(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

2dogs1kid,
good note on the diapers

And invest in a good nappy cream like Desitin Creamy cos bb butt is very sensitive as they poo & pee often ya. You got very special nick, do u have 2 dogs & 1 kid at home? You are expecting #?? sorrie didn't follow the thread cos too much post liao:p
Apart from Nepia, Goo.n, FITTI & PetPet also not bad

sunshinebaby & all,

FYI, can call them to ask for samples to try! 
Baby Diaper Samples
Huggies – 1800 484 4437
Fitti & Pet Pet – 6861 9155 send email to [email protected] & indicate your child name & DOB, mother name, mailing address, weight of baby & size of diaper
Drypers – 1800 466 3002
Mamy Poko – 6265 1648

sunshinebaby, can get at guardian pharmacy.
but there are two kind. one more ex de, one is the normal de.
the more ex de works wonder, but not advisable to use everyday. i only use tat for bad rashes.

sunshinebaby,
U can go to overseas spree or buy from drugstore cos it's much cheaper. 4oz tube cost $10 incl shipping. SIN retail/pharmacy only sell Desitin Original which cost abt $13+ i think. The creamy is better but only sold in certain hospital pharmacy at $16+.

re: desitin cream

i started using the pink box one darapolene or something but seriously it doesnt work.

i swear by desitin creamy (blue box) and i use it everyday cos even when my mun alt it with the cheaper ones ... the rashes will keep coming back. newborn skin are v dedicate so my personal exp is just use desitini from the start.

you see the rash you will v heartache one ... cos v red and bb keep crying.

if you all want to buy ... join those overseas spree in the forum ... cos for the same price you can only get 2oz in sg but 4oz from the website.

i will be ordering in Jan cos dun wan to keep too long due to expiry date.

Seabreeze,
if order now, expiry is Feb 2010 & the price increase recently wor. From USD4.79 to USD5.79 for 4oz. I wonder if price will go up again in 2009! 4oz can last max 3mths for newborn.

Diaper : I think it's best to use good ones when bb is out as their skin is so sensitive .. my colleague newborn , he use Huggies and in the end got rashes and told him must invest good diaper for the beginning and he agreed and when he use pampers then ok .. me too will use good one though bb poo poo more beginning but I will heart pain to see rashes and red buttock ... wait my PIL will sure scream and heartpain so to avoid problems .. I will use the good brand like pampers , mamy poko though more expensive ...

Yes desitin creamy is more worth to get from oversea spree and I do get it for my friends and cost around $10 for 4oz while locally u pay more than $10 for only 2oz ...

Wish a boy,
yeah i second what u said. I also use pampers & mamypoko for newborn. Otherwise PD charges very ex, POK la:p

steph ...

really ar ... actually i am v lousy with ordering from US so i just ride on with the spree.

anyone ordering from our thread? maybe we cal all order together heehee

those who signed up for Wong BB classes. there is one lesson which inculde the TOUR in TMC.

So does it mean we don't need to arrange another tour

wishaboy, i dun mind joining the spree also.
that is for the destiny creamy right?

i also second to what wishaboy mentioned on spending more on good diapers.

I got a bad night didn't get to sleep at all. Now is like dying in office. do you mummies experiences hand pain? My hand out of sudden before bed time pain until I cried, really don't know whats wrong its like pulling shark pain. Can't get to sleep turn here and there, even I used medical paster also no use sob sob...? Don't know is it baby sitting on my nerves or what??

Sun,
Just to let you know if you using Pigeon warmer, my colleague have check Avent bottle can't fit in Pigeon warmer. You were saying Metro having baby fair at Causeway Point?

Steph,
My gal using the First tooth paste too. Its good now she still using it. I have brought from wish a boy. My gal loves to brush her tooth hehe...

re: desitin vs drapolene
m i the only mummy who prefers drapolene? :p desitin does work better but the texture is not creamy so i find it hard to apply. drapolene works for my girl for daily use, but for severe rashes, i use california baby calendula cream, it's the best! treats ezcema too.

i subscribe to my mum's advice when it comes to creams, medications etc. use the milder type first, then if it doesn't work or there's a temporary condition, u have the more powerful cream/medication to turn to. if we use the more powerful one from the start, body may be conditioned to it, so we have to continue with even more powerful stuff. not good for the body nor cost effective in the long run. errr... does that make sense? :p

jasmine,
poor thing, sounds painful! may or may not be related to pregnancy though. i've only experience sharp temporary pains in my back. my pregnant fren swear by those magnetic bracelets/plasters, maybe that will help you?

sharon,
i used to wear the Phiten products & it's very good really, my backache has improved alot but since preggy i didn't wear liao cos dunno got side effect on the baby anot, so dun dare take risk.

