(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

My sis told me s c chew very experience. he knows exactly when the baby is coming out...

we are still thinking should we stay or sell and move back to PIL's house.. so cant decide on baby's room yet..

Lenny,

When young, a few mths old is a happy BB lah...Nw older a bit liao...bitter gourd face infront of ppl...only smile n laugh at the ppl who she is familar wif... Is internal happy BB....Hahahaha...

fairymoss,

I really can't predict for my #2...hope so will be fast n furious...Hahaha...I worry abt my #1 oso...hope can natural w/o epidural...luckily for mi, it happen to be natural w/o epidural...
Veri grateful...

funny76,

Wah.... i also admire you. I hope to give birth natural without epidural. Dont know whether my pain tolerance high enough or not. My colleague said she had an injection in the thigh also. Said that one worked quite well too.

MTBs,
About confinement, i think i also don't want confinement lady cos i don;t want strangers in the house and no space for her also. Maybe make my hubby stay another month to help out. hopefully it all works out.. too far for me to think at 8 weeks also

Asura79,

I oso had an injection in the thigh after delivery..Tat was for stitching up my dunno wat they call(Hahaha...) But really leh...Tat time u were too exhausted to feel anymore pain liao...glad tat the BB is out safe n sound...

Oppsgal, i am trying to fit the babycot in my room next to me.. i have no choice.. i would prefer not to sleep with bb in the same room. i know its hard but i am trying to let bb to be as independent as he or she can then i fix a bb monitor.. that was my initial plan.. now cannot liao

wah.. so many post.. can't catch up..

Kome, thanks for the details.. i think the benefits are very gd.. so happy.. now i got to save up extra 6k for CDA liao. .

oopsgal, u very zai...want to do confinement yourself. my hubby can't even peel apple properly, dun mention about cooking confinement food for me. I definitely can't handle if no help, cuz i'm the traditional sort, old folks say can't touch water, so i try not to touch water. If nobody help me, then i can't even bathe bb on my own. so no choice got to seek help.

asura, hmmm...around 18weeks u can start calling up to book. last time i call at 20wks, mrs wong already booked for the nearest date i want, so got to wait for next round of class to start which is about more than 1mth later. but again, too early, they dun allow u to join class. but then if you want weekday maybe easier cuz more people prefer weekend. somemore weekday rate is better leh! good for u.

Oppsgal,

I am not so sure, i didn;t hunt for it so i knew i cannot use it.. its like a walkie talkie that u put in bb's cot.. if bb cry.. you can hear in your room thru the other set.

Oppsgal
You can get the bb's monitor in kiddy palace if not wrong. I think i got saw it there last time.

fairymoss

No choice. Poor SAHM must do most of the thing by own self.

When HB back then bathe the bb. At least my HB can cook. So can still give a bit help here and there. Wkends he can also help. I can go do own shopping. So should be ok. :p

Oppsgal,
Don't get baby monitor. Last time my colleague buy it and want to use it. She ask the gynae and her gynae tell her not good to use baby monitor.

funny76, Thumbs up!! really admire u man! w/o epidural...u are really amazing. I suffered menses cramp for like 2hrs aldy can give up feel like chopping off my bottom haha..
Fairymoss, so far i heard epidural helps ba. at least my sis can still sms b4 her birth then cramp all the way. haha...maybe i shall see hw's the pain then decide asap. =)

think for #2, I still have to go for C-Sec cos Gynae mentioned before that VBAC is possible only if I am pregnant 18 months after #1. it's 12 months only.
my C-sec was super painful until i cried when the anesthesia went off completely the next day...

SG,

At tat time, I was quite $ tight n wanted to save $$$...So I keep hipotizing myself fr all the pain. "SAVE FEW HUNDREDS DOLLARS", "SAVE FEW HUNDREDS DOLLARS" The nurse keep asking mi to inject and say" Oh dear, y so poor thing, wan to torture myself..." I wanted to shout out loud at the nurse at tat time..."I dun wan means I dun wan...dun force mi....." Hahahaha....

