(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

hello mummies...

my MIL found out that if i were to deliver at Mt A.. there would be crosses everywhere and she not that happy.... i am muslim.... so my hubby and i contemplating other hospitals... considering TMC...

anybody care to show how much it cost at TMC? cant find the info at the website... anybody give birth there before.. how is it? TMC got many branches is it? Thx

Lenny
So envy you, being offered to be a sahm. ya as cin mentioned, stay on and take the 16 weeks leave which you are entitled to.

cin
but she still have to complete her work..
Last time i worked in audit line, if you are given 5 working days to finish and if we are on MC for eg 2 days no one cares as we still have to complete the job and submit on fri. So i can understd how she feels. There are some lines with or without MC does not matter as work still has to be delivered.

lenny..

dun be too upset... if u sad.. ur bb would be affected...i resigned from my job 1st aug... all my years i have been working.. every school holiday then i will work or become an intern... for the first time when i resigned i was so lost... my hubby just wants me to relax at home.. i even wanted to find ground job but then i realised it is quite difficult to go for ur appts or some prenatal classed... so i decided against it... it took me awhile to adjust.. initially i was so sad.. i felt so bored.. but i am enjoying my time now.. i will work after i give birth... maybe after baby one year old cos i dun want to miss my baby's first step.. etc... i have lots of time now to do what i want... and completely stress free...

guess now that we are feeling so uncomfy ... the last thing that we need is someone to irritate us be it work or at home =p

CF Chang ...

the feeling of blacking out is so scary ... it happened to me when I was q-ing up to buy rice. after i order the food, suddenly i was on the floor. luckily ppl pull me up and i quickly order a drink and eat my rice. a aunty even come to me and tell me that i must eat ... cannot go on diet *faint*

jus feel low... last night took my temp... was 38.2 ... nw starting to feel warm and stuffy nose... think im falling sick again... =(

had rice for lunch but feel super nauseous... also tired & moody... i feel hungry again...

jus wondering, anyone has a weird taste in their mouth? i keep having this weird taste which alters taste of the food so just kills my appetite... =( and i feel hungry most of the time... haiii... problematic...

Cin, nana & Guest123,
My boss is a caucasian and his wife is due to give birth end october 2008.

he mentioned to me that his wife will go for late appointments at 5 or 6pm so he can go with her. How can he compare me with his wife? His wife quit her job since she got preggy, and she is given a big car to drive around. think the gynae he go also high end who allow evening or late night appointments. how can i afford?

We suffering MS but still got to travel the shitty train packed like sardines to work in the morning and work the whole day, his wife can rest at home with house helper lor... dun know why he becomes so selfish lately.

missycandy
I will feel hungry very fast also. Haiz.....head very pain now. Yesterday night did not sleep well.

Lenny,

U wandered off out of office to take a break walking around your office premise? You must be feeling rather down... Nowadays realised that we get very emotional easily, it is the Hormones working. I cry so easily watching dramas/or even talk shows when they talked about sad things, and it is so uncontrollable. So not to worry, how you are feeling is Normal.

Your situation might not be so bad as to need to quit your job yet. So just relax and remind yourself to think positively and stay happy...

Glad that your HB will be supportive should you want to be SAHM.
I have no regrets quitting my job, i feel more relaxed now, just thinking of my last day on 30th Aug...and can't wait to Stay At Home. work can wait, but enjoying our pregnancy, and being there for our BB on his/her first moves is something that we don't want to lose out on. Jobs are everywhere...

misscandy

I have the weird taste in my mouth too. super nauseous these few days. vomit a no. of times a day esp. my dinner. hungry but too nauseous to eat.

keronjeris,

my hubby had to draw blood to test for thalsemmia (not sure of spelling). It's a blood disorder which when either parents have can lead to abnormalities in baby, so usually both mum and dad get that checked.

Lenny
dont be upset. Caucasians dont think the same way as us.

I feel hungry fast too and tired even when i have 8-10 hours of zzz...
I think i get too emotional at times too...
We cant afford me to be a sahm... i dont wish to miss my baby "first" too.. but no choice...
Cant wait for 6pm to leave work..

guest123, i agree with u. same as me, with MC worse cuz u worried at home that work nobody help to cover u and management dun care and deadline still the same. when i came back from 3mths maternity leave last time, i work late daily till 10pm and on weekends too. There are few occasions that I worked till 3, 4am then drove home. Once I saw a dark figure standing in middle of PIE jurong stretch towards Changi direction in the misty fog. I quickly stepped onto the brake and slowed down and the person ran away to the other side of the road. till today i can remember that incident. Although scary but no choice, still got to work late, but luckily I got a temp staff to help me and I made her stayed back with me and just the 2 of us in whole office.