Jasmine,
if still very painful, go see doc k.

hello mummies!

Jasmine,
I had the same problem once during the 1st trimester. same thing, it was so painful till i cried and cried. hubby didn't know wat to do. then when i went to see my gynae, he said it is rare to happen during 1st trimester but still possible, and if the problem continues, he will send me to a hand surgeon. luckily, the pain only happened for continuous 2 days,then gone.
hope u are better today.

sharon ...

you use the blue or the purple one? i heard that the original (purple) is not as easy to go off.

my mum has the same thinking as your mum but after she saw the rash she gave up so its desitin all the way heehee

i think as their skin gets tougher is ok ba but for a start they need all the protection that they can get

steph:: hehe he is using teat 4 already loh!
hehe but i never use the variable one cause he always CHOKe ley cause he turn turn turn the bottle aiyo. haha.. and i can't remember the cost already.. I bought 4 big and 4 small ones loh.

Re:: desitin creamy::
SUPER GOOD AND GOOD AND SUPERB. will order in dec from sprees too! hehe! now i still have 3 tubes left for #1..

wishaboy
i'm interested in the cream!!! let me know when u intend to order...

jasmine
thks... now i'm still not sure wat brand bottles i'll be using... *headache*

Desitin creamy blue one is more easier to apply and wash .. I don't like the original one , as the same is strong and hard to wash away ..

first teeth toothpaste : hubby insists to let gal use as he say gal don't know how to spit and worried she swallow so still using this for my gal ... pocket burn man .. use from 3mths onwards .. but I only use when got teeth ... before that use cloth to wipe ..

first teeth toothpaste, my 2yo is still using this also. can start when they start growing teeth, so that they will get used to brushing.

oh, the pigeon warmer cannot fit avent bottles ah, then i think i give a miss. I intend to get avent bottles. maybe i will just stick to buy the avent steriliser.

HI..
re: nappy cream
where to buy desitin cream?
so drapolene or desitin is better?
how about mothercare product?

re: avent products
I intend to use all avent products..
anyonw had bad experience with avent before?

re: pigeon
does pigeon have bottle warmer product too?
and for the warmer, can we put bottle from other brand too?

seabreeze,
hmm... not sure which one was it coz it was so long ago. maybe it's the original one then coz it's really thick n gooey.

miss83,
can get them at watsons or guardian, but desitin may be cheaper in a spree? i tried avent baby wash for my girl but it was too dry. end up use the old fashioned johnson & johnson. still the best!

I went for my gynae check up yesterday. Was in my 16 weeks. Was so excited to know about bb'e gender. Doc did the scan from botttom up and he said its a gal.. never c any balls and only 1 line.. hehe... I asked whether its confirm gal he said 99% confirm. I also did my blood test and triple test. Hope everything will be fine and i wont get call from the clinic means good news.. now can start shopping for bb's clothes... Have you all start buying bb's stuff? Coz i got a colleague who tell me chinese belief that bb's stuff should buy after bb born.. those ban dan stuff again lor.. But when i c those cute stuff i just cnt resist ah... they are so cute...

so confused what brand to buy.. Avent is so omplete..has all products i need..from warmer,breastpump,strelizer...but my only concern is the bottle..I want it to be suitable with NUK teats which i heard is the most similiar to our nipple so bb wont be confused..
but i heard NUK teat wont fit into avent bottle..

does anyone know if avent teat also have the type like NUK test which similiar to nipple?

re: metro
which metro has sales? I'm planning to go to orchard later..maybe drop by in paragon..

miss83 : I also going Orchard road but going for checkup . Maybe then I drop by paragon before going home to see got what ..

piggy 77 : congrats on having a princess . Last time my first preg , also start to buy stuff bit by bit as cannot wait till delivery then buy .. how to go out during confinement so my MIL and me go shopping during weekend and we buy some stuff when there is sales .

wish a boy
are u planning to buy something?
I want to shop for little stuffs like cream, breast pads, bb detergent etc...
do u think it's too soon to buy these? hehe..
but those stuffs like bb cot, stroller, pump..will wait til dec/jan..

