(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

sun96,

me already been popping iron pills but blood count still low... in my normal diet, i already take a lot of red meat, seems like my problem isnt just iron...

Spinach is quite high in urea, dont eat too much too..

sportyger
thks, i'll see how my condition goes, hope MS faster disappear n appetite will return soon...

pinksorbet,

me too, i got a big tin of similac mum and some sample of mamil mum. Now still drinking the mamil, whenever i drink, i feel more nausea for the rest of the day. Feel like throwing it away, but very waste money.. so i only drink on days when i dont drink soy milk. I drink a cup of soy milk every day since i am pregnant.

Sun96,

Blood urea is the major " end product" of protein metabolism and is excreted from the body by the our kidneys. Levels slightly above normal are seen in persons on a high protein diet or after prolong fasting. high levels are seen in kidney disease.

i need to read more on the spinach cos i only know that uric acid is from animal internal organs, fish roe soya bean products and alcohol. not sure that we can get this protein from vege.

Sun96,

high uric acid levels will lead to gout, urinary stones and kidney disease. Uric acid is formed from the metabolism of nucleic acid. blood levels depend on the balance between dietary intake and synthesis by cells and excretion by the kidney

Boy's name hard to put grass.
Choose the bb name for boy haven't have any grass in any characters. Now have to choose again. Lucky haven't choose any for gal's name yet. Don't need to redo.

If doctor say is boy/girl, will it suddenly change the sex?

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1202280.html?1221545642

Anyone going to circumcised their bb boy too? Wonder where to do.

Any mommies done antenatal screening too? Didn't know it is compulsory. Cost $100 to do it.

Just threw up my breakfast...gross...i tot i can control not throwing this time round but i failed...cos probably i may have threw up the medicine i took for this morning too...sigh...it realli is sad everytime i threw up cos the medication may not have reach the bb...

Sun96 - i burp everytime, loud one somemore cos of the gas in my tummy...its realli uncomfortable...when i go back to the office i mus make sure i can control my burp or else its realli embarassing...

Asura - soya milk tastes better...i oso dunno wat to do with that tin of powdered milk except to try finishing it...maybe previously i should have gotten the chocolate-flavoured one...

wa... i see food... then i see blood... liver... and vomitting =\

*sayang all mummies who are stil vomitting*

this am woke up and also vomitted a bit of gastric juice... faster bathe & went to buy food... had curry chicken beehoon for my Brunch... Super yummie leh!!! think i wil eat it often... keekekekeke hmmm cannot eat organs??? was planning to go eat with hubby tonight at the coffee shop nearby... nearly opened pig organ soup stall.... hmmmm... but its okie i dont eat liver... but i like the fatty meat & meatballs... =) kekeke

i duno abt chinese names... i didnt study chinese... =P hubby's chinese cannot make it... i will ask shifu to select for us bah... =)

i have powdered milk - frisomum got it at the motherhood fair... i only drank a bit... now im drinking vitasoy instead... tastes better... hehehe

yeh im pretty surprised baby didnt flip or anything... jus lie there and wave and move feet and hands... maybe becos still small??? only 12weeks.. some of you do it later right? so maybe bit bigger liao... or maybe baby knws mummy this week quite slack... so also slack with mummy... kekekekekekekeke!!!

i dread going back to work next week =( i hope i tio toto tonight!! HUAT AH!!!! *LOL*

Asura..

i also have low blood count...but pls dun eat too much liver..although its high in iron..but not when preggie...eat more brocoli and red meat..will help...

pinksorbet..

maybe you can add a sppon of the powder ilk into the soya milk when you drink it??
might help to cover the taste and csn get some nutrinets into the systems???
i am doing that...bought vitasoy and add a spoon full....coz i detest drinking the powder...hehehe

re: liver

If you intend to BF dun take liver cos it will reduce the milk supply - according to my fren. So when i wanted to stop BF, i took liver and it really did reduce the supply. dunno why though ....

re: milk

my gynae is prob the only gynae who tells you that if you have MS ... dun take milk cos milk is more difficult to digest and when it 'ferments' in our stomach, it makes us v bloated and alot of discomfort.

seabreeze
my gynae oso told me tat... he said not to take if MS realli bad... but is gd if u can drink =)
i oso reduce the intake, i only take during wkend coz not working ma...

For bb's name, grass should it be in traditional chinese writing or simply chinese writing?

Very confusing. Some chinese words have grass in traditional chinese but when simplified no "grass".

Dear mummies
i got my clothes i ordered from ON / gap. there are supposed to be two packages but we only received one. Still trying to solve the matter.. sigh.. not sure it is Gap or vpost fault..

Just came back from my lunch. Had a Macdonald nuggets meal, but it does not really fill my stomach leh. Last time after eating it, i will feel quite full but now still abit hungry. Luckily got went and brought a bread back to office.

Re: Milk
I tried to take annumama chocholate flavour milk in my first trimester.. beginnning still okay, but on the 3rd wk, i started puking and felt uneasy after drinking. so in the end, i gave away the whole tin of milk to my preggy colleague.

MS
Hmm.. seems like MS going away. I used to puke everyday before lunch, but yesterday i was fine. Jus now, i do felt a bit naseous, went to toilet but nothing came out. hope this is a gd sign for me.. i don't like that puky feeling.

