(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

miss83,

a bit dangerous leh... 90% of births are within 7 days before and after EDD. If u want to take the jan class, you are gambling that u are not the 10%. Have u got the schedule for jan yet?

just now i called..next batch is after 13 jan..
so if 6 classes..that means it will end in mid feb..still okay right? my EDD is around 20-25 march

miss83 ...

if i am not wrong NUK teat oso got this premium size or something which can fit into avent bottle. me using the NUK bottle which is like the standard milk bottle size.

look out for robinson sale cos usually NUK got 20% off

usually for newborn we can use the latex (yellow rubber) teat cos its softer and easier for the bb to suckle. i think i changed him to the silicon one when he was 3-4 months old where they have more strength.

seabreeze
i'm planning to buy avent strelizer and bottle warmer,breastpump...can NUK bottle fit in avent sterilizer n warmer? i'm afraid can only use avent bottles only

elina
great!!! mayb slip my mind who's attending the same class as me...
1793511.gif

miss83
i dun tink NUK teat can fit avent bottle as advised by my gf... tink diff brand will hv their own teat, dun tink can fit others ba, am i right?

but if u attend jan class, will it be a bit too late... coz yr tummy will be big by then, right?
chk for nov availability so u can join us ma...

sun
can't take nov class..coz end nov will go back to indo for 2 weeks..and jan also plan to go back again..I'm gonna miss a few classes then..

actually i want to attend the class bcause they will teach us how to bf, change diaper, bb bath n massage --> i relaly need that info

miss83 ...

hmmm then you can just get the premium NUK teat which can fit the Avent bottle cos i believe that the avent warmer only fit avent bottle

i am using the pigeon steraliser ... can throw everything in =)

sun96 ...

actually only avent bottle is so big hahahaha i use NUK teat for pigeon bottle oso

hey mummies mummies, hope you girls had great lunch!

Pinksorbet,
hope you are getting much much better. always rest whenever you need. you'll know all these suffering are all worth it when our cuties are out! ya, i will be going for the detail scan as they look at every part of the bb and do a 3D scan too. i had my #1 done at East Shore and will be gg to ES this time too. if we are lucky, we can have full view of our little one in 3D.

Pig Pig,
right, Dr Heng wont be the one to do the scan for us. some other doc will and she will just keep her mouth shut while scanning. she will not comment anything and will have Dr Heng to tell us aout whats in the report. unless choy choy choy anything wrong then she will have us arrange for appointment fast so doc can review.

gingal,
i envy you. how i wish my hb let me try what i want. i really hope to go thru the natural birth process. u know what ppl ask me how is giving birth like, i was like " har?? dunno leh, i was sleeping and next moment the doc was waking me tell me bb is out!" simple as that.
i have a very brave colleague who gave birth to 3 kids WITHOUT epidural and she told me you can feel the bb passing thru the birth canal and warm warm one. sounds interesting!

afcai,
my #1 is a gal and she is 14mths now. i love her to pieces! her fav person is my niece and my gal has been yelling out "jie jie" when she was abt 6mths old! then she ended up calling everybody else jie jie including me and hb.
even now. aiya, my hb is very pro fengshui and wanted kids to lead a good life so chose the birth time lor. they only give you 2hrs duration so must c-sec. induce time cannot promise.

A GENTLE REMINDER TO ALL NEW MUMMIES
Try not to buy things if you dunno you are going to use. i bought stuffs that i thot i will be using but ended up did not. waste $$. you only go for the expensive breast pump if you are very very sure you will go on tbf. lucky me, i bought medela mini when i had my dd. end up i had to go for a emergency surgery 3 wks after my gal was born. this cause me to give up bf. also, my milk supply does not seem to be enuf too even my mum boiled me the papaya soup. breast grew big big durig pregnancy does not mean got milk inside.
i just thot that maybe you girls can show papa what you may need and during confinement, he can still go get for us.

i had cloth nappy too but end up did not use bcos family got too many ppl and no place to bamboo dry them. had to use diapers and the nappy liners wasted too. so if really want to get ready of things way in advance, think carefully first.

also for those who thought of wearing paper panties during confinement (if any), do quit that idea as it does not hold our tummy. must wear those higher tight panties so it helps us to "shrink" easier. just wanted to pass some info since a lot are new mummies.

