(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Serene
I go for KTV for my #1 too. I think bb will be well protected in our tummy, but myself i don't think will one to go so often lor. Once in awhile should be fine.

hello mummies....

hope the weekends has been great..

irene......pls try to relaz and breathe deep breathes....eat spinach and red meat more..

wiil help to retore the blood...that's my gynea's advise

Jasmine,
that's what i am worried about regarding stamina on looking after a bb at my age... but guess just have to endure for the sake of the bb. hopefully hubby will be able to off load a bit from me.

Wishaboy,
if you have lobang for Avent Duo, i'm interested also.

mummies..

can i ask those mummies...who BF full time did you buy or use the breast pump??
coz i heard from a galfren..if BF full time dun have to buy pump..only for mom who will go back to work about baby is born...
pls advice thanks...

Pinksorbet, my nxt appointment is on 20 Oct (nx Mon)...doing my detailed scan on 30 Oct and i'm only starting my prenatal class on 15 Nov..like very late hor? Hopefully my tummy won't to too big during the exercise..else can reach my toes ah..hahahah
So far, i din receive any calls regarding the triple test..but i'll check with them during my nx appointment, coz we've paid for the tes and we shld noe the result mah. hee..did they say 2 weeks or 3 weeks for results ah? i did mine on 22 Sep...3 weeks ago..
i'm in my 20th week..detailed scan abit delayed coz no slots liao..so i'm doing it on my 22-23 week. like very late also..hee..me too relax liao..everything alos very lazy to book earlier.

Kome, yah..last nite was very warm..i was sweating the whole day..lately having very bad backache..i wonder if this will affect me in future if i decided to take the epidural.
=(

i found comparison btw Avent Duo & PIS
actually does anyone wat it mean by suction setting n cycle speed?

<table border=1><tr><td>Manufacturer</TD><TD>Avent</TD><TD>Medela </TD></TR><TR><TD>Model</TD><TD>Isis iQ Duo</TD><TD>Pump in Style Advanced </TD></TR><TR><TD>Price</TD><TD>$299.95 </TD><TD>$259.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Warranty</TD><TD>1 year on pump motor</TD><TD>1 year on pump motor </TD></TR><TR><TD>Suction Settings</TD><TD>User regulated</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cycle Speeds</TD><TD>User regulated</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Single &amp; Double Pumping</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Manual Operation</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Closed System Pumping</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>Recommended Cleaning Method</TD><TD>Handwash or Top rack dishwasher safe</TD><TD>Handwash </TD></TR><TR><TD>AC Adaptor Power</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Car Adaptor </TD><TD>Yes (available)</TD><TD>Yes (available) </TD></TR><TR><TD>AA Battery Power</TD><TD>No</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Built in Battery Holder</TD><TD>No</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>FDA Approved </TD><TD>No</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pump Weight</TD><TD>2 lb.</TD><TD>4 lbs.</td></tr></table>

SG
My back also very painful for since last 2 weeks, ther are some days it was so painful that i cannot breath properly. No matter sit or stand will felt the pain. Only way is to lay flat on bed, so that my back will not feel so much pain. Even now i siting down, i can feel the pain also.

jtho,
Can ask your hubby to help you on baby. For my case I gave FM at night as heating up BM need time and baby can't wait and I too tired to let baby latch on in the middle of the night, my hubby help mixed the milk and I feed baby. So can at least get your hubby to be involve in taking care also.

SG : No news should be good news and your result should be ok . think your gynea will share with you the details during your next visit .

sun96,
Thanks for sharing. Hummm... Avent Duo is ligheter than Medela by half of the weight. For suction think is the power range for suction and for cycle think is to set the cycle speed ba.

Asura, you can consider since is much lighter in weight for Avent Duo.

pinkdemoness,

I have got mixed reviews from my colleagues over manual pump. Most tell me that manual pump no use if got problem with milk supply. There is a colleague who prefers manual to electric cos she was quite used to the manual one already. Only borrowed the electric one to try during her 2nd bb. Guess if can pump hard and not feel tired, the manual one is more effective than the electric one.

Jasmine,
if i can wake up in the middle of the night to watch soccer every now and then, i guess i should not have problem waking up to feed my bb bah...

jasmine
i oso dun noe which 1 will be ideal for me... quite scare tat the pump might not work fine for me aft purchased...
1786484.gif
somemore they are not cheap either...

juz wanna chk w FTM, will u consider to get a manual pump first then later get an electric one if there's milk supply? but will it affect the milk supply if u use manual first then later electric one?

Kome..yah best is to lie down then no pressure liao. tummy nt very big nw aldy like backache..i wonder wat will happens druing third tri. sigh....
hopefully prenatal class will teach hubbys hw to massage for wives. hee..

