(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Kome, ya.. very tricky one.... by the way, according to MOM, we can only tender 2 months after your meternity leh.. cos the coy paid 2 months maternity for you.. so for my case, if I concieve early march, after 3 months maternity, end May, I can only tender in end July.. (hope i m not confusing u)

Also, my noice perios is 2 months.. so if i tender in July, i can leave in Oct.. guess maybe i will stay for another year here, and switch job in 2010.

Hi morning / afternoon mummies

Where do you buy your maternity wear? My usual clothing is either tight fitting or small size... Now my stomach is getting bigger and jeans are too bottoms are too tight and tops are getting shorter.. I went to vivo ytrday. Went to maternity house and Eggs. Maternity house is run by two guys. They are very helpful and friendly. Pricing wise is ok. Eggs is high end maternity wear but i must admin the cutting and design are fabulous. Will you spend S$100+ for bottoms at Eggs?

When do you start eating tonic like chicken essence, birdnest and double boiled soup? I am 9 weeks preg. Not sure when i should start nourishing...

Good morning ladies!

Lunch time soon! Can't wait for this day to end. I am facing constipation problems as well. Just drank a glass of fresh orange juice. Hope this helps.

Guest123, i already start taking Brands essence of chicken liao.

but i didn;t take bird nest or double boiled soup yet. i am ending my 8th week and going into my 9th week tomorrow

Finally got time. So busy this morning. Just got a call from my gynae nurse, she trying so hard to help me make appt. for my OSCAR scan. Luckily got someone cancel their scan on This Friday afternoon, if not I can only go next week, and that will be near to the end of the deadline for OSCAR scan.

Regarding the In the Womb DVD. I have checked the 1st copy which I have toast last week, its works, so I will continue to toast for those mummies who have put their name on the list, hopefully I can send out to you mummies by this friday or Saturday. As for transfer of $$ I will replied you mummies later by email, thanks for the patience. Just to share with mummies who are interested.

guest, i try to get those bb dolls tops.. seriously i do agree with u that maternity clothes are ex.. and I am trying to minimise my spending on it.. damm broke these days..

I think u can start eating chicken essence.. but for bird nest hor, i heard first trimester better dont' eat.. start eating during 2nd trimester onwards.

Torayme: i had an orange the day before ystdy n had diarrhoea ystdy...supposed it stopped my constipation till ystdy...

guest123, i also taking chk essense le, alternate days...

aargh, craving for my subway sandwich n steak... hmm...

Guest123 and Lenny, my mom said birdnest should be taken during our last trimester. More effective this way. It's too early for us in our 1st trimester to take birdnest.
But chicken essence is good to help us fight fatigue.

I bought 2 maternity capris(bottoms) from mothersenvouge at Bugis Junction for abt $65 each. $100+ will be out of budget for me. As for tops, I try to buy regular clothes (those loose and long type of top) that can pass off as maternity. So that I will still wear them after birth.

Guest,
Yeah Bird nest can start taking from 2nd trimester.
Why not you get the maternity clothes online like Kome & Asura order so many pieces and is cheap. I also thinking to tombang them for order if they do order again.
Wintertime,
Im going to apply SBI card from TMC, but too bad my gynae not not on the discount term so I will not get 10% when delivery. Sigh...

Jasmine, your bb is bringing you luck~ hehe...so that you can faster take the test and stop worrying.

pinkdemoness, i am so going to stock up on fruits after work today. I need more fiber!!!

Wintertime, the price tags at maternity stores always shocked me...but i guess for bottoms, we have not much choice...

Lenny,
I will reply all your email later can. Anyway don't need to rush lah. I just helping and sharing only.

I also start taking chk essence in alternate days already. As for the rest of tonic maybe will only take after 2nd trimester.

I ordered my maternity clothes from Taiwan website just received it last week only. Will start wearing them this week coz not much clothes to wear liao. I have just place another order from the site that i think jasmine had posted previously also. Should be able to last till whole 9 mths liao.

Hi Lenny

Thanks. I will check out the online stores.

Hi TorayMe

I will make a trip to bugis one of these days. Thanks.

Hi Kome

It will be very costly to take chicken essence every alt day till delivery... Probably i should start taking and take twice a week for a start..

Very broke and pregnancy needs alot of money..

lenny, hmm.. is it toublesome to order via Vpost? we need to sign up for an acct? I always join spree and totally clueless how to order using Vpost.

TorayMe, mayb u take take prunes or prunes juice. it helps for my case.

haha kome, you are certainly WELL PREPARED!!
Good for you!!

for me, i prefer to wear dresses in the bigger stages even though maternity pants got the expandable belly portion or full panel or whatever. hahah.. but still not really comfy to me leys.. so i still buy more dresses type to wear, and need not restrict yoruself to Maternity shops girls, sometimes normal shops do have dresses suitable for us.. haah..

