flaring up on my fingers, and a patch on my leg. Then the rest of the body just rashes. I think it is the dryness plus heat and perhaps sensitive to dust, detergents, etc. It just means I have to shower two to three times a day, keep myself free from sweat and keep drinking water to hydrate myself, apply a little cream. Yea, sometimes using the snake powder Queenie mentioned. It's just a pain to wake up at night with a irritating itch! Hope it passes soon....

oopsgal
haha.. so u love potato chips n fried food!
during this past 19weeks i tink i eat abt 5 small packs.
but i tink we really have to cut down potato chips, coz very saltish. and my sil told me it will cause water retention..

LOL, u wont squeeze bb flat de! don worry, bb is protected by aminotic fluid mah.
tt day i saw a variety programme in Channel U, singapore sports council got this aqua fitness programme(similar to aqua aerobics) u can chk it out..
unless u scare of water..

ah ha, go for short walks daily?

Queenie
The only exercise I do is shopping. Can walk non stop for an hour. haha...Especially when see cute bb's stuff.

Gynae ask me don't eat so much bananas. I ate 1 bunchs in 1 week.

Water retention only happens when nearer 3rd trimester. So now still can enjoy.

babe
Try apply eczema cream.

steph
Yup, I have sensitive skin issues but this has been much worse than before. It sounds worse when I scratch my neck! It's like hearing sandpaper.

babe,
my legs also have enzema. my GP recommended a moisturizer - cetephil very good for me.
whenever in the middle of night, i go crazy scratching my legs like mad dan after applyin i feel damn relieved..is suitable for senstitive skin. u can try that. available at pharmacies..
shower gel also plays a part.. i noticed whenever i use the Dettol, my skin will be v dry.
and my GP ask me not to use it, use Dove instead. Eversince, i only use Dove and Palmolive..

oppsgal
i read in 'my little baby' book, it says better dont buy bb walker as it will actually slower bb learning progress to walk. plus it's dangerous when u have furniture around the bb..

Re: rash & itch on tummy
I thot i was suffering from PUPPP but after gynae checked, he say it's due to the stretchmark cream i use. I was using Palmers Cocoa & the creamy texture was too much for me & clog the pores which causes the rash & itch on my tummy when i was expecting #1 at 33wks (pix show below)
*sharing my experience with u mummies here...so not necessary if u apply alot of stretchmark cream means good, too much can do harm too!
IMP: If itchy, try not to scratch else it will leave marks too.
1800802.jpg

And here's my tum tum pix at 18.5wks

1800803.jpg

Queenie
HB heard gynae say don't eat too much bananas to me, the left over he don't dare to eat too, so in the end dump half the left over bunch away.

Steph

Maybe can buy from your gynae. The stretch mark cream I get from my gynae can be used on children too. So if I cannot use finish I can pass to bb. The 1st bottle I bought from body shop make me scratch my stomach after I apply.
This big bottle maybe can give to bb to use see got allergy anot. If not use as hand cream.

miss83

I am thinking of putting the bb in a walker when I go do chores. Can lock the walker so cannot move. Scare bb knock down things or get hurt.

Queenie
Thanks, haven't tried Dove for a long time. Okay, will give it a shot. Am using DermaVeen shower gel and moisturiser cream and physiogel cream.

Cetaphil has moisturiser? I've only seen their soap. Okay, will go look for it. Thanks again.

steph
ok, will take note not to over apply. hehes.

bye bye every1..have a nice wkend..
im going for my nightclass already.
see ya~

steph
You're really fair gal! That's a beautiful tummy shape all out! I can imagine my tummy will be like yours soon but not so fair.

yups u can ask the staff in pharmacies. coz i oso cant find at first.. don mention..
hope enzema can shoo away frm us..
bye bye!

Oppsgal,
my gynae don't sell stretch mark cream. But since that rash incident, i have stop applying Palmers & change to milder ones. Now, i am using Elancyl as recommended by gynae. I also bought Clarins Tonic Oil, very gd
Hope Clarins can help to reduce my existing stretch marks damage & prevent new ones from developing:p

miss83,
can buy from watson/guardian pharmacy. Not sure if still got promotion buy 1 free 1. 1 tube cost $47+ (cannot remb the exact price).

oppsgal ...

i got the exersaucer instead cos dr say that not good for the baby to walk using walker ...

oso throw my boy inside when i need to do stuff but in any case you dun need the walker so soon too cos they can only sit in it when they can support their own head using their neck

stretchmark cream:
my gynae is a believer of if you get it, sure will get it..so cream also not much help. There are the few lucky ones who do not get the marks.

babe,
Mmm...actually my gp cum skin doc told me, dun use shower gel at all if you have flare ups. It will further irritate the skin. Use normal room temp water to shower, only use the shower gel for cleaning the skin folds, other big parts of the body, just use water. It is still clean..
Its just our mentality that must use soap all over then will be clean.
Of cos, go check and confirm with your gynae that its PUPPP...at least you know the light to then end of tunnel is when you deliver..

Haha..last preg i was so sian with my horrible skin that when my gynae told me it will go away, i tot he bluff me. But is true lah. cheers!

Oppsgal, U can consider putting BB in playpen instead of walker. Walker not gd for BB's leg development and dangerous. Saw my younger bro (when he was a BB in walker )fell from living to kitchen where there is 1 step lower when he ran too fast.

Babe,
I also have some itchiness around my breasts and tummy area when I'm out in the sun & perspiring. But once cool down, ok liao.

steph/teddybaby,

yah the parking is very expensive.
It all depends on whether there is space in the parking lots. If heng heng no space,
then the valet people will park outside and it will cost cheaper.
If there is still lots available inside, they will park your car inside and will cost a bomb.
$11++ was the charges we parked last round from 3+pm to 6+pm.

missycandy,

U mean the package already reached Vpost US address on 4th Oct and you have paid for the shipping to Sgp but
since then, no news? This is a long wait...are you able to trace your package?
For my orders with ON, it takes about 4 days for ON to send to my DHL US address and takes also about 4 days for
the package to reach me in Singapore from DHL US.

st,

U sure she will bring us to tour the hospital?
Cos the lessons are all conducted in AMK Hub, how do we tour the hosiptal then?

steph,

I'm using Elancyl also, I like the light texture. I used Pigeon before this and it was too sticky and I don't like it.

miss83,

Yah I think Elancyl costs about $47.30, buy one get one free promo.
Quite worth the price.
I saw TMC's Pharmacy selling also this price, but I wonder if FBI/SBI card holders will enjoy discounts anot.
If can. then it's really cheaper to buy at TMC pharmacy.

Ivy
No shower gel? Oh, can only try?!! Very used to shower gel or else may feel worse! Yea, will go ask my gynae about it next time. Thanks.

teddybaby
It's usually worse when I'm hot and sweaty (and I do perspire easily when hot). Other times, my skin feels like prickly and I'll automatically scratch and make it worse, especially during my sleep so will wake up again and more scratching. Hiaahhh dunno what to do. Glad you don't have it so bad.

Btw, you gals talking about babywalkers, anyone seen or tried this baby swimmer thingy before? Think it's a Chinese invention. Any good? Looks kinda fun for the bb!

1801043.jpg