(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

gingal
It's even more a hassle when the TMC maxicab comes and takes you to the Whitley parking area to collect your car yourself. It happened to me once and I ended up lost as I didn't know which way to go out.

We usually park opposite TMC behind the shophouses just across the bridge. If you can gauge roughly how long you need to wait, usually for us, our wait for the check up is less than 1 hour so it's quite cheap to park there instead as it's also normal coupon parking. Only thing is you'll have to walk up and down the bridge and if it rains, it can be a little inconvenient.

babe,
i let my son tried it when he was 4mths old

We took up a buy 4 + 1 lesson free package. The tub is fill with warm water. He loves swimming till now.
1801077.jpg

steph
Soooo cute!!!
My ex-colleague from China bought this ring and little swimming tub to let his gal play at home. Do you know if they sell these items in Singapore? He told me it's good for bb to exercise their body.

gingal
Yea, the Maxicab comes when a lot of people happen to need to collect their cars (which happens to be parked at Whitley parking area) at the same time. It saves the parking attendants time to go back and forth to pick up for each customer. But if it's just a one or two people, they will bring the car back for you but must wait something like 10 mins, right? That day, I think we paid $2 or $3, can't remember, but definitely cheaper than parking at TMC itself.

babe,
Yes Hwa Xia International sell the neck float (but very ex ard $20+) but i am not sure of the swimming tub.
I bought a neck float from the Jan thread mummy (her frd bought it back from China) at $10 only.

gingal,
refer to website at www.babyswimming.com.sg

gingal - hehehehe i jus received letter frm singpost today saying they tried to deliver to me on the 16th but no one home.. duh... anyway have called the post office to redeliver... dunno why so long lor... from 4th to 16th is also long lor... lousy...

i already have stretch marks due to last time lost weight and gain and lose and gain... =P so sure wil kena jialat jialat... =(

queenie - eh print menu? i dun tink my mum such good cook la...wahahaha! dunno leh.. see how...

ya bananas do help for leg cramps... our legs cramp becos the the muscles.. insufficient potassium.. and bananas have lotsa potassium... however am not sure if leg cramps from pregnancy is the same reasons for the normal cramps...

ooo i bought that neck float to standby liao... hee hee =P i also bought for my frn for her bb girl... went to public swimming pool and used it... the baby really enjoyed it... that time i tink her baby was ard maybe 5-6mths? cnt recall... some ppl will say nt good to bring to public pool cos cold water.. but her daugther loved it... the girl likes cold... doesnt like hot.. like her mummy.. haha.... can u imagine my fren bottle feed the baby... halfway can see beads of sweating forming on the baby's head lor...

anyway i cnt wait to bring my bb swimming too... hee hee...

missycandy,
Better late than never...
Me also have stretch marks before preg, also due to lose and put on weight easily last time.

So cute of the baby swimming... but hor wonder if the float will hurt their neck...hmmm

missycandy
You bought one already?! Fast gal!

gingal
Hmm, think the body weight is pretty light in water but best not to let bb swim too long. Will get tired, too.

steph
norm i apply 20 cent size SM cream to my tummy, shouldn't be a lot ba...
realli scare dun noe will clog the pores anot...

sunshinebaby,
20cents size is not alot. Last time, I apply 50cents size to my tummy, 20cents size on my thighs & butt le:pkeke

gingal,
the neck float wont hurt bb's neck de. Normally bb swim 20mins or so & they will be tired liao. Too long also no gd if the water is cold.

babe - becos i bought for my frn as a gift.. then i also buy for myself.. but unisex colour lor... i think i bought yellow.. someone opened a BP for it some time back... heh heh... i cnt recall offhand hw much i bought it for... but i knw its less than $20...

steph - 20mins ah? hmmm... i guess my frn's baby must be water baby liao... she was laughing and kicking ard the pool... hahaha... i think she lasted ard 30-45mins... was quite funny... hee hee...

good evening ladies.. I have been busying with work lately that I hardly log in.. so how's everyone ? doing good?

I was soo happy cos I went for my visit yeserday!!! Had my detail scan and wwan to have were sooooo relief that things are fine. Confirm BB Boy and my PIL were soo happy abt it.. i did not tell them abt gender of bb till now cos i don't to have false hope mah.. hmm, I hope to try for bb gal next time..

Oh yes, bb is growing well, weight at 372g yesterday and my EDD was shifted forward till 25th Feb.. but i will still stick to this thread since i know u gals soo well..

metro sales? maybe tomolo i can go take a look.

enjoy ur wkend gals.. cheers

Hi Mummies!!!
I'm new in this thread! I'm expecting my 2nd baby in March 26...hmm...was wondering hiring any confinement nanny??? i'm looking for one...any recommendations?

I intend to get a steriliser but not sure which brand to get? Any recommendations? Pigeon or Avent better? I saw Robinson/ Taka/ OG having promo for Avent Express Electric Steam Steriliser but was confused when I saw Avent IQ24 Electronic Steam Steriliser. Hence really confused wat is good.

miss83,

I m using Elancyl too. Its light and hv a nice smell.. My sil used this and no stretch marks. I got mine at TMC 1 for 1 promo quite worth it.

