(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

sung
i oso realised tat... so only take cold drinks once a blue moon when i've craving... but i did take yakult n yoghurt, tat should be fine right?

seabreeze
congras

Seabreeze : That's really a good news that NT is back to normal . What a relief .

Cold drinks : Yes advise is to take less .. sigh .. but weather so hot really feel like taking it ..

errh ladies, wat's NT?

yes, sun96, i oso take yakult...prune juice and soy bean all from fridge but i will usually set it aside for a while, abt 15 mins or more to let it cool back to room temp more before drinking. can't avoid all chilled/cold stuff, i guess. just cut down lor

congrats seabreeze,
can shop for blue stuff liao!

daphne,
i m a sahm n i rarely use the pump. the only times i used it are to clear some engorgement and to stimulate supply. in my case, i didn't get a super duper pump, just a single pump only since i m not rushed for time n dun need to store up milk.

sung,
NT stands for nuchal translucency. NT scan helps to identify the risk of Down Syndrome. this is done by measuring the thickness of fluid at the back of the neck. if thickness is less than 3mm, the risk of DS is lower.

There is such a lot of baby ox boys, but it seem like friends around me who is pregnant are all girls? I think my only chance of encountering baby boy's mommies are in this forum liao.. hahaha..
Actually my previous gynae is with Dr roger heng, but change to Dr Paul Tseng from tlc which is at tmc, coz i heard the cash payment after delivery is cheaper than of other hospitals. The packages are better down there.. I heard alot of horrible things about esh.. hahha.. maybe not true but one thing for sure is it is very near my plc, but due to cash budget constraint i think taking up tmc will be better..

Joyce
My bro also said that his friends wife all pregnant with bb girls while i am the only person to have a bb boy.

but sad case, i dun have a chance to kio baby clothes from my friends and relative coz all baby gal's clothing.. haiz..

oh thanks jtho! tink my gynae did that measurement at the last u/s scan. hee still not familiar with all the shortforms

I can reuse my son clothings, help me save alot. Now thinking abt whether need to get new milk bottles or not.
1787239.gif

Joyce
Last time my mum kio some clothes from a bb gal for my son to wear. Of course not the dress. She took most rompers, shirts but mostly to be red or pink colour lor. HAha.....she said bb won't know waht they are wearing so its ok one.

Thanks everyone!! Was so glad that I started SMS my friends to share with them the good news.

Jasmine ...

my #1 is a boy ... everyday he tells me that he is Gor Gor and even ask us to call him Gor Gor *faint*

sung ...

jtho is right ... at 11 week bb was measured at 3.8mm hence v worried so had to do the CVS to check for genetic disorder. glad that the report turned out fine and the NT is now reduced to normal. v glad heehee

sharon ...

no need to shop much cos my #1 got LOTSSSSS of clothes ... planning to dig out everything after detailed scan and start washing aft CNY. but think will still buy 1 set of newborn for aft discharge from hospital and 1 set for 1st month bb shower =)

Irene
I am actually thinking if get so many bottles no place to sterilise all the milk bottles. If sterilise 2 times, still need to find place to keep those already sterilise bottles in a clean place.

kome, ya think maybe have to search and see whether there is any non dress clothings from my friends and relative liao.. by the way can anyone feel the baby moving now? I am at my 17th week and somemore is my first one, so not sure how is the movement like? will there be slight cramping feeling?

Joyce
By right #2 will feel the movement earlier, but till now i still have not feel any movement from bb yet. Getting abit worry now. I got another 3 weeks more before my next check up.

Kome : Actually milk bottles I only got 2 - 3 at the most , one for drink water , another 2 for milk . I don't use Avent Sterliser as MIL find it too troublesome . What she did was to use hot water to sterlise in a pot . Before use will use hot water to rinse .