Bliss,

I were an indonesian chinese but got my citizenship 10 yrs ago. i want to get it before i got married,cos i don't want to owe hubby anything. i don't want to give him a chance to say that if its not for him, i am still stuck with indonesian citizenship.. maybe i egoistic but i don't want to feel inferior. this was for my first marriage la.. this time is my second marriage but first pregnancy.

funny, you really funny leh.. kekeke

re: confinement lady.. i had booked my CL already. initially dont' wan cos mum say she will do for me, but i m afraid she's too tired.. i spoke to many pple n even my sil who does her own confinement with my brother say it's very stressful and highly recommended me to hire one CL.. so i decided to go ahead with it lah..

hahahah, Funny76 u are really funny lor. Can see your determination! i shall try to be like u. wahahhahah...save the $ for others. Hopefully no one will come and persuade me.

SG
confinement lady from malaysia is about S$2.1k.
They take care of the baby. including washing and bathing the baby. and you only need to eat and bf the baby.
But you have to buy your ingred for the cooking lah.

<font color="#FF00FF">Irene</font>
yr face so fast round side liao. ppls said 1 mths before due, face and nose will turn and bloat like balloon. legs like elephant too and walk like penguin. so horrible.

<font color="#FF00FF">TorayMe</font>
like bellydancing can help one to relax leh. but must have a belly to dance? :p silly qns.

<font color="#FF00FF">SG</font>
yup, esp first week after delivery, I can't ctr my urine and one of the time, even poos. so kept on doing pelvic exercise. during my antental classes, the midwife told us to do the pelvic exercise 2 mth before due bec so that it will help in delivery.

true, later when one sneeze or cough will have urine leak. also old folks advise not to carry heavy thing after delivery cos scare womb loosen and drop. errr.....

yup, if want epidural, must say earlier if not pass the timing, cannot liao. the labour pain is 100 times more painful than mense cramps (not to scare u but it is.). I delivered w/o epidural too but sweat like mad. kept on praying then and inhaling the laughing gas.

<font color="#FF00FF">fairymoss</font>
for me, consume the free flow laughing gas before delivery until very high. so shiok. :p
wondering how to push if one dun encounter the pain? for me, I made use of the pain to push one.

for me, I placed toilet paper only.sometimes, got discharge sometimes dun have.

for me, near to due date, will place panty liner cos got a lot of discharge then.

<font color="#FF00FF">Guest123</font>,
why u 'announce' yr golden no out, u can pm Asura79 mah by clicking into her nickname.

<font color="#FF00FF">Jasmine</font>,
yes, intending to get the motor but collection pt is out of way so is still nego whether to collect at mrt station. wow, the price of BN membranes seems a bit high but consider sold outside is low liao.

haa do u wish that gyane got a pill which can allow u to eat so that one dun need to consume any food? haa..like magic pill.

<font color="#FF00FF">Oppsgal</font>
wow, u want to do confinement yrself. cannot touch water leh....how do washing? also cannot squat after delivery how to bath bb? I dunno if I can manage to do confinement cos my mum will engage with my no#1 for class next yr. pondering still wodnering shd I get a CL?

re: bb monitor. ppls said no use leh. for me, I did not use any. my bb will cry (in high pitch sound) if help need. so this is the best indicator.:p

re: Confinement link. wow, that mum of 6 children supermom wor. admire man...

<font color="#FF00FF">Lenny</font>
u are so deep sleeper man....my hubby also. now, every weekend he played the role of nanny cos kana smacked few times by me bec he is a sleeping nanny.

<font color="#FF00FF">funny76</font>
hmm..how come no laughing gas until 1pm? tot it is already there in the delivery suit, just need to on the machine only.