Most of my maternity dresses for #1 are normal dresses.. i thnk i only bought 3 to 4 real maternity outfits. the rest are not. Another is to wear tunic tops with leggings.

Hugs to all and take GREAT care.

I HATE mondaysss!

Jasmine,

wah..I think you are the 2nd mummy besides princess who is able to see gender already. You must be very excited to know it's baby boy although I think most 1st-time mummies wouldn't mind gal or boy but still excited to know mah. At least you can refer to "he" and "him" when talking to people liao. No need to rush on the DVD, take your time. Really appreciate that you helping us to toast.

Can I check when can do OSCARS test? 11th-13th week? I'm supposedly 11th week according to LMP this week but gynae hasn't said anything about booking the oscars for me leh. I'm due to see him for review this Fri.

Kome, I'm still a bit blur on the new Maternity leave entitlement. Is the last 8 weeks or 4 weeks supposed to be flexible and taken over the 1st year of which bb is born? If only last 4 weeks, then meaning the 1st 2 months + 4 weeks take 1 shot, then last 4weeks flexi over 1 yr?

Kome,
Wah you place another order ah. I still looking as very hard to find the 1 I like and fit me. Coz Im big bone built so hard for me to find the right fit and the 1 I like and still have to be in my budget lor. For now I only find 1 piece of pants but haven't place order yet. I haven't finish seeing the whole list too many liao.
Fairymoss,
My hubby is the 1 who is more excited on the gender coz he wanted a boy. My #1 is a girl mah, I prefer having girl haha... so if this time round is a girl I will also be happy.

Tonic should take from 2nd tri onwards cos now the bb is 'living' on the sac, whatever we eat wont affect the bb much.

Tot I felt q good this morning but once i had my breakfast, i went to the toilet bowl immed! There goes what I tot would be a good day sianz

Just had porridge with egg + onion and some vege - hopefully it stays inside.

Take an orange everyday cos I find the juice so yummy heehee

fairymoss,
OSCAR scan is supposed to be done between 11-13 weeks 5days according to my gynae. Its best to do it early 11-12weeks if possible. For the maternity leave what I understand is 8weeks can take 1 shot and 8 weeks can spread out in 1 yr to take. But also can take 1st 12 weeks togther and the balance 4 weeks to be use later in 1 yr time.

you can check out this website for maternity bottoms, prices are reasonable, about 20+ to 30+ www.sassymom.com.sg they are having a 30% storewide discount now. Though i find their tops totally unappealing.

jasmine,wat did you see on the screen that bb is boy? a little dick or 2 balls.. my gf just went for scanning last wk. She's on her fifth month. past visits, gynae say might be a boy cos see something straight sticking out.. but last wk gynae jus broke news to her during her detail scan that bb might be a gal.. still can't confirm.. so werid. the rest of colleagues mentioned usually if boy, we can see the 2 balls from the screen. wonder if it's true.

Hey girls, today I'm 12 weeks preggie but my queasiness just seems to be getting bad!!!

Also, it's my down syndrome check today. Kinda of nervous and excited at the same time.

Will update you girls later at night.

Qn again: Why cannot take tonic during 1st trimester? I keep hearing it but ask mum she said yeah..people say but dunno why also. she said issit 1st trim always puke so will go to waste anyway so dun eat tonic first? I've drank double-boiled soup with pork and ginseng 2-3 times but not yet eaten bird's nest.

fairymoss,

my mom also ask me not to take tonic/bird's nest in first trimester. Say not good for baby. Think as normal food consumption should be okay... but dont specially take tonic.

my problem is solved!
Orange juice works! But I will still look for prune juice as well, Wintertime. Not good to just stick to one remedy...hehe...

Guest123, save your money for tonics in your 2nd trimester onwards then. Better cos thats when the baby really start to absorb. So for now, just try to drink more water and get plenty of rest and fiber.

HAve not been posting for very long time cos I so lazy.Just to update have been to check up last week . Baby 10 week now measure 3.83cm. Heart beat 170rpm. Dr Says everything is normal.Also to update I have just quite my job last week there goes my maternity leave.So still feeling down dunno whether I have made rite decision.Dunno izzit hormoes playing on me sometime I felt so useless. Hai but if I dun quit feel so uncomfortable when I take bus no seats and will feel so breatheless at home at least can lie down as and when I want.Hope this will be over soon.As for bb Gender haha still waiting for next visit see if we can see. My little gal hopes for a mei mei keep telling me she wans meimei.

guest123, sorry not ginseng, it's pao sheng...issit another species of the ginseng? i asked gynae can take bird nest or not, he said can cuz I've been coughing for more than 2 mths and thinking of eating bird's nest to "run4 fei4". ask him can take cordeceps or not, he said got to refer to chinese physician, cuz he can't comment on these as it's not his expertise. aiyoh..headache.

caca, wah..u very wei da, u quit your job. Since you already made the decision to leave and have left, dun look back now. Think on positive side, u can lie down as and when u like, and if you feel unwell, also can sleep in late. I've not been to work for a few weeks already, reason being the spotting still around. sometimes i seem to feel sick when taking transport even for short distance, wonder how when i go back to work next week.

