(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

here's an old image of super old ginger:
1792662.jpg

yes queenie and kome:: like what asura said, the best is not to pump for first month at all, just latch, that's what was advised to me. ehhe!!

queenie:: yea maybe go back after when bb has reached 2 months? and maybe by then should be more stable too? I remember for mine hor, wa lao, he could FEED for HOURS at night. but i just latch la. until i pek check but still just latched.

Queenie,
Newborn bbs need to drink every 2-3hrs.

Asura
I just hope can bf longer so if gt excessive supply i will not mind. Think i will try out after evry latch on than pump out. Hope can increase the supply.

sassybaby,

Thanks for informing on bb travel. That's the price for SQ? So means different airlines different price? ANy idea how to request for bassinet? Cos i notice if buy online, there is no option to request for bassinet yet.

kome,
for me, the best way to ensure supply is keep latching on. just keep feeding on demand until supply is stable. i did hear that pumping after latching will help but there was absolutely no time nor enuff supply at first to pump. imagine, bb takes abt an hour to feed then u get an hour to rest n bb wants to feed again. if i pump, then no milk when latching on. hee....

fenugreek helps too, at least it works for me. sometimes bb dun drink much n can feel supply gg down. so i will take lotsa fenugreek n supply will come back by next day n i stop taking. can get from gnc. on the bottle it says to take 2 a day or something, but the salesgirl would recommend higher dosage. for me, when desperate, i will sometimes take about 10 a day n smell lik curry all day!

joyce,
bfeeding shouldn't b painful, there may be some tingling pain when letdown. if it is always painful, the most likely reason is that baby is not latching on properly. there should be a lactation consultant in the hospital to teach u methods of checking this.

Sharon
Ok, will try to latch on and also buy fenugreek pills to try out alos. Don't know that there is actually this kind of pills to help out also.

Lucky gt alot of MTBs here to advice. From this pregnancy really learn alot of things.

asura,
it might not be possible to pump after latch cos no time!
My son's 1st two mths, take 1hr to feed him whether latch or bottle, then another 30mins to burp him..then he doze off 30 mins and its hunger time again! Imagine the whole process repeat for the whole nite! thats how i lost weight. For day time, i sometimes got lazy and decided to pump and give him ebm instead. Cos pump=20mins, latch=1hr..(think he got too comfy with the latching on hence taking his own sweet time).
Finally i was so happy to go back to work..haha...

hard to get hb to help also cos he need to work the next day...thats y when your CL is with you for the 1st mth, best is to rest and slp as much as you can! 2nd mth onwards, its on your own.

I din know that time, so 1st mth i still wake up to nite feed..till the 3rd week, cannot tahan liao, told CL to just give EBM while i slp thru...thats the only luxury ever since then.

I don't mind having excess bm as I can give some to my dd2 who is more prone to flu and hope it's help her to have more immune since last time I don't have bm to feed her .. hope this time round can success ..

Kome : No lah . 3 is enough for me regardless of gender as I want to spend quality time and $$ for the 3 kids education etc , another one will be very stressful and tired out ..

Wish a boy
Actually already 'pei fu' you for having 3 kids, now 2 kids i already think is enough.

Ivy
I don't intend to employ CL to help, but i don't know if my mum want to help me during confinement or not. I intend to express out so if i too tired can get hb to take leave the next day and ask him to do the feeding instead.

wow, the thread is moving very fast and its hard to catch up!

Congrats to mummies who know their BB gender, looks like a boys club liao, haha

Missycandy/ miss83:
Hope u are feeling better now? Wow, how come Dr Adrian can still tell u all the CRL? When I went for scan las wk at wk 17, only got the weight, say from trim 2 onwards don't measure by CRL leh...heh, next time must ask him again liao.

Afcai: Haha, ya, I KS mah, cos returning from US where the baby stuff there are much cheaper. The milkbags I bot it at less than S$0.5 per pc. Most milk bags can lay flat if I'm not wrong. I've seen my cousin use Gerber and another brand, she also lay it flat on freezer, no prob. Lansinoh has double zipper feature as well. Yup, am aware that these bags are not re-usable, more for convenience. Was thinking if I overbot, at most keep for my 2nd one next time, if not sell it away.

Re bloatedness:
I still have this feeling every now & then. Last night also cos during lunch I had craving for laska yong tau foo despite the hot weather. First time having laska since pregnancy, haha and I paid the price for it cos started to feel gastric bloated in the evening till night.

I read a few other MTBs not feeling. Sorry, the thread is moving so fast that I can't remember all your names. Hope u all recover and feel better soon!

wow, our thread is really active. i had a hard time trying to read all the posts, so i actually speed read all the posts.
it's wednesday, so i'm really looking forward to the weekend. cos like other mummies, i can't seem to have a good nite sleep nowadays. tend to sleep around 11pm, then wake up 1.30am or 2am and cannot sleep until 4am. even during the short sleep, if i managed, i tend to have weird dreams, like cannot find my car in the car park for hours, or get chased by something. last nite i was chased by a monkey. sometimes worst, it will be some r-rated dreams...
my sister said my bb noti noti, don't allow mummy to sleep.

