(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Hey girls, I'm feeling faint and tired. Earlier I almost broke out in cold sweat.

Update on my OSCAR test (known as First Trimester Scan) at KKH.

At 12 weeks 0 days, baby's CRL is 6.1cm. Baby was good and cooperative throughout the scan. Doc did several measurements and showed where the different body parts were. Then towards the end I asked about baby's gender and doc pointed to something sticking out in between baby's legs and said that it could be a boy but added a quick disclaimer - It's still the early stages and too early to say. So according to the scan, I'm low risk.

Also went for the blood test - three tubes! Will know the results in a day or two.

Lenny,

People are really free la. Even at my work place, I know who I can trust and who I can't. Once I told the big-mouth, all the staff members knew. But forget it, they had to come to know of it sooner or later.

Promeganate,

Good to read that ur bb is doing fine..
My colleagues say cannot confirm boy until see the balls, cos anything that's sticking out may be the female genital organs. Woo... that's a lot of blood, i think they got to draw more from me. My gynae wanna do a separate blood test on my blood count and requested that the clinic draw another tube of blood for her. Heh... i think might faint that day! Cos i never draw blood already kena fainting spells!

Asura,

That's why we are not sure too, so better not spread that it's a boy yet.

The three tubes were for various reasons, thalessimia and blood count included. Husband had is blood drawn too for thalessimia test.

Don't worry la, one tube or four, it will just hurt a little once. Imagine being poked four times!! Yuccckkss

Promeganate,

Me no worries, i am a bit "bian tai", i like to see blood drawn out from myself. It's the quantity that i am worried abt cos i am already having fainting spells since i am pregnant. Am Thalessmic and already checked that my husband is not, so maybe they dont need to draw so much blood from me?

Morning

Promeganate
great to hear that your bb is fine. I also scare of drawing blood but no choice. Last time never watch now also don't want to see how he draw my blood. Scary

good morning ladies,

Pomegranate,
I am also freak our at the sight of needles. not so much of blood but i feel faint if i see needles. can;t inmagine what will happen to me if i asked for epidural during labour.

Hopefully, i don't faint.

Hi Asura,

Ig you get to watch the National Geographic "in the Womb" documentary, you will understand why anything that's sticking out may be the female genital organs.

Few frens receommended so I signed up for Cordlife yday, there is a National Day Promo now discount 43% for 2nd person so i partnered w my friend. (until 31Aug). Pomegranate, good to hear your bb doing well, i'm trying not to think about the blood test...*shiver*

Hi morning mummies

I am suffering from cramp, i think...not sure is it because i "ren" niao too long... mrng woke up i feel pins and needles esp my right.. The pain got worse when i lifted up my right leg...When i pressed down on the centre and right side of the abdoment i feel pain but not on the left...
I exprience this even bef i am preg. But now i am not sure will the bb be affected.. a bit worried...

Good morning mummies,
Lenny never mind than anyway I just asking only, if you not ordering is ok lah. I will just afe some $$. Hehe..

Draw blood:
I also scare but already so use to it. As I got Thyriod now every month have to go for blood test, poked and poked my skin become ma mu le.

Thanks girls. Now just waiting for blood test results and then there will be a detailed scan in Oct. That scan will include measurements of the body parts and also zoom in to other defects such as cleft lip. All this is so worriesome.

Yesterday I was a little brave and looked at the needle after it went in.

Lenny, that's why I don't know how I'm going to manage the epidural needle. It looks huge in the pictures.

Is it due to muscle cramp? Most of the time my left tummy also will feel cramp, had check with my gynae and he said its ok one.

Jasmine,

You've thyroid problems? me too! I've got hypothyrodism. On 37.5mcg of thyroxine, before preggie I was taking 25mcg. I was diagnosed about 4yrs ago. In the last test, my TSH was 1.43 so under control right now. How are you doing?

Kome
Thanks.I dont know what is the cramp but it is making me weak and cant stand straight..

