(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

MTBs,Can we go for warm water jacuzzi and steam bath?

Padi,
i am considering to be a SAHM after maternity leave too. As of now, our company top management has changed to a new team since our President retired and i don;t really like the way they manage the company. Yes i am trying to be positive about it, i only can't bear to lose a good direct report, boss. That's why i am holding back.

padi, hope you doing fine.. me too, had put on weight.. till date 3.5kg already in wk 12.. so low morale when i can't wear my pants anymore.

i m also looking forward to 4 montsh maternity leaves.. actually me plan to resign too, mayeb for few months to take care of bb and then start looking job in 2010.. anyway, according to mom, we have to work for at least 2 months after our maternity leaves before we can tender the letter leh..

Hi MTBs,

I have been following the threads though did not post. :p. I am a first time MTB too. will be goin for the down syndrome test next wk. I have seen the recent post abt OSCAR and a few other tests. But I did not hear of these different options from my gynae. Does it mean when we go there for the test, then they will ask which one we want to do? sorry har.. very blur. Hee

padi - i wan to be sahm but we cnt afford to live on single income... hehehe... =\

im feeling so hungry!!!!!!!!!!! currently constant craving for malay food... best part is, my area doesnt sell malay food -_-" i mean nasi padang/kandar .. so sad... =(

im into week 7 now... going towards week 8... so ard 4weeks+ til 2nd tri...

am going to go for baby fair later... hopefully can find useful things? hehehe... dunno baby gender yet so have to buy unisex...

i hate blood taking as well...=\ 3 tubes is ard 15mls... nt too bad la.. hehehe...

question - are your tummies all growing? mine seems to have stopped leh... *worried* maybe becos very poor food intake... hmmm but no cramps... no spotting... nothing worrying happened yet *touch wood* so all shld be well right? =( have to wait til sept...

okie time for me to find food!

Hi Alicia
Not to worry, we're all a little blur about all the tests as well so come here to find out more.

If your gynae has already fixed a date for your DS test, that means you've already decided on the test that you wish to do. Depending on which hospital/ clinic you've chosen, the test given to you may differ from others. Perhaps you can give your gynae a call first to ask which test you have opt for.

hi seabreeze

we are in the same boat i bascially cant drink anything except 100 plus... hope MS will go away soon.

missycandy
re: tummies
my tummy has also somewhat subsided a bit. I'm guessing as I don't have so much bloating/ gas as before. Guess the estrogen hormones are also not increasing as much as the initial 12 weeks. But even at 12 weeks, the bb (uterus) is still hiding in the pelvic area, just below the tummy so tummy is just holding all the intestines and what the uterus is pushing upwards, if that makes any sense.

In other words, our tummy bulge is not where the bb is situated right at this time.

Needles/Blood tests
Yes, i too had a horrible experience at KKH. For my #1, i had such horrible MS i had to be hospitalised 1 day for dehydration. The staff at KKH inserted the intravaneous drip (& draw blood for tests too) and when the doc poked the needle in, it was so painful tears sprang out from my eyes. i can't even control myself. I begged my hubby to get me discharged the next day even though i still felt horrible.

When i finally delivered #1 at TMC, the anathestist also had to insert intravenous drip into my hand before delivery, the phobia was really great. But to my surprise, there was absolutely no pain at all!
I think the skill of the nurse/doc really is crucial.

Gotta do the blood test on my next visit. HOpe it'd not be another traumatising event!

<font color="0077aa">Kome,</font>
for civil servant, the child care leave and baby bonus gift are shared by both parents. if mummy take 3 days out of 6 days then daddy only left 3 more days. obaby bonus cash gift can claim either fr one of the parents. think this is different fr private company loh if both parents work in different co.but if both parents work in same private co, dunnif it is shared or not. but for civil service, it is shared. u mean if got 2 child also got 6 days leave not 12 meh?

I remember my col took more than 5 days for her 2 child. last time the old scheme is 5 days (2 child care leave + 3 sick leave).

re:NDP rally.for me, I think they forgot to target 3 pts - hospital policy (cos delivery of sec child is much more ex than first child. that's what KKH customer service told me). secondly, they did not implement how company cope with staff who take 4mth leave and shd introdue more pro-family oriented issue.thirdly, they shd adjust the medicial charges. cos medicial bills are quite high.keep on increasing. my frenz jokes why they did not give free hospital stay as well.

hmm..luckily, u put off the idea of being sahm or else cannot enjoy the benefit wor.

<font color="0077aa">Lenny,</font>
tot it is a must to test the thalassaemia. last time, hubby also need to test for thalassaemia too. KKH drew his blood too.

Kome and Misscandy: Initially we were worried about single income too. Somemore my hubby is a church worker, so income is really quite humble. But we decided to live on one income for a year or two till baby is a little bigger, so I can focus on taking care of baby and maybe, pursue my masters. Will probably dip in my savings for a while but I think its doable, just got to be very VERY prudent.

Lenny: When do you intend to tender? I agree with you, working environment is important. I'm also looking forward to a change, so leaving my current job is...somewhat convenient at this point for me.

Wintertime: I hear 3kg is normal for first trimester is it? I feel so sad, like my pants used to need a belt, but now no need.
I feel thicker at my waist. Ya need to give 2 months notice before you tender, although I've been in my job for quite a few years, so I may be able to work something out with my HQ to let me go earlier. So keeping my fingers and toes crossed. They know about my intention to leave.

N-day Rally

I'm glad with the new incentives but I wish they could lengthen paternity leave.
There's no word on it right?

I think my HB is also q disappointed.

afcai
yah, quite disappointed with the rally too. PM mentioned opportunity cost stated by working professionals women yet still give so many maternity leave. I tot they want to encourage >1 child, then should look into 2nd/3rd child medical bills to show us they do want to make the policy work.