acc to midwife (learn fr antental class), she mentioned that water bag burst or got shows (which both I dun have) dun need to panic, just go and have a nice shower, take breakfast and then come to hospital cos the cervix won't be dilated so fast (unless exceptional case). for me, more funny, no syptoms at all. I went checkup at wk 38 and then I KPO asked MO say will bb turn ard if head already engage then the MO remember suddenly that she forgotten to check my cervix. she also dun dare to place the finger so deep so in the end, ask senior doc to check and found that my cervix already dilated 4cm. hubby and I still not prepared and asked if we can go hm and take hosptial bag. the senior gynae looked at us with big eyes. so fr then, being pushed to delivery suit and also nego with midwife if I can have dinner or not.then the midwife said no and I told her later I faint during push how cos now I'm so hungry. so she like bo siong and said ok lah, I asked the doc. doc gave the green light saying that normally first delivery will be slow so I have granted my meal in the delivery suit. luckily, that fierce midwife change shift or else.....anyway, I had a cheering and encouraging delivery team at KKH. the nice midwife kept diverted my attention until I dun feel the pain, talk non-stop - all kind of jokes, children etc....not the MO who do my stitches not gd cos blood kept on flowing below, they can't find the cause. think I lost so much blood that time and finally, the medicine student found that my veins burst. so I had a packet of blood transfusion then and warded 3D2N stay cos felt giddy and had to bed rest.

my contraction also very slow and like 10 mins apart. so the whole team can wait and stare at me. haa think my cervix opened fast bec I was so high after inhaling the free flow laughing gas. too relax, like flying or floating type. is it true that epidural will help in dilate the cervix fast?

haa same as me, I also tell myself epdiural so ex hundred + buck leh. so think of $$, pain will flew away. haaa...

same same, have to inject some painkiller so that one won't feel the pain during stitches. but hor, I still feel something.

haa...tough I enjoy the pregnant stage at later part with bb doing 'dancing', boxing etc, now got to go thru the preggie stage, so scared now esp the pushing part. scared now, got no stamina to push.

me too, hope my #2 will be fast and smooth too. like my frenz, only pop out 10mins for her no#2. so envy. another one, within an hr. they told me that their part already loosen.

<font color="#FF00FF">guest123</font>
tot now, the average rate of CL is $1.8k.

<font color="#FF00FF">princess in dreamland </font>
now, many mTB 08 mummies at one of the forum are having a petition and draft out letter and intending to pass the letter to PM lee during the meet the ppls session.

Hahaha Funny, so funny!!!!!!

I'm really torn between epi and natural. Sometimes I want to feel the real thing and other times, I just want to enjoy myself in the delivery suite and wait for baby to pop with the help of epi.

Today, my colleague was talking about her hypnobirthing experience for #1 and that she's going to do it again for #2, who is due anytime soon. She enjoyed it cos it made her feel very positive throughout her pregnancy and during labour.

Then, my other colleague interjected and said take epidural, immediate bliss.

So really don't know la..plus I rarely had cramps in my life, so I have the littlest idea as to what sort of pain I'm in for...

Funny76,

My colleague said her injection was during the birth. Start with P i think.. cant remember the name. Heh..U really very funny... but i also not too interested in using epidural. Shall see how it goes on that day. My cousin was a different case, by the time she reach hospital already dilate 6 cm... cannot epi liao... i hope i am like that too..kekek

princess_in_dreamland...
Not bad lah... the cash increase by 1 k.. but the CDA account increase by 6k for No.1
We intend to put the 4k cash into the CDA account so that we only need to top up 2k on our own...

Wish a boy,

I just checked the medisave website. We can claim the following for our maternity expenses:

Under the Medisave Maternity Package, you can withdraw Medisave for pre-delivery medical expenses as well as delivery expenses and daily hospital charges. Each Medisave Maternity Package has a different Medisave Withdrawal Limit, which depends on the delivery procedure (e.g. caesarean or vaginal delivery), to pay the pre-delivery medical expenses as well as the delivery expenses.

If you do not wish to claim for pre-delivery expenses, you can still withdraw Medisave for the delivery procedure and daily hospital charges. Each delivery procedure has a different withdrawal limit.