Jasmine, Promeganate
Please take care.

Hi Kome
I din leh. cos i had this prob even bef preg. Just that my right abdomen and downward is especially more painful that the centre. stomach bloated too.. maybe gastric flu etc... i am not sure too... wait till lunch tiMe and see HOw.. Thanks for your advice n concern.

morning ladies..

my gynae jus called me. received my oscar test.. everything's normal.. heaved a sigh of relief manz..

Kome, yaya.. at least now i feel better. both me n hb were still worrying last wkend..

wah,i have not watched that video clip yet.. but u all say until so scary.. now i m having second thoughts already.. sometimes i think better don't "see" so much... will scare oneself

Thanks Guest,
My thyroid condition is under control for now.

Lenny,
I'll watch the video when I get home...scary...

Yesterday my husband was so cute during the blood test. He has a fear for blood so he tried to look at the tube as his blood was drawn out and he said he felt a little strange looking at the blood in the tube and might not cope with watching the delivery process! I told him to stand next to my head..no need to go and see what's happening down there..hahaha I don't want a fainting husband in the delivery suite!

lenny,

Dun worry, u won't be able to see the thick needle since u would be lying down and facing away from the anaesthetist. There was 1 anaesthetist in TMC, dunno which one, scolded my gal friend cuz she was v plump and he couldn't locate the exact space to poke and she was poked twice. Before leaving, he reminded her that she better lose weight after pregnancy before he sees her again for her 2nd one. When she had her 2nd 1 yr later, she asked for another anaesthetist cuz she's so pissed with the 1st. It was not a pleasant experience for her. But during my time, the epidural was administered quite quickly without any pain. I was very relieved after given the epi cuz the pain was just sooooo unbearable. After epi I could even catch a nap to conserve energy for the final lap. heehee. Lenny, maybe u can try to see if you can tahan the pain first, for me i took the laughing gas but felt giddy and nauseaus after taking a few puff so i didn't continue. If the cervix is already dilating quickly then I see no pt in taking epi cuz the delivery is fast. If like me after many hrs still refuse to open even after breaking the water bag which means the contractions pain is getting even more painful, still refuse to open and doc says need >10hrs, i think I can't tolerate so i opt for epi in the end.

Pomeganate, Wintertime,

Gd to hear that your scan is fine. One thing off your mind now. Looks like so far those detected gender are all boys? Sun, can we have a column for gender?

Lenny, the clothes u received come in 2 packages? one from ON and one from Motherhood right? The ON site said my order may come in different packages. and also didn't specify tax during the check out.

missycandy,

oh...u sounded miserable. Hang on to it..maybe once in 2nd trim u would feel better? can ask boss to give u less running around to do? or can give those areas nearer to your workplace to u instead of other colleagues to minimise so much travelling? poor thing, sayang sayang.

fariymoss ...

just to comment on your question abt the maid's salary, my suggestion is to credit into her account and if she need cash to buy some stuff, deduct from that account.

Cos in the event that money is lost at home *touchwood*, you will be able to check on her as she is not suppose to hold cash. Thats the pracice at my mum's place lar ...

re: MS

still vomiting every morning even though i wake up earlier to take the anti-vomiting med. dun seem to be of much use ler ...

re: epidural

i had epi for my #1 cos my preg so tough (with MS lasting like forever!!!) so i told my hubby that i wan an enjoyable delivery heehee so with epi the whole delivery was abt 6hr and i guessed it helped that my boy was q small ... 2.79kg only so easy to push.

got pro and cons lar ... cos if you take epi you can rest and have the energy to push when the time comes. my fren who went thr natural said that by the time it was ready to push, she was already very tired but it was an experience that she will not forget heehee she ask me to try without epi but i dun think i have the courage lar

Pomeganate, my hb also.. i think he will faint if he sees what's going on "down there".. i was joking that, in the end, i mgiht get the doc to save my fainting hb first prior my delivery..