CF, u better be careful, dun go out alone, get someone to accompany u. if u feel faint, quickly sit or lean against something. best is sit down and bend your body with head down. if sit on floor, bury your head in between your arched legs. You should be temporarily be relieved of the giddy spell then quickly asked for help around.

Re: maid

Looks like it's quite a common practice to safekeep the salary for the maid. I would let her know that I would be keeping her salary in the bank. If she objects then I see how lor. My agent just called to inform that the application has been approved by MOM and maid arriving in Sg next Wed.

Wintertime, I have been struggling with this thot of employing a maid for almost a yr already. My mum often complains that she felt so tired looking after my son although he goes to school in the morn and afternoon he sleeps for 3hrs. So finally after calculating the sums, decided to get one partly also #2 would also be taken care by my mum and she sure cannot handle both infant and his/her notti brother together. Primary task of maid is to help out house chores. Taking care of children still my mum's main role. Gonna be an extra cost, but we have been getting a part-time maid for years and with a couple of hundreds more, u get help 7days/week so we take the plunge lor. With elder's sch fee likely to increase and maid expense, bb bonus also not enuff.

minnie,
I same like you, last night after dinner went to puke out part of what I have eat, and the after taste in my month stay there even I use mouth wash. sigh...

*sayang all mummies*

i also didnt sleep well last night.. kept tossing and turning in bed... had to push myself out of the bed this morning... ahahaha...

i try not to vomit but sometimes really cant help...

lenny
i know what u mean by sardine trains. i used to work at raffles place n i board at newton. never able to get a seat. worse is i am stuck near the door. so scared people will bumped onto me when they alight the train. haiz... your boss is really very tactless. just perserve n vent your frustration here.

looks like i am not the only one with 2nd kid. tough right? i am having a major problem now. i am still fully breastfeeding my boy. he refused to be weaned! its so tiring n i feel so naseous when i nurse him. but he refused to take fm n bottle. he is also co sleeping with us. i really dun know what to do when i deliver in the hospital.

guest123
so lucky!! can sleep 8 to 10 hrs!! wow!!

lenny, cheer up. Many of us are in your shoes. You are not alone. Not many good bosses around. My ex-boss, married many yrs but no children, also dun understand why I always alternate with my other colleague to take urgent leave when our kid is ill and would throw nasty remarks on us. Now that he is gone, we report directly to his boss, a Caucasian who is too high level to care the nitty gritty details of who take MC and leave unless his boss press him for results. My hubby always tell me to just do my best. If this is the best I can do and still can't meet his expectations, then bobian if he wants to give me bad rating for appraisal. Worse come to worse, quit if really cannot tahan and find a job again. Lenny, u just try your best. Don't take his words to heart.

Cin,Fairymoss, Guest and gingal,

I board at lakeside MRT station and stand all the way to Tanjong pagar. The worst is at Jurong east when the pack of ppl just comes pushing in.
i quite stressed about being knocked by them.

i feel like blacking out and my lungs feel like bursting out so i had to go ut for fresh air.. That's why i went off..

cin, wah..u still bf your boy. heehee, he co-sleep with you both, still can have #2 ah? ok, dun make fun of u liao. wat abt expressing bm into bottle and feed him, since he is familiar with the taste of bm. once he is ok with it, then u put fm inside? hey, now u preg, better try to wean him off otherwise draining on your body.

Re: MRT
I find that Singaporeans not very gracious. Even if you heavily pregnant and standing in front of the seat reserved for needy, the people still dun zi dong. Wonder why trains are getting more packed these days? Is our population increasing? I thot SMRT increased the frequency of trains already?

That kind of environment, having leave or maternity leave does not make a different. they give me hundred days leave but still give me 5 working weeks job also makes no difference. sigh. this is singapore leh.

Cin
Usually i try to zzz at 10 and latest by 12 and wake up latest at 8am and report work at 9am.

I have not told my boss about my preg. I guess the first thing she will say is, "wah then u will be on 4 months maternity leave then who does your work..." I doubt she will say congratulation first... As Fairymoss said, try our best lor..