2dogs1kid ...

yap i agree totally ... some of the stuff can wait till baby pop then buy =)

when i had my #1 i bought the avent manual first cos i wasnt sure if i will have milk but when my bb was admitted to hosptal for jaundice and milk came in ... i used the avent manual to just clear whatever i could and bought the ameda dual the next day only. and i think its only cos i managed to TBF for 8 - 10mths thats why i wanted to just get a good pump this time round and my hubby was supportive lar

see if you can borrow infant car seat from frens cos usually by 10mths the bb would outgrow the car seat and i bought the good solid car seat when he was about to outgrow the infant one that i borrowed

stroller oso is another item that you can buy at a later date ... good to bring the bb to try oso ... i brought my son to try the stroller and ended up buying the lucky baby one cos he looked so squeezed in the combi one hahahaha and till now he is still happily sitting in his stroller though we think that he will outgrow it soon esp when he wants to zzz cos he always complain that my bag hit him hahahaha

anyway for a start i was using the baby carrier to cayy him oso thats why didnt need stroller

Afcai
Yea, my gynae allowed us to take pictures. But cameras were not allowed for my detail scan today @ the 4th floor of TMC by a different obstetrician.

The correct way of eating fruits is on an empty stomach and therefore, best eaten in the morning. Fruits are alkaline when eaten but as many people eat after meals, it mixes with all the food sludge in the tummy and becomes acidic and causes bloatedness.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Fetal Assessment Scan (about 20 mins):</font>
The u/s machine have better resolution (less grainy), still black and white. Unfortunately, we weren’t allowed to take pictures.
<font color="0000ff">Fetal anatomy</font>
Anomaly Scan
Fetal Measurements
Biparietal Diameter (BPD)
Head Circumference (HC)
Hemisphere
Anterior Ventricle (Va)
Posterior Ventricle (Vp)
Transcerebellar Diameter (TCD)
Cisterna Magna (CM)
Nuchal Fold Thickness
Nasal Bone
Abdominal Circumference (AC)
Femur Length (FL
Humerus Length
Est. fetal weight (Hadlock (BPD-HC-AC-FL)

The following were visualized:-
Head, brain, orbits (eye socket), nose/ lips (for cleft palate), spine (DS), neck and skin, chest, four chamber view and outflow tracts (heart), abdominal wall, gastrointestinal tract, kidneys and bladder, extremities, skeleton

My EDD remains unchanged 3/3/09. Everything was within normal range. After some time, as bb was shy today, we managed to confirm that she is gal (saw 3 lines at her buttocks).

She’s got a bigger head and bigger tummy than the average bb but shorter legs! Haha, guess she won’t be a fashion model in the future, huh?!!! She’s average in weight, weighing 341g (12ozs).
Placenta in the right place.

Phew!!! Sorry for the long post. Just in case some of you want to know more details regarding the scan. Hope it helps!

RE: glenn doman flash cards
I will be meeting the person in charge on 24/10/08 after my gynae visit at 3.30-4pm at Glenn doman office to see the demo. The PIC said if i can get more pple to purchase during that day, we could get a good discount. Let me know if you are interested. Or i leave your contact with him to contact you so we can get a good discount. That day i will be going down with my hubby and a preg frd. I heard a set of 3 (match, english and chinese) cost about S$1.4-S$1.6k. They accept instalments too.

Re: glenn doman flash cards
I also understand fr the PIC that there should be a revised in the cards at year end. Those who need better purchase soon.

I heard diff sch of thoughts on cordycep and ginseng.

Tibet cordycep is better than qing hai?
Wild ginseng is heaty, good for us. cultivated is liang for us. Pao sheng is generally fine for us. Some say ren sheng is for those preg mums who are very weak. Not sure what is ci di sheng...
i went to two medical hall. average those good cordycep cost above S$1k for 1 liang. NOw this is even more expensive than birdnest (BN).

Xue yan heard has higher protein than dong yan?
second trim should take cordycep and third trim should take BN? Is it proven that taking BN weekly will cause bb to have phelgm? Chinese physician fr the medical hall told me because mummies dont eat well. drink cold water and eat salad etc which cause bb to have phlegm.

