(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Sorry gals, Can advice as what does the gynae do for OSCAR test and triple blood test. Me very blur not sure how they do it. Actually when i was in 3rd mth, my gynae took 3 tubes of my blood to do testing. What is these test known as?

Kome

Wow 3 tubes of blood! So much! I am not very sure yet as I haven't do triple test. Maybe is triple test? Three tubes... Faint.

Oppsgal
Ya lor, me also scare to take blood test. That time don't even dare to look at it and after that 3 tubes on my gynae table already. Scary ler....haiz....have to take again.

babe
Thanks for your link. Haha....Me getting blurer on this, shld ask my gyane what is the test know as.

Hi Mtb,
I just like to share my enjoyable moment of my postnatal sessions after my delivery. Many of my frens that have done theirs, say its very painful and dont enjoy their sessions. After lots of searching, I decide to takeup frm Malay Heritage Jamu massage after saw comments in the forum who have use their service ( and got to know the company owns by Mdm Rokiah hubby who is high recommend in the forum and his business partner) I feel so relax and lots of tips and my main consent is my breast, as its been engorgg for few days before my sessions.The therapist everyday help me to compress with their hot stone and its really helps and my milk supply increase and my bb start to enjoy my bf sessions now. Tks Mdm Suriyah. You all can visit their website for their extending promotions.

i rem that i did a triple test for my #1 to tell you the prob of whether the bb will have DS or not.

but gynae oso told me that if i do not intend to do anything after the result then might as well not do it but i still wanted a peace of mind so i went ahead to do a triple test. i rem that the result was like 1: 2000+ chance or what lar

guess if the reading is no good then he will say proceed onto the OSCAR test. think age plays a part too cos i have fren who say that no need cos give birth when less than 30 yr old.

Kome
Yea, I'll know about the 3 tubes by my next appt as I'll be doing my triple test then. But for me, I'm not going to worry too much about it. Like the weblink mentioned, there are high chances of false positives. So we can't rely on the results. Can only hope everything turns out well in the end.

Lenny, ya I'm also excited and started looking for baby stuffs to buy. Just like you, I donno whether my bb is a girl or a boy so have clueless what to buy. hee...

Like all other mummies here, I'm also super afraid of needle and I'll be going for the downdrome test next week too. Gotta let needle to poke me again. Sigh...

hey gals.. morning..

me too, i m taking my oscar test this sat.. gynae say it's more accurate than triple test.. oscar is 90% accurate.. but it's more expensive.

i hope to get all 4 months maternity at one shot leh.. today is a hot topic for the day.. alll my colleagues "encourage" me to faster to give birth cos i have not reveal my news to them.. so i nodded my head and jus reply them soon soon.

35 years old or older then need to do triple test?

Younger ones also got risk, so do what test? Can still do triple test?

Some more this test lots of false result. Test come out if got down syndrome also not accurate.

have been followed this forum for past two weeks after realised i am pregnant!

ur #_ bb? 02
ur age 39
ur gynae Dr Adrain Woodworth
the hospital u delivering TMC
ur edd end March 08
ur residence area Sengkang

If you want an accurate testing for DS, amniocentesis is the test that's available. It's poking a long needle into the sac and getting a sample of the amnio fluid. But gynaes only recommend this as a last resort as it is invasive and there's a chance of miscarriage. Not advisable unless you are in the high risk category, i,e. history of DS or older age group.

oppsgal, hmm.. no leh.. according to my gynae, all preggies will need to go through these tests, jus tt woman above 35 yrs old have a higher risk.. either test can be done, either oscar test or triple test. oscar test is 90% accurate while triple test is 70% accurate. if i remember correctly, oscar cost 300 bucks with theother cost 100 bucks. it's totally up to the couples to take up which test.

To share my previous experience abt doing triple blood test(3 tube of blood, veri fast) or Oscar... Usually, Oscar test(like poke needle into ur water bag) is recommended for woman 35 or above....triple test is for woman below 35...Oscar test is almost 100% accurate....triple test does hav more false result....in my previous pregnancy, there r quite a few mums having false result which make them worry for nothing.... For Oscar test, there r possibility of having m/c when doing it... n r more expensive...My gynae do nt encourage Oscar test if u r below age 35... All this test check for DS...triple test like hav extra checking on HIV, Hep B n etc, can really remember the rest... Got to c my report at hm...

This time round I might nt do both test at all...