Lenny, did u receive 2 packages, one from motherhood and one from ON since it's 2 merchants? Also what happen to the 2 dresses from motherhood that u can't fit? Did u follow the size chart and make your selection? According to size chart, I'm size S, but i wonder will I expand later on or not. Then I took out my Thyme maternity pants from 1st pregnancy, the label is XS. I presume those ang mo brands if S should be ok for me. I dunno leh. i'm afraid order liao then can't fit will go to waste.

when i take train, i will try to give up seat to the needys... unless that day really bobian i have alot of stuff to carry...it makes my day and that person day... to give them a seat when they are most needed.

MTBs,

there was once i was quite fed up.the guy pushed me just to get the sear reserved for the needy. then once he sat down, he pretended to sleep. i got to know cos every tiem his phone sms alert, he will open his eyes slightly to peep.

I was really pissed so before i got down the train. I tapped his knee and said quite loudly,"
eh.. no need to pretend to sleep, pregnant woman dropping off this station already.

all the ppl around him stared at him. he was quite pissed but i hack care.

It's been 1 year + since I last taken MRT during Peak Hours. Also due to because i changed job and my current workplace for 1year + is near my home, so i don't have to take MRT.

I hate MRTs...

Fairymoss,
for my orders, i received 3 packages, 2 from motherhood cos seperate shipment (one piece no stock) and i package from motherhood.

for the pieces that i can't fit. i still dont know if i will keep cos my measurements are in between M & L. i was thinking if i should keep them in case i really put on a lot of weight during my last trimester.

MRTs abit smelly when pregnant.

Go out non peak hours also got smells from people standing beside.

so it's more of it being too big then too small for u lah. ok, like that u can keep first. I thot the cutting too small even now then definitely can't wear in later stage also. like that i more fan xin. i shall go ahead to order after I have cracked my head over how to keep my order under 400 so as not to incur GST. my sil and i combined orders so a bit difficult to make it. what is that 2% charge in the GST computation in Vpost website u know?

Don't know how to choose. Well... Know the gender also the gender not very confirm...

I am thinking of choosing 3 for each gender.

oppsgal, I have been thinking of english name for my bb eventhough I donno the gender yet. Think of both gender names first. hehe... But my hb isn't that eager to do it coz he feels that it's still early when we don't even know BB gender. As for Chinese name, my hb family tradition is to give the name only after BB is born.

Oppsgal,

think too early now... would rather wait until confirmation of bb gender... but we would only be choosing the english name.. As for the chinese name, i like to leave it to You long zi... easier... then dont need to worry whether name is not nice to hear or not good for baby.. got to pay... but save us lots of time.

Heard some use computer to choose the name. Or the list that given out to customers are all same. Imagine in the same classroom got 3 same names... when teacher call out, all 3 raise their hands. haha

Wow Lenny,

you are super Daring!!! Like "Dai Kar Jie"
I was like that in my younger days, now don't know why abit Chicken-heart and lazy to speak my mind.

Talking about Names for BB:

My Hubby insists wants our Baby's Name to Start with "J", cos both ours starts with "J". But the thing is, all around us, already mostly "J"s, we have run out of Nice Names that starts with "J"...

I prefer something special though, cos "J" too common amongst our family and friends. *Sianzzz*

Fairymoss..

I did measure myself before i order.. for Old navy, i ordered M, and the sizes fit me perfectly but for motherhood, M is a bit too snug for me but if i order L its like a bit big. example, my hips are like 41.5 inch. if i take M, its 0.5 inch tight but if i take L it will be 1.5 inches too big.. cos L is for 42 - 43.

that's where my problem is.. i opt for the biger one cos if really cannot, i can go to seamstres to alter. but if too small, got no cloth to expand.

fairymoss
number 2 not planned. i thought since i am still bfing, wont strike.but since God decide to give me one, i will take it. but he doesnt like bottle. also i dun like to pump. it really makes me feel like a COW....... moo...mooo.. the pumping sound is just a turned off!!

stand up for your rite. i am very vocal. if people dun gv me a seat n i felt awful that day, i will go to the corner 2 seats which r reserved for preggies, elderly n hadicapped. so far in the past when u say nicely, people will give up their seats. try that.

I also waiting to confirm the gender first before looking for a english name. I looking for names that start with 'A' wanna be the same as my son 1st letter. As for chinese name, think i will still leave it to master to calculate ba zhi all that to find a suitable one.