So confused of the above...

babe,

Thanks for the details.
But 20 mins depends on individual right? Depends on whether bb is cooperative enough to let sonographer measure everything.

Babe
Glad to hear that everything id ok for you. After detailed scan, you don't have to worry so much already.

kovanguest ...

the glenn doman card flash cards need ALOT of discipline ... i bought a set when my bb was born but it was thr a bulk purchase then when someone got a printer to print for us for a couple of hundreds.

the size of the card was v big and due to lack of discipline it became a white elephant and in the end i sold it off. so you check it out but think very carefully before you invest in a set k

Asura
Yea, ours was pretty fast as bb was not moving much except when I was asked to shift from side to side and wait for the bb to show us her genitals. Initially, the nurse told me around 30 mins. We waited for about 30 mins before our turn. Quite busy even on a weekday.

Seabreeze
Then it breached copyright le wor...
Thanks for your advise. My sis using it. she FTM... I have the Time. Hopefully i have the patient to teach...

Thanks for all the welcome. Sorry I really can't keep up with all the posts, let alone remember who to respond back to. Please excuse me!

DRIVING
Yah I'm taking my driving lessons now. By the time I sit for the practical test I would be around 6.5mths. Didn't kbnow that I could request for an earlier date but in any casel, at the rate I;m going, I think I will need all the lessons I can get! I have a total lack of confidence on the road and my poor memory now just made it worse. I can;t rem all the different techniques to complete the differebnt circuit courses. In fact I get all the cues mixed up! Oh Woe!!!!!! How am I ever going to pass like this.

I really want to get my licence before baby arrives as it would be impossible after. Nothing like having my own set of especially if I decide to stay as a stay home mom. I;m a SAHMTB right now.

DIFFICULTY IN SLEEPING
I'm really affected by this too. So much so that I tend to sleep really late these days, which of course, only make it worse. Can't help it. Cos I get a really disturbed sleep i.e. keep waking up, if I try to hit sack at my normal times (midnight or 1am).

BABYPLUS
My ex colleague bought it when she was 3 mths preggie for $249 during a babyfair. I was initially skeptical esp due to the high cost, but after hearing her testimonial I'm willing to give it a shot, BUT at a much cheaper price i.e. buy 2nd hand. I'm not willing to spend more than $100ish on the set. She swore that after 2 mths of using babyplus, her baby would anticipate the session times (she always use it at a fixed time eveyr day) and start kicking if she was as much as 5 mins late. Pretty amazing.

DETAILED SCAN
Will be going for it on 24 Oct at NUH. My Gynae, who is attached to Mt Alvernia, prefers tests at NUH as opposed to TMC. Thus I was also sent to NUH for my triple blood test and NT scan. His reason being NUH tests are exactly the same and as good as the "branded" OSCAR tests but at less than 2/3 the price. He also said that at NUH you'll get senior doctors conducting the tests, not junior staff (sometimes not docs) like at TMC. Not sure if he's being biased but in any case I am happy with my experience at NUH.

kome
Thanks gal, it's a relief that she's doing a-okay and everything is normal.
But today my weight is up by 4 kilos! So, now total 6kg increase since preggy! My gynae says it's still normal weight gain as I'm on the half way mark to delivery but was a bit surprised I put on 4 kilos in 1 month. Haha. No wonder bb tummy so big.

They can also rule out DS with this FA test. So I guess OSCAR is really not necessary after all.

babe
thanks for your sharing.. think my next thorough scanning will be around 3rd nov... is excited in looking forward to that man.. heee

kovanguest ...

actually no ler heehee cos if you check out the books and website right, they actually encourage us to make the flash card ourselves =p

yap cordycep is v exp now ... my mum say like eating gold like that hahahaha

babe ...

good that your cleared your detailed scan ... can start shopping without any worries liao =)

babe,
the FA scan usu done at how many wks? it's not done by our own gynae, like the OSCAR, right?

my gynae package starts at 18wks, am thinking whether shld sign up or just pay every visit. how frequent are our gynae visits in the 2nd &amp; 3rd trimester, assuming no complications?

Jasmine/ Joyce
Yea, really felt like a long wait to see her again. I was tearing a bit with relief (then have to hold my hubby's hand) as we listened to the OB saying this and that all normal and fine. Pathetic ol gal, I am. Haha.