Wintertime
Glad to hear that your MS is fainting away.

Hope as times goes by, no more MS for all the mummies here very soon.

kome haha is it the 4.50 meal? I want it too!! maybe tonight..

these days only feel like eating fastfood, mac, kfc, long john, mos, yoshinoya... aiyo... but i seriously no appetite for typical food... But just had yummy prawn noodles for lunch.

Later go buy some donuts eattttt.. hehe. Lenny, i'm sick of jurong FOOD! ahaha.

Lenny
Under the invoice from gap, there are 7 pieces which indicated "items shipped separately"... Gap did not inform us on this and i think vpost send them separately to us too and i think we have to incurred two base charges... we are trying to settle the matter... Wonder why gap send separately..

guest,
when you make the order, Gap will write in its invoice that items might be ship separately, hence have to take note. Its usually such trial experience and you will get the hang out of it. Me is already a expert spreeist cos have been buying my 1st born clothes from all these US online stores.
Vpost wun take note for you if its coming in more than 1 parcel. If you send them 1 invoice they will just input as 1 parcel. You will have to tell them there are 2 or 3 parts of shipment for the same invoice then they will take note.

Cindy,

i am sick of all food now. i know i am hungry and my stomach is growling. i have food stocked up but when i see the food.. i just want to puke..

kome, i m certainly keeping fingers cross..

Cindy, me too. I had zinger burger for dinner last night.. suddenly craved for it.. so full after finishing up everything! but after that, I felt soo guilty...

polo ralph website is also having sales and the baby items are so cute and SO MUCH CHEAPER than SG boutiques....if anyone wants, i have an extra 30% off coupon to give...happy shopping!

I do know that oily food not too food, but most of the time will succumb to my craving. When i go to hawker, most of the time i don't have the appetite to eat it.

sun96,

gynae clinic call me again. am suppose to take iron supplements twice a day from now on. Say 9.7 is really too low for such early stage, if dont take may end up requiring blood transfusion during birth...

Daphne,

I eat a lot of red meat and love brocoli... plus my iron supplement... but dont seem to help.. think the blood count is a bit worrying for first trimester.. and of course the possibility of blood transfusion is worrying me as well..

daphne - thanks for the tip...i'm thinking mayb i should add a spoonful of milo to my milk when i drink...mayb i should have bought annum since some mums here recommend...that time i was looking at the shelves and dunno which to get, and end up getting enfamama...

jus now missycandy spoke of curry chicken makes me wanna eat leh...aiyo...hehe...oh dear dunno where to get curry chicken near my place...or mayb my craving will go away later.

wintertime - finally yr ms subsided, happy for u
mine still on and off lo...i get many frequent giddiness and headache too..hope i have some sort of solution for it cos it makes me realli nauseous...

Guest 123,

before you pay the shipping charges from VPOST, u have to ensure all the items that u ordered have arrived. otherwise u will incur base charges.

My first order with them, i ordered from 4 diff merchants at one go. victoria secret, Old navy, motherhood and another company selling sports stuff, i only paid for one base charge

Jasmine, it took 3-4weeks to arrive. I order mine on 26Aug, now processing at speedpost liao, should be arriving in a few days time.

asura - heard that when preggies eat red meat during pregnancy bb will have rosy cheeks when he/she is born...v cute one...

i am advised to eat red meat like beef....so that my bb will have rosy cheeks...

Sun,
spinach in chinese is "puo cai", ppl also call it phuay Leng in hokkien.

Fairymoss,
Thanks for telling me, but I still don't have time to order anything yet, this few days Im like mad women, so many jobs coming in, and I was trying so hard to follow our thread still just to relax myself. Will try to browse through Old Navy tonight.

Jasmine,

Phuay leng is a different type of vege, diff from spinach. my mum is away on holiday now. i can only ask her when she gets back this sunday.

my gynae too, advised me to eat more red meat like beef, lamb, pork etc.. she say will prescribe iron tablet for me on my next visit.

I am new here and currently 13 weeks preg.

I just received the result of my OSCAR test and it doesn't looks good. Might have to go for invasive test later on.

Anyone have any experience to relate??

Kome, Can update for me too?
NICK : vernice80
YOB : 1980
EDD : 23/3/2009
RESIDENCE : AMK
#BABY : 1
GYNAE : Dr Michelle Lee
CLINIC NAME (DELIVERY HOSPITAL) : Thomson Women's Clinic

wah...so fast thinking abt bb names liao:p

I had MacDonalds for lunch! Their spicy nuggets are back & i love it
12-1pm set meal only $4.50!

sun96,
i don't take pregnancy milk powder cos i can't take the smell so i take soya milk/milo/HL instead. Plus the calcium tablets shld be good enuff for bb

Frequent intake of red meat like beef will make bb bigger too. My colleague who is 38wks pregnant, baby only 1.6kg too small! Gynae ask her eat durian to increase bb weight. Then u know what happened? She end up nose bleed! & now on hospitalization leave, MC at home bed rest! Hopefully bb will reach at least 2kg by 40wks. I think the gynae no gd anyhow give advise cos towards last trimester, we r not supposed to "pu", gotta drink coconut to cool our body down to prep for labour.