Steph,
your boy is so cute

missycandy
can lar.. hahas.. print out the menu, tick some of them.. ask ur mom to learn lor. hehes..
or u can go buy the confinement meals receipe book for her. i saw one selling @ popular..

Re:Applying SM Cream
eh i donno how much i apply leh.. i juz use my feel to c if is adequate or nt..

welcome Bebeng!

steph
tts ur boy? cute .. hehes..
i saw pple using the float and even the tub before. may consider tt in my want list for bb..

wintertime
good to hear tt ur baby is growing well..and everything turns out gd for ur DS report..
and congrats! another prince to be added to the list.. i still muz wait til next wednesday for my DS chk up. hehes.

fatfish
avent electric has 2 modes. 1st mode just press and it will strelize but bottles will keep being strelized only for 6 hours after that u need to turn it on again. 2nd mode, every 6 hours it will turn on automatically to strelize again.
avent steam ... just like the avent electric 1st mode but this one using steam..

Avent strelizers only fit with avent bottles.
pigeon can fit other brands.

i plan to buy avent electric

fatfish: I got the IQ24, i heard from the promoter the difference is only it can be kept sterilised for up to 24 hrs, n the other one is 6 hours if i'm not wrong...Asura, me and another mummy got the IQ24 suring the isetan sale... they got it cheaper...i got it at 179 which includes a newborn pack(8pcs-in-1)...Hope it helps...

i'm having a bad headache n cant sleep...tummy feels mrampy n stretched whenever i lie down flat with feet probe up on 2 cushions...can feel the bump but no movement yet...next appt 3 weeks ltr...so looong the wait...hopefully alls well... i no info on my detail scan yet leh...

morning to all...hmm, where all mummies go le ne? shopping ma? anyone going to metro bb fair tdy? feel like gg to take a look at what they have...maybe gg sengkang one...anyway have a nice weekend...

miss83

So far I only heard good comments on Medela PIS and avent duo breast pumps. But those mini electric for avent don't know good anot. So in the end did't buy even got 20% off in BHG.

I have to go check exersaucer how much it cost. I thinking of getting it.

hi mtbs,
read abt e feedback for those who use Palmer's massage cream...which is better? Palmer or Elancyl?

I hav been using Palmer, so far so good...steph...it muz hav been an uncomfortable experience for u...looking @ e pics u forwarded...but i too like ur tummy shape...very neat!

My tummy oso growing...feeling hard too...yet to experience e kicks...moving on to my 17th wk.
Has anyone started sourcing for names for ur prince or princess?
Frankly speaking, dunno how i can transit frm being a gal to being a mom...cant b so self-willed now, wait bb copies my behaviour...

Heard frm my galfrienz tat bbs can say e darnest things in their growing years...something which im looking forward...

As 4 metro sale, i saw a stroller that looks rather neat, abt $159...jus curious...wat r e mus haves 4 ftms in terms of baby stuff? Don wan 2 overbuy then realize later...
Heard bb boys no need so much stuff, true?

My gyni said tat my placenta a bit low, so need to watch out. Hopefully things turn out well...hmm...jus wonder if itz due to carrying heavy stuff once in a while...my mom cautions me against tat so i better listen lor...

Dunno abt u, but i think we r gonna hav a very unique Christmas n CNY @ year end, w our very big tummies...

Take care, ladies!

Wow...so many postings. this thread is getting more and more active and fast-moving!

Gingal: park car opp TMC housing blocks and tear coupon. I always did that to save parking, unless i happen to get parking redemption tickets. Cheaper that way. Cuz daytime TMC carpark always so full.

afai: I admire your memory, u can remember and reply back so many mummies. How u do that? preggy but yet memory super good wor.

Re: ward
TMC has increased prices so much. Very much wanted to stay 1-bedded cuz of privacy and 2-bedded dun have that arm-chair for breastfeeding. When i had my #1 in end 2005, stayed 1 bedded with hubby stay in and we paid 2000+ in cash I guess. Now wonder what the cost would be like and somemore this time round, likely to C-section but last time was natural. The food both confinement and hubby's food was fabulous! i actually gave those soups or food which i couldn't finish to hubby and he said v tasty! The same food was sold from cafeteria but the food there very ex. Me and my mum went there for lunch one day when bringing my #1 to PD, and it cost $20+ for a bowl of porridge and mee sua but the cafeteria can be full-hse during lunch hrs wor.

I kena the same rash problem when using Palmer cocoa butter last time. So stretch mark cream may not be suitable for everyone. Skin is more sensitive during pregnancy so try out one small area first before applying to whole tummy.