English and chinese still might be possible.. but match cant wor... I find that the time cost of doing it is not worth it.. it might end up penny wise pound foolish.. I will still do some flash cards and attach to the household items when bb gets a little older...
if you duplicate one or hundreds of sets of the the glenn doman cards, strictly, it is copy, and it is breaching copyright leh...
My sis thought of doing what the BP was doing too then but she worried abt the breaching of copyright so abandon the idea...

elina
I took the package on my week 8. since then I can visit gynae whenever I have concerns haha...actually just want to have a chance to see my bb
the package really worth it!

Interesting I just read about the comments above on Glenn Doman flash cards, did a quick google to find out more and somehow stumbled upon a free baby Flashcard website.

Like what I read so far. Worth checking out.

p/s tomorrow will be the start of my 20th week. Have put on 4kg so far.

elina
FA aka detail scan is normally done around the 5th month (around 20 weeks). This is when most of the major organs are formed. At TMC, it's done on the 4th level at the X-Ray and Ultrasound Unit by the TMC obstetricians. not our own private gynae.

I think you have to ask your gynae how many visits are included in the package, and what are the exclusions. Does it included supplements, etc? Then do a calculation and see if it's worth while.

kovanguest ...

the one that we bought was only english and maths and i think she didnt follow word by word ... i cant rem actually cos i didnt go thr the whole set heehee

but its a very good training if you can do it - jai you!!!

elina ...

my gynae package starts from 20 weeks onwards and after the detailed scan only. price increase by $100 since i gave birth to my #1 ... now its $650.

miss83
$107 is the price without discount. I didn't get the FBI card as I will not be delivering in Singapore. But I know there is a discount for FA Scan with FBI. Does anyone know how much is the discount?

Hi mommies... Juz woke up from my rest. Flu getting better, but cough get worse.

So many posts already! takes me so long to read all =D

Babe
Congrats on ur healthy princess! and the detailed explanation of the FA @TMC.

miss83,
how much is your package and really no limitation in the visits? My package is $550 and 3 weeks once for the check up. Any visit not scheduled will have to pay consultation fees lo. The package starts from week 14.
Print out of the scan will cost additonal $25 each.

Seabreeze,
yah, i only buy things when i need them now. even the strollers, my gal hates it. she will start screaming when we try to put her on the stroller. its like we are killing her! so now i'm doing the reverse, using a sling to carry her than to let her be on stroller. but hb now gd gd la. he used to say "dun want to use the slig la, so auntie". but now with gal's weight of only 9kg, he cannot tahan and had to "throw face" use lor. ha ha. he din want me to carry her. i find carrier not too good as it cos my back to ache. sling by side is a lot more comfortable for me.

this time round, think i'm just going to buy some new bottles. the car seat that i have now is meant for newborn to 4yrs and my gal is still using it. so when didi comes, carry him first. no room for more car seat liao. so bulky

wow this thread moves really fast.

Forgot to post the link to the free flashcard website just now. here it is http://mooneleaf.com/flashcards

Hi Ivy,
your package seems to be pretty cheap, provided if you don't keep asking for scan prints.
Mine is $1000 for every 3 weeks at first, now it's every 4 weeks. He gives 2 to 4 prints each time. I started my package at week 10. Closer to EDD the frequency will increase again. Triple Blood Test, NT Scan, Detailed scans are all done at NUH which charges separately.

Ivy
my package is $550, after disc is $420 if I'm not wrong..can sign up the package anytime we want..gynae visit is not limited.
Scan picture is free...after check up, gynae always give me the scan..
package also incl vitamin and folic acid, but exclude fish oil which cost ard $30.
last time I got gastric, gynae give medicine for free also..
so i think the package really worth it

2dogs1kid ...

i was using sling until he was going 10mths ... cant tahan cos and bought a 2nd hand ergo carrier ... oso v comfy.

i already chopped the infant car seat from my fren and intend to transfer my boy to the booster seat once he is tall enough heehee then of cos #2 will take over the car seat lor

will need to buy a new stroller though cos the current one that my boy is using is wearing off soon and we use it so frequently. my hubby say that he wan to buy a stylo-milo one this round ... think he see the price tag sure change his mind again hahahaha