PigPig.
The NeuroGain, we ordered the PB cost $26 per bottle not the S version. I have took the PB king when I have my no.1. But of coz double is better than the 1 I took, but for cost I buying back the PB as S version think only gynae can get it only.

re: breastfeeding & pumping

yap for the first month just focus on latching on to build up the supply. my suggestion is to ensure that you get the latching correct when you are in the hospital. the first few time the nurse just tell me what to do and leave me alone with the baby, once the nipple drop out then i blur liao hahahaha so i stare at my baby and baby just stare at me =p

only managed to get it right the morning that i was about to discharge cos the consultant came to check on me. after that all was well for latching ... BF shouldnt be painful but for a start our nipple might crack and that is painful. so everytime after you bf, you can apply the nipple cream or squeeze abit of milk out to mositurise your nipple.

i started to store my milk 2-3 weeks before i go back to work. what i did was that i latch my bb on 1 side and pump at the same time for the other side. can be v messy at first but will get the hang of it after a while. the adv is that when bb is latching on 1 side, automatically the other side will have let down and it was easier to pump.

but v tough cos the intention was to build up the supply, so the number of feeding time had to increase but after a while - 1 breast = 1 feed

i used the milk bag and just fasten it with rubber band. and i store according to the amt that he need per feed. usually i will write the amt of milk and date of storage on the bag before i freeze.

when i ret to work ... my bb will drink the de-froze mailk every monday cos i latch him on during weekend and never pump. tues will drink the milk that i pump on monday, wed drink tues and so on. milk from fri will be frozen.

missycandy & miss 83 ...

well seem like we are in the same boat =p

yest was terrible for me too ... vomiting thr out the day and last night was so hot that my boy who is sleeping on the same bed as us kept waking up to cry and kick. so fed up that i hit his leg and few times and i went to zzz on the sofa.

so tired now .. hopefully today will be a better day for us!

seabreeze,
ur boy so poor thing... but too bad mummy wasnt feeling well...
hope u feel better today.

yeah, also hope all other mummies who are not feeling well are better now.

Asura & Kome,
I did the pumping of milk after latch on, but you must not do it straight after latch on as our nipple will be a bit zhong after baby latch, if you pump straight after laych on will be very painful normally I pump like after half and hour when our nipple return back to the normal size. Just a piece of advise for FTMB.

<font color="ff6000">hi jtho,</font>
yup me staying &amp; working in the west, near west coast. I usually lunch out with my colleagues to nearby Teban, West Coast or Clementi. IMM my favourite when it's raining &amp; after quick lunch, can shop around:p

The thread is moving so speed fast, really can't catch up!

<font color="ff0000">Congrats to the mummies who know the gender of their bb.</font> i am still waiting for my detailed scan to confirm, another 1.5wks to go!

<font color="aa00aa">Irene,</font>
hope u r feeling better. I also fainted &amp; blackout in the MRT so we must have gd rest &amp; take care of our body ya.

Kome,
If you experience pain after latch on means the position not right, sometimes may even have nipple crack ah. At 1st I also experience this but slowly once you get hold of how to place your baby to latch on its ok liao.

Sharon,

Does it mean that we can still get the adult ticket from online, then after getting the adult ticket, call the airline for the infant ticket? Sorry ask a lot of questions here... Trying to plan for bringing my bb to US when bb is 2 months old.

Jasmine &amp; Sharon
Now than i know that might be due to wrong position which always cause me to be so painful. ok, noted. Btw.....when i was at the hospital last time after delivery, there is no lactation consultation approace me before. Strange......no wonder i can never learned to bf. :p

jitho
hahaha, i think i am encountering the same situation as you did.. dreaming alot of funny and weird dreams.. sometime even x-rated dreams where i never had such experience in my entire life..
1792886.gif

Anyway when i hit 20th week will go take up courses provided at TMC becoz i knew there is a very high chances of myself taking care of my boy for quite sometime before i started to work on fulltime again.. Now currently doing web designing freelance..

I have friends who went on with their first month without CL, so i am thinking whether can i do tat as well.. but in another angle i think for the 1st month is best to have someone to help out since i think i must be damn weak to go thru tat on my own when my hubby is working most of time even sometime furing weekends... haizz...

Joyce,

You should call TMC and book on a course now if u want a weekend calss with Wong bb. There are classes in end Nov... should be just nice by then.

Joyce,
Think is better to get someone to help you, as I have gone through my #1, really no kidding lor, as my mum do help me also very tired. At night my mum only help when she is not too tired so mostly I woke up to feed bb. Will be better to get a CL if you can afford. This time I set my mind in getting CL after going through my #1 baby.