Have you all thot abt taking 4 mths straight of maternity or 3mths+1mth flexi? Me waiting for my new boss coming in Jan before deciding. Heard new boss is lady and middle-age, wonder if she kind enuff to allow me to take 4mths or not.

tuskiewoolie, my placenta also low and completely covering the cervix mouth. I feel uncomfy when standing or walking, can feel a pressure pushing downwards and exerting pressure on pelvic area. Gynae says got to watch out, can't carry heavy things and NO TRAVELLING at all.
((

pinkdemoness
haha... really want to make sure coz I travel quite often during pregnancy..if got low placenta n cant travel then how...but before travelling i always ask gynae first and he say can..
but sometimes i do feel something pressure pushing downwards too..but not all the time..

miss83 / pinkdemoness: during every visit, gynae would check for unusual signs. So if yours never mention, then means that your placenta is normal position, not to worry.

? everytime i log in, everybody seems to have disappeared leh. I chased all mummies away ah?

miss83 - ya avent duo is electric...

hello fairymoss! hee hee... weekends usually nt much action... usually weekdays a lot of action... =P i think becos all the mummies at work then boring surf this thread.. kekeke =X

for the maternity leave i wld like to take 3mths then 1 mth flexi... to keep jus in case for doctor visits and stuff.. but my boss did mention that wld be better take all 4 mths.. =\ when nearer than il talk to her again...

queenie.. ya.. so happy.. Gd luck for ur Detail scan next visit..

faiirymoss, i had my detail scan. they also mention my placenta slightly low.. but gynae say still normal.. unless it's stated very low, then may have problem..

i m going to causeway pt later to check out on metro sale.. see if there's anything I can buy..

Wintertime,
I just came back from causeway point metro bb fair. I didn't get much as most of the stuff my #2 can use back #1 stuff. I saw the pigeon sterilizer selling at $99 with 2 free wide neck bottles. Pigeon & Medela got 20% off of blue tag price items. I only brought bottles brush and some baby safty lock coz mygirl start to open up my wardore doors.

Metro baby fair,
Heard the promoter told me that Avent products not on promotion. Things that new MTB can consider buying are baby clothes most are on 20% pigeon & Medela brand and few others brand which are also on 20% off. Im not sure if the pigeon sterilizer still got 20% less or not, the last time I brought at Robinson 2 year back sales period also selling at $99 with free bottles. So mummies who haven't decide which milk bottle brand to use can consider buying Pigeon, I feel it good as can put in any size stuff for sterilizing.

Hello MTBs,
I'm having a princess! Actually my initial instinct when preggy was that its a bb girl but during my 3rd mth, gynae said 70% boy. But yesterday's detailed scan showed its a girl haha... (the W is very obvious) so now I have to tune back to having girl instead of boy. I guess I'm a little disappointed but as long as baby is healthy we are happy. So I think mummies instinct is usually right!

Kome, kindly help me update. Tks so much!

Fairymoss,
My detailed scan also showed that my placenta is quite low. Doc advised me not to carry heavy stuff and no BD!!

I'll be going to Msia to visit my in laws for a week in Nov and I think thats ok cos I'm not there as a tourist so wont be walking a lot... just gonna eat alot heehee

sandi teo
congrat for the confirmation of your baby's gender.. Now then I know the detailed scan can than be the sure one to tell the sex of the baby.. in my case, my doc told me he is 100% sure is a boy, is there any ways that the doc might be wrong when he told us a 100% sure? hahhaa..

all my "pimples" r at my back.. sometime it got so itchy tat if even i dun scratch it, it will turn red.. eeeeee... hate it man.. now the only way to to use anti fungus cream to ease the itchy n it works for me as the "pimples" subsided too...

Sandi,
Congrate on you little princess. When I have #1, my instinct also very strong thats a girl and it turn out to be a girl. Its nice to have #1 as a girl. This time round I feel its a boy and my gynae says 90% is a boy, next friday I will be doing detailed scan, guess by then can confirm on the gender ba.

hi fairymoss/miss83 n pink demoness,
I not beri sure wat my gyni means w a slightly lower placenta...my understanding is over time, it shld b going upwards so tat it wont obstruct cervix n ensure a smooth delivery...e worst scenario is placenta disruption which hopefully touchwood don occur to us...itz high risk preg.

Btw, placenta is our bbs plate of nutrients...
Waz BD? Intercourse? Ya? My gyni suggested not doing tat for this period till placenta goes up...my hb a bit stumped but bo bian lah...we can hav extercourse lah (do it outside...haha)

Travelling shld b fine for us...when bb comes, itz almost an unreality to travel...

Last not least, Metro Fair lasts till 26 Oct ya? Will make e effort to pop by n see waz useful for bb...

Sandi congrats...! U r one of e privileged few to hav a princess! Wah...E princes can go after e princesses yar?! Hee Hee...

I considering KKH antenatal classes during Nov/Dec period...any takers? Sounds fun!

Speaking of instinct...my too qite accurate...oso hav a suspicious feeling my boy will b qite like my hb...like chip of the old blk...faint* cos my hb has qite a big head as a bb...scared to deliver a big head bb...haha