(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

guest,do u mean maternity clothes?? i had spend abt 250 bucks on my maternity clothes already.. hope will stop.

I also had spent abt $212 on all my maternity clothes. Heehee.....same as you i hope my bust can grow fr A to C and shrink to a B.

i am now 12 weeks and 3 days... on my 12th week i check my bb is about 5.3cm... wah .. wintertime.. ur bb is huge... hehehe

anyway... my tummy is still as flat as before i got pregnant... just that my boobs getting bigger... nobody believes that i am already 3 months pregnant.. =( any body has the same "problem" as me? my mum said when she was carrying me.. she only showed baby bump when she was 5mths pregnant... could be hereditary u think? my fren who just a week difference is obviously pregnant.. i am kinda envious.. but my bb is growing beautifully.. that's what doc said..

am going for my first yoga lesson next week.. hope i am not alone with the flat tummy..

Hi Cindy,

I have received all the items on last sat. those from Old navy fit well and only 1 piece from motherhood fits me now, the other 2 is a bit big. i am reluctant to return or exchange just oin case i put on more weight. kekekeke

Hi Nana,
Don't worry abt your tummy. When i had my #1 my tummy only show abit when i was in 5mth more obvious was after 5mth. Heehee.....now already tummy already showing and pple have been asking me although i in 10w6d only.

Cindy,

forgot to mention, i use VPost, and there is a 12% discount on shipment charges if you have UOB Credit Card

Guest123,
actually big boobs also not as good la.. i am a C-D cup before i got preggie. its not easy to buy bras, like when u go for sales from metro, Isetan, robinson. they normally do not have C cups let alone D cups. those big cups size are like granny bra.. so ugly.. i know i can find bigger sizes bras but the prices are ridiculous!

My hubby told me no need to spend so much on these kind of lingeries cos they won't stay on me long before he takes them off.. hahahahaha

guest123, the gap clothes look so nice hor? but i try to restrict myself from buying too many cuz this is my 2nd preg and intend to close shop after that. u first time mummy can invest. I spent abt $500 in one day at Spring Maternity during my last preg. and total abt 700+ throughout whole preg, not including maternity shoes and undergarments.

thank u lenny for your tip! hehe vpost very troublesome le.. I used to use them when buying stuffs from japan but they messed up my order once! now i totally forgot how to use it already haha...

Okok.... I must think about it but really, thank u for the information!1

fairymoss: i also try to restrict myself and not buy too many cause definitely CLOSING shop! so i try not to buy too many but seems HARD... haha!

guest, wow.. 600 bucks.. go easy.. buy few at the beginning first.. else u will find yourself shopping more later..

nana, i m soooo "jealous" as u.. still as flat as before? hmmmm.. my tummy already bulging out though pple comment tt it's not obvious..

fairymoss, i find spring maternity clothes expensive leh.. i wanted to get a capri tt day, pretty nice, but liew. 60+ for one.. heart pain to buy leh..

fairymoss & cindy
Same as your. Trying to restrict myself also. Confirm + chop will close shop after this. Therefore, i trying to find those maternity clothes that are suitable to wear after delivery. Won't be so wasteful mah.....

Kome, Wintertime
16 items with 2 pairs of shoes and 1 baby dress for my niece. One pair of shoe is already at US$75...
Still clicking... haha.. thought of buying all the supply needed for the 9-12 months.. haha
I thought of buying them one shot to save time and trouble and they are nice too... Just scared that they dont fit (too big) me as i am really petite..

Nana
so envy you. What should be big got big.. haha

Lenny
I heard about the 12% off from UOB fr my colleague too but she is not sure when the promotion ends.
Lenny, i farted alot too...

Fairymoss
ya Gap is nice. i clicked alot fr gap and old navy. just cant stop! I thought of capping the budget too. Am not sure how much to spend for the whole pregnancy so was asking you mums.. at least now i have a rough guage on how much should i spend..

I cant wear most of my clothing not becos i grow too fat cos my clothing all tight fitting and small size... so cant hide the little bum..

I bought two pants from maternity house and one costs S$59.90 and the other S$53.90. I love Gap and old navy. cheap and modern. Should have gone that earlier.

I do not know how to use Vpost too. my colleague used before. she will help me..

princess,
U also going on 1st Sep? I will be there with my Hubby, should be late afternoon...about 3-4 pm (depending on his timing)...
I am on the plump side and with Short (near shoulder-length) hair, no specs, hb wears specs. Do identify me should you wish to.

Me yet to turn 30, That's why doctor never ask me to do any tests? But i was heavy smoker before i was pregnant wor...wonder if will affect BB, quite worried...Any idea if A.L. Lim is part of the FBI scheme, cos if not then delivery no discount? Hmmmm....means if i dun have to go OSCAR test and A.L. Lim not in the scheme, then take up FBI also wont save $$$ cos i dun intend take Cordlife. Hmmm...Now gonna be jobless liao, abit "neow"..keke

Aiyoh, all talking about shopping already....
Online shopping very scary de, will click and click and click more than you intend to buy. Alot of credit cards liaise with shipping agents to ship direct from US to SGP liao, i think apart from UOB - HSBC, and Citibank also have their own promotions.

Me feels more comfy with US sizes too, cos TW/HK/China clothings tend to be smaller than stated.

lenny, u are so funny!!!! hahaha. after preg, i dun bother to wear nice lingerie anymore, cuz feel so lousy, and anyway wear also hubby won't be able to appreciate, haha. I'm a "touch-me-not" now.