Jitho,
Same like you, I did get to sleep alot nowadays, woke up in the night to go pee and can't get back to sleep like 1 hr, finally get to sleep and my gal woke up and wanted milk sigh... last night worse she having nightmare and keep crying and screaming, so have to place her to sleep with me, so make me so tired now.

Kome ...

yap ask for the consultant when you are at the hopistal cos its free hahaha when you are discharged and you go back to need to pay liao

thats the advise that i give to all my frens too - get it right asap =)

asura,
yes, after u book yur adult tickets online, call the reservation office to book the infant ticket. remember to request for bassinet! hee... very lor sor, but i kena bad experience where i hv to carry my bb all the way, n squashed between the rows coz i din request at time of booking.

joyce,
can book and pay now, they will just ask u ur EDD, to ensure u are attending around 20wks.
do book quickly, otherwise no place liao. wong bb's class very popular.

joyce,
i din get a CL for my first one n it was tiring but manageable. my mum came to cook for me during the day though. so if u r not getting CL, do get someone to help with cooking and/or housework. also i think it's useful to hv a network of help available. eg. friends, relatives, websites etc. i was so lost during the first few months coz my girl kept crying n i duno wat to do!

mummies who pump n latch
any issues of nipple confusion for your babies? i was told to avoid the bottle the first few weeks/months coz after bb drink fr the bottle, they may not know how to latch on coz suckling method is different. tat's y i was wary of giving bottle to my firstborn.

joyce
ya lor, if u r interested attending the class pls book early coz mrs wong's class realli very popular...

elina
when is yr class? mine is end Nov, same as me?

Ivy
me too got cracked tooth last week...I also suspect this due to lack of calcium..I have taken enmum milk everyday, but my mom said need to take calcium supplement too..will ask my gynae on my next visit..

re: enmum
the chocolate flavor quite ok. I've been drinking since my week 5..but actually now getting bored of the taste..

re: crack nipple
if first time bf got crack nipple and sore...after applying cream, will it be ok already? or need to wait some time to heal?
if it's sore..do we still have to bf?

sharon ...

yap i didnt intro bottle until he was 6 weeks old ... for the whole 1st month it was latching all the way for me ... even at night. though i need to wake up but i find it v convi lor compared to waking up to pump and someone to wake up and warm up milk etc

but i use the NUK teat that many recommended as the shape is the closest to the breast and he had no prob with latching on and drinking from the bottle.

miss83

my suggestion is that dun wait for it to crack before you apply the cream cos it would be too late liao

when it happen to me ... i kept latching on the side which was ok and that breast sort of became more efficient and produced more milk and of cos my bb preferred that breast to the other oso cos it was easier to suckle etc

after it recover ... i intro that not so efficient breast to the bb first cos by then he hungry and have no choice but to drink from it and eventually it balanced out =)

hope you understand what i mean

Re not sleeping well:
I also haven't been sleeping well for a couple of reasons. Sometimes wake up feeling hungry despite having taken light supper (which is a MUST, else will definitely wake up middle of nite feeling hungry) and the kind of hunger is not something can sleep thru it like pre-pregnancy days. If don't eat, won't be able to get back to sleep. Sometimes after eating, hard to get back to sleep too. Other times, its due to my sinus. I also having lotsa dreams, haha

Seabreeze:
After applying the cream, do we need to wipe it before feeding BB or ok to leave it on? Any recommended brand for cream?

teddybaby ...

i bought the medela nipple cream and apply it after i BF. anyway before i latch on i always clean the breast with a warm towel but the cream should be q safe.

but once the milk comes in ... i just use the milk instead of the cream liao

BabyPlus : need to get 3 and need to self collect at Orchard area then got discount of $20 , retail is $288 with FOC delivery .

just made the booking liao.. will be going down this friday to make the payment.. think will take up the nov course or maybe latest jan one.. anyone of u going down alone or with accompany of hubby?

joyce,
gd dat u hv made the booking. i alrdy told hb he must go with me...hee...hee. class is on sunday class around 12.30pm, he got no excuse.

Joyce,

When is ur EDD? The Jan one is too late for us... cos some woman deliver at wk36.. Jan would end in Mar... very dangerous! That's why when i told them i cannot make it for the Nov class, they ask me to go for the Oct class.

asura
oya hor.. thks for ur reminder than i think i take the nov course instead.. my edd is on 20/03.. scarly he came earlier than usual than siao liao lor..

asura
i'll be taking the jan class...my EDD 24 march...can i still make it?
coz december definetely cant make it..I got to travel to indo for 2 weeks..

asura79 ...

yap NUK is a brand but just buy 1 or 2 to try first cos i have fren's bb who choke on NUK teat. my observation is that bb who are BF thr latching seem to take to NUK teat better.

till now my boy is still on NUK teat