The withdrawal limits are shown below:
Type of Operation Medisave Limits for Delivery Procedure
($) Medisave Limits under the Medisave Maternity Package
($)
Vaginal Delivery (Normal) 450 900
Vaginal Delivery (Assisted) 800 1,250
Caesarean Section (Normal) 1,400 1,850
Caesarean Section (with Tubal Ligation) 1,600 2,050
Caesarean Section (with Hysterectomy) 2,400 2,850

Example for admission on or after 1 May 2007:
Delivery Procedure No. of days of Hospitalisation Medisave Withdrawal under the Medisave Maternity Package
($) Medisave Withdrawals for Delivery Procedure
($)
Vaginal Delivery (Normal) 3 Up to $2,250

Which comprises of:
- $1,350 for daily hospital charges; and

- $900 for Medisave Maternity Package Up to $1,800

Which comprises of:
- $1,350 for daily hospital charges; and

- $450 for Delivery Procedure
Caesarean Delivery (Normal) 4 Up to $3,650

Which comprises of:
- $1,800 for daily hospital charges; and

- $1,850 for Medisave Maternity Package Up to $3,200

Which comprises of:
- $1,800 for daily hospital charges; and

- $1,400 for Delivery Procedure

The $450 u referring to... is it the difference between the Withdrawal under Medisave Maternity Package and Withdrawal under Delivery procedures?

afcai

Depends what time of operation you use when delivering. If natural, recover time require is faster, the lady from the mentioned website also touch water.

Cannot knee and bath bb, ask HB do so? If no toilet bowl, need to knee down 'big business' cannot also?

afcai,
you don't need to have a belly to belly dance although a little belly will be nice, otherwise alot of movement cannot deliver, like tummy rolls that we call camel and reverse undulation as well as the belly Shimmies (Shivers. if you have a washboard tummy, then nothing will shake.

kekekeke...

I have a set of 2 months old breast pump to let go. I bought the whole bundle from mumsfairy at $490 excluding the valves.
The set consists of
1. 1 set amenda lactaline personal breastpump ($388)
2. 1 pair of supershields
3. 1 set of orginal handfree strip
(item 2 and 3 total $70)
4. A pair of additional valve for the pump ($16)
5. 1 breastfeeding pillow ($69)
6. first few year milk storage bag
Item 5 and 6 are FOC.
I am selling this whole bundle at a price of $390
Interested party, please pm me.....Thanks!

Hi Mummies.. I have no idea how this forum works... thanks for welcoming me..i can't find my last post so only when i searched the last few days than i saw... hehee...

an intro to myself...

1) this would be my first baby

2) i am 28 yrs old

3) i just changed gynae. don't like the first one. his name dr k s seng at gleneagles... i was introduced to dr k m seng. my first check up i was told that dr seng senior has passed away few months ago so his son would take over. first 3 check up i don't like him. firstly he is too young.. and inexperienced... and i want a warm and kind doctor... so my fren intro me to dr l c foong.. i like him... very kind... the other day i fainted ... alamak.. my hubby panicked like madman.. somemore he was supposed to go on flight.. urgent leave..no choice.. rushed to see doc...doc said i am aneamic... now pregg.. must share with baby... so prone to faintness.. sigh.. Dr L C Foong.. at Gleneagles also... he even made a home call to my hubby 2 days later to check how was i... i was impressed

3) i plan to deliver at mt alvernia... gleneagles too packed..

4) my edd is 7th Mar 2009... i hope bb delivers 6th Mar.. my mum's bday..so her bday present.. a grandchild... hehehe. this friday..22/08 i would be 12 weeks.....

5) I am staying at jalan membina... near tiong baru... but when hubby not in sin.. i go back to my mum's place near holland v...

btw any of u experience hair loss? my fren who just gave birth said u lose hair either before or after birth... mine.. before!!! die liao... next time no more hair to bun up.. hehehe...

missycandy,

I just received quote from the seller. She quoted 900 NTW for delivery of all items. NOw checking whether her charges for the clothes are as stated in website. Would update u later.

SG, CL is charging 1.9k for 4 wks.. basically she will take care of bb 24 hrs, cooks special confinement food for mummy and husband, washes bb's clothes and bath for bb.. some nice one will do basic house keeping.. i was advised to have complete rest and not care anything abt bb except for breast feeding.. i comtemplate for a long time before i decide to hire one..

anyone know how does the CDA work? is there a time span for us to put in 6k? or do we need to put the 6k upon delivery? if yes, then i got to set aside the money now leh..