(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

fairymoss,

Yeah... i am also thalessemia. Think my most recent blood test before pregnancy was 11.2. Oh dear, i think i got to prepare myself for blood transfusion then. The clinic would continue monitoring my blood count.

wish a boy,

i think the pregnant mummy is haemorraghing (cant spell). Shouldnt be due to low blood count. I did hear of such cases before.

wa.... wish a boy... quite drama... she must have bled a lot...! scary...

Asura - im nt sure if im going for the seminar... hubby wont go with me becos he is wrking.. nt sure if my frn wants to go.. she did ask me... but im nt too keen... hahahah see how...

SG - yeh... hahahaha... really enjoyed ourselves... really fun n shiok... but also had scary experience.. thought i didnt see or feel it, had a ghostly experience ... heard from the tour guide that the hotel we stayed in is nt very "clean" hehehe...

SG - i get hungry easily but can't seem to stomach food down sometimes...its that kind of irky feeling...

my next appt is on 8-Oct at 16weeks...like so far away...i till oso be taking the triple test then, and see the bb's gender...good luck for your triple test!

talking abt stools...i feel they stink more now too...oops...dunno its the medicine or the hormones in our body...

SG,

are u taking iron tablets? it could be the iron that is making ur stools darker. No concern unless u see black stools or blood in ur stools.

As for buffets, i dont think the face would be black.. me sure lugi one... my appetite is not as good as before preggie.

wishaboy,

yeeee...u are scaring me. i forsee myself gg thru transfusion again leh. this preg i feel more giddy than last one. i wonder if i didn't rest properly and pu during confinement, u think got connection? I remembered during my delivery, TMC called in haematologist from Mt.E to assess my situation and then decided I need transfusion. I dunno what's behind the scene as I was really giddy and almost blackout liao. only remember they kept measuring my blood pressure and monitor oxygen level and i was on oxygen mask after delivery. They tilted the bed to make the blood go to my head to ease the giddiness but i think i felt worse and pukey.

fairymoss,

the oyster in the mee sua is not cooked. I wouldnt advise eating it. But are they still serving oysters? There was a period they stop putting the oysters in the mee sua.

Haha.....I had already plan my holiday and i looking for that day.

End Oct go 3D weekend cruise and end Nov go Malaysia attend my cousin's wedding. Need to go and relax myself.

pinksorbet, going nx Mon for the triple test..hopefully everything will be fine.

wah Asura79, lucky u..went to Taiwan in Jul...at least u had the food there b4 u noe u gt bb..hw envy..Spore's food limited wor...Taiwan's like full of varieties.. =)

asura79, i dunno leh. long time didn't buy liao. the last time I went they stopped serving oyster cuz of some issues regarding the source right? after which I found it not worth to still pay the same without the oyster but shredded chicken instead.

Hey all, heard that the Yili milk products was taken off the shelves from supermarkets. related to the SanLu case in China.

fairymoss : not to scare u ... maybe u want to tell your gynea your giddyness .. yes , old folk believed that if during confinement we did not pu well , we will be weak in health ..

Asura,
how did you find out you are thalessemia?
Mine last blood test show my Hb is 11.1, the normal is 11.5 so 11.1 for a preg woman is considered low. So gynae also sending blood for further test...he was worried i am have thalessemia that was undetected...
my last preg, i maintained a very healthy 12-13 range throughout...

i also read somewhere stingray cannot eat becos high mercury but i stil sneakily eat la... =X but from those malay stall which sell it with asam pedas... *drooLs* only once la... hahahahaha

fairymoss - the oyster mee sua sold here pales in comparison to those in taiwan but no choice la... talk abt oysters... remind me abt the oyster omelettes in HK ... the oysters big n plenty!!! covers the whole egg... not like here in SG... so much egg n starch/flour nia... =\

pink - u which week liao? dont worry once ur appetite is here... it wil be fierceee! *lol*

winter - hmmm actually of the 3, i wld choose either bintan or genting ... but go bintan cant do spa also cnt play watersports... then go genting must tahan the trip up & back... =\ ur call babe... hehehehe

fairymoss,
its not just old folk tale bah...cos my gynae also told me confinment mth is the time to rest well and bu properly else health will suffer...(at least thats what he told me when i last see him with the poor Hb blood test results). So this time round, i must really bu well.....

wish a boy,
he told me to eat more meat for now first till the further tests come back with results then he will see wat to do with me...haha..I feel safe with him cos he is a very KS fatherly gynae...so wait for 1 more week lo.

SG - yr triple test will be fine ya...i hope mine's ok too, but still some time away...

i tink the Sanlu milk case is so terrible...poor babies who died from that...i realli wouldn't give my bb any of china's milk products...and its so worrisome with the current situation over there...

re: giddyness
i face that too, i tink i got low blood pressure..

missycandy - i'm currently 12weeks 5 days today...