IMO, the rally is just emphasize more on their existing policy, extending alittle more on the existing policy.

The 4 month maternity leave will put me off having #2, knowing how it may affect my work in my employer's shoes as it'll be a cost to them (like having to employ a temp staff)

The only thing I welcome is the Increase baby bonus for 1st time parents. But no high hopes for it.

padi

I am already SAHM since I found pregnant after resign. So don't think any employers would want to hire pregnants. Decided to stay home until bb is 2, then put childcare.

afcai
From what i heard from last time my ex-comp, HR mention that even if you have 2 or 3 kids, childcare leave still same(2 days) untill your youngest child is 7 yrs old.

Copy the below infor from MOM
An employee covered under the Employment Act is entitled to two days of childcare leave per year if:

The child (including legally adopted children or stepchildren) is below seven years of age; and

The employee has worked for the employer for at least three months.

Childcare leave for each parent is capped at two days per year regardless of the number of qualifying children.

Although the Employment Act does not cover managerial, executive or confidential staff, employers are strongly encouraged to extend them the same childcare leave benefits.

Maybe if got incentive for SAHM would be better. At least encourage MTB to take care bb and stay at home look after the bb and spend more time with family.

Wonder how many pro family companies are there in Singapore. For SMEs will they want to hire just married women who might give birth in near future, then give 4 mths maternity leave. No one to cover the jobs unless hire temps, or ask colleagues cover when on leave, then colleagues' face all black.

Kome

Like that means 6 days leave is optional for managerial, executive or confidential post?

What's the cut off salary to be classified?

no need talk about 4mths maternity, even when on long MC during preggy, boss and colleagues' face black cuz no one to cover my work.

afcai,

Yes, i signed up for SBI cuz for sure, I'm delivering at TMC, so it's like 100 off the bill if I stayed 1-bedded and my kids would be seeing SBCC which is also under the scheme so got discount off consultation, so it's already worth the deal and they giving off goodie bag of formula too. both my kids can make use of the SBI for consultation at SBCC.

Minnie

Then who want to have so many kids. Unless can afford maids, or got parents to help. But then again the discipline and nurturing for bb might not be up to MTB's wanted standard. So still better to take care by yourself.

Oppsgal
"And childcare leave, which can be claimed by either parent, will increase from two to six days a year." doen't it means that both parents can claim?

Hmmm
Again, not very clear on the wording... even if it's 6 days shared between both parents, how will they track it? Must apply leave thru MOM?!!

Oppsgal
I agreed with you. caring for the child is a long term commitment, so it's up the the parent to make choices and sacrifices. What to give up and what is more important.

hehe.. For me the leave doesn't matter, as I SAHM, HB can claim all.

Either thought means one. Is either wife or HB?

Haha.....not too sure. I think mostly will depends on company side ba......Wait for more details and see how.

Extracted from Today Online

For the first two years of baby’s
life, both parents will be able to take up
to seven days of unpaid infant care leave a year.

And for all those times when someone needs to
stay home with the sick child, or be with junior on the
first day of school, both parents can now claim six days
a year of childcare leave, until the child turns seven.

Babe and wintertime,

thanks for the link and advice, i was thinking of going downstairs for the jacuzzi cos my whole body aching and cannot sleep well. now cannot liao.

Padi,
Resigning from my job is the last resort. on top of what i have mentioned, i need to consider finances and the way my bb will be brought up. both my parents are already in early 60s and they didn't really have a chance to get educated back then as both are from poor family. They may not be able to teach my baby as much as i could.

i just want my baby to have the best of both world, the asian and the western methods of child raising. Not all Asian methods are bad and not all are good, vice versa for western methods of child raising. I really did consider giving up my career for the fist 6 yrs of my kid to invest time in my kid's development.

hubby is very suportive of that but i am in dilemma as of now..

afcai,
thanks for letting me know. i will still go for the tests to get assurance.

Oppsgal,
bb bonus $1k more not enuff to cover for bb compulsory jabs, medical bills, formula milk, diapers etc... the current $3K bonus for 1st child is by instalment ! My #1 now 7mths only rec'd $1,500.

oppsgal, tt's wat i thought also. why don't they incentify those SAHM.. but as wat PM had mentioned they are encouraging working mummies, maybe tt's y they did not give any perks to SAHM.

i went for my 3rd checkup yesterday and baby is 35mm long at 10 weeks. i was so touched to see him/her responding to me when i questioned my gynae why wasn't he/she moving. the baby then twirled around and faced upwards from down and waved the hands.

i'll be going for my oscar in 2 weeks' time. rather anxious to know the outcome to have a ease of mind.

regarding the extended maternity leave, i'm so looking forward to it! i'll get a total of abt 5 months leave inclusive of june holidays!

I think PM gathered that many women prefer to work then to be SAHM which is probably why he has discounted the minority who prefer to be SAHMs.

I think most women who is going to MTB will prefer to be SAHM. Unless with high position and pay, can afford maids.

Eileen
Oh, wow! You're due! Must be exciting for you. Yes, if only bb can wait a bit longer for the new benefits to take place!! Must take care.

Do you guys know if we can drink DOM during pregnancy? This pregnancy, i feel cold v easily, i don't even like the fan to be switched on.
I've heard that DOM is quite a tonic and can keep mum's warm. But not sure about during pregnancy?

babe,
actually can de, my EDD suppose to b on 08/09/08, intend to try vbac.. bt gynae say nt suitable for my case.. so hv to go for cesarean..

Oppsgal
Yea, well, that's not what he understands from his informants, saying...

In Singapore, women have told him that they no longer want a traditional situation where men went off to work and women stayed home to raise the family, said Mr Lee.