Irene,
The # is 6226-2650. I should have mentioned you can oso get from NTUC Fairprice.

Sunshinebaby,
I'm not sure if you can request samples but the quality is different from the full pack. the design is a bit different and it is thinner.

Steph,
Yeap, i have 2 fur babies at home (Shih Tzu & Maltese) and a 14mth princess. Now expecting #2 and very bless to have a boi. papa wants a son to carry on the family name.
so lao tu
ya ya, nappy cream is important too. but previously my gar nappy rash cannot cure so i have to use the Anesia medicated powder. it was good.
i see ur son is now 9 mths so ur bb will be like 15mths apart. are you nervous?

Piggy,
congrats on your princess!

miss83 : I think I will window shopping .. think a bit too early to get the breastpad etc , maybe if teats for my gals got discount will buy that as now she always bite and so teats spoil easily within 1 to 2 months .. I don't need sterliser as what we do is use hot water to sterliser the bottles ... we don't boil as will spoil the bottles .. so far so good all 5 children under MIL did it this way and all ok .. so I can save $$ on sterliser ...

Piggy
Congrats on your little princess!

Re: Desitin creamy
Question: I've got some nasty rashes and eczema since preggy, so is it suitable for me to use on myself?

2dogs1kid
dogs are babies too huh? I so agree with u haha..
I got 3 dogs.. 1 pom 11 yrs, 2 shihtzu 7 yrs and 1.5yrs ..all boys..and I'm expecting a prince too..hehe surrounded by boys..
I miss my dogs everyday..sometimes can cry too because they're living with my parents in indo..every 3 months I always go back just to visit them... can't bear being separated from them too long esp with my pom coz he's the closest to me

wow.. I haven't logged on for so long.. Busy wif a million other things.. now bz training new maid and work and renovation of hse.. today I saw gynae for 16th week scan, hoping I could tell the gender by end of visit. But can't. Legs were close together! next visit is detailed scan, hopefully can tell. I wanted to know what color to paint children's room - if 2 girls, I will paint all pink.. if one boy one girl I will paint something else.. But painting is next wk. Guess I'll opt for neutral color. No choice!

hey miss83,
yup yup, doggies are bb too! hee hee, mine are boi boi too! why didnt u brg ur pom wif u when u come here? it hard to part wif them. they r juz so so loyal. i even had a tailor made tuxedos for my boys and brought them along for my wedding outdoor photo shoot. we all had fun. now my ger looks at the big portrait and always pointing at the dogs. must be thinking why gor gor inside the pictures???!!!

miss83, ya, but took alot out of me.. everyday contractor chasing for things.. because i have no.1 who is v demanding and clingy to me ever since maid left in mid Sep, it was v hard for me to go anywhere without her. not to mention my work is also v demanding.. i still have so much left to do for the hse.. not selected so many things.. But the gd thing is that my morning sickness is now manageable.. I vomit about once or twice a week, not as bad as before. Im still below the pre preg wt but slowly gaining wt back.
new maid just came 2 days ago so at least not so bad. but my girl still wants me to do everything .. v tiring!!!

2dogs1kid,
wow i can see you r an animal lover. I can't keep animal cos i am too emotional la cos when my pet hamster died, i cry buckets:p I love dogs but they also very much like babies, need attention too & i dun think i can devote my time on them since i have my own to care now.
To be exact, the age gap between #1 & #2 would be ard 14mths. I delivered #1 2 weeks earlier than my EDD so i guess #2 would be early too. yes i am nervous but hopefully everything will turn out fine with the support from hubby & family. We gotta plan our expenses wisely when #2 come along.

2dogs1kid
can't bring my pom here coz AVA regulation pets from overseas must be put in 30 days quarantine. It can cost me about 5-6K plus the flight ticket, agent fee etc..
anyway, I know my dog...he can be so stressed out being put in a strange place with stange ppl for 30 days..not good for his health esp that he already 11 yrs old..
at least now, tho he cant be with me all the time..he's quite comfortable being at home with my parents..
everytime it's always breaking my heart to leave him..but no choice..

miss83 ...

i rem that NUK has this premium teat that can fit into the avent bottle cos my fren bought before =)

babe ...

the desitin cream is for the bb backside one hahahaa try the california bb cream ... heard that its q good for adult too