Jasmine, I think your bb is very big to me at 11weeks 6day leh. when i had my scan at 8 or 9 weeks exactly, bb is only 16mm nia. I dun think can grow too so big like yours this week when I would reach 11 weeks this weekend. I like big babies leh, cuz mine last time skinny skinny when born, look so poor thing and so frail. now still skinny boy.

Hi Fairymoss
I think cordyceps is ok. cos i saw chicken essence with cordyceps. i think you ask chinese physician regarding your cough... did you try tuss... cough syrup... i forgot how to pronounce n spell.. i saw my gynae nurse gave a bottle to a mum. not sure if you can take.. U take care...

Guest123, Lenny once posted a question to Brands and they replied that pregnant ladies should take original brands and avoid those cordyceps and american ginseng one...let me find Lenny's post for you...

Hi MTBS,
Haven't posted here for quite a bit cos i was suffering from bad MS so didn't have the mood. Glad to say that there is light at the end of the tunnel! I'm entering my 12 weeks this week and after a horrendous week 9 and 10, i think i have more or less shrug off the MS
Now it is just a lot of food cravings and my bump is increasingly noticeable.
So to all those still plagued by MS, jia you!

toray me and Guest123,

i still have the email from Brands essence of Chicken..

--- On Fri, 15/8/08, BRAND'S Feedback SG <[email protected]> wrote:

Subject: BRAND’S World Web Feedback [CaseID: 000597]
To: [email protected]
Date: Friday, 15 August, 2008, 2:01 PM

Dear Ms Lenny,

The following is the reply to your Contact Us enquiry.

Question:
hi, i am currently in my very early stages of pregnancies and would like to find out if it is ok to drink Brands Essense of Chicken as there are herbs in the product. Will the herbs affect my baby?

Answer:
Congratulations! We are pleased to know about your pregnancy.

We hope that your enquiry has been attended and addressed fully in the earlier telephone conversation with our Customer Care Officer, Lynda.

You may consume BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken during pregnancy.
Regular consumption of BRAND'S® Essence of Chicken benefits the general well-being and improve mental alertness.
It has been scientifically proven that BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken improves the quality and quantity of breast milk as well as enhances iron absorption and blood restoration in your body.

Should you require further assistance, please feel free to contact us at our BRAND’S® Customer Care Line at 1800-732 4748 (Mondays - Fridays, 9.00am - 5.00pm) or email us at [email protected]

Yours in health,

Lynda Cheah
Customer Care Officer
--------------------
Please do not reply to this e-mail. To contact us, please click here.

Please delete this mail if you are not the intended recipient.

We are transmitting this electronic mail message at the request of the intended recipient. If you are not the intended recipient, any use, disclosure, recording or copying of any information contained herein is unauthorised. Thank you.

www.brandsworld.com.sg

Copyright 2005. BRANDSWORLD.

fairymoss &amp; jasmine
I thought we have to take the 3mths straight and the 4th mth, you can either take straight 4mths at 1 go after delivery or you can keep the 4th mth and spread it over 1 yr from the birth of your child.

jasmine
Heeheee.......place orders faster so that can have more choice to wear. Yesterday very free, so i surf thru the website and look arond and found some that i like. I just ordered 2 dresses &amp; 2 jackets or don't know is it call sweater. 1 of the dress actually suitable for funtion one, preparing for my HB's sis ROM.

Thanks again, Lenny! Really helpful information and I hope they do up a newsletter like Yakult specially for mtbs.

Hi MTBs,

As promised, the attached link is an article about Yakult and they did mention that we can drink it.

http://www.yakult.com.au/resources/documents/InsideMatters/Yakult_IM17.pdf

Extracted from the PDF article.
Is Yakult suitable for pregnant and breast-feeding women?

Yes, Yakult is suitable to drink during pregnancy and
breastfeeding.
During its manufacture, Yakult is sterilised using Ultra Heat
Treatment (UHT) at 120°C, prior to the addition of the
Lactobacillus casei Shirota strain. This process ensures that our
products contain only this strain of beneficial bacteria, which is
not harmful to you or your baby.

caca, great to hear from you again.. ohh.. i fully understand that.. and i was on the verge of quitting last month.. cos i was feeling very lethargic and breatheless at times.. anyway, jus rest well at home since u quit your job.. things will be fine..

lenny, thanks.. maybe i wil check out on Vpost tonight if i am not too tired..

I feel like sleeping again.. tired..