Baby movement : If I not wrong I already start to feel at times as it's a sharp pain in my belly and think it's the kick . I can feel around 13 - 14 weeks .. but it's my 3rd one so maybe it's correct ..

don't worry maybe this baby much quieter.. so u might not feel it.. since ur last scan which is last week is ok than everything should be fine.. if ur #1 is active then i suppose #2 will be quiet..

mmm... kome, how many bottles do you have now?
My #2, i only has two for her, one for milk, one for water. i don't sterilised anymore since she is already 30mths old.
my maid will occasionally boil the bottles only.

so for #3, i will get the steriliser and use it to sterilise the #3's bottles

Joyce,
Im in my 19 weeks. I can feel movement mostly at night. Day time only sometimes can feel movement. My colleague says she have small cramp feeling, but I think is the baby stretching make her feel like cramp.

haha seabreeze, your #1 is so cute!

joyce, i'm also ftm and in my 17th week. have not felt bb moving yet...so anxious waiting, every night i sayang bb and tell him/her to let me feel him/her move haha but till now, not yet leh..

Wish a boy
My mum uses 6 bottles and use a cup for my son to drink water. I brought a steriliser as my mum had boil all my 4-5 of Avent bottles till melted, so scare of her already. She also find steriliser more convienet for her.

Milk bottles:
I have 4 bottles all Avent, 2pcs 260ml and 2 pcs 125ml. Once at middle of night & once in the morning when she woke up she drank more than we use the big ones. Small ones is for b4 her bed times she drink lesser amount so we uses the small bottles.

oic.. then i guess my baby is a night owl.. hahhaa.. i normally can feel something right after 5pm... think maybe because i am quite small build so can feel something even since this is my #1 at such early stage ba.. coz i remember previous gynae told me normally for first timer they only recognise when it reach 20th and so..
sadly every scanning i went is during morning so i dun see the baby moving at all.. the only time i saw him moving is when i am at my 14th week, i got a big cloak of blood discharge and was so terrified that i rush to kk for a checkup and tat was evening time and to great relieve is just false alarm of miscarriage..

but also this is the greatest moving moment in my life, to see him stretching inside with both tiny arm so short but actively moving.. so cuteee...

Irene
My mum likes to use till night time and wait for me or hb back home to wash all 6 bottles together and sterilise, so need at least 6 bottles.

Kome, oic.. then gotta think of ways le.

can knock off le. see ya ladies tmr. wish me luck for my checkup tmr also... hopefully can see the gender

SG - for breast pump ur budget 300+ can consider Ameda dual pump.. is less than 400... =)

cold drinks - wa... i always take cold drinks leh... with ice when im outside... or cold water... i rarely drink hot/warm water... whats the reason for not taking too much cold drinks???

i cnt wait for my appt on wed!!! hopefully bb is guai guai and let us see if boi or ger... if ger my frn say will pass me big bag of clothes... if boy then no choice we must buy... hehehe...

Avent Duo Pump - if anyone has lobang let me knw k?? cos im really interested in it... thankssss!!!

Irene - are you drinking enough water? few days back i also suddenly feel like the world spinning when i stepped out of the office... i tot of squatting by the road side... but i didnt la.. i faster went back to the office and sat down to rest for awhile... my boss says cld be my sugar level... ask me check everyday -_-" but i carry sweets with me and suck ard 2-3 a day... if at all i think its because i dont drink enough water... =X take care you!

besides oldnavy and gap, if we order from other fr other US sites, do we also put the Vpost Oregon address as the shipping address? when do we put the California address?

misscandy,
think ur EDD is 31Mar, same as mine. my next appt is still far away, 25Oct, me also hope can see whether im having a boy or girl, so can start thinking of names and buy clothes.
do update us aft ur checkup, hope ur bb guai guai let u see the most impt part..

SG
I think most gynaes will do the FA Scan for mummies as standard check up at 5th month as it is important unless mummies wish to opt out. This is unlike OSCAR which is optional so mummies have to opt in.