As for gender hor, my gf told me the same thing.. got to see the 2 balls before confirming bb is boy.. my gf jus went for 5th visit and realised tt bb is bb gal when all along from 3rd n 4th month visit, gynae say possibly boy as they see something sticking out like a birdy.. luckily my gf have not start buying things yet..

i only rem my hubby holding my hand and shouting 1,2 PUSH with the dr ler so i dun think he saw what happen down there too

but my gynae never ask him to cut the cord cos we stored the cord blood =p so he was abit disappointed cos alot of his frens got to cut the cord

Fairymoss,

Thanks for you assurance, i think i will try and slap her if she is so rude to me.. keke.. i am well known as the tigress in my company wor.. hehehe

if you can give me the name of that stupid one will be good, i won't ask for her.

Pomeganate,
Yeah I have thyrios also 4 yes back. So on off have to go TTSH for blood test. When I have my #1 I need to take the medicine to control the level. This time round the result is low but the doctor says is normal for pregnancy so don't need to take medicine for now but need to observe closely. But hor seems like my gynae got not worries about it, she says my reading is normal at this state and she says she doing the Anti-body for Thyroid instead of doing Free T4 blood test since I have done the blood test 2 weeks back. I also sick of going TTSH for blood test every month, my gynae says why they ask me to go every month, its not necessary wor.

In The WomB DVD:
I have email Seabreeze, Lenny, Fairymoss & Ivy for transfer details. Ivy please check your mail box I send twice but was bounce back, don't know if your mailbox is full?? Guest I will get my hubby to check as is his account.

Fairymoss,

sorry its a he.. i miss read.. well then it makes it easier for me to slap a guy than a woman.
heheh..

i just tell him off if he ask me to lose weight to stop being shallow and blaming someone odue to his substandard skill. well if he is really good, no matter how big or small the pregnant woman is.. he should be skillful enogh to do it right, isn't it?

only incompetence ppl blame others instead of looking at their own skills. I really believe that

Oppsgal,
I heard this b4, it should be normal to some mummies as skin tend to be dried, so when you shower don't apply shower gel or soap direct just use water will do. Can apply some moist. cream if it get worse.

Jasmine

Thanks. Thought only when BF will have peeling ones. Now only 2nd trimester, also have peeling... So itchy.

Wintertime,
Good to hear good news about the result. More An Xin. My appt will be this Friday afternoon as someone have cancelled their appt. If not I have to wait till next Tuesday and by then I will be in 13 weeks 2 days. This Friday I will be in 12 weeks 5 days.

lenny, it's a He, so if you ask for a lady then u are safe. my friend was in pain so she couldn't rem his face and name. I also think that it's not very professional of him to say that. Who wants to put on so much wt during preg? sometimes it just go out of control.

during my time, the nurse gabra and then forgot to let me sign the consent form for epi before the anaesthetist come to inject. So the anaesthetist only after injecting and want to collect the documents and found out how come nurse didn't let me sign before arranging for him to come and inject. my hubby said can complain and even sue TMC for the blunder and compensate us but joking only lah. haha. with or without consent form i would still want epi, haha.

motherhood clothes and ON cheaper than Gap.

Fairymoss,
Yep.. Motherhood clothes & Old navy are cheaper than Gap.

when i was in US, i bought an evening long gown for USD39.99. Its maroon satin with a shawl.
i thought it was a good buy. Just nice.. i can wear it for my best friend's wedding

HI Ladies
Thanks for so understanding my feeling.Gingal u are stay at home too? Feeling so sian ms again when izzit gg away?

seabreeze,

when u said dun give cash to maid, meaning not even the $10 allowance? Do we need to get the maid to sign some agreement to consent to it that we credit all her salary monthly into her account? agent tell me must the maid agree else later say we eat her money. So the bank acc book is maid or employer keep?

Jasmine,

U forgot abt me for the transfer details. Or have u received my stamps?

Finished watching with husband, dont like the keyhole surgery they had to perform on the fetus.