Irene, me doing my detailed scan at East Shore..but its almost $100 more ex than doing at TMC..just leave it ba, lazy to change here n there. hee..u do take care leh, tink better dun stay on same spot for too long..poor blood circulation norm. will make us giddy.. =) yah take pao sheng shld be good.

Wish a boy..yah tats wat they told me also..thks..lets hope tat all mtbs here will also have positive results for detailed scan as well...then we can really "fang xin" and wait for the birth. =)

sun96,
i think i am going to go for the electric one. cos if get manual one, then not working, i will have to spend more to buy an electric one.

sun96

I oso scare if i buy a gd one, then not suitable for me. Waste $$.. So I borrowed my sis Medela Mini Single Electric pump for the time being 1st. If when give birth, can use, ok.. If not, see wat the problem, then decide which better pump to buy.
Like my sis, she bought the pump but didnt get to use coz she gave up on BF.

jtho/minnie

realli a big headache for me to decide which pump to get... n furthermore can't loan fr my gfs either they loan to their relative or they didn't BF at all...

sun96,
Some mummies do go for renting to try out the pump. You can check at parents craft at TMC, they have rental service there. If you not too sure on which to get than just rent and try out see which you think is better. From my view just don't get manual or single pump.

SG
My mum said cannot anyhow massage so i also dare not ask HB to help me. Somethimes only asked him to help massge leg abit.

Re: Detailed Scan
I asked my gynae what is detailed scans all abt and he just told me he was doing partial detailed scans for me during my last check up. The rest of the balance detailed scan will be done this month end. Don't now how come like that. Me been confused by him already.

Jasmine,

Thanks. I think Medela Freestyle is even lighter at 1lb only. Avent is more known for the manual pumps.

kome,
yeah, my sister said the same. my hubby always like to press/massage my shoulder. after i got pregnant, when he tried to do this, my sister will scold him and tell him it is dangerous. now he dare not anyhow press any part of my body, only guai guai massage my legs before i go to sleep.

kome
the detailed scan is done btw 18-22wks to ensure bb's organs n others are developing well...
i'm oso gg for my detailed scan on 15 Nov next mth @ TMC. Anyone know how much is the scan?

sun96, i was advised by my sis to get electric one instead coz manual one very tedious &amp; tiring according to her..so most prob. i'm getting the electric one..budget ard $300+ ba.
tink we'll be spending > $1K for bb's cot, breastpump, clothings, car seat (if applicable), prams/ stroller..all nt cheap wor. tink gt to buy 1 item each mth. haha..else can eat grass ah.

Jtho
Me also
1786568.gif
in front of my PC and now just only 2.30pm.

Sun
My gynae helped me check on bb's spinal, both sides of his brain and his fingers. I thought they are just normal ultra sound scans.
1786569.gif

SG
true... not cheap on bb's items... somemore a lot to buy... thinking whether buying fr malaysia will be cheaper a bit anot for bb stuffs?
since most of u commented electric pump is better, i'll consider tat...

Kome, yah i heard cannot anyhow massage but i my ache is like "jammed" kind..gt to rub else can't walk properly. i tink must be some blood cot left behind when i had accident few years back..nw its coming back to "torture" me..tink i'll take note ba..dun ask him massage too hard.

sun96, i tink someone mentioned b4 is <$150..mine at East Shore is at $222+..tats why i wonder why such a great difference. come to tink of it, its true it will be waste of $ if i buy the breast pump and nt enuff milk supply??? or i give up halfway? sigh..really headache wor.

Sun
I did heard alot comments that electric pump is much more better than manual ones. I going malaysia next month. Maybe can take alook at bb items at there to see got any cheaper one or not.

sun96, yah lor..tats why i've been delaying buying bb's stuff..feel so bad but tis mth, gt 2 weddings to attend, Nov and Dec 1 more..very siong ah..hee..really gt to cut down on unneccesary items liao.

kome, i tink they are normal u.s scan...except more detailed like to run thru' all bb's body parts &amp; organs..coz norm. u.s.scan only show u bb moving and heartbeat etc. rarely show u bb's head, eyes..etc..unless doc. quite free tat day..hahahha

SG
issit? much cheaper than oscar scan wor...
my hb oso said hope tat end yr hv more sale on going so easier for us to get bb's stuffs...

kome
u help see ard, hopefully price is cheaper...

Sg
Ohhhh......ok......maybe he help me save money. Never suggest me to go for any scans at all, but good lar. I don't need to worry so much and this means that he is confident that my bb is healthy.

Nov i will be very 'Siong' also. 2 wedding lunch/dinner &amp; 2 ROMs. Dec got another 1 ROM. Haiz.......need to find $$$ to bao ang paos liao.