The sale section clothes are worth buying but then regular ones still ex if add on delivery charges and exchange rate. i think i restrict myself to clearance section only.

this one is nice but only got L size and above. Mummies out there if got your size, maybe can buy?
http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=26696&pid=564865

Oh i only check out the sale column... already total damage is US$505 from gap and old navy. INcluded is a pair of shoe costs US$75.

Gingal
Do you mean i can check out fr Gap and pay using CC and they send straight to my house or i still have to use Vpost?

talking abt cord life.. who will be taking it up.. after a discussion with my hb, we decided to take up for our first child.. subsequent, think no need cos i read that there's 50-75% compatibility..

wintertime, i agree spring ex, but last time i sua ku...only know suntec got 1 floor got sell lotsa maternity clothes so go there and shop. i dunno got online ones etc. so now, know liao won't shop at spring

Wintertime
is it ? I told hubby that i wanted to keep the first one too. he said the blood is suitable for that person only... not sure leh..
My sis said that both family has no medical history then dont waste money...
confused too..

Ladies..

The flat rate shipping cost from Gap is becos i use Vpost, they sent to US address. if send direct to Singapore, it may cost more. Check properly ok?

wintertime, my first one i did use cordlife but now for this one, think will still opt for it cause in real case of emergency, how are you to decide who to use it on? and it's only a one time usage, cannot keep de. So i tihnk it's safer to do it now again, and not to blame myself even though it's the second one... hehe..

anyone here if wanna do cordlife and willing to be recommended by me lemme know okay haha cause i think if i recommend you (since i'm existing customer) and then both of us can enjoy some benefits... hehe...

sun:: this you can think of it as insurance loh ahhaa.. to me, paying for insurance also very taxing on savings but at least i feel safe. HAHAHA.

gingal..
i think tat y dr lim never ask u do oscar test cos u not yet 30 so no need do lor cos only for ppl 30 n above besides it expensive.. dr lim is not in the FBI scheme leh but i aready sign up cos me done my oscar test liao n although delivery no discount but stay in hospital got discount wat n also nx time wan bring my bb see paediatrics also got discount mah..

For Cordlife, we have to pay one time off to keep it and yearly maintenance fee to maintain right? Hmmmm...Not sure if want the extra commitments.

Hi princess,

thanks for the advice. anyway Dr. Lim's delivery charges consider very cheap liao, don't expect got discounts also. So i can enjoy the tests discounts and the hospital room discounts. As for PD, i think TMC too inconvenient for me, i should be looking around at my area.

guest, that is wat i read from the information booklet.. tt's wat my gfs are doing also.. I also think it's quite ex leh.. but again, if we don't take up the cordlife, then if anything (choy lah) in future, i think i will blame myself leh..

Lenny,
Can I ask you something? For GAP hor the pricing is in US$ ah? Sorry I never buy from overseas before so blur blur. Are you buying anymore? If yes I might want to tombang hehe...

hi mummies..

thank u for making me feel better...

sun96....

i am taking yoga at Mother and Child at Tanglin Mall on 2nd... next week... its $30 for the first sit in. however if u like the session its $195 for 8 lessons... one hour session.. my aqua fitness at kkh will resume on 13th sep... =)

nana,

Am keen on the aqua fitness at KKH. Update us on how it is okay? When do they recommend we go for aqua fitness?

Hi Jasmine,

The amount in the website is stated in US dollars. i don;t know if i am buying more as my GF who is due this oct is going to lend me her clothes.

Lenny, i'm very blur, never ordered before through vpost. I just registered an account with Vpost and they have given me a US address for shipment of the goods. Then how do I continue from there? I still got to check out the items from Gap issit? Then they charge to my credit card in USD? After that, what do I do in Vpost? How to calculate the shipping cost when it's a mix of different apparels. I dunno the actual wt or volumetric wt. If it's too ex to ship over, then I may drop my order.

Lenny, how much is your shipping from US to SG via Vpost for that 4 items? It looks like I won't be able to know the shipping charges till I have checked out and paid for the items in Gap site using credit card. Cuz with the invoice then can submit to Vpost, like that I can't know the shipping. if too ex, then it may not be worthwhile to order. I'm interested in 10 items and total cost is USD168.

Haiz.. really feel crappy today, i tried to hid pregnancy but it seemed that my whole office and singapore branch got to know..

Sianz.. really wonder why ppl are so free..

Fairymoss,

My shipping is $32.21 for VPost for the five items that i bought after less 12% discount with my UOB Card. Motherhood.com & Gap charge me USD7 each cos i ordered from 2 diff websites.

The US address they give you, you will use it as your shipping address when you put in the details for check out. there are instructions on the Vpost website that u can read on.

Hi MTBs,

I just got my credit card bill today on my Maternity clothing.

For 6 pieces and Vpost delivery charges, I paid a total of $179.37. I was charged by UOB the conversion rate of USD 1.00 = SGD 1.411026.

So it works out to be SGD 29.90 per piece of maternity wear that i bought.

RE: Cordlife

My close gal friend is a doctor in UK. She doesnt think that private banking of cord blood is necessary at the moment. Though we are told that cord blood/ stem cells may in future help to cure several diseases, this research is hampered by the ethical concerns and many countries have actually banned the research on stem cells. Think i also saw that Italy banned private cord blood banking.

At this point in time, cord blood would never be useful to even the child if diseases are found when he or she is below (cant remember what age). The child would most probably need stem cells from other sources. Think was reading a website, the chances of a child needing his or her own cord blood is 1 in 5000? or even more... cant remember..

She recommends we read up the website on www.virginhealthbank.com for more information and also advocates donating cord blood so that there is more chances for use. Dont know man... but if a doctor also doesnt believe in private cord blood banking, u think we should bother paying to do it?