<font color="0077aa">Wintertime</font>,
yup. at least, the gynae knew the root of the problem.
and might take 1 mth of paid leave so nearly half the yr dun need to work. shiok.....

<font color="0077aa">gingal</font>,
so far, for me, during my first preggie, KKH delivery team is quite gd, encouragement and patient.

hmm...yr consultant fees is cheaper leh and susquent consultant lower than first. are u also under TMC? where is yr gynae clinic? wow, scan free somemore. maybe u pm me yr gynae clinic address. this TMC gynae office also located at 5th level of TMC.

no lah, I'm not working at nUH but just in govt service. so by gg to restructed hospital, I do not need to pay any cash. all deducted fr my csc card and am also heavily subsidised. if go private, no susbsised leh. that's why we chose KKH for my first preggie as KKH is sepcialise in woman and child mah.

gynae mentioned that dun eat too cold and raw stuff.

yeah, sometimes I did almost vomit during brushing of teeth esp top upper teeth.

<font color="0077aa">minnie24</font>,
haa..that's true, cost of medicine bills are rather hight. they shd adjust the antental visit bills etc. do u know that the bills for second and first child delivery fees are different? I am not sure how much different bec I did not go and check out. that time, when I was preggie with my first child, KKH customer service asked me if it was my first or second child. I asked her got different meh. she told me that different charges wor...

<font color="0077aa">Irene</font>,
hmm...yr edd is 1 day later than mine.for me, I find that 4mth is gd for bec I'm confining at hm to do my bf via moo moo career. that's why I tool 4mth (3 mth of ML and 1 mth of paid leave) during my first preggie.

<font color="0077aa">fairymoss</font>,
thks for the info. the website does not have much infor loh and got to call them. did u join the scheme?

<font color="0077aa">babe</font>,
for Childcare Leave increase to 6 days, is it apply to 1 child. what is got 2 child? that mean 12 days is it? hmm....

re: OSCAR test. same thinking as me. I also dun want to do any optional test.cos there's a risk of 5% of Miscarriage if do the test. also can't imagine the pain that gg to go thru man....

<font color="0077aa">Promeganate</font>,
re:6 days for BOTH parents. no lah, if both parents are in civil service, they have to share the child leave.

<font color="0077aa">Lenny</font>,
same as u, I got 4.5wks before I passed my first trimster.

<font color="0077aa">kome</font>,
one of the 3 test tube of blood is to test HIV (now compulsory) and the thamesi....(dunno how to spell) diseases. they are 3 things to test and forgotten the last one.

<font color="0000ff">Irene,</font>
last year i did the triple blood test for $200plus which include measure the baby's neck thickness aka NT test. It is not a must to do OSCAR, it's a personal preference/choice...some mummies do it for an xin "peace of mind".

Re: 3 tubes of blood
The assessment also involves the following blood tests:

• A full blood count to exclude anaemia (low blood count which leaves you tired and less able to cope if you lose too much blood during or after the birth) and thalassaemia (a common genetic blood disorder in Singapore)
• Blood grouping in the event a blood transfusion would be required
• Hepatitis and syphilis screening
• Rubella antibody screening (optional) to establish a history of exposure to this infection
• An HIV screening as the implications on your baby may be significant should these infections be present.

funny76,

OSCAR test does not involve extracting amniotic fluid.
that itself is a separate test altogether and is called Amniocentesis.
it's only done if the risk of down syndrome is high or if the Gynae recommends it for older mothers.

just to share my past experience. i took amino for my first baby.

triple blood is 70% acurrate only take blood
oscar is scan the neck thickness and blood test; 97% sccuate
amino test is to the fluid from our sac; almost 100% but high risk

funny
Yea, clearly unnecessary worries in my honest opinion.
I think you've got OSCAR and Amniocentesis test mixed up. OSCAR draws blood (non invasive), Amniocentesis draws amnio fluid (invasive).

Bliss, Babe,

Hahaha...izzit? Tat time I tot my gynae told mi Oscar test got risk of m/c...So I decide to go for triple test....Still got so many test...I got mix up liao...I remember got triple test, oscar test n the detail scan at TMC....the rest I dun remember liao....Memory failing quite badly after 2 pregnancy....hahaha...