Sun
Will try to go and look ard than let you know.

sun96, yah can't rmb who posted this info earlier..for TMC F.A scan is cheaper than oscar test..East Shore F.A scan is more ex then triple test. haha maybe ocsar test accuracy higher tats why charges higher. =)

Mommies
you gals like cold stuff? I keep drinking ice cold 100plus &amp; lime juices and loves ice cream. I like ice cream eg Mac Sundaes and ice lollies. I can take them everyday. My mum say better dun take too much cold stuff. But I cant help it.
me a bad mommy

Minnie
Maybe due to our temperature abit high so we will like to take cold drinks. Me too recently feel like taking some cold drinks. HAiz......i surrender to my craving and took the cold drinks, had taken quite alot recently.

wah, this thread is really fast!

breastpump: wld be good idea to try out first before buying so to make sure we dun spend so much $ getting a wrong one. tink alot depends on indiv, wat's good for one person may not be suitable for the next. read that the breastfeeding organsiation of singapore does allow trials of their breastpumps but must call to fix appt. maybe nearer the 3rd tri?

dizzy - dun take liver k, read it's no good for pregnant mummies to take. instead take more iron giving food e.g. spinachs, eetc and slowly stand up/move.

latex free mattress - wah, cindy, taht's really exp. i tot 100+ is like at most 120. hopefully can hv another sales promo like wat sun mentioned at taka. give free mattress with cot. hee still if good for bb, tink i will save, save, save to buy. can put waterproof top sheet on it or use mattress protector if worried about water-proofing, rite?

minnie24 &amp; kome - dun take too much cold stuff. went EYS asked yest on the dong cong xia cao. the lady was reminding me not to take cold stuff coz she said it's very bad for bb respiratory development. bb will be more prone to colds, coughs. not sure if true. but i'm worried and rather believe to be on the safe side. hv been drinking chilled drinks too, tot without ice is quite safe, just chilled. now will cut cut cut again

minnie24 &amp; kome, me too taking cold drinks these days..even ice kachang..me also bad mummy. crave for desserts and sweet stuff wor.

sung
my mum &amp; MIL too mentioned that too much cold stuff affect BB respiratory development and next time BB prone to be sick. But I really cant help it.

Kome/SG
yup.. keep telling myself not to, but still give in to the craving for cold drinks and ice creams.

minnie24 ...

same same almost all the liquid that goes in my mouth is cold heehee i think cold is ok its the cooling stuff that we cant take too much =p

re: bb journal

i collected my kit from Bishan Library today, just need to fill up the form only. She didnt ask me any question heehee must say that the quality q good.

mummies ...

went for my 16 week scan today and bb was in a v strange position so my gynae cant meansure his 'height' but he did a scan on the head and showed us that the brain is developing normally. the raised NT has REDUCED completely =) so now its normal ... v v happy!!

also he showed us the bb bird bird and measured the bird bird too hahahaha my gynae even disturbed my hubby and say: is the size ok? hahahaha

he measured the lenght of the leg and assured me that everything is growing according to schedule. with that he proceeded to do my blood test - which he only do when the genetic report and NT has reduced to normal.

so its a happy visit for us today =) of cos detailed scan would be the confirmation for us lar ... will be bringing my #1 to see the detailed scan so that he can say hi to the di di.

re: breastpump

if you are going back to work then it would be better to get a dual pump as it saves time and more efficient in clearing the breast.

for me even after i use the pump, i will still use my hand to clear the milk. you will be surprised, can get about 10 - 20ml sometimes heehee

Sun &amp; SG,
I last check when I make my appt for the scan, nurse told me is at $117 (TMC), if they didn't increase the price. I will be doing my details scan on 24th Oct next Friday. 2 days back I have check on my weight till now I increased 2.5 kg. Hope my baby growing well.

me too, have been taking cold drinks n nvr stopped since i know i was expecting...cant seem to drink normal temp water...iced one seemed to taste better...hehe...think better cut down if really no gd for bb respiratory development...

i heard that too much cold drinks next time bb may get "hey gu". so if possible, try to cut down. but i also cannot resist the temptation. i suddenly have cravings for ice cold root beer...

hmmn try cut a bit, minnie. lesser better? hee me ks, first bb, must follow wat experienced ppl said, for bb's good. so now mummy must bear with it and ren!

did you ladies noticed that after take cold drinks, will hv more discharge? after EYS lady said, i tink back and like after cold drinks, i hv more discharge...anyone observe the same?

congrats seabreeze!
but what's raised NT huh? hee your gynae sounds really humourous. it's most impt and happy your bb growing very well