Asura79, i'm nt taking any iron pills wor..arggghh..getting worried..tink i'll ask my gynae nx week. i tot its norm. leh...tats why keep quiet but i realised stools and pee gt weird smell ever since conceived. and i tot 2nd tri won't go toilet so often but me still visit toilets few times at nite. must be weak bladder
=(

Wishaboy, cannot eat stingray? oh no, i just had tat for my dinner 2 days ago..i tot its like fish mah...

pinksorbet, thks. Will update u gers when back from nx appointment. 16weeks away..yah i also realised the nx appointment is like so far..tink we miss our bb..wanna to see them so much. I wonder those MTBs who have relatives or hb as gynae will see their bb everyday ornot. haha

missycandy, i also sneakily ate stingray ah? hahah...i bought and ate then i called my mum if i can eat tat..she told me better avoid. gua gua gua..very hard to resist all the nice food wor. Tink we mustn't watch too much food channels liao. hahahhaha

ivy,

i found out about thalessemia when i was in JC and wanted to donate blood. The assistant there told me that i should get my blood check cos very rare for a girl in her teens to have consecutively low blood over 2 yrs (tried to donate first time, blood float, 2nd yr tried again and blood float again). Esp when i was not underweight and eating quite well.. so my grandpa arranged for me to see his friend's daughter who is a blood specialist. Then found out that i was thalessemia.

SG - yes i miss my bb...like the last time i went for my scan...i was worried how come my bb is not moving when i see other mummies posting that they can see their bb move...so during the scan i said..."how come bb is not moving...?" and i was quite sad...

thereafter the bb start to move leh! so cute! bb start to kick too...as it bounce right and left across its amniotic sac...like a swing...i tink bb heard mummy's comment...hehe

SG,

do u take soya bean milk? I find my pee more smelly now after i started drinking soya bean milk faithfully.

wishaboy, ok noted. thks for your advice. =)

lately bad weather wor, me down with sore throat and running nose...hopefully will recover soon. tink MTBs got to drink more water...and fruit juices.

missycandy,

Guess we got to arrange another day next week bah... or u want to meet me at orchard next sat? Seminar is at mandarin hotel, u can get it from me before or after the seminar.

asura,
thanks for sharing. Then i think i shld be okie, like what gynae said, last round was okie, this round shld be too weak.
Lets see results next week.

stingray.. yummy.. i have been been eating since i preggy.. now i thinking if I should eat tonight.. once should be okay hor??

asura
i do take soya milk occassionally but didn't notice tat lei... but soya bean milk is ok to take daily hor...

SG
take care of yrself... drink more water!!!

asura, u r not alone. i think my urine smells these days.. and my panty liner, yeee... i even tell hb not to hug me when i reach home, cos i think i stink!!

vernice80, triple test is to find out the % on whether bb has down syndrome. Its normally done ard 15-18 weeks..i tink the more advance ones is the Oscar test ba..

Asura79, i do take soya milk but nt everyday wor..dunnoe why hor, our pee getting smelly..i tot it was all becoz of the supplements we have everyday.

I tink the smell from the urine does not come from drinking soya milk daily, but rather its the hormones or the medication that we have been taking...thats just my guess tho...

lenny - the seminar is the one organised by Mediacorp at Meritus Mandarin Hotel....the registration cost is $10 per person...

oh.. the shichida method thingy ah.. i don;t k now if i shoudl register cos hubby on standby to fly off to Hong Kong anytime after 26th Sep liao.

MTBs, wat can we do abt the pimples popping on backs? Anyone having rashes on tummy? I tink my skin is getting bad to worse liao. So sad..

talking about ribena, i wonder whether taking ribena daily will cause phlegm in bb? cos i drink that almost daily to curb my MS too...so now i oso switch to apple juice sometimes....

another drink i'm thinking of its plum juice...can help to ease constipation...

Pinksorbet, me also din sign up for the seminar wor..still got vacancies? do i go to mediacorp website to register?

SG,

I thought i am the only one. I am getting pimples on my face and my backs. I got rashes and red spots with fluid on my belly after i applied Palmer's cocoa butter stretch mark cream. i am allergic to nuts but i didn;t know that my skin also cannot take. my colleague gave me her cream given by her skin doctor. i tested it on my hand and less than a min i started scratching and had to wash my hands. so had no choice but to buy the organic oil for bellies, bottoms and breasts that i bought from Mom essentials at Suntec. cos me 82 bucks for 120ml bottle

pinksorbet, plum juice sounds appetizing..hee..do u mean those syrup kind? or we buy sour plum and make our own drink?

SG - i tink Mediacorp still advertise the seminar on TV...i myself is not attending cos i dunno whether i can tahan being outside for half a day...cos v tiring...mayb those who are gg can help SG on the registration part? cos i went to surf on Mediacorp website but i can't find the link...

as for plum juice...its those syrup type...oh no not sour plum....its those purple plum juice...my mum bought for me but i haven't started on it yet...

Lenny, sun96 / Irene...poor us... =( we can't apply medication rite? sigh...my back esp. getting worse..from small pimples to acne. wonder is it becoz lately weather getting warm..

lenny, i also got rashes on my tummy after applying stretchmark cream..i stopped occasionally to apply cooling power then the rashes will stop and i apply the cream again. I also realised hairs growing on my tummy area..so hairy and ugly. =(