Triple Test is 70% accurate (Non invasive)
OSCAR is 90% accurate (Non invasive)
Amniocentesis is 99.4% accurate (Invasive)

Eliz,
my gynae only draw 1 tube of blood &amp; they will separate into 3 smaller tubes for test individually. So no need to poke 3 times la

afcai
1year 6 days childcare leave, no matter you taking for which children. But they only give the childcare leave to 7 yrs old of your yougest children.
I don't think the childcare leave is share between both mother &amp; father. My hb gt 2 days childcare leave and i also gt 2 days. If not how the company going to keep track as who had already taken the childcare leave if both not working together.

hi sun
You're doing well gal. Hang in there. Hope your MS will be over soon!

steph
Oh, that's good, no need to poke 3 times, since nurses always have a difficult time finding my vein! haha ouch!!

ohhh. thanks for the explaination gals.. scare me manz.. ithought my oscar is high risk, if tt's the case, then i will sure not take it..

hi MTBs,Actually i had tested myself for thalassaemia before i was pregnat. when i do my annual blood test, my GP asked if we are planning for children. we said yes so she proposed that i get tested for it and we both took our hepatitis A jap. I was excluded for Hep B cos i had natural antibodies in my blood, so hubby had to take the Hep B Japas for rubella, i was tested negative as well. My latest full report is November last yr and everything ok.. i don't know if i must do it again.. lets see what my gynae says

Hahaha.... I must hav mistaken my gynae Amniocentesis for Oscar test liao... Coz during tat time those mummies keep saying another test is Oscar....Hahaha....blur mi...nw then I know....thks, Bliss n Babe for clarifying.... ;p

Kome
Yea, I was wondering about that too last nite, how to keep track of the leave? But the CNA news last nite also stated 6 days leave for both parents. So, not very clear either.

No probs funny, just don't wanna give the gals here a fright for those who are intending to take the OSCAR.

But as for Amniocentesis, don't do it unless absolutely necessary as there are many risks to take for the baby.

lenny, me too, i had taken blood test too.. I have family history of thalemessia and I got it too. lucky my hb is negative.. now i m trying to take royal jelly every morning, heard from sis that her 3rd n 4th bb is non thalesemia carrier ever since she start taking it..

i just remember i took a flu jab and another jab in early June, before i left for my biz trip.
I wonder will it affect my baby, since i was convivce in late june.

Irene
Clinical studies have shown no adverse effects from the flu jab on pregnant women (or their babies) or those who are breastfeeding, as the virus in the vaccine is inactivated.

steph, ya I know it's not poking me for 3 times to collect 3 test tubes of blood. But I thot its like poke once then the needle will stay in my arm until all 3 test tubes of blood are collected.

babe, me too. I have very small veins too. My worst experience, a nurse (experienced one somemore why I know? Coz I was first attended by a nurse, she saw my arm and said aiyah your vein so small then she asked another nurse whom I think more experience bah to poke me) poked my left arm first, no blood. Then she tried another arm, again very little blood, not enough to fill up one tube. Then I ganna another 2 pokes at the back of my hands (veins there bigger) just to collect enough of blood.

Eliz
Yes, yes, I had that same experience too many years ago. They had to resort to poking in the back of my hand which is quite boney and I could feel the needle jabbing onto my bones. Ouch!

The last few blood tests I did, luckily the nurses were more qualified and experienced and took time to tap and find a vein before poking.

lenny, yaya.. tt's y i consulted my gynae before taking them.. i m taking weyth royal jelly and they are meant for preggies also.. should be pretty safe bah..

me hate drawing blood too..

Eliz
My is poke 1 time and needle stay there and my gynae will collect all 3 tubes than pluck out the needle.

I disappeared for a few weeks cos I was feeling so nauseous. I also could not catch up with reading the threads which were moving so fast. Hehe. So took a break. But on and off I still log in to read.

My MS is more manageable in the mornings these days, but gets worse in the afternoons and nights. I am so tired most of the time and have cut down on alot of activities. Have also put on weight, abt 1 to 2kg - feel a bit sad and low morale, as I am only 9 weeks +?

Am looking forward to the 4 months maternity leave. Although I intend to quit my job after my maternity and be a SAHM. Any others who intend to be a SAHM?

ivy ...

me still suffering from v bad MS still ... vomiting non stop everyday =( just like my 1st

and i cant drink plain water ... drink liao 2 mins later sure merlion one

yap my gynae ask me to drink those istonic drink to replenish the salt and mineral that i lost thr vomiting. my #1 preg ... i ended up drinking alot of orangina but somehow for my #2 preg it doesnt seem to work ... i like soya bean milk alot though heehee

but i know for sure that milk is a no no if suffering from MS

padi
I plan to be SAHM, but than remember my new hse coming in need of money so have to put off this idea already.