FA Scan & OSCAR test for different things. FA Scan looks for any organ abnormalities at around 5 months, OSCAR just tests for Down Syndrome between 11 to 14 weeks. I don't think price difference has anything to do with test accuracy.

For FA Scans @ TMC, they use a different U/S machine on the 4th floor which has better resolution. My FA Scan is this Wednesday so will let you know more when I see it!

seabreeze
Good to hear your little prince is doing well! I do hear that OSCAR and Triple Tests always causes mummies a lot of unnecessary worries which is why I didn't even want to do them. Most turn out to be false positives. A huge sigh of relief for you, I'm sure!

elina
Just use the VPost Oregon address for all US merchants that do not ship to Singapore.

Re cold drinks:
I also have craving for it after 1st trim when my MS was better and weather is so hot. But I don't take with ice and when at home, I mix the cold fruit juice with normal/lukewarm water so its less cold & I can drink immediately.

anyone experiencing tummy cramps?
today i felt pain for about 3 mins in my lower abdomen area and along the side..not sure whether it's called cramps or not..never experienced that kind of pain..
but no spotting..
hope it's normal..

miss83,
i hv those cramps too, lik achy pains. my gynae said that it's due to the muscles and ligaments stretching as the bb grows. it's ok as long as there's no spotting.

Seabreeze,
congratulations! I also hope my bb's NT will reduced to normal too..looking forward to see doc next week. Mine was worse ard 4.5mm on 11th week. Glad that your bb's NT is back to normal..

Re: cold drinks
I hv consulted a chinese doc from EYS when I miscarriage previously and was told to avoid cold drinks as much as possible and NO to tofu and beancurd as all these are too liang for our womb. These r also to avoided during preg as its no gd to bb. Btw, dun eat too much oranges during preg as it will cause bb to be prone to cough or asthmatic etc

miss83,
I also encounter cramps occasionally..not to worry too much. Just monitor the frequency of the cramp and consult gynae if got spotting. I was admitted to A&E on 9th week due to cramp and bleeding.

Hi Kome n other mtbs...
One more boy bb ox reporting...a PRINCE...our 1st! Kindly update in e list...thanks KOME!
Did my blood test today...hopefully no news is gd news!
Bb growing ard 10cm...16 weeks...hopefully can eat more so as to be born in Mar as EDD pushed slightly backwards...

For those commenting abt sleeping position, my gyni said itz ok to sleep tummy facing up or sideways till 6-7th mths...taz when e bb needs e blood to be well circulated.

So far...i fall under e category of having a boy.
a. changed my appetite for more meat/rice
b. minimal MS
c. crazy hormones...flare up easily
d. rough sensitive skin (face wise)

Felt a slight bubble effect @ e tummy during last sat when i did facial...could b bb doing it or jus poor mommy not eating enuf...
Aniwae, itz great to expect a new life in our lives...now i think more gan jeong to get maternity clothes to look mei mei leh...

Hope mtbs here don mind me sharing...some old folks believe itz better to stk up bb items in later part of e preg for pantang reasons...i may not believe totally but for e sake of e bb...trying to take things easy...

Hopefully my laid back attitude does not make my PRINCE hav less clothes to wear...bur...well BB boys r lower maintenance, materially ya?! (like buying clothes/games etc.)
Pls enlighten me.

On a lighter note, my hb sighed tat we cant matchmake w my galfrienz boys...seems like having boys seem e norm on my side...hmmm...mayb now gals will b more precious ah...oso good lah...give our boys some work to chase after e gals lar...

Kudos for those w bb gals...i will try to strive for a gal 2nd round...gals closer to mommy yar...

congrats tuskywollie!

and morn mtbs!

hee going for my gynae appt this morning, so excited, hope we can confirm our bb's gender later!

gynae's going do a blood test today, not sure if it's the triple test you mummies hv been talking abt, haha i'm just